Back to growliChat page
growliChat free download for Mac

growliChat Reviews

1.02
18 May 2006

Chat notification helper.

Anonymous
04 May 2005

Most helpful

awesome man !!!! ??????? 0.5 ???????????????? ??????????????????? ??? (oonle)
Like
Version 0.5

Read 23 growliChat User Reviews

Rate this app:

Phripley
08 September 2009
This is not working for as expected under Snow Leopard, aka 10.6. Notifications fire endlessly and opening the Growlichat Pref Pane crashes system Preferences. Am going to try Chax, as recommended elsewhere: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/20056/chax
Like
Version 1.02
1 answer(s)
Ericrovayo
Ericrovayo
31 October 2009
hey i have snow leopard & i downloaded growlichat as well and i got the same results. I just cant seem to delete it. Any advice?
Like
Version 1.02
Jack-Gray
24 March 2008
this isn't working on my Macbook Pro running Leopard 10.5.2. It says it's running, but I just don't get any notifications. Is this supposed to work with Leopard?
Like
Version 1.02
Mozart11
06 November 2007
Does it work with Leopard?
Like
Version 1.02
Anonymous
04 November 2005
The link was pointing to 0.99. Sorry about that. It's now fixed. Please download it again.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
22 August 2005
great program, friendly developer. $5 not too much to pay, it's the same as a pack of cigs these days.
Like
Version 0.99
Anonymous
18 August 2005
GrowliChat is never running when I go to the preference pane. If you have to keep turning it on, then I consider that the software doesn't work. Also, I'm puzzled by the concept of donationware that you have to pay for if you don't waqnt to be nagged. Shareware is designed to nag you or not work until you pay for it. Seems to me that this is SHAREWARE MASQUERADING AS SOMETHING ELSE.
Like
Version 0.98
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 August 2005
you have to set the growlichat program as a login item to make it automatic. additionally, students are exempt from the payment, which is very fair.
Like
Version 0.99
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 August 2005
I assumed you are using Panther and/or growl version earlier than 0.7.2. YOU NEED TIGER to run this program.
Like
Version 0.99
Anonymous
10 June 2005
Great app. $5 isn't too much to ask considering how much work has been put into this. My only complaint is that the executable hasn't been bundeled into the prefpane.
Like
Version 0.97
Anonymous
03 June 2005
Great idea. Write a peice of software that requires, and is based on a free peice of software and charge money for it. LAME!
Like
Version 0.95
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 June 2005
Great comment. Use a piece of software that requires a non-free hosting and developer time and not only not paying for it, discourage the developer. LAMER! (6/2/2005, Version: 0.95)
Like
Version 0.95
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 June 2005
Besides, the Growl homepage mentions a long list of applications that use Growl, including a number of shareware and commercial programs. There's nothing in the Growl license or requirements that says anything that uses it HAS to be free.
Like
Version 0.96
Anonymous
03 June 2005
Please make sure you download version 0.95 not 0.94. I submitted the wrong link. sorry for that. I sent them the correction already; I hope they will correct it soon.
Like
Version 0.95
Anonymous
24 May 2005
Whats with this "Please make a Donation" text when getting some notifications? I didnt think this was Shareware. Nice Job besides that.
Like
Version 0.92
8 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 May 2005
I also want to know is this now a shareware app or still free? I never mind donating to keep a great app going, but if you need a reg number to shut off an annoying little announcement like "Please make a Donation" doesn't that make this shareware not freeware?
Like
Version 0.92
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 May 2005
Please read http://www.growlichat.com/Explanation.html From statistics on earlier versions, I realized that this world doesn't work on trust. Yet, I still want everyone to be able to see notification.
Like
Version 0.92
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 May 2005
I also think that "begging" for donations in the notification window isn't proper. The software isn't even a final stable version. Many people are testing and contributing. You may ask for donations in te README, homepage and the control panel. Or it's not donation-ware, but shareware or even adware. PS -> shareware not always is cripled in someway.
Like
Version 0.93
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 May 2005
Hi, jedik First of all, I actually give the keys to those who contributed if I know how I can contact them personally. I don't know how to contact some of them including you, jedik. And, the second, the reason I put the version number less than 1 is not because it's unstable. I'll explicitly state it or put beta in the name if I'm not sure the stability. It's just that I feel like it. To the question of properness, it's up to your definition of properness, if the properness means, users get everything they want while the developer get nothing or lose something. Then, yes, this text is improper. But, if properness means fair (for developers and for users) distribution of this software, I think that text serves the purpose. By the way, version 0.91 that doesn't have that text is always available, go to the version history section. Hope you guys understand, Tee
Like
Version 0.93
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 May 2005
by the way, should I put it under shareware instead? And also, the key is free for students and Open source software developers.
Like
Version 0.93
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 May 2005
I mean, Growl is free. Why would you wanna make something that piggy backs off of it shareware. I believe the wat Donationware works, is that if comeone thinks your software is worth a contribution, they contribute, at least thats how I work it. Now I wont even use it period. Thanks for all of your work though. Good Luck.
Like
Version 0.93
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 June 2005
Hi, Tee. I didn't mean to be rude in anyway, just expressed my personal thoughts. I like open source, and I am more than glad to help any project that is Open Source (I've done it a couple of times and it makes me feel good). As another user said, Growl is free and open source, so it's natural that people would expect that anything that uses it is also open source and free. I perfectly understand your point of view. IMHO, if a software has any request for payment/donation while running, it's not freeware anymore.
Like
Version 0.94a
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 June 2005
I decreased the rate of reminder to about 1/10 which I believe it's not annoying anymore(7/100 to be accurate); yet, i got some reports that in some of the pervious versions, it showed up in every single notification; sorry about that. I hate to say this but there are some corelations between reminder frequency and amount of donations(also student key request) and it intersect the origin.
Like
Version 0.94a
Anonymous
24 May 2005
Downloaded DMG does not mount ("not recognized" error) using Camino or Firefox, nor from MacUpdate nor from the dev's website. Works fine with Safari though.
Like
Version 0.92
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 May 2005
That problem is fixed. Thanks to Garrett.
Like
Version 0.92
Anonymous
18 May 2005
I've downloaded several versions of growliChat, the latest being 0.9. None of them have worked. Click on the app and nothing. Try to start 0.9 from the control panel and it won't start. I'm using OSX 1.3.8 on an Aluminum PowerBook 1.5. Should be labelled "Bummerware."
Like
Version 0.9b2
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 May 2005
after 0.9 it's only for Tiger
Like
Version 0.9b2
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 May 2005
Actually, it's started from 0.8. Sorry, if the requirement isn't clear. If you use Panther, please use version 0.71, that's the lastest applescript version that's compatible with both panther and tiger.
Like
Version 0.9b2
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 May 2005
It is as clear as the hand in front of my face what the requirements are for this app that have been posted here at MU, from the time this app was first posted and continuing to the present version. Some (most?) people have very poor skills when it comes to reading what is plainly in front of their beady little eyes. Thank god I am not a developer, I have little patience for point-and-click, know-nothing, see-nothing chuckleheads.
Like
Version 0.9b2
Anonymous
18 May 2005
This program would only appeal to me if it let me know when I got a new message. Other than that, it's just distracting.
Like
Version 0.9b2
Anonymous
17 May 2005
not working here either... tiger. shoot. hope it gets fixed soon.
Like
Version 0.81
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 May 2005
Are you using G3?
Like
Version 0.81
Anonymous
15 May 2005
O.8 didn't load for me (Tiger, Growl 0.62). Console log: ZeroLink: could not load .o file: /Users/pongmong/programming/growliChat/build/growliChat.build/growliChat.build/Objects-normal/ppc/main.ob ZeroLink: could not load .o file: /Users/pongmong/programming/growliChat/build/growliChat.build/growliChat.build/Objects-normal/ppc/growlBridgeDelegate.ob ZeroLink: could not load .o file: /Users/pongmong/programming/growliChat/build/growliChat.build/growliChat.build/Objects-normal/ppc/iChatListener.ob ZeroLink: could not load .o file: /Users/pongmong/programming/growliChat/build/growliChat.build/growliChat.build/Objects-normal/ppc/growliChat_vers.ob May 15 05:33:18 AlBook crashdump[26528]: growliChat crashed May 15 05:33:18 AlBook crashdump[26528]: crash report written to: /Users/macuser/Library/Logs/CrashReporter/growliChat.crash.log Download version 0.8a form dev's website and it seems to load. Suggestion: include the verion/license in info.plist so it will show in the Get Info panel.
Like
Version 0.8
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 May 2005
Another sugestion: like other similar utilities that run "faceless", it would be nice that if you double-clicked the icon after it's already runnig a panel would appear with a cancel/quit button. This would prevent to use Activity Monitor to quit the app. Much more elegant. :)
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 May 2005
I'm now learning how to make a preference pane for it :). I'm sorry for all the trouble 0.8 made my bad :( .
Like
Version 0.8a
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 May 2005
@ Tee: good news! Keep it up! :)
Like
Version 0.8a
Christopher-Forsythe
Christopher-Forsythe
16 May 2005
The crash above is due to zero link. You need to build in deployment. The xcode doc on the Growl website should tell you how Tee.
Like
Version 0.81
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 May 2005
I fixed that already. But now I'm having a report that it doesn't run on G3 I have no idea where I put a processor specific build command. The only two I saw that it was processor specific was arch and mtune. Any hidden command I didn't see?
Like
Version 0.81
Anonymous
15 May 2005
Just downloaded Growl and growliChat this afternoon, and the current version doesn't seem to launch. However, the Mail bundle which comes with Growl is working, as well as with Synergy. Not sure what's up... so just giving a heads up.
Like
Version 0.8
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 May 2005
Are you using growl0.7beta? If so, please download growliChat0.8a(I just put it up). it works with this beta version.
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 May 2005
Also if you are using g3 there is a speacial version for you, i just posted it :)
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
06 May 2005
It's not memory leak. OSX kernel is smart enough not swapping the freed memory when no one ask for it. You can also try to see when the memory in activity monitor goes up to like 100. And open every single program you have and see it goes down. Please see http://www.andrew.cmu.edu/user/pongmong/#memLeakExplanation for detail :) Addendum: My code was adapted from the code comes with growl.
Like
Version 0.6
Anonymous
06 May 2005
Anyone else noticed a serious memory leak with this app? I noticed it in the original AppleScript that comes with Growl, but wasn't able to fix it. This app shares the same leak. It seems to happen each time it polls iChat for user status. I think it might be a bug in AppleScript.
Like
Version 0.6
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 May 2005
It's not memory leak. OSX kernel is smart enough not swapping the freed memory when no one ask for it. You can also try to see when the memory in activity monitor goes up to like 100. And open every single program you have and see it goes down. Please see http://www.andrew.cmu.edu/user/pongmong/#memLeakExplanation for detail :)
Like
Version 0.6
Anonymous
05 May 2005
try check in activity monitor if it's already running. it's windowless and dockless. So, you can see it interacts with your double click for the firsttime only, once it's run double clicking it won't do anything :) Thanks for pointing it out Tee
Like
Version 0.52
Anonymous
05 May 2005
hmmm...downloaded/unzipped, double clicked on it, and it won't launch. :(
Like
Version 0.52
1 answer(s)
Tee-tee
Tee-tee
05 May 2005
try check in activity monitor if it's already running. it's windowless and dockless. So, if you can see it interact with your double click for the firsttime only, once it's run double clicking it won't do anything :) Thanks Tee
Like
Version 0.52
Alan Leake
05 May 2005
idea: please, do something like that for Proteus. e.g. Joe is available Sarah is away Robert is idle ;) i hardly even use iChat. Proteus rocks.
Like
Version 0.5
5 answer(s)
Tee
Tee
05 May 2005
can you tell me where I can get proteus? I'll have a look at it if it's possible to do that, It won't be very soon though I have final exams from tomorrow to next tuesday
Like
Version 0.52
Alan Leake
Alan Leake
05 May 2005
Thank you for responding. Proteus is another chat client (similar to Adium). You can find it by typing 'proteus' in the search field. The latest version is 4.11. I love it. Proteus is able to run Growl but not the way GrowliChat does. Finals, exams, etc.; I totally understand you. Please, I'm not trying to rush you. Good luck! Thank you so much! Alan (a.k.a. fondofMac)
Like
Version 0.52
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 May 2005
adium 0.80 has growl support built in now, btw
Like
Version 0.52
fondofMac
fondofMac
05 May 2005
i'm sorry, but adium's interface severely sucks. Icons are dead ugly, uuugh. Proteus looks so much more Mac-ish. There're so many things i don't like about Adium. I don't even wanna go into listing. Sorry.
Like
Version 0.52
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 May 2005
You know what, I like adium. If you spend sometime to configure it, it's pretty. :P
Like
Version 0.52
Anonymous
04 May 2005
WOW !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Like
Version 0.5
Anonymous
04 May 2005
awesome man !!!! ??????? 0.5 ???????????????? ??????????????????? ??? (oonle)
Like
Version 0.5