Back to Hula Girl page
Hula Girl free download for Mac

Hula Girl Reviews

3.0
29 May 2005

Hula girl, hula Jesus, hula Homer widget.

Anonymous
10 June 2005

Most helpful

150,000+ DOWNLOADS! WOOOOO Thank you to everyone who has downloaded Hula Girl. The response has been tremendous.
Like (1)
Version 3.0

Read 45 Hula Girl User Reviews

Rate this app:

ShawnBoucke
27 December 2007
This is worth downloading, but not worth keeping. All this widget does in the end is waste memory. With such limited functions and no updates in such a long time this might be one of the worst widgets out there.
Like
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
John-Sawyer-CJS
John-Sawyer-CJS
07 February 2008
Lighten up--it's just meant for fun.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Roro01
Roro01
08 February 2008
It is not even fun. There is nothing there. I really can't understand why so many people downloaded this widget. I bet they are all men who then trashed it.
Like
Version 3.0
Roy-rogers31337
09 August 2006
The developer ought to make this react to the SMS on the Macbook Pros Etc. Now that would make this widget mucho cool (not that it isn't already).
Like
Version 3.0
Zc456
22 June 2006
I bet everyone who downloaded this did it for Hula Jesus.
Like
Version 3.0
blazing-Charlie
27 November 2005
I think this is a great widget. I have a question that maybe someone can answer; When I download version 3, it say's 3 but when I look at the info it say's 2. This isn't the only widget thtat does this. I have tried deleting before downloading but nothing. Any help?
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
19 November 2005
For all sake, mister. I install every new release of this cutie and hope that Homer won't keep dancing while dashboard is not open, but he still does. Still eating cpu. Slowing it all down, making the harddrive to whirrl. Not much, but a little. Most widget developers have learned to script'em properly nowadays, why do you guys have to be the last ones? It's really very easy to do, so please please please STOP HULAGIRL WHEN DASHBOARD IS CLOSED...
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
08 October 2005
Should get the Nobel Prize for Widget Design. And an Most Honorable Mention just for Creative Thought. Let's deluge the judges with e-mails.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Anonymous
21 August 2005
I love this widget, nice update. god speed you black emperor
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
08 August 2005
Hey, I love this widget! It's made me and my friends smile ever since Tiger appeared... Leave the developer alone! (Not me, by the way...). The world needs more funny Jesus hulas - lighten up people!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
29 July 2005
I don't get it I really don't get it
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 July 2005
What's there to get? It's a dancing hula girl!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
22 July 2005
Well, I recently updated to the lovely and talented OS X 10.4 (running 10.4.2 after upgrading directly from 10.3.9), and I got around to checking out the infamous/blasphemous 'Hula Girl Widget'. Showed it to my wife, a devout believer in God and Jesus (though there is not one church in the world she would want to enter). She just smiled, chuckled a bit and said, "Oh, mercy..." and moved on. Proper response, I thought.
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 September 2005
Then when she walked away you switched back to the Hula girl and began drooling. Oh, mercy.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
08 July 2005
are we to seriously believe that this has 3x more downloads than firefox?... the chances that there are more than 300,000 unique users with 10.4 and an interest in this widget are very slim. i suspect foulplay.
Like
Version 3.0
6 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 July 2005
There were updates to the widget, though.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 July 2005
Maybe people want to check out something that a lot of other people keep bashing for some reason?
Like
Version 3.0
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
28 July 2005
It was also on Apple.com's front page for a few days. Thus huge download counts.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 July 2005
macupdate only counts the downloads from their site, so the apple page has nothing to do with it. people would have to see it on apple's site, and then come here to download it for that to figure into the downloads. also, every other application on this site is updated and, unless i;m mistaken, none of them get zeroed out after each update.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 July 2005
Actually, the entry on Apple.com was linked to Macupdate's download.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 August 2005
count due to religious ferver
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
06 July 2005
Even if it has quite a few variations through settings, it's dumb. It's useless. It's ugly. It's dull after you've fiddled with the different settings and watched what they do. I swear someone or some group has got to be playing a joke by downloading and keeping this thing atop the list week after week. Go get something that's at least entertaining for more than five minutes, like SlothCam, or Slider!
Like
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 August 2005
Hey, I love this widget! It's made me and my friends smile ever since Tiger appeared... Leave the developer alone! (Not me, by the way...). The world needs more funny Jesus hulas - lighten up!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 October 2005
Did this widget run over your parents?
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Anonymous
01 July 2005
What exactly are you looking for in a bobble doll?
Like
Version 3.0
Brildenlanch
01 July 2005
I disagree. I couldn't do better, but the animation sucks.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
26 June 2005
Wow, I've ead some terribly meanspirited reviews here, and why is that? This is clearly a funny little widget, made with heart. It's called Hula Girl folks, not Heart Rate Moniter..this isn't to be taken seriously. Why do people have to piss on other peoples parades? I wonder if Hershey receives complaints that their chocolate is "pointless"? I hope not. Thanks to the developer for having a sense of humour.
Like
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 June 2005
AMEN!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 July 2005
Hershey chocolate IS pointless. Yeah, it tastes good--for about FIVE MINUTES. They should stop wasting their time. Viva Hula Girl!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
23 June 2005
This thing was great, for about five minutes.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
20 June 2005
Hula Girl 3.0 slowed my G4 1.4 GHz tower to a crawl. A check of Activity Monitor revealed Hula Girl was hogging up to 21% of CPU cycles when (presumably) inactive --compare with 0.00 for most other widgets. Stay away from it.
Like
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 June 2005
You are grossly misrepresenting the truth.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 June 2005
This is being looked at. This only happens when Hula Always is checked. Uncheck that for the time being and a new update will be posted very soon.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
20 June 2005
Depressing when people seem to enjoy an inane widget with no purpose over the myriad of useful ones. It wouldn't be so bad if it had some eye-candy appeal, but it doesn't. It looks like ass. Oh well.
Like
Version 3.0
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 June 2005
Depressing, yeah, I know what you mean. I can hardly get out of bed in the mornings knowing that people like this widget.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 June 2005
I'd be depressed if I were a developer to see this thing as #1 download for weeks in a row on MacUpdate... Somehow I'm not that surprised though, it's all starting to make sense somehow... The World is coming to an end soon, and the Hula girl is taking us there...
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 July 2005
Jesus, does freaking EVERYTHING have to have a solemn purpose? Sometimes inane is just what the doctor ordered. I love this widget. In fact, I like it so much I'm gonna put 20 of 'em on my desktop.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
19 June 2005
I didn't see a place on the website to make a donation toward making this inane thing go away!
Like
Version 3.0
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 June 2005
hahahaha, I'd donate to that cause.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 June 2005
For gawd's sake... it's just a silly little toy! No one's holding a gun to your head forcing you to use it. Shaddup already!
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 June 2005
Make me.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
15 June 2005
Finally, a really cool widget to match the uselessness of Dashboard!
Like
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Brildenlanch
Brildenlanch
17 June 2005
I wouldn't really call it useless. Most widgets are, yes. But I use quite a few that very helpful.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 June 2005
Only idiotic widgets like this are useless. There are lots of usefull ones: dictionary *nix manual php reference Reversi Mac Update Marquis Weather Package tracker ...to name a few.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
12 June 2005
Thats still 50,000, and quite commendable
Like
Version 3.0
Brildenlanch
10 June 2005
I imagine the ranking is just because people are curious. Everyone knows what a hula girl bobber thing is, so they just want to check it out. I hightly doubt it stays on more than 30% of the comps it's dld too.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
10 June 2005
150,000+ DOWNLOADS! WOOOOO Thank you to everyone who has downloaded Hula Girl. The response has been tremendous.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Anonymous
08 June 2005
Useful, no - loveable, yes. When set up Homer to dance, this Widget is must-have. Whoever that does not like it simply does not need to use it, and really does not need to tell the rest of us that his or her life is so not Homer-friendly. My dashboard needs a Homer. Period. A few serious drawbacks though: previous versions lost the settings as soon as the Dashboard Manager/The dock was restarted, and according to earlier posts, that glitch remains in v3.0. There are API's to store the settings, why not just use them? When setting Homer to dance all the time, he continues to dance even when Dashboard is hidden - again why not just use the API provided by Apple to avoid that Simpson-blob to consume CPU in the background? So, I tell my yellow friend to just dance when I point the mouse at him, which he stupidly often doesn't get, probably because my G4 Cube is so old so that the mouseLeft-event doesn't fire as it should. Please fix these long-standing bugs. I want Homer to be that be-loving buddy that I know he can be.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
03 June 2005
Hmm. People left and right griping about there being so few actually usefull widgets, yet this dopey thing gets 100,000+ downloads. Pitee-full!
Like
Version 3.0
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 June 2005
So you're rating this not on it's own merits, but in comparison to the rest of the "useful" widgets out there. That's logical.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 June 2005
why shouldnt he this widget is the most unuseful widget around. i have a good sense of humour but after 5 seconds this widget is just a waste of time.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 June 2005
Most useless around? I doubt it. In fact I've seen several that are simple images that do absolutely nothing. And then there's the widget that's only 1 pixel in size. It might not seem like it, but there was a lot of heart and soul put into making something fun, if only for a few minutes. That's like me going around saying that TextEdit blows because it doesn't do everything Office does. Maybe it's not meant to. Maybe it's meant to be a silly toy that gets a couple chuckles out of the person who downloads it and nothing more. In that, i'd say it works as advertised.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 June 2005
thats a bad arguement because text edit serves a utility while this does not. also it makes perfect sense to rate a widget in contrast to other widgets-- ratings require us to form our opinion through some sort of comparison. sure, this widget is a little neat-- i personally don't have it on my computer any more, but the developer is free to make it and people are free to take it or leave it. the one thing i am suspicious of is its ranking, it seems impossible it could be the number one download for as long as it has--
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 October 2005
yes, and it's PIT-EE-FULL that you'd say something like that. If there are 100,000+ people who like it, and you're the only one who doesn't, consider that your WRONG
Like
Version 3.0
qwerasdf
31 May 2005
I wish the settings could stick so I don't have to change it back to Jesus all the time.
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Clubhouse54
Clubhouse54
31 May 2005
Settings do save in version 3.0
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
30 May 2005
This widget rocks. 2 birds with one stone. Not only is it cool on my desktop, but it gets people all worked up! I can't believe that the poster "Respect others" spent that much time typing something so igornant. You don't like it? Go away. It's that simple.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
30 May 2005
We live in such an extraordinary world today. We have so much power. We have so much knowledge at our finger tips. We have such genius technology, that we can have a hula girl on our monitor. :-)
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
29 May 2005
Hmm. Lots of new settings and capabilities in this latest version. Only problem is, it's still basically uninteresting, useless, and only amusing for a few minutes.
Like
Version 3.0
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 May 2005
Christ, what do you want it to do, your taxes? No one said this was going to be anything less than a little toy to giggle at. Get over it.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 May 2005
And value only one star? It's Free, this is why it should have 5 stars. Finally something fun for the Mac, the world is a hard place without fun.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 May 2005
I'd always thought the 'value' rating was based on the value of the program to the reviewer, not the price. (shrugs)
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 June 2005
Well, thank you for those enlightened comments, but the facts remain: it is still dumb, ugly, and utterly useless. It's not even done in a high-tech enough way to be slightly amusing! In my original review i was much too generous with stars. Apple's clock and weather widget are far more amusing than this ugly thing. That's my review. Like it or lump it!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
29 May 2005
Great little widget! I keep it on my desktop by enabling the Developer Mode on Dashboard, dragging the widget across the screen while in F12 mode, and then letting go when I hit F12 again. Now, I can see Homer dancing on my desktop whenever iTunes plays, not having to hit F12. I wish there was an easier way, though. If there is, please share it!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
29 May 2005
Dude, Hula Dalia Lama: TOO EFFIN' CUTE. Do it.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
29 May 2005
Great bit of fun. Pay no attention to those who seem to forget we live in a secular society, and who have the free will to ignore this if they so choose. Although in the interests of completeness, I demand a Hula Ganesh, Hula Mohammed and a Hula Dalai Lama!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
29 May 2005
It's a pretty cool widget, but it lacks settings that load every time dashboard is started. I liked having Hula Homer, but I wasn't going to change it every time. I also agree that the character should move the whole time dashboard is being used. And that Jesus shouldn't be in it.
Like
Version 2.1
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 May 2005
Preferences now save
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 May 2005
Jesus most likely had a sense of humor and would be apalled at the idolatry foisted on him.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 May 2005
I think the dancing Jesus is a reference to The SImpsons' episode when Homer tries to create his own website.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
27 May 2005
Incomprehensible why so many people would waste any time fiddling with this uninteresting, useless item.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
23 May 2005
Splendid. I just love this beautie. A few suggestions - I'd like the dancing to be controlled by the dashboard's show and hide actions, rather than by mouseOver and mouseOut. First, I'd get Homer swinging all the time Dashboard is open, second he sometimes doesn't recognize my mouseOut on my slow Cube, making the widget to use CPU even when Dashboard is closed. And that Hula Hula-lady seems to come back when Dock is restarted - Homer should be properly written to a settings-file.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Clubhouse54
Clubhouse54
23 May 2005
As soon as I get the time, I'll get v3.0 finishes and uploaded. Many of the issues written have been fixed. To give you a preview: -Much smoother dance script. -No longer gets caught on infinite cycle -New features to dance alway or with iTunes. -Jiggles slowly to a stop -Controls to change the amount of sway and jiggle -Preferences now save properly
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
16 May 2005
It's cool and fun and (of course) it was created with the purpose of being useless! You need a sense of humour to appreciate it. And if you don't like Homer or you're a Jesus freak, well... that's your problem! ;-)
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
14 May 2005
It would be perfect if it saved my settings after restarting.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Clubhouse54
Clubhouse54
15 May 2005
This has been resolved for the forthcoming revision.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
12 May 2005
Thanks for making it free.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Clubhouse54
Clubhouse54
13 May 2005
You're Welcome
Like
Version 2.1
Magnus-Näsmark
10 May 2005
Cute and useless... Perfect!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
06 May 2005
Does this work with the new Powerbook anti-shock system? Just an idea for version 3.x.
Like
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
Clubhouse54
Clubhouse54
13 May 2005
While this is possibly doable, I would be hesitant because it would cause a bunch of PowerBook owners to start violently shaking their computers. While hilarious this may seem, I'd rather not have to deal with the angry emails
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 May 2005
I don't blame you one bit. People are too often whinging about the most absurd things. "You made me shake my iBook with your infernal software and because of this I dropped my iBook!"
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
04 May 2005
Cute, but really useless.
Like
Version 2.1
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 May 2005
Since when is amusement useless? Maybe, just maybe, these hula dancers will keep a crazed IT cubicle-confined employee from shooting up the office.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 May 2005
what did you expect this to do? its eye candy-- just like all those mac aquariums and etc... that is its point. sure it isn't a *productive* tool, but it is not pointless.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 May 2005
keep cool guys! you may be right, but this is useless nonetheless there's nothing bad about it!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 May 2005
Puts a smile on my face, so it's useful for that, at least.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
04 May 2005
Is this for Tiger or Konfabulator? If it is for Konfabular then; it isn't working.
Like
Version 2.1
16 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 May 2005
It is for OS X 10.4, just like it says in the requirements. Konfabulator won't run in OS X 10.4, or at least I don't think it will. In any case, Konfabulator is dead on the Mac platform, the guy stopped development on it and went with a Windows version instead.
Like
Version 2.1
Norton
Norton
04 May 2005
yeah i dont know how it works i got konfabulator but not tiger
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 May 2005
Konfabulator should work in Tiger, but I don't think there's any user in Tiger platform wish to have konfabulator to work along with Dashboard. One thing for sure, what ever widget appear in macupdate under widget categories, it's for Dashboard of Tiger. On the other hand, konfabulator is aiming his target on Windows platform and support on previous version of Mac OS as well. For sure Windows user need that since M$ having problem in copy. I believe konfabulator will making alot of money from there since Tiger advertise the beauty fun of having small application in Dashboard and Konfabulator provide beautiful small little application for Windows user to have that fun too. So I can see that Dashboard of Tiger is not the chaos for Konfabulator, but it's rather giving a fortune opportunity for Konfabulator to move into bigger market of Windows. Like I always said; Konfabulator, keep it up. I wonder whether Konfabulator developer read this....
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 May 2005
Forget Konfab, put your dollars toward 10.4.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 May 2005
Why would I want to reward Apple for stealing someone else's idea ?
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 May 2005
"...stealing someone else's idea..." Pffft! Get educated.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 May 2005
It's not a case of getting educated. I have read that page some time ago, and I didn't accept it then. The plain facts of the matter are Apple took an idea from an innovative Mac developer without so much as a thanks. It's not a case that the underlying technologies belong to either party (javascript, **ML etc) they clearly don't, but the fact remains Apple just helped themselves to the clear application of those concepts. The argument about DAs (Desk Accessories) holds no water and amounts to little but a shocking red herring. Apple were not making their DAs in pre System 7 with javascript, **ML and calling them widgets), and I have no doubt that is why Apple have tried to shove Dashboard into it's own desktop layer in a hope to differentiate their product from Konfabulator. Legally (although such is the joke of US law it doesn't mean much) Konfabulator devs may indeed have no recourse for action. But that doesn't mean what Apple did was not morally very wrong and exposed the tremendous arrogance and mean spiritedness of Apple towards a previously loyal Mac developer. This alone should serve as a warning to all developers hoping to come up with something innovative on the Mac.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 May 2005
Well, either you haven't truly read it or you have some serious trouble assimilating facts.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 May 2005
Just for the sake of argument say that Apple did indeed "steal" the idea. Dashboard's existence forced the Konfabulator developer to move onto the Windows market, which I'm sure is making him/her a lot more money. The developer didn't cry over spilt milk, so why should anyone else?
Like
Version 2.1
Norton
Norton
08 May 2005
this is for tiger
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 May 2005
"Well, either you haven't truly read it or you have some serious trouble assimilating facts" What facts are those ? The page is a point of view and talks about Desk Accessories. As I said I've read the arguments on the page and it doesn't hold any water at all.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 May 2005
Wrong. The page deals with chronological facts, differences in development and execution, etc. To say it is only opinion is dead wrong.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 May 2005
I, for one, am absolutely sick of seeing Apple steal great ideas from indie developers (Remember Watson?), and will simply not be paying for a Mac OS upgrade again. Way to go, Apple.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 May 2005
Don't let the screendoor hit you on the way out... Pfffft! get a clue.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 June 2005
You misunderstand. I didn't say I wouldn't be using Apple products. I said I wouldn't be paying for them. And as much as I respect Gruber's work (most of the time), he's dead wrong here.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 June 2005
"...he's dead wrong here." How, in what way? Care to elucidate? Or would that only prove that you have a certain personal position born of sentiment about this issue regardless of the facts to the contrary?
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
03 May 2005
I'd like to see the developer do a poll here at MU to see which other people they'd like to see "hula'd". Like Hula Pope, for example. Or Hula Bush... Hula Fidel... whatever. Who would you "hula"? Heh heh.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
03 May 2005
Damned suave.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
03 May 2005
I know having a dancing Jesus on my screen is blasphemy and I'm pretty sure I'm going to hell for it, but it sure is funny. Any chance you can set an option to have it dance without having to hover over it?
Like
Version 2.1
4 answer(s)
John Williams
John Williams
03 May 2005
We're working on having multiple "jiggle" options for the next version.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 May 2005
Also, I found myself singing a little tune when I was watching them dance. How hard would it be to implement a small, say 4 second repeated, song file? "do do do dee do do do dee" I've lost it.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 May 2005
for some reason mine does dance ALL the time, without hovering over it best mix: Jesus and sunset)
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 May 2005
*Greatest* *Widget* *Ever*! lol
Like
Version 2.1