Back to Synergy Advance page
Synergy Advance free download for Mac

Synergy Advance Reviews

0.5.1b
17 May 2007

iTunes hotkey and Growl integration tool.

Anonymous
27 July 2005

Most helpful

Looks interesting. Now that I can hide the dock icon, I may have to shell out for the new version. Makes sense that he charges for something that requires recoding from the ground up, and, you know, it's a whole 10 bucks. That's what, maybe the cost of a terrible Britney Spears CD? Or lunch? Or a cheap paperback book. Or a quarter of a big SUV's gas tank. I could go on. For those of you complaining about the cost of the advance version, when was the last time you payed 10 bucks for something that you got this much use out of? Besides, it's not like the guy is forcing you to upgrade; Synergy Classic works wonderfully, as I can attest to right now.
Like (1)
Version 0.2

Read 18 Synergy Advance User Reviews

Rate this app:

Yuletide
04 September 2008
Oh, here are the stars for the previous comment. Works pretty well, I bought it as a replacement for the (free) hotkey functionality of Quicksilver. I still use this instead, but only because I'm too lazy to look for alternatives. It works well enough, but every once in a while goes crazy and freezes. And has bare-bones functionality. And none of the "modules" that were promised long ago. Did someone say stagnant?
Like
Version 0.5.1b
1 answer(s)
Yuletide
Yuletide
01 May 2009
Ever since upgrading to Leopard it doesn't work at all! Hooray for crap software!
Like
Version 0.5.1b
Yuletide
04 September 2008
I paid faithfully for this app more than a year ago, and don't think I've seen a single release since then. Wow. One of the few pieces of software I'd ADVOCATE pirating. Just cause I don't think the money will go to any use. Prove me wrong?
Like
Version 0.5.1b
Kaiomai
26 April 2007
10 dollars for a 0.4 beta release? you have GOT to be kidding.
Like (1)
Version 0.4
Flounder
27 March 2007
Almost a year and we're waiting on the .5 beta release. This app is in development almost as long as vista/longhorn was. I hope the dev will have a final version out by this time next year or he'd get overrun by coverstura.
Like (1)
Version 0.4
Flounder
11 April 2006
While I was critical of the app before since it was such a long time since it was last updated but it's finally moving and I congratulate the author on a fine job of the .4b3 version. I can't wait to see what they have in store for the final version. I just hope I don't have to wait for another year.
Like
Version 0.4b3
Flounder
23 February 2006
Now I've been using synergy for years, how long I can't remember but when synergy advance came out I thought it looked promising. But I think the development of it is stalled since there have been no updates since july of 05 and when his road map had said that it would have been completed in Nov of 05. I emailed the developer in the middle of Jan and he said a new release version was coming out soon after a maintence release of synergy but it hasn't come out yet over a month later. I have paid for both synergy and synergy advance and I would buy another license for synergy advance if it would encourage the developer to continue developing but now I have serous doubts about it. Although menuet has come out and I like their product I would prefer to have synergy advance released to a 1.0 version and out of beta testing. Here's to hoping
Like
Version 0.2
Anonymous
07 August 2005
I give it one star since every link on the home page is broken and I can't even download it. And because I could have used it tonight at work.
Like
Version 0.2
Anonymous
27 July 2005
Looks interesting. Now that I can hide the dock icon, I may have to shell out for the new version. Makes sense that he charges for something that requires recoding from the ground up, and, you know, it's a whole 10 bucks. That's what, maybe the cost of a terrible Britney Spears CD? Or lunch? Or a cheap paperback book. Or a quarter of a big SUV's gas tank. I could go on. For those of you complaining about the cost of the advance version, when was the last time you payed 10 bucks for something that you got this much use out of? Besides, it's not like the guy is forcing you to upgrade; Synergy Classic works wonderfully, as I can attest to right now.
Like (1)
Version 0.2
Anonymous
11 May 2005
I just noticed he's pushing for users to buy Synergy Classic AND Advance with no upgrade path. Thanks for screwing your old customers Wincent! I'm gone.
Like
Version 0.1.2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 May 2005
There is a discount on Advance for Classic Synergy users.
Like
Version 0.1.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 July 2005
Why should we pay for something twice? This isn't the pinnacle of market research, wincent, it's common sense to not ditch your previous customers if you get too greedy. Mac market not raking it in enough for you? Go work for MS, they'll enjoy your perspective towards your customers. Not worth the initial $10 hes asking for with a reputation like his.
Like
Version 0.2
Anonymous
08 May 2005
I paid for Synergy Classic when it got good enough to deserve it. I'll follow the same routine for Advance.
Like
Version 0.1.1
Anonymous
06 May 2005
who cares if you have to pay... i mean come on if you didnt have to pay most people would just download the 0.9.9 version then never update to 1.0 so they would get to use the program for free
Like
Version 0.1.1
Anonymous
06 May 2005
I think we should keep a couple of things in mind. First, Wincent has proven that he's a perfectionist and his other software shows it. You can also check out his forums and note how much work he puts into his projects. So let's give him some time to work on Synergy Advance; I'm sure it'll be great. Second, I'm guessing at this part, but your $10 will buy you a licence for the 1.0 version. I don't think you'll have to pay again.
Like
Version 0.1
Anonymous
03 May 2005
I wholeheartedly agree with the guy below who pointed out that Wincent is charging us $10 to beta test his very preliminry product. To someone like me who purchased Synergy Classic, that is very insulting.
Like
Version 0.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 May 2005
If you have read on his website, he said that there would be some special for users with the classic version, and also, one purchases will probly give you lifetime access to Synergy Advance like it was with Synergy Classic, unless he's gonna change that. But he does awesome work.
Like
Version 0.1.1
Anonymous
03 May 2005
you have to give it it some slack, it's a .1 release. At least, normally that requires slack, but since the $10 price tag is there despite the .1 version it deserves being judged as harshly as any other program asking for your money. all of that said, the dev needs to consider what made synergy such a success in the first place - it was powerful, yes, but also incredibly simple, straightforward, and easy to use. a giant menu doesn't fit that description. i'm looking foward to advance getting some polish in the future, but if this release is an indicator I'll be sticking with Synergy Classic.
Like
Version 0.1
Anonymous
03 May 2005
Yup, I agree with the user below... nothing "advanced" about this version at all. In fact, it's significantly worse than classic. Why did the developer make such a big deal of its release? It's not even ready for public beta.
Like
Version 0.1
Anonymous
03 May 2005
. Wow...and not "wow" in the good way. First let me say I am a huge fan and a paying customer of what is now refered to as Synergy Classic. I have proclaimed that products greatness to all of my friends. Needless to say I was very much looking forward to this release as it has been talked about on the devs site for months...and finally, today it has been released with a resounding...thud. The control panel is so slow you can see the redraw, the menus are non-intuitive, the drop down menu on the menu bar is long and unintutive. The familiar floater is gone and I suppose Growl, another devs product, is meant to take its place. So as it stands now, the dev od Synergy is now asking mac users to: 1) Pay for a preview release, this includes previous customers 2) Use another product that may at one time charge you are just simply cease development and break The only thing Advance about this program is the name and the timing of the release, as in, it has been released in advance of being ready...but pelase pay $10 to beta test it for me. And to be honest, this feels more like Alpha, not Beta. Disappointed? More than I ever thought possible.
Like
Version 0.1
Anonymous
03 May 2005
As much as I hope synergy advance would take Syn Classic to the next level, I must say I've been sorely dissapointed. I' was hoping for some kind of slick interface, but the lengthy menu and the barebones pref. pane are a turn off. I'll stick with synergy classic for now. I can't figure out why I would want to upgrade. That said, I'm sure wincent will bring this little app up to speed. He did for the original.
Like
Version 0.1
Anonymous
03 May 2005
After going through what it can do I must say I'm not that impressed, it's menu is way too long, the preference table is too raw and it just feels... bad. But it shows some potential, so I'm giving it 2.5 stars. But I wouldn't recommend it as-is. I'd rather check out Radion(aquaticsw.com) or just synergy classic p.s. The IM status setting is pointless in Tiger, since iChat does that it self.
Like
Version 0.1