Back to KoolClip page
KoolClip free download for Mac

KoolClip Reviews

2.5
04 December 2005

Tracks clipboard history and more.

Anonymous
18 April 2005

Most helpful

Hi This is a nice little application, small, doesnt use alot of the cpu. one feature i would like to see is different clip icons for the menu bar, coz the one it comes with is a wee bit big, and takes up valuable menubar real estate, nice implemention tho and since ive been using it, i havent had any problems. thanks
Like
Version 0.1

Read 25 KoolClip User Reviews

Rate this app:

Sugarspicebaby1
04 August 2011
Seriously disappointed this app will no longer work with Lion. I used this a lot as a student for citing material. Hope there will be an update.
Like
Version 2.5
Sgilbert
24 June 2011
I love this app, but on searching potential non-compatible apps with up-coming Rosetta free Lion, find that this app will no longer work.
Like
Version 2.5
Sgilbert
01 October 2009
Works perfectly for me using Snow Leopard. No need to update what works--and very well!
Like
Version 2.5
Billbar
27 April 2009
IMO, this is the best clipboard manager available for the Mac. I'd like to see it updated as a universal (PPC/Intel) app.
Like
Version 2.5
Orgopete
17 February 2009
Orphanware?
Like
Version 2.5
Sugarspicebaby1
02 February 2009
While I like the simplicity of the program overall -It seems that everytime I reboot my Mac KoolClip restores a list of OLD data (images, text) from the very first time I installed it, not the most recent data. I don't know why. Anyone else? Also - I have tried to contact the programmer without success. :(
Like
Version 2.5
Neddy56456
16 August 2006
No universal binary? Currently using Jumpcut: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/21604
Like
Version 2.5
Ambitiouslemon
14 October 2005
woohoo a nice simple multiclipboard!
Like
Version 2.3
GBukalders
04 October 2005
Message to the developer: 1) Please add option to move all KoolClip shortcuts from the main KoolClip to the separate (hierarchical) menu to free up the main menu space for additional clipboards. 2) Currently changing Preferences window panes immediately shows message "There are unsaved changes", although nothing has been changed. Please fix this! 3) Could you please change the way how the flash window is shown? Currently it stays predefined seconds after pressing Ctrl+Command+[ or ]. THe problem is that for some clips I'd like to see it ofr 4-5 seconds, for some just for 1 second, just to see it. So I'd prefer to see it visible until I release Ctrl+Command keys. Is that possible? - Just press Ctrl+Command+[ or ] to bring up flash window and keep on holding Ctrl+Command keys until it's enough. Releasing these keys would cause flash window to disappear immediately.
Like
Version 2.3
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 October 2005
Hi Guntis, These are great ideas. As for the 3rd one, the only problem is if other users use different modifier keys. Then we cannot simply use Ctrl-Cmd. It will be a bit more complicated, but it should be possible to let the user keep pressing the modifier key they programmed. Currently there is a simpler solution (I use it all the time): Just set the flash timeout to a very large number. Then you will have the flash window displaying until you make it disappear by pressing the hotkey again. For example, Ctrl-Cmd-= to display flash. After you are done with the flash, click Ctrl-Cmd-= again.
Like
Version 2.3
M30318
M30318
28 August 2006
HI, Are you planning to support Intel Macs? This was the best Clip utility I ever used and I would really love it on my Intel Thanks
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
28 September 2005
Ten stars! I've tried iClip and others and Koolclip beats them all in elegant simplicity. And it's FREE!
Like
Version 2.3
Wizardling
10 September 2005
KoolClip on my iMac running 10.3.9 fails to save the clipboards across restarts :-( It it were not for this showstopping (and rather glaring) bug I'd definitely be using it, as it's a nice, simple (unlike the bloatware, Dock hogging CopyPaste) multiple clipboard menu. Please fix this awful bug so I can use this lovely piece of freeware. I'd even pay a shareware fee if only it WORKED! *sigh*
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 September 2005
Jamie, thanks for your bug report. I have fixed this bug (and some more changes) and released a new version (2.3). You can download it from http://kudang.com/koolclip/download.html Please let me know how it goes. PS: I will look forward for that shareware fee ;)
Like
Version 2.1
kioshi
28 August 2005
People, in Tiger you have to disable ´URL Actions´ or else the app won´t run properly. I still prefer PTH Pasteboard for 1 reason only: when I select a copied item from the menu I just want it pasted in the place, I do not want some flash transparent window showing up (though the window´s nice for the other uses like hotkeys and stuff) So, please make a way, like PTH, of selecting an item from the menu and just pasting it the location, the flash thingie just slows down pasting from the menu. Otherwise for this minor gripe, coolest clipboard app ever!
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 September 2005
Kioshi, Thanks for the excellant feedback. I agree with you regarding the flash window display while selecting from the Menu. I have made this change, please feel free to download the version 2.3 from http://kudang.com/koolclip/download.html Feel free to let me know if you have more feedbacks.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
07 August 2005
Great program, really like the features! But it quits everytime I attempt to clear the history... Running OSX 10.4.2
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 September 2005
Hi Kayelel, Thanks for your kind words. I have fixed this bug and release a new version. Please download the version 2.3 from http://kudang.com/koolclip/download.html and let me know if you have any issues.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
28 July 2005
I like it, but it keeps freezing on me when I do stuff with urls. Help?
Like
Version 2.1
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 July 2005
Are you running it on Panther or Tiger ? Currently there is a problem with URLs on tigers and I am looking into it. You can try disabling the URL preview and URL keywords. BTW, approx how many URLs do you have in the KoolClip ? Thx, /CK
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 August 2005
yeah, I'm on the latest version of tiger, just had a few urls, looking for a good clipboard app and I think this may be it! Thanks.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 August 2005
I will be getting myself a Tiger soon. Will be able to fix the URL issues and also expand more features. Any specific new feature requests ?
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
07 July 2005
Wonderful application. Thank you very much.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
12 May 2005
You can find some tips for KoolClip at http://kudang.com/phpBB2 including the quickest way to create and use your own icons for menubar.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
20 April 2005
Thank you for the update, the smaller clip is definately the way to go. maybe for the next update have an option to change the icon? the clips nice but people like choices. just a suggestion also the unicode support would be a huge boost for this great ultily, and maybe image support too, and hotkeys? just a few suggestions. has no memory leak which is great. very stable too.
Like
Version 0.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 April 2005
Thanks Marc, Unicode, graphics and hotkeys etc will be in the next version, so stay tuned! Any other feature requests ?
Like
Version 0.2
Anonymous
19 April 2005
This is a promising start, but IMHO not more. (And I guess the developer would agree, as it's version 0.2 ...) The three most important reasons why I'll stick with PTHPasteboard: 1. Clip texts that contain non-English characters (for instance, German umlauts) show up as if it were a UTF8-file opened in a ASCII editor. Man, this is ugly! BTW: Mac OS X is totally Unicode-savvy, so it's no extra work to support Unicode. 2. I like PTHPasteboard's floating palette which I can open using a shortcut to see the ast x clipboard entries. With KoolClip can't see the clipboard entries without using the mouse. 3. It does not support images on the clipboard.
Like
Version 0.2
Anonymous
19 April 2005
Was: Great idea. Now: Great app! Very useful and simple to use. Thanks for the swift update.
Like
Version 0.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 May 2005
Thanks Anonymous, I hope you will find the latest version even more powerful and feature packed!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
18 April 2005
Thanks to everyone for their valuable suggestions. Please stay tuned for the updated version of KoolClip!
Like
Version 0.1
Jimw
18 April 2005
Based on the reviews and screenshots, I am still sticking with PTHPasteboard. It takes up no menu bar real estate (pops in from the side of the monitor), unless you want it, and previews on opening it. It also has more customizable options, like custom hot keys and fixed content and you decide how many entries the product retains. It also has proved itself over many years. FYI: I am just a users have have no connection with the author. It is just one of my "must have "apps and I have yet to see anything of its equal.
Like
Version 0.1
Anonymous
18 April 2005
YEAH, great little App, exactly what i needed! Works fine so far - and yes, please shrink that monster icon! thank you!!!!
Like
Version 0.1
Anonymous
18 April 2005
Great idea. This little helper will really come in handy as soon as we get a minimalist menu bar icon. Thanks a lot in advance!
Like
Version 0.1
Anonymous
18 April 2005
Download failed. Anyone try this let me know if you can turn off the big logo and text, and maybe just show a tiny vertical clip and maybe just the count of items (like "@6" instead of "(===#=#==) 6 Items")?
Like
Version 0.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 April 2005
Thanks Anonymous for the tip! Stay tuned, you will see it soon :)
Like
Version 0.1
Anonymous
18 April 2005
Hi This is a nice little application, small, doesnt use alot of the cpu. one feature i would like to see is different clip icons for the menu bar, coz the one it comes with is a wee bit big, and takes up valuable menubar real estate, nice implemention tho and since ive been using it, i havent had any problems. thanks
Like
Version 0.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 April 2005
Hi Marc, Thanks for your kind words. I am glad you find this utility useful. Version 0.2 is available with tiny icon and customizable text in menu bar. Please feel free to submit new feature requests, KoolClip is very much in evolution!
Like
Version 0.1