Back to Jers Novel Writer page
Jers Novel Writer free download for Mac

Jers Novel Writer Reviews

1.1.12
11 October 2010

Creative writing software.

Electriclewis
13 May 2008

Most helpful

It's worth downloading this just to read the EULA - it's brilliant :D
Like (4)
Version 1.1.2

Read 18 Jers Novel Writer User Reviews

Rate this app:

Ca
12 December 2015
Is Jers Novel Writer still supported?
Like
Version 1.1.12
Aetnaria
15 June 2012
I wish they'd update it to support QuickLook... Heck, I wish they'd update it at all.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.12
Onlooker
23 September 2010
So good to see this back. Never seen any writing software that suits me as well. I implore everyone to give it a try. Beautiful margin notes too!
Like (1)
Version 1.1.11
Electriclewis
13 May 2008
It's worth downloading this just to read the EULA - it's brilliant :D
Like (4)
Version 1.1.2
Zx81
04 January 2008
Apparently, the link to Jer's hut just disappeared ; I was connected to his site about an hour ago; Anyone knows what happened ?
Like
Version 1.0.1.2
6 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
04 January 2008
Just now tried to access the site, got this message: "This Account Has Been Suspended - Please contact the billing/support department as soon as possible." Apparently the developer forgot to pay his hosting bill. It's that time of year when people are very busy (family affairs) and are often short of cash as well.
Like
Version 1.0.1.2
Zx81
Zx81
04 January 2008
I found him ; have a look at this : http://homepage.mac.com/vikingjs/iblog/C1702808668/E1959571706/index.html
Like
Version 1.0.1.2
Zx81
Zx81
04 January 2008
Found this comment from Jerry Seeger (JNW developer) : "I was hoping that the servers for Jer's Software Hut would be stable enough that I could wait until I got back to the secret labs to find a new host, but that doesn't seem to be the case. The problem: the guy who kindly offered to host the Hut... his contact info is on the server that is currently down. Dang."
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1.2
Macmonovich
Macmonovich
06 February 2008
Anybody know what's going on with this program? I wanted to pay to get rid of the nag screens but his site's links are mostly all dead, his email address bounces back as non existent, I'm reluctant to send credit card payment to nowhere. What's up? Anybody?
Like
Version 1.0.1.2
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
06 February 2008
have a look here: http://jerssoftwarehut.com/download.shtml
Like
Version 1.0.1.2
Macmonovich
Macmonovich
06 February 2008
The purchase goes nowhere, there is no response with a serial or unlock key, now my credit card info may be floating in space. I think the author should be more responsible or remove the product from sale if no one is going to respond.
Like
Version 1.0.1.2
Bad-Jobs-Good-Jobs
07 November 2007
Maybe someone should first have a look at the free "Bean"? http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/24881/bean or for further needs have a look at the apps at "devon". http://www.devon-technologies.com/products/index.html 28 dollars, hahaha
Like
Version 1.0.1.2
2 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
04 January 2008
Bean ? You've got to be joking !
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1.2
Lev
Lev
02 April 2009
Bean and JNR are not the same thing. If you had used both, you'd know. Bean is a fine lightweight RTF app; a kind of TextEdit with a little bit more. JNR is an app for writing books, papers etc, with built=in live outlining, a note-taking facility, very well implemented marginalia which can be categorised for different kinds of notes etc. Both get text into a file. Fine. After that, they diverge considerably. And if you don't think JNr is, even theoretically, worth $20 or whatever, then you don't need it.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.8
Syharris
02 March 2007
Ok, this version installs and launches without a problem. Seems to be pretty stable, too.
Like
Version 0.6.2.1
Syharris
22 February 2007
Crashes immediately upon trying to launch. Redownloaded, but still crashes.
Like
Version 0.6.2
1 answer(s)
Ca
Ca
02 March 2007
Maybe you should give v. 0.6.2.1 a try, I hope it'll fix your problem.
Like
Version 0.6.2.1
Zws
18 February 2007
Jer, Drop 1.0 on us if you want to accomplish financial gain or even general interest. Scrivener is taking the cake. Don't back down to competition, foster it. Also, Jer's is the best of the old-gen products: Ulysses, Avenir, etc. - Bring the beast back to the peak!
Like
Version 0.6.1.6
Thinc
18 December 2006
I've noticed there haven't been any reviews of JNW for about a year. That's too bad, since many folks would benefit from trying out this terrific app. I've been using 0.614 for the past three months and putting it through it's paces. The developer's objective was to create an app that helped him write without the distractions of Word and Word-like programs, as well as to give him the organizational flexibility to track, edit, and restructure story elements. Even in this beta version, he has succeeded remarkably well. The program is stable and a delight to use. Anyone working on a longer document, who is concerned more with writing than formatting, would benefit by giving it a try. Jerry is also very responsive to user community feedback. The whole experience has been a pleasure.
Like
Version 0.6.1.6
Anonymous
19 November 2005
The combination of a WORKING outliner (unlike the bizarre “outliners” in Copywrite and Ulysses, let alone Avenir, which don't actually outline anything), dynamic database, floating margin notes and a few other features (e.g. good implementation of full screen), makes it a winner for me. I've been writing in it for the last few weeks, and then suddenly decided to ‘try again' Ulysses and CW... has's been able to write a single scene in them, spending all my time fighting with interface. I don't think JNW is a knock-off of anything. The concept is quite novel. And for now, it's free...
Like
Version 0.5.2.1
Anonymous
07 October 2005
After five minutes with this application recently, I can see why the author still isn't charging for it. There are other alternatives. The top two (in order of excellence in my opinion) are CopyWrite and Ulysses. Ulysses has a vastly more flexible export system but it's overpriced, the interface is clunky (looks like a Java application ported from Linux, ported from Windows), and hasn't made much progress. CopyWrite has had some problems with annoying bugs the last few versions but nothing serious. It seems to be advancing regularly in features and performance and the price beats the hell out of Ulysses. With Jer's Novel Writer on the other hand, you're definitely getting what you paid for ...
Like
Version 0.5.2.1
2 answer(s)
Lev
Lev
30 May 2006
You know, that really doesn't help anyone. It's thin, truculent and just vague assertions backed up with nothing tangible. If MacUpdate is to be of any use, those of us who try to post helpful and reasoned reviews should start coming down on people who just use it to assert their opinions in the odd belief that opinion alone is worth something. Why did you bother wasting your time? More to the point, why do you think you're entitled to waste OUR time?
Like
Version 0.5.2.1
Lawrence-Martin
Lawrence-Martin
03 June 2006
I have just downloaded the software and rather than write a review or comment in the main section I thought I'd just say here: I *can't* see why this program is free! Nonetheless, lucky us... it is!
Like
Version 0.5.2.1
Anonymous
01 September 2005
I wish I had found this sooner, before banging my head against the wall with other word processors.
Like
Version 0.5.2.1
Anonymous
09 August 2005
Great EULA! (Someone does read them...)
Like
Version 0.5.2.0
Anonymous
07 August 2005
Really Promising!!! nice work... but please: change the icon :-) it isnt a "mac-look" one :-)
Like
Version 0.5.2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 September 2005
I'd have to agree.
Like
Version 0.5.2.1
Anonymous
07 July 2005
First class. If you're a creative writer or want to be, this program is for you. Its clean, intuitive, well-organized - an ideal environment for the writer. Congrats Jer. Your Novel Writer is an absolute winner.
Like
Version 0.5.2.0
Anonymous
27 April 2005
Very promising but not yet ready to compete with CopyWrite. Lacks version control (as far as I can see) and does not have a full screen view. Does not allow one to specify a target word count range as a goal. Still very promising but needs more.
Like
Version 0.5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 April 2005
Thanks for your comments. I quite agree with you that there's still work to do to make this what it needs to be. Full-screen view is on the way. Version control I've been thinking about but it's a ways off yet. There are certainly times I've wished I had it, but at the same time when I move something to the boneyard rather than delete it, I never use that text again. I doubt it will ever have a word count goal feature. You never know, but something where you put in a number and then it tells you the number back seems more like a distraction. This may sound strange coming from a NaNoWriMo veteran, but when I'm writing I don't want to think about stuff like that. I want to go go go.
Like
Version 0.5
Spwarf
21 April 2005
This beta is, for me, the very best Mac app for creative writing, and it beats Copywrite (and a few others). It shows that it is conceived by someone who is himself a writer.
Like
Version 0.4.1