Back to Battle for Wesnoth page
Battle for Wesnoth free download for Mac

Battle for Wesnoth Reviews

1.14.9
25 September 2019

Fantasy-themed strategy game.

Peter-Balcon
22 April 2008

Most helpful

This is an outstanding example of a free, open-source game. In every aspect that really counts, it excels. The AI is extremely good, head and shoulders above many expensive strategy and fantasy RPGs. The 2D graphics have matured markedly since its earlier versions, and a lot of effort has gone into balancing the various creatures you can play and fight. Be warned, this game is not easy, and is extremely addictive! Regular saves will save a lot of grief! A very big well-done to the development team for this one.
Like (6)
Version 1.4.1

Read 36 Battle for Wesnoth User Reviews

Rate this app:

Weasel
25 March 2017
The download link for 1.13.7 is not for Mac, use the "Developer website" link. Mac OSX's current version to this date 1.12.5.
Like
Version 1.13.7
PeterG2862
10 February 2014
This right here is the shit! Man, what a game. I'm still in awe. Addictive as hell and fun all the while, Battle for Wesnoth is a classic in my books. It was kinda tricky to learn at the start but I love it, nevertheless. Its free and has a good storyline. Mr.Developer take a bow!
Like (2)
Version 1.11.9
Penguirl
14 August 2012
Despite the listed system requirements of 10.5 Leopard, v1.10.3 works fine on my USB 2 iMac running 10.4 Tiger. Though it might not be a bad idea to hang onto the previous version just in case.
Like
Version 1.10.3
Archmission
27 August 2011
I have had nothing but crashes since switching to Lion. It always crashes when I switch to full screen mode. Does anyone else have this problem.
Like
Version 1.8.6
Penguirl
16 February 2011
Dungeons & Dragons meets LOTR. Wesnoth is fun, addictive, and challenging, it will keep you engrossed for a long time.
Like (5)
Version 1.9.3
1 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
16 February 2011
Oh, and a big thank you to all the people who have contributed their time and effort in making Wesnoth such a fantastic game!
Like (5)
Archmission
07 November 2010
The developer has created an addicting game for strategy player. I have found myself quite enamored with the level of complexity and fun this turn based "war" game. There is another game that was quite addicting for me and that was the game Close Combat that was bought and destroyed by MS. The game play was fun and exciting. I wish the author of this program could make one similar to that game but more updated than the original. I know that they still have some of these available, but it is seen only in the Windose world.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.2
Jawamac
06 July 2010
Back in the late 80's early 90's, there were a series of games for the PC called Warlords. This game is a close cousin, updated quite a bit. If you remember and like Warlords, you'll love this game. As everyone says, it's addictive. It combines the concept of "leveling up" and traditional fantasy themes usually seen in RPGs with turn-based strategy. If you play games like CIV for the battles, you'll really like this game a lot. It's all battle strategy. You use units (varied, all from traditional fantasy) and move them around in a similar fashion to board games like Risk or Axis and Allies. Of course, these are much more sophisticated, akin to CIV, where each unit has different strengths and weaknesses, impact on other units, skills, movement points, etc. Best of all, you can "level up" characters to a certain degree, and keep them from one board to the next within a campaign. It's rich and robust. I can't believe gameplay this good is available free.
Like (5)
Version 1.8.3
Themtb
25 January 2010
I love this game. Its the only good turn based strategy game for the Mac I know of. If anyone knows of any other turn based strategy games (not real time) let me know.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.12
1 answer(s)
star-affinity
star-affinity
10 March 2010
The Might and Magic Heroes V perhaps? http://freeverse.com/mac/product/?id=6002
Like (3)
Version 1.7.14
Eric-Brunstad
30 December 2009
Try it. You'll love it.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.11
Peter-Balcon
22 April 2008
This is an outstanding example of a free, open-source game. In every aspect that really counts, it excels. The AI is extremely good, head and shoulders above many expensive strategy and fantasy RPGs. The 2D graphics have matured markedly since its earlier versions, and a lot of effort has gone into balancing the various creatures you can play and fight. Be warned, this game is not easy, and is extremely addictive! Regular saves will save a lot of grief! A very big well-done to the development team for this one.
Like (6)
Version 1.4.1
Philsh
08 March 2008
Most fun I've had in a RPG!!!
Like
Version 1.4
Ozean
07 March 2008
I have to chime in with others here and tell you that this game has always been great fun. Playability is excellent and you can use different styles of play to accomplish your goals. In the recent versions, however, this game has also become very refined in terms of its user interface, the sounds and the music and practically all other aspects of the game. If you have at least a little fun with strategy games, you must try this one!
Like (2)
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Gaoshan
Gaoshan
07 March 2008
You said it. This is really an outstanding example of this sort of application. It gets better and better as they move along in developing it. Development is consistent and steady, changes are always for the better, not for the bloat. I love this game!
Like
Version 1.4
DocEatMac
06 December 2007
The very best open source game available. The only game I have ever played where you can create your own characters and storys in that easy way. Fun fun fun I LOVE IT.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.12a
john-7
19 May 2007
One of the best open source games available. Very solid gameplay, although I think it could be just the slightest bit deeper. Nice, reserved graphics and sound as well.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Gaoshan
14 November 2006
What a fun game! This is my current game addiction and I highly recommend it to anyone who likes the fantasy genre.
Like
Version 1.1.12
Nu3l
21 September 2006
A greatgame, a must for any wargamer lovers. Excellent playability, nice music, overall a must have freeware.
Like
Version 1.1.9
Noah
28 August 2006
This game kicks my ass. Awesome work with the sound, efficient graphic work and challenging - yet simple gameplay. I enjoyed myself profusely.
Like
Version 1.1.9
mswfujowdffyc
28 July 2006
Hands down the most fun I've had with a piece of mac freeware. The mix of RTS and RPG elements are well-done, and the scalable difficultly levels make it possible for anyone to pick it up and play. Absolutely worth a try.
Like
Version 1.1.8
Elegraphy
27 July 2006
Purely fantastic! Even I am a girl and I usually don't like war game, I must say this game is really addictive!
Like
Version 1.1.8
Joshwolf
07 July 2006
Terrific game, better than a lot of commercial stuff out there. If you're a wargamer, you'll love this.
Like
Version 1.1.7
Burro
14 January 2006
Mad props, crazy props to the Wesnoth crew!!! I haven't played this kind of strategy game since the McGraw-Hill bookshelf games once so popular with the West Point crowd, that I played as a teen 25 years ago. But this one sucked me in... wasted probably half my spare time over thast week (yeah, thanks a lot, guys). The two main things I love as a neophyte are (1) that you can get a lot of enjoyment out of the game without becoming a game-geek, by when setting it to "easy," and (2) that there seems to be a reasonable degree of versaility to each scenario -- more than one way to intelligently approach the scenario and more than one set of tactics / strategies for success (though this might be improved in future). I am also impressed the degree of detail underlying game-play. Wonderfully playable. fun, attractive. Rocks. Save often, in case things don't go your way!
Like
Version 1.0.2
Jlennon314
08 January 2006
Very well designed game, and now that it's all-in-one, it makes instalation much easier. It reminds me quite a bit of like Battletech (the board game, not the video game) or Civ, and it certainly makes a good lasting impression. Basically, you control a bunch of different fantasy-based units, like elvish archers and dwarves and orcs. You can either play campaigns, against the computer, or even multiplayer (with several options, and any network multiplayer is always a huge plus for free games). The graphics are enjoyable, and the 2D sprites are actually a welcome change from the 3D stuff that's being used (poorly) on so many games these days. I cannot rate the sound, because my music is off so that I can listen to iTunes, but that's just how I am. Computer video game music is just not usually my thing. You are even given a map editor for the game, although I'm not certain if there is a campaign editor. It may take you a few moments to get used to the gameplay, but after a few tries you get the hang of it. It's worth the time, I promise.
Like
Version 1.0.2
scott
14 August 2005
I'm not sure why macupdate was mac-updated since, yes, 0.9.5 of Battle for Wesnoth is not yet packaged for OS X. However, the linked version, 0.9.4a, should download as a disk image with a normal drag-and-drop-install-and-click app. I'm not sure what problems the other users were having. Regardless, mac users who want help getting the game up and running should go to www.wesnoth.org/forum for help. It's worth it.
Like
Version 0.9.5
1 answer(s)
anonymous-parakeet-3230
anonymous-parakeet-3230
01 December 2005
An easy-to-install Mac version of 1.0.x is now available.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
09 August 2005
Very messy download with 49 files and no info. Basically free is not an excuse, we are mac users, I would expect something to double click and away we go.
Like
Version 0.9.5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 August 2005
Quick check on their web site reveals no 0.9.5 version for Mac OS X (Wondered why the link went to 0.9.4a)
Like
Version 0.9.5
Anonymous
09 August 2005
I downloaded. And a want to play but... It needs to be frickled arround till it works. Very unfriendly.
Like
Version 0.9.5
Anonymous
03 August 2005
The game is hard, and almost impossible in later levels if you have no advanced units to recall. It becomes annoying because it is a very real possibility that you might have to go back 2 levels and replay them hoping to save units with high XP...tends to ruin the game in my opinion
Like
Version 0.9.4
2 answer(s)
anonymous-parakeet-3230
anonymous-parakeet-3230
01 December 2005
We admit the game is hard. :) "Two Brothers" or "South Guard" are additional campaigns you can download from within the game, that should provide a gentler introduction into Wesnoth. Also, make sure you try campaigns on the easiest level first, only Wesnoth veterans can make it on the harder levels.
Like
Version 1.0
Noah
Noah
28 August 2006
There are games that aren't hard and flash and beep when you click. This is not one of them. I appreciate the effort in playing strategically that is required by Wesnoth to get through the game.
Like
Version 1.1.9
Anonymous
03 August 2005
Ummm, I downloaded the game. However, when it was done unstuffing it all the data was present, but there was no application. I guess it got left somewhere.
Like
Version 0.9.4
1 answer(s)
Jmpinc
Jmpinc
06 August 2005
You might want to go to the Wesnoth website. When I clicked the Macupdate download link I ended up with the source files which seemed to want libraries that I didn't have to compile it. However, at the Wesnoth site there is a precompiled application.
Like
Version 0.9.4
Anonymous
02 August 2005
When I started my first campaign, I began having flashbacks to the game Ancient Art of War that I played on my 512 Mac. It seems straightforward enough, and yet I find that hours have passed while I play. The developers should pat themselves on the back, because they're doing a great job. Overall game quality is equal or surpasses those produce through commercial development.
Like
Version 0.9.4
Anonymous
14 July 2005
Can I sue the developpers for peddling such addictive stuff? I must have played this game for 300 hours, at a not negligeable cost to other things in my life. If you're a procrastinator and like strategy games, be warned: I've already deleted this one twice from my hard disk and am just about to download it again. Aaaargh!
Like
Version 0.9.1
Anonymous
14 May 2005
Like Warcraft meets Genoforge! Better than both in my opinion....best game I've played in a long time. If you like 2D graphics it don't get any better than this
Like
Version 0.9.1
Anonymous
09 May 2005
Really fun game. Great variation of races and characters. Campaign modes are like unlimited if you continue to download from the official server. It's challenging and best of all, it's free!
Like
Version 0.9.1
Anonymous
26 April 2005
Great network game. There are much more intricate net games out there, but if you're playing accross the globe, chances are the game laggs, and you would need a fast computer. This game, you take turn playing as the liking of a board game. Net lagg seems never to be a problem. Also, the open architecture is real nice too.
Like
Version 0.9.0
Dylan-kittell
25 April 2005
the game is to slow. it takes like 2 minutes to load one thing. and i have a 933 MHz processor.
Like
Version 0.9.0
Anonymous
18 April 2005
It is hard for me to believe that this is freeware. I'm not much of a shareware person, and the freeware I usually get is not even close to this in terms of gameplay, features, size and innovation. It is a great deal. You can see previous reviews about gameplay innovations.
Like
Version 0.9.0
Anonymous
17 April 2005
For free?!? This game rocks. It's a massive, challenging, inventive piece of artwork. It has multiplayer online, and if you are skilled enough to get through all the campaigns there are more to download online. I really am blown away, especially after having played Avernum and the like. This game even blows away any shareware game I've ever downloaded. Beautiful, simply beautiful.
Like
Version 0.9.0
Anonymous
11 April 2005
This game is awsome. It is not Warcraft, it is not Civ, it is not Risk. It's not Heroes of Might and Magic.Its its own thing....its an evolving, turn-based, fanatasy -themed, strategy game. The campaigns are great. To win, you must cultivate certain units in order to have them grow stronger and more capable. It should run fine on the slowest mac capable of running OSX. The AI is MUCH smarter than in HMOM, and slightly smarter than in Warcraft, I think. On any but the easiest settings I had a devil of a time getting through even one campaign. It should be a challenge for you, even if you think you are good at these things.
Like
Version 0.9.0