Back to Tor Browser Bundle page
Tor Browser Bundle free download for Mac

Tor Browser Bundle Reviews

8.5.5
05 September 2019

Anonymize Web browsing and more.

Gaoshan
31 August 2007

Most helpful

I spend most summers working in mainland China. Tor was invaluable to me for circumventing the Great Firewall. I used it as part of Vidalia ( http://vidalia-project.net/ ) and found it to be THE best way to access blocked sites from within China. I also tried using HamachiX as a way to use my server in the U.S. for a VPN. The authorities caught on very quickly and within 2 days had blocked my access. Tor, however, was never spotted and I used it over a 2 month period. Go Tor!
Like (15)
Version 0.1.2.17

Read 137 Tor Browser Bundle User Reviews

Rate this app:

blancaberger
14 October 2019
A good alternative to other popular browsers if you are worried about collecting data on the Internet.
Like
Version 8.5.5
Derekcurrie
24 October 2018
There's a MAJOR security flaw in versions previous to 8.0.3. So be sure to UPDATE! "Tor Browser Has a Flaw That Governments May Have Exploited" https://www.pcmag.com/news/363656/tor-browser-has-a-flaw-that-governments-may-have-exploited ***Don't take Tor Browser security for granted. It has been regularly hacked and is NOT perfect security protection on the Internet. It's BETTER security on the Internet, with of course a cost of speed depending upon what you're doing. [IOW: It is not heresy to point out that Tor Browser can be insecure. Zealots: Deal with it. Stop pretending.]
Like (4)
Version 8.0.3
angijordan
22 February 2018
We all know the truth... it is best
Like
Version 7.5
1 answer(s)
WetNet
WetNet
27 June 2018
How, pray tell, is it "the best"? What makes it so? https? Tor, Vidalia, Torbutton, and a Firefox fork? Like in the description? What?
Like (3)
sektor1992
16 February 2018
Cool
Like
Version 7.0.11
brantscales
14 February 2018
useful to use. And Tor is amazing too!
Like
Version 7.0.11
gulija-farfara
13 February 2018
Great app. Easy to use. Extremely useful
Like
Version 7.0.11
Mdewakanton
03 November 2017
Updated to 7.0.9 to fix a "critical" vulnerability: https://blog.torproject.org/tor-browser-709-released https://www.wearesegment.com/news/the-tormoil-bug-torbrowser-critical-security-vulnerability/
Like
Version 7.0.8
Derekcurrie
25 October 2017
If you're running into a version 7.0.7 bug that stalls and times out the opening of the installer, you are not alone. The workaround is to update Tor Browser from within the application. Go to the menu bar, click on "Tor Browser" then "About Tor Browser". The app should immediately start downloading and updating itself to version 7.0.7, successfully.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.7
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
26 October 2017
Version 7.0.8 has the same stall bug when you attempt to open the installer DMG. Again, update from inside TorBrowser itself.

"The following disk images couldn't be opened
Image - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Reason
TorBrowser-7.0.8-osx64_en-US.dmg - - Operation timed out"
:-P
Like
themacdoc@att.net
20 October 2017
Today's 7.0.7 update appears on MacUpdate, yet the link on the TOR site is still for 7.0.6. The new version does download from <https://www.torproject.org/dist/torbrowser/7.0.7/TorBrowser-7.0.7-osx64_en-US.dmg> BUT, it reports TOR is out of date, and checking for updates returns No Update Available!

Really, this is not the order in which to release an update. Get it working on your OWN website before a third-party site publishes its release. Whose snafu is this?
Like
Version 7.0.7
mudasserakram987
01 October 2017
it's really good. but I have also a website for you. the link is: http://procracksoft.com/wifi-hacker-download-free/
Like
Version 7.0.6
Big Johnson
27 September 2017
You sure about that version number MacUpdate? Because the latest version on the Tor website is 7.0.5. https://goo.gl/MAATW
Like (1)
Version 7.0.6
3 answer(s)
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
28 September 2017
Upon opening TOR Browser from the MacUpdate download - its About window says:

Changelog:
Tor Browser 7.0.6 -- September 26 2017
* All Platforms
* Update Firefox to 52.4.0esr
* Update Tor to 0.3.1.7
* Update Torbutton to 1.9.7.7
* Bug 22542: Security Settings window too small on macOS 10.12 (fixup)
* Bug 20375: Warn users after entering fullscreen mode
* Update HTTPS-Everywhere to 2017.9.12
* Update NoScript to 5.0.10
* Bug 21830: Copying large text from web console leaks to /tmp
* Bug 23393: Don't crash all tabs when closing one tab
* OS X
* Bug 23404: Add missing Noto Sans Buginese font to the macOS whitelist
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
28 September 2017
That's a bit unusual - for a dev. to be behind on their own versions.
And not just any developer, but one with a large team behind it.

Oh well, stranger things have happened...

I've been running the experimental 7.5 versions since at least June, and am now on 7.5a4.
Like
themacdoc@att.net
themacdoc@att.net
20 October 2017
They did it again today. Again, why would the developer release the update through MacUpdate (of all places) before replacing the version on their own site? And why does the new version report itself as being out-of-date with no updates available? This is not the way to do things.
Like
Derekcurrie
10 August 2017
The current version is 7.0.4.
https://www.torproject.org/dist/torbrowser/7.0.4/TorBrowser-7.0.4-osx64_en-US.dmg
Like
Version 7.0.2
1 answer(s)
Saneman1
Saneman1
26 September 2017
I went to Tor's download Page and the current version now is 7.0.5 and the 7.0.6 version isn't shown. Why doesn't this version reflect Tor?
Like (1)
djebarin-1
13 March 2017
Excellent app. I love it.
Like
Version 6.5.1
Fringewood
22 December 2016
Using Tor automatically increases surveillance and logging of your IP's activity, achieving the exact opposite of what the app was designed to do, which was to provide privacy/anonymity. It currently provides neither. You may as well wave a red flag. VPN is the best privacy option, and it's not perfect.
Like
Version 6.0.8
2 answer(s)
grws-1
grws-1
07 June 2017
Much FUD today?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fear,_uncertainty_and_doubt
Like (1)
Valdimar-Thor-H
Valdimar-Thor-H
19 October 2017
Agree. A question I want an answer to. Why should the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, in the first place, blow their protecting government communications software into the public domain?
Like
If the folks at Firefox still don't know the hack the FBI used to circumvent and bust into TOR what's the use of using TOR, since it is Firefox that is weak like in the TOR process.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
01 August 2016
The weakness exploited by the FBI to break into the San Bernardino shooter's iPhone 5c hasn't been disclosed to Apple, yet people are still using unpatched phones.

Believe it or not, there are other uses for TOR than illegal activities.
Anyone worried about 3-letter government agencies probably ought to change their online activities and/or their life.

Do you know of a more secure browser?
Like (2)
schmelding
14 May 2016
Version 5.5.5 is a brick on the Mac for OS X 10.11.x. I'm not the only user with this complaint. Launch the app, click the Connect button and it crashes immediately.
Like (1)
Version 5.5.5
2 answer(s)
Csean2006
Csean2006
31 May 2016
Strange. Version 5.5.5 is running great for me on 10.11.4. No crashes whatsoever and it's faster than the previous version. Nothing but positive results so far.
Like
Shock-J
Shock-J
31 May 2016
Same for me as well. Just tried version 6.0. No change. Launch -> Connect -> Boom!
Like
marleybobby
27 April 2016
Good web browser. It is definitely for users who are a little bit paranoid about their security or want to hide their IP. Unfortunately you may not reach or see the content of some websites with it (for example Apple Support Communities). This is the only drawback. It loads pages pretty fast. Like it.
Like
Version 5.5.5
1 answer(s)
dino-1
dino-1
16 May 2016
Tor uses blacklisted and old proxies, that's why you will get restricted access to many websites. Many of them blocked Tor because of the Silk Road issue. I would suggest simply using VPN services, there are many found on the Web. I like Hide My IP VPN
Like
Jim-Leff
12 February 2016
Version is up to 5.5.2, and the MU link is ancient and dead. correct download link: https://www.torproject.org/download/download-easy.html
Like (1)
Version 5.0.7
1 answer(s)
RougeCheese12
RougeCheese12
13 February 2016
Also users should not be using MacUpdate to download software since it does not default to always use SSL. That is more than shady for a software download site. So people, go to the software developer's homepage and download from there.

Not to mention the adware, MU now packages the downloads in.
Like (1)
dommy
10 February 2016
Something smells about Tor, and I'm not sure what it is. Every single launch I make, night or day, whichever version and regardless of the last hop exit country which does vary, the FIRST hop from Tor ALWAYS lands in France. This is without exception and has occurred over many weeks of experimenting. If Tor were truly random like it is supposed to be why does the first hop *always* hit a computer or server in France?
Like
Version 5.0.7
droscar
16 January 2016
Version 5.0.7 is available at the developer's site.
Like
Version 5.0.6
Superultramegagigabyte
07 September 2015
I like this application immensely!!!
Like (5)
Version 5.0
DivaM
04 September 2015
Not bad guys! Like it.
Like (4)
Version 5.0
MeCox
19 August 2015
What a great free app!
Like (5)
Version 5.0
Derekcurrie
19 August 2015
Version 5.0.1 is out.
Like (2)
Version 5.0
CDavid
30 June 2015
I like this browser, because it let's me browse through the Internet without being tracked down by someone. Using Tor is much easier than using programs that change the IP address. Pros: - Great tool for those seeking privacy on the Internet - Comprehensible design - Stable and efficient work Cons: - Fails to access some websites (e.g. Apple Discussions) - Sometimes it's a bit slow Bottom Line: I would certainly recommend this browser to anyone.
Like (4)
Version 4.5.2
1 answer(s)
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
15 September 2015
It's not as private as you think. It may give you a random IP but it is still subceptable to DNS leaks and your data is not encrypted at all points. You may want to experiment with Cocoa Packet Analyzer and check DNS output before you do something thinking you are unable to be tracked down and that your data is unreadable. Using TOR behind a quality VPN service upgrades your level of security.
Like (1)
xays
12 April 2015
4.0.8 out! Tor Browser 4.0.8 -- Apr 10 2015 * All Platforms * Bug 15637: Fix update loop Tor Browser 4.0.7 -- Apr 9 2015 * All Platforms * Update Tor to 0.2.5.12 * Update NoScript to 2.6.9.21
Like (2)
Version 4.0.6
Sha4k
01 April 2015
4.0.6 is out. Aargl: you should report this to the Tor devs or retry with 4.0.6. Since that def should not happen, it would ideally be properly investigated.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.4
Aargl
23 March 2015
I've just tried it and it erased all my Firefox bookmarks!!! Utilities like Bookmacster were unable to restore them! But luckily I just made a profile backup with FEBE yesterday which I successfully restored. I haven't tested it further but I wanted to point out this "little" inconvenience before anyone else gets trapped. ;-) Backup your profile before you use Tor Browser or use a dedicated account.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.4
2 answer(s)
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
15 September 2015
This app cannot erase your bookmarks lol It has no way of doing that.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
15 September 2015
Believe it or not, it did. Or was it something else that had a conflict with it, I can't say...
Like
Markoh
10 March 2015
http://www.ibtimes.com/tor-safe-anonymous-browser-hacked-suspects-keeping-quiet-privacy-advocates-shaken-1645210
Like
Version 4.0.4
4 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
11 March 2015
From that article :
"The anonymity network, which is accessible via a browser plug-in, is used by activists, criminals and hackers"...
Isn't this designed to scare users just looking for simple privacy off Tor?
I'm not a Tor user, but I have tried it and I find it very fast and not "slow as a snail".
Like (2)
NSA-not-horray
NSA-not-horray
11 March 2015
The usual FUD. Don't fall for it.
Like (1)
Zx81
Zx81
11 March 2015
Thanks, I suppose so. I should have guessed.

BTW, english is not my native language and you gave me the opportunity to learn what FUD means (and the origin of the acronym)
Cheers.
Like (1)
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
15 September 2015
The article referenced is actually legitimate and the only idiot is A0111001010. I also wouldn't agree with NSA-not_horray who's comment is fooloish and not supported with any facts. Trying to sound cool NSA-not_horray isn't cool at all when you mislead people and you have no credentials as a security expert.
Like
Mcd3
06 March 2015
I've been reading that using TOR makes you a prime red flag target for the CIA/NSA to hone in on you (and attack you at source or end point-not in between) I don't remember the technical terms ) just a thought
Like
Version 4.0.3
bbw7
13 January 2015
There's already been a TBB 4.0.2 release, I am not getting any message about a new version when I open TB, and the download at the developers' site is still version 4.0.2, so what gives with this supposed new one?
Like
Version 4.0.2
Luca-Nonato
12 December 2014
Download link broken: file <https://dist.torproject.org/torbrowser/4.0/TorBrowser-4.0-osx32_en-US.dmg> does not exist.
Like
Version 4.0
bbw7
11 December 2014
The MU link is broken/dead and TB is up to ver 4.0.2, which is available at the developers' site: https://www.torproject.org/download/download-easy.html.en
Like (1)
Version 4.0
MisterE
16 November 2014
4.0.1 out for a long time! https://tor.eff.org/dist/torbrowser/4.0.1/TorBrowser-4.0.1-osx32_en-US.dmg
Like (1)
Version 4.0
moss-tysheka29
18 October 2014
its awesome
Like
Version 4.0
Pfackelmann
23 September 2014
Re: Tor Browser Bundle 3.6.5 Released 23-Sep-2014 Confused: Version: TorBrowser 24.8.0 Changed: Samstag, 1. Januar 2000 01:00 Peter
Like
Version 3.6.5
Mdewakanton
04 September 2014
3.6.5 is available (Update Firefox to 24.8.0esr, NoScript to 2.6.8.39, HTTPS Everywhere to 4.0.0, Torbutton to 1.6.12.1 and much more).
Like (1)
Version 3.6.3
Tschigg
21 August 2014
3.6.4 is out. Users should update.
Like (1)
Version 3.6.3
Dellsuxx
19 July 2014
TOR works fine for me but I do wish I could still use the old Vidalia add-on. Also having trouble getting tails to work properly with mac version. Could use some help/advice If anyone here can guide me please send me an email. Cheers.
Like (1)
Version 3.6.2
-M-S-
18 July 2014
Use Tor, paint a target on your back... http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-28162273 Not that this should be surprising, really.
Like (2)
Version 3.6.1
2 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
24 July 2014
By simply coming to this MacUpdate page and reading your post, the NSA is gonna list people. And, by posting your post, you're on the list too. Observe:

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/gadgets-and-tech/news/nsa-reportedly-tracking-any-internet-users-who-research-privacy-software-online-9585250.html

In other words, it's time to out the corrupt NSA. It's time for more whistleblowers to do the patriotic thing, come forward and expose this farce upon our republic and outright, blatant attack upon our U.S. Constitution.
Like (4)
Xenophile
Xenophile
29 July 2014
I would be shocked if the NSA didn't administer a significant portion of Tor servers.
Like (2)
Xenophile
08 July 2014
Current version is 3.6.2, available at the tor project website: https://www.torproject.org/projects/torbrowser.html.en Tor Browser is based on Firefox ESR, so it's a rock solid platform, user friendly, but like using an older version of Firefox. Installation is drag and drop. Launch it and you're already browsing anonymously. It just works. It's a bit slow, but that's the nature of the Tor network.
Like
Version 3.6.1
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
18 July 2014
Thanks, we'll update this. You can always email us when you notice an app is out of date— updates@ goes to all staff members. Thanks again!
Like
Monkeyjunkey
29 May 2014
Someone is up-voting TrueCrypt and Cryptix. Cryptix is closed source and close source crypto is really hard to be trusted. I wouldn't! TrueCrypt just shut down operations saying it was unsecure to be used: http://truecrypt.sourceforge.net/ says "WARNING: Using TrueCrypt is not secure as it may contain unfixed security issues." Combine those two and that makes me really think if we have a person on someone's payroll upvoting unsecure software. Hard to proove but the pattern behind this is really strange. Same applies for the GPG Suite page: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/9417/gpg-suite Again TrueCrypt (unsecure) and Cryptix (can not be trusted and seems to use weak security) are up-voted. Macupdate should really reconsider the entire voting system for similar software. When it comes to security related software this is no fun and can endanger peoples lifes if they use unsecure software. I recommend using Tor / GPG Suite, please refrain from using untested closed source software which you cannot trust.
Like (2)
Version 3.6.1
1 answer(s)
drbroom
drbroom
06 June 2014
Monkeyjunkey: Not that I disagree with your assertions about TrueCrypt or Cryptix but TOR is a way to privatize your internet browsing, and really nothing to do with disk encryption. So I'm a bit confused by your statements here comparing the 'two'. PS I do rate TOR (for what it does at 4 stars, leaving one off for it's speed. It could be faster.
Like (1)
Markoh
08 May 2014
Tor is slower than a snail on valium.
Like (2)
Version 3.6.1
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
16 May 2014
The browser or the network it uses?
Like (2)
Starman535
09 April 2014
As a non-Admin user, I can't use this version. I'll have to stick with the older one until the issue with Maverics gatekeeper is fixed. I'd give it at least 4 stars otherwise.
Like (2)
Version 3.5.4
3 answer(s)
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
30 April 2014
Then do not rate until you can use it.
Like (10)
RobertB2171
RobertB2171
30 April 2014
This version fixed the problem with the Maverics gatekeeper for a non-admin user. I give it 4 stars now. It works well, and isn't noticeably slow.
Like (1)
Xenophile
Xenophile
08 July 2014
You want anonymizer software to work for non-admin users? Seems like an odd request to warrant a half-star rating.
Like
Gitte79
23 March 2014
For me privacy is important and TOR is exactly what I need and use most. Although the older TOR clients did perform badly, the latest updates are really fast and very usable. Sheers for that! Thank you for keeping this free.
Like
Version 3.5.3
MacUpdate-Lon
23 March 2014
I like Tor Browser Bundle because it is so accessible, easy to use. I was browsing around with TBB just now and thought I'd access my Yahoo mail. I got an email immediately from Yahoo security, saying that my account had been accessed "from an unknown device" somewhere in France. Funny. I'm definitely not in France.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.3
JudeC1297
12 February 2014
Privacy is a huge issue. Snooping around happens everywhere, everyday. What can we do? We can use TOR. Based on FF, TOR is fantastic at what it does- providing anonymity. With servers all over the world, TOR randomly keeps changing my location worldwide. Once if its Romania, the next time its Greece! It has far more reachability than HMA or any other web proxy programs. The only problem I have with it is that we don't get to choose the place and also that it skips servers sometimes when we are in the middle of something! And also I'm concerned about how safe it actually is, after what happened last year. Hope TOR isn't compromised. Long live anonymity!
Like (7)
Version 3.5.2
Macsolu
30 January 2014
And the creation/modification date is mucked-up as well -- reports the year 2000. Attention to detail, please, developers!
Like (2)
Version 3.5.1
MacUpdate-Lon
28 January 2014
How nice of the developers to include the correct version number in the info.plist, thanks!
Like (4)
Version 3.5.1
SickTeddyBear
20 December 2013
There is now a ticket open to deal with resolving the problem of the app bundle not reporting the version correctly: https://trac.torproject.org/projects/tor/ticket/10444
Like (2)
Version 1.0