Back to Seasonality Core page
Seasonality Core free download for Mac

Seasonality Core Reviews

2.6.1
26 February 2019

Complete weather forecast application.

TheDrifter
07 October 2011

Most helpful

I have been using Seasonality for a couple of year and this latest upgrade (Core 2.0) is absolutely beautiful. The interface is even more refined than in previous versions and the ability to expand the graphs and map windows is certainly a welcomed improvement. Another definite improvement is the current condition bar at the top of the screen. There are a lot of weather related programs and website out there but none is as elegant as Seasonality.
Like (2)
Version 2.0

Read 19 Seasonality Core User Reviews

Rate this app:

gryphonent
27 February 2017
Been using it for years. Very reliable and stable.
Like
Version 2.5
Hermie
26 February 2017
Of course, sod's law. A couple of hours after I finally decided to post a comment an update sees the light! Which is great cuz it means the dev is still at it. Working fine again and thank you vewwy much!
Like
Version 2.4.5
Hermie
26 February 2017
Doesn't work anymore, probably due to changes on sites it gets its info from. Emailed dev twice, but no answer. Abandonware or dev on holidays?
Like
Version 2.4.5
AppleFriend
26 July 2016
I like the way it illustrates detailed weather conditions throughout the world. As I travel a lot I need to know the most precise weather forecast, seems this app performs its functions pretty well. It's not too expensive and worth its price. I like it shows pressure and humidity, that is helpful for people who are affected by weather. Therefore, Seasonality Core is a great app to my mind.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.3
Me2
16 November 2015
This app is fun and full of details IF you are the kind to want to see them. If not, then select the Preferences and turn off what you don't need to know about. Wish the newspaper could do that. Highly recommended, IMHO. Thank you. Patrick
Like (2)
Version 2.4.3
MacUpdate-Ishaq
15 November 2015
Seasonality Core is an information-packed weather monitoring application for diving deep into local and global weather conditions and patterns. The app grabs its weather information from the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) nearest to your location. This does, of course, mean that you need to have an ICAO within reasonable distance of your vicinity, so users outside of North America may want to verify this within the app ahead of time. But as soon as your location is selected, you’re getting real-time information streamed into Seasonality Core, and there’s no shortage of weather data to explore. The most visually intriguing aspect of Seasonality Core is its “particle mode” view that features swirling wind movement vectors that are colored by temperature. It’s a fascinating view that is as interesting as it is informative; zoom out and you get a sense of global weather patterns. But as compelling as particle mode is, the information layout specific to your locale tops it in utility. Get multiple day forecasts and graphs that predict changes in everything from temperature to cloud cover to humidity. And for the real enthusiast, the ability to select and monitor cities from all over the world means you can get an intimate view of the conditions in places where loved ones live, or where you may one day move. Seasonality Core is a pleasant ride for the novice and a true powerhouse for the aficionado – give it a try!
Like (2)
Version 2.4.3
Jakob-joergensen
15 September 2015
Brap app if you don't live in USA or in a major city in the world. Can't locate anything within 100K of where I live. What sort of ... "Complete weather forecast application" is that!!! BTW, you can now swap the B with C Wasted time and money (bundle, fortunately) on a poor and bad experience.
Like
Version 2.4.3
2 answer(s)
Balanchine
Balanchine
15 September 2015
This app is only useful if you have a compatible weather station in the area you're interested in. In the UK, there appear to be very few such weather stations. If I type Cambridge (the nearest UK city to me) I'm offered 17 Cambridges in the US and 2 in Canada.

Anyone outside the US should trial this app carefully before buying based on the glowing reviews here.
Like
MikePJ
MikePJ
15 September 2015
Sorry to hear you aren't finding any built-in locations near you. You can create a custom location if you know of a weather station nearby. I'm in the process of adding about 30,000 new locations to the next update, so definitely check back when that is available.

If you need help setting up a custom location, get in touch by selecting "Email Gaucho Software Support" from the Help menu in Seasonality Core.
Like (2)
Mhoutman
04 February 2015
Best weather app on OS X, best support too. Period :) p.s they also have a nice iOS Universal app
Like
Version 2.4.3
Cowicide
26 January 2013
The developer's website is poorly lacking in info/support on the app. There's no forum, for instance or solid breakdown of what the features are there. In case you were wondering what particle mode was, you can find it in the (non-searchable) help file. To save you the trouble, here's the info (the dev should really put on the website): Particle Mode is an overlay you won't find in any other app. Particle Mode shows what it would look like if you dropped thousands of particles on the surface of the earth and the wind blew them around. This overlay is best viewed while zoomed a bit further out than usual. Seasonality Core downloads the latest model wind data, so what you are seeing matches what is really happening around the world right now. Particles are colored by temperature, so in a quick glance you can see how the temperature changes in different regions. In the map settings, there is a slider where you can set how many particles are simulated (this ranges from around 10,000 to more than 200,000 particles). Choose fewer particles if you don't want to tax the processor of your Mac too much, or more if you want to see the best display possible. There is quite a bit of processing required to run this simulation (Seasonality Core needs to figure out the new position of every particle, 30 times a second). To keep Seasonality Core from using too much of your Mac's processor time, there is a checkbox in the Map settings to disable Particle Mode while the app is in the background.
Like (2)
Version 2.3
3 answer(s)
Xenophile
Xenophile
09 June 2014
I found Particle Mode to be entirely intuitive. The "particles" are different colors, obviously corresponding to temperature. They move around, which means "wind". Seasonality Core is the quintessential Mac app in it's intuitive GUI design. Even my mom, who has trouble with normal web browsing and cannot grasp features like Mission Control, could use Seasonality once I gave her a quick demonstration. She digs the particle mode and understood it without explanation - if she could, then anyone can. Seriously, if you can't figure it out, see a doctor for a brain checkup, because something is wrong. You can get a full list of features by going to the Seasonality Core page and paging down: http://getseasonality.com/core While there, check out the sneak peak at Seasonality Pro for iPad. I hope Seasonality Core will get the same features as Pro - otherwise the iPad version will slay the Mac version: Contour maps, gradient editors, and customizable multiple map layers. Sweet! The price is steep, considering free websites like Weather Underground. Still, it's so easy to use and utterly gorgeous, so for weather geeks it's probably worth it. I set it as a login item and keep it hidden in the background, so the weather is only a command-tab away. I set the auto refresh to once a day and manually refresh it when I need it. That way, it doesn't chew up bandwidth, but I get a complete weather graph history. For those with unlimited data connections, you can set it to refresh as often as every half hour.
Like
Cowicide
Cowicide
01 February 2015
>if you can't figure it out, see a doctor for a brain checkup

Don't be a jerk.

Spare me the insulting drivel. Do you work for the developer of this "quintessential" Mac app with its "intuitive GUI design" or what?

Contrary to your assumptions, it's not always obvious what the particle mode was doing to everyone else including your dog unless they see the description I had to dig up at the time.

Like (1)
Xenophile
Xenophile
04 February 2015
This is one of the most intuitive apps I've ever used. If you can't figure it out then that's YOUR problem, not the developer's.

Actually in the time you've spent whining about how hard the app is to use, you could have contacted the developer to have him hold your hand through the learning process. I've communicated with the developer about feature ideas and he's very open and helpful.





Like
TheDrifter
07 October 2011
I have been using Seasonality for a couple of year and this latest upgrade (Core 2.0) is absolutely beautiful. The interface is even more refined than in previous versions and the ability to expand the graphs and map windows is certainly a welcomed improvement. Another definite improvement is the current condition bar at the top of the screen. There are a lot of weather related programs and website out there but none is as elegant as Seasonality.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Andrewm
22 January 2011
The UI in v 1.6 is maybe nice on iPad, but is not as easy readable on Mac as it was with previous versions (pictured above). The temperature graph is not showing different colors for hot, average and cold temps, the info in the locations sidebar is also less extensive compared to previous versions. I don't know about others but I don't really like the UI in 1.6......
Like
Version 1.6
4 answer(s)
Gregm
Gregm
23 January 2011
Graph still shows the temp as the top of the coloured curve -- the black line is still there --- as is the optional red line. The high and low of the entire graph are still shown as red and blue asterisks. Yea, the curve is monochromatic now, instead of transitioning at 40ish and 60ish (if that ever meant anything). The icons are simpler, there is less English text, and the whole thing is dark now. It seems we have lost a bit of "pretty" and gained a bit of non-English functionality. Expanding customer base perhaps?
Like
MikePJ
MikePJ
07 October 2011
Check out version 2. I've spent a lot of time making improvements in readability, brought back the color gradient in the temperature graph, and just cleaned up the UI overall.
Like (1)
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
11 October 2011
Yup, it's quite better looking than 1.6, although it will take some time to get used to it after the original. The question though - after upgrading to 1.6 I have downgraded back to 1.5.3. Now if I want a free upgrade to 2.0 do I have to upgrade first to 1.6, or can I do it straight from 1.5.2 to 2.0?
Like
MikePJ
MikePJ
11 October 2011
You can upgrade straight from 1.5.2 to 2.0. The first time you open Seasonality Core 2, it will upgrade your database. This can take a long time, so please let it finish. Subsequent launches will be immediate as usual. The database upgrade will still leave your old database there, so if you want to go back to version 1.x you will be able to.
Like
Thus-spake-z
24 November 2009
An extremely visually appealing and beautifully rendered weather app; has just about everything I could wish for with the exception of precipitation\/snow readouts-graphs. Hopefully that will come with the next version. The developer is working on version 2 now, I believe. Anyway two thumbs up for this lovely creation!!
Like (1)
Version 1.5.3
2 answer(s)
gryphonent
gryphonent
27 December 2010
One year on… still waiting for version 2. Doubt it will ever arrive.
Like
MikePJ
MikePJ
07 October 2011
Seasonality Core 2 has been a long time coming. I had a few false starts, where I worked on an app for months on end, only to find that the update really didn't work as well and scrapped it to start again. This latest update turned out really nice (in my biased opinion). I hope everyone else likes it as much as I do.
Like
Harv
27 October 2009
What I think this app needs is precipitation data, how much rain or snow in the last 24 hours, projected rain/snow fall (in inches or centimeters), etc. And if an average line can be added, so much the better When these data are added (or even promised by the developer) I'm good to go.
Like
Version 1.5.3
Ray16
19 June 2008
An issue has been found with 1.5.1 it will not launch at all......... been in touch with the Devolper, he provided me with v1.5 http://download.gauchosoft.com/seasonality/Seasonality_1.5.dmg This will launch for 10.3.9 users.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Ynot
14 December 2006
Hands down, the best overall weather program. We used it as a display and it was always getting comments like, wow, that is cool; or how'd you make the weather look so good. Yes, it is payware, but it is worth it. You get what you pay for. The only thing missing is a screensaver functionality, but maybe some day.
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
12 May 2005
Seemingly good app, but where is the world support and too expensive! Try Meteorologist (free) or even Tiger's Weather Widgets.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
30 March 2005
good effort for version 1.0. I echo the need for worldwide coverage and do wonder at the 2x help menu. Not as detailed as WeathermanX but covers and displays the essentials better. Requests: For those of us that need to enter many cities but only need to see a few at a time, (frequent travelers) - would it be possible to toggle off the display of the entire list and only show a few as needed? Alternatively a drop-down menu of "my cities" would be good. Either would be much better than scrolling through 20-30 cities to find the one needed. - How about a 5 day extended forecast? thx
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 March 2005
Thanks for your comments. I'll look into a method to display subsets of cities. I monitor 5 or 6 cities here and can imagine monitoring 20-30 cities would take awhile to find the location you are looking for. I'm a little confused about your request for a 5 day extended forecast. Are you referring to 5 days past the current 7 day forecast? Seasonality will show a 7 day forecast, but only shows as many days as will fit in the window size, so your window may not be wide enough to show the full 7 days. I'm hoping to add a scrolling mechanism to that view in a future version.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
21 March 2005
Of course you can keep track of the weather in your home town but ONLY if your home town is in the U.S. And the rest of the world? Don't we exist? That said it seems comprehensive, though it's large compared to the wee menu bar apps that are very fashionable right now. Can you broaden your horizons? There's more to the world than the U.S.A.
Like
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 March 2005
I understand your frustrations. Support for locations outside the US is a very high priority, but unfortunately wasn't able to be included in this release because of time constraints. It has been extremely difficult to find data sources with the variety of data that Seasonality displays for locations outside the US. It is something that's being worked on though and I'm hoping to include international support in the next version. I apologize for any inconvenience.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 March 2005
Whoa man, sounds like a little USA envy or something. I'm sure if you inquire properly the developer would consider your request, and since this is a 1.0 release, I am sure that it is probably safe for the developer to work in an area he knows the best, then expand capabilities based on feedback.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 April 2005
The complaint about forecasts only being in the U.S. may be based upon ignorance. The app probably ties into the national weather service, which is extensive. Finding other services worldwide would be a major undertaking, if they exist. The writer assumes that Europe is the next logical choice. There is more to the world than Europe.......
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
21 March 2005
Two Help menus for some reason.
Like
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 March 2005
I haven't noticed this on my systems here. Please let me know which version of Mac OS X you are running so I can test this further. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 March 2005
10.3.8, build 7U16
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 November 2005
do the guys with two help menus have Divx 5.2.1 codec, or pro version installed? this gave me two help menus....
Like
Version 1.1.1