Back to TuneBar page
TuneBar free download for Mac

TuneBar Reviews

3.6.1
11 August 2009

iTunes controller based on GekkoTunes (was TuneX).

Anonymous
20 March 2005

Most helpful

The interface of this little utility is really elegant and enticing, really nicely conceived. It functions on precisely the same principle as the dock (cursor over defined area brings up "control bar"). And so far the utility seems to do what it says it will. However, it is unobtrusive to a fault. There are no preferences to speak of, and the controls the utility gives you over iTunes are spartan. Some added controls would be a drop-down menu to browse through songs and playlists, and buttons for launching, quitting, showing and hiding iTunes. A volume panel wouldn't be entirely extraneous. A missing option is the ability to disable the song information that pops up as every new song starts.
Like
Version 1.0

Read 17 TuneBar User Reviews

Rate this app:

Tom-Hancocks
13 August 2009
I renamed TuneX to TuneBar back in February 2007 so this is far from a recent change. The reasons for changing though were due to me becoming aware of a company in Europe owning the rights to the name "TuneX". I decided to change the name to avoid any kind of legal issues. I have just checked TunesBar out and see that its version 1.0 was released about 1 year and 4 months after I renamed to TuneBar.
Like
Version 3.6
1 answer(s)
Dlast1
Dlast1
07 August 2010
I purchased TuneBar when it was called TuneX. I have not used it in a long time and happened across it today. I can't find my registration number, so I was wondering if there is a way to email you directly to solve this? Thanks for your time.
Like
Version 3.6.1
Lounge-Deluxe
12 August 2009
Why would the developer of TuneX rename his app to TuneBar when there's already an app called TunesBar with similar functionality? Where has the originality gone these days?
Like
Version 3.6
Hendo
31 July 2008
a lot of iTunes controllers search functions got messed up when iTunes 7.7 was released, I'm guessing that's the issue
Like
Version 3.5
Splunk23
19 April 2008
tunebar 3.5. -- search function -- is not working on my macbook intel 13.3" whenever I search for a song, nothing happeny no matter which preference setting - search function doesn't work at all. As to me this would be the killer feature, I have to delete the app and use SizzlingKeys again
Like
Version 3.5
Tfindlay
15 November 2007
I emailed the author about this but received not reply. It appears that using TuneBar to switch playlist doesn't actually switch the playlist in iTunes. If I start a playlist in iTunes and then use TuneBar to switch to another playlist that part works. However, if I pause the tune in the new playlist when I unpause it the paused tune does not resume. Instead the original playlist starts over.
Like
Version 3.1
Iridesnow
14 October 2007
To Ivanovitch: I run TuneBar (2.7.2) on a dual monitor set up and it seems fine. This is on a DP G5, not an Intel. I also have it installed on an MacBook Pro, but I haven't used it there other than to start it up, set my preferences, and make sure that it worked. Can you be more descriptive about the instability you see? One thing I did notice is that if you use the standard TuneBar notification (instead of growl), then it does assume the left side monitor isn't there (it slides the notification off the right monitor and onto the left monitor). However, that's not a really a problem, and if you switch to using Growl notification, then it's not an issue at all. In terms of the CPU issues I saw with earlier versions, that seems to be resolved. I still see CPU usage spike up, but that's to be expected. The constant CPU usage I saw before isn't happening.
Like
Version 2.7.2
ivanovitch
10 October 2007
Warning: not just unstable, but doesn't play nicely with dual-screen setups (plugging in an extra monitor causes problems, removing a monitor causes system instability).
Like
Version 2.7.2
Tom-Hancocks
30 August 2007
I have just received a number of emails since releasing 2.6.2 stating that a few bugs seem to have surfaced for some people. If your experiencing any kind of problems with this version of TuneBar could you please email me any details of your system that you feel will be useful and I will fix the problem as soon as possible. Thanks, Tom
Like
Version 2.6.2
Iridesnow
13 March 2007
I purchased this a while ago. Nice app. However, I'm still using v2.5. The past two releases, 2.6 and 2.6.1 both consume a lot of CPU relative to 2.5. When you fire up 2.6+, both the TuneBar process AND a process called System Events start consuming 5-10% of the CPU each! This is on a DP 2.0 GHz PowerPC G5. I'm assuming this has something to do with the "Sparkle Integration" mentioned in the 2.6 release notes. I wrote directly to the developer when I saw this happen with 2.6, but did not receive a response. Rob
Like
Version 2.6.1
1 answer(s)
Tomhancocks
Tomhancocks
15 March 2007
Hello Rob, I do not believe I have received any such email in the past few days (though there have been a lot of problems on my connection lately). I will look in to this problem that you have encountered, though I do not see how the integration of sparkle could have caused this, though you never know and its best to check these things out. Thanks for bringing this to my attention... Tom
Like
Version 2.6.1
Shredmasta
16 October 2006
this program is pretty slick - i like the GUI design and its functionability my one suggestion would be this: add hotkeys for volume control!!! you have hotkeys for everything else, so why shouldnt you be able to adjust the volume the same way? this is the only thing keeping me from making this my main itunes window program - right now i am using x-tunes and it has everything i need but the GUI is ugly as hell and i would much rather use TuneX.
Like
Version 2.5
Tom-Hancocks
17 July 2006
Hi attentionwandered, Can I ask how much CPU usage your getting? I'm getting around 1% on my computer. What kind of computer do you use, what software are you using. As for the other issues I will look in to these, and correct them. Tom Hancocks
Like
Version 2.2
2 answer(s)
Attentionwandered
Attentionwandered
09 August 2006
hello mr.developer typically not a very fast computer, imac g4 1.25ghz 512mb of ram ill admit my trial of tunex somehow ran out, even though i used it for maybe half an hour i can remember how much it was though while just sitting around the app took up maybe 1%-5% and when the little bar thing is activated it shot up to50-75% for generally use its bearable, but if i try to open it up while doing something the whole computer hangs.
Like
Version 2.3
Tom-Hancocks
Tom-Hancocks
09 August 2006
Hmm, since you posted your initial bug report I have isolated where this problem is, but have not yet been able to fix the problem. On my computer I have never had this problem so have been unable to fix it as quickly as I would have liked. Thankyou for pointing it out though.
Like
Version 2.3
Attentionwandered
17 July 2006
i like this idea and interface and stuff a few inconsistancies i noticed though -uses alot of cpu -menu bar displays either track or artist, i would like it to be both at the same time -when the hotkey to show the controller is pressed, you have to go back to the mouse and click in the search part to actually search. you should just be able to start typing.
Like
Version 2.2
Doc-Renaud
09 July 2006
It always amaze me why one would need an extra controler for iTunes that just do pause, next track, previous track. Just minimize iTunes and that's it. I'm I missing something ?
Like
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
Tom-Hancocks
Tom-Hancocks
09 July 2006
Simply minimizing iTunes isn't really as a bigger fix as you would think. Its still an ordinary window as it was before, just a little smaller, and it still requires you to flick back to in to iTunes to use it. Quite a few of the iTunes controllers are relatively useless (in my opinion) as they are still a big clunky window not looking anywhere near as nice as iTunes'. However TuneX's controller is designed to take over as little screen space as possible when not in use, and not take the front most focus away from the application you are using like iTunes requires you to. Some, including TuneX, also provide features like "Hot Keys" to control iTunes so that you do not keep calling up any controller to simple skip tracks or pause them. I hope this helps you understand why they are made. If not I'm sure you could download one or two and take them for a test drive. They really do come in handy and make your life easier if they are well designed and implemented.
Like
Version 2.1
Doc-Renaud
Doc-Renaud
09 July 2006
For now, I'm using QuickTunes, that's offer me the possibility to skip to another track from the same album, to another track from the same artist, or to another track from the same genre. Just with a few shortcuts. In adition to play/pause, next track, previous track. This is really a plus.
Like
Version 2.1
Tom-Hancocks
07 July 2006
Hi everyone, I've just had it brought to my attention that the version of TuneX on is in fact a beta release of it. I'm am not sure how this has managed to happen but am looking in to it. In the mean time I can only recommend that anyone who has downloaded it, redownload as the problem has been fixed. This should also fix a few bugs you may be experiencing. If you have downloaded TuneX and are running it, you can also go to the TuneX menu and select Check For Updates... to download it directly to your computer. I am sorry for any inconvienence caused, Tom Hancocks
Like
Version 2.0
Dejavue
05 May 2005
I am using TuneX for couple of months. Acctualy, I am truying it - and I am not pleased at all. There is nothing as MINIMAL explanation (like, VERY IMPORTANT - HOW TO CLOSE THIS APP). OK, it does work in background, but there has to be the way to close it - besides, awkward and stupid restarting the Finder. That is why it is not good. Second its appearance is annoying because one CANNOT CONTROL its lenght of time. Etc. SORRY! Now, I am going to restart Finder in order to close this app ONCE FOR EVER! Prof. DEJA VUE
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
20 March 2005
As stated before, the features are minimistic. Only forward/backward without even selecting a playlist makes this quite useless, for example if you've got some radio plays in your iTunes as well, but you want to listen to music only. Add a playlist selection and a random/not-random checkbox (and make it start iTunes if Play is pressed and iTunes not open at least), and it'll double it's value instantly! Also, for the notification, why not use Growl ( http://growl.info/ )? That way users can modify the notifications to their liking through Growl, which is intended for exactly this.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 March 2005
Thanks for your feedback. I am currently working on an update which shouldn't be more than a few days away. I actually finished making this version about 2 days ago but only got round to posting it here today. Anyway the new version will have more features. I will look in to using Growl, I hvae heard of it before but never really used it. Thanks very much for your reply
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
20 March 2005
The interface of this little utility is really elegant and enticing, really nicely conceived. It functions on precisely the same principle as the dock (cursor over defined area brings up "control bar"). And so far the utility seems to do what it says it will. However, it is unobtrusive to a fault. There are no preferences to speak of, and the controls the utility gives you over iTunes are spartan. Some added controls would be a drop-down menu to browse through songs and playlists, and buttons for launching, quitting, showing and hiding iTunes. A volume panel wouldn't be entirely extraneous. A missing option is the ability to disable the song information that pops up as every new song starts.
Like
Version 1.0