Back to Doom 3 page
Doom 3 free download for Mac

Doom 3 Reviews

1.3.1
26 July 2012

First-person shooter action game.

Anonymous
14 March 2005

Most helpful

3 words: need a demo
Like
Version 3

Read 37 Doom 3 User Reviews

Rate this app:

umaromc
09 September 2009
"3" stars for Features- Hey, it's Doom! "5" everything else! MacPro Xeon 2.66GHz Quad-Core 3GB RAM/Radeon HD 4870/OS X 10.6 running at max resolution of my monitor with all options on: 1680x1050-runs almost TOO FAST! Way better than what I had to do with the cfg file to get it to run on my old MDD G4 1GHz Radeon 9800 Pro!
Like
Version 1.3.1revA
Steve K
21 February 2006
So, any any Intel iMacs out there apply this patch yet???
Like
Version 1.3revA
Nimrod23
21 February 2006
I'm running Doom 3 on a G5 Quad with 2,5 Gigs of memory and the maximum reasonable resolution with all features set on is 800 x 600, but hey, it rocks anyway and it looks pretty cool. There's no game with such dense atmosphere. Sure, it's very demanding for hardware, but that's progress, right?
Like
Version 1.3revA
4 answer(s)
Applecrypt-Mods
Applecrypt-Mods
21 February 2006
sure it is, sadly! ;) But if it wasn't we'd all still be drooling over Duke Nukem 3D! ppl - google AppleCrypt :D
Like
Version 1.3revA
Steve K
Steve K
21 February 2006
That's because Doom 3 isn't multiprocessor-aware. Sad.
Like
Version 1.3revA
Michaeldmartin
Michaeldmartin
21 February 2006
The doom 3 mac port isn't uhm....... Good. Although, something that is more important than what you listed is you graphics card. If quicksilvers had SLI, with dual QUATRO FX-es, it would run verry well.... Although, I would say the best solution is to have a gaming pc and a mac for everything else.
Like
Version 1.3revA
Steve K
Steve K
21 February 2006
Right, but the Intel version is supposed to remedy that. That's why I'm asking if anyone with an Intel iMac has used this Universal Binary patch yet.
Like
Version 1.3revA
moo083
21 February 2006
Just thought I would note to MacUpdate staff that this IS a Universal Binary as per Aspyr's notes: 1.3 Rev A Update Changes: - This Patch includes a Universal Binary which allows operation on the new Intel Macintosh. - Improved performance on PowerPC Macs with ATi graphics cards - The minimum supported operating system is now OS 10.3.9 - OpenAL will not function in OS 10.3.9. It will disable itself if you try enabling it.
Like
Version 1.3revA
1 answer(s)
Applecrypt-Mods
Applecrypt-Mods
21 February 2006
i cant seem to get to their homepage - are there no performance improvements for ppc running nvidia?? (i don't care for ATI!) cheers
Like
Version 1.3revA
Saggis
18 February 2006
Wooooohooooo. This game is a stunner, bloody frightening, but awesome. Aspyr does a perfect conversion and runs like a gem of my 1st gen iMac G5. No crashes, no problems (except the odd nightmare) wow
Like
Version 1.0
Applecrypt-Mods
11 December 2005
I cannot fault Doom3 much, but i am a G5 user so maybe this is why ;) But d3 is a great game and there's a ton of mods out there to make it even better - check out GTX people. (google it!) Doom3 really needs a G5 Mac and nothing less.. sorry but that's progress and Mac Doom3 will never run quite as well as it should because it's a PORT of another platforms code. So there's always some performance lost bcos it's a PORT. Oh and btw - unpacking the pk4 isn't a good idea. There's no speed improvement and it'll all just take up loads of hdd space! Here's a good link for speed improvements: http://ucguides.savagehelp.com/Doom3/FPSVisuals.htm For console: look inside the base folder which is inside Doom3 which is inside Applications Support. Create a text file called "autoexec.cfg" and have this inside it: com_allowConsole "1" Want more mods for doom3 to extend it's life. google AppleCrypt ;) Overall, doom3 is demanding but worth it. Great gfx and sfx but the first few levels are pretty samey and dull. It gets better later on and i love the Delta levels, there's some great action here. Scary! Buy it
Like
Version 1.0
Jeff-H-
27 October 2005
I agree with Jas... Do they actually want people to be able to buy and run this game? Mac owners have always hung onto their machines and (like me), upgrade them until they absolutely die. I've upgraded my processor (Powerlogix 1.4 GHZ Dual), got a pretty good video card (ATI 9000), got lots of RAM (1.5 GB), and this game is STILL a little jerky. No, of course I didn't do the upgrades specifically to run this game, but this is a pretty fast machine! Yea, graphics are cool, but making a game that will run on the machines of your fan-base seems to make some sense to me. Pretty disappointed in this. On the other hand, it does have a good look, but I don't have an extra $3000 lying around to buy a G5!
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 October 2005
I agree,I dont know why they dont take the time to make this game playable on older macs.This game plays well on a x86 machine with the same processor speed.Horrible programming at aspyr.This game should be playable on a 600mhz g4,this game doesent even use altivec!This is the worst mac port yet.I will never buy anything from aspyr again.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
25 October 2005
Can somebody tell me how I'm supposed to trigger the console?? I know it's supposed to be CTRL+ALT+TILDE, but I can't friggin figure it out. I tried holding down CTRL+ALT and every key on my keyboard, but to no avail. I'm on a non-US keyboard. Any help is appreciated, folks.
Like
Version 1.0
Macjunkie999
21 October 2005
How to speed up doom 3 on the macintosh platform (this may also work on other platforms but I have no way of testing it) The following .pk4 files in the folder doom 3/base can be decompressed with stuffit expander which speeds up loading of levels and access of individual files during game-play. If an update comes out and you have uncompressed the .pk4 files, you will need to delete the Doom 3 folder and recopy it from the original installation disc, before you install the update or it wont be installed properly, then proceed to uncompressing the files again. pak000.pk4 * pak001.pk4 becomes dds pak002.pk4 becomes models pak003.pk4 becomes sound pak004.pk4 becomes textures pak005.pk4 becomes pak005.pk4 folder~^ pak006.pk4 ~* pak007.pk4 becomes pak007.pk4 folder~^ game00.pk4 becomes game00.pk4 folder ^ game01.pk4 becomes game01.pk4 folder ^ game02.pk4 becomes game02.pk4 folder ^ game03.pk4 becomes game03.pk4 folder~^ ~ 1.3 update file * cannot be uncompressed ^ remove word folder Submitted by Zachary Tiery Stuart
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
10 October 2005
arg this demo wont even launch on my g3 1.1GHz.I dont know how playable this game would be on my computer but I just want to see what all the hype is about this game.I dont even wanna play it I just want to see what the gameplay looks like.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
10 October 2005
I really hope ID takes over the mac port port of this game someday soon(if ever?).It seems like all aspy games are slow,buggy and overall just not good.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
26 September 2005
WOW Aspyr have done a terrific job porting a game like this to mac. I'm running an iMac G5 with 1gb of ram and it runs great on it. Very well done game, creepy etc! I'm off to buy it, well done Aspyr!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
26 September 2005
I just got a reply from the Aspyr support: Hello Jeron, While the retail full version of Doom 3 does support third party sound cards, the demo does not. To get your sound working, you will have to disable your sound card and use the built-in audio. Sorry for the inconvenience. Thanks for your interest in Doom 3 and have a great day! ------ Aspyr Support Team
Like
Version 1.0
Parker
26 September 2005
I had the same problem! Downloaded twice, and each time the "images failed to mount". What a let down! Does anyone know how to fix this?? DoomMaster (wannabe)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
25 September 2005
Anybody know how / if the demo or fullgame will support widescreen? Kind of a waste to play "full screen" when its not on my 20 in Apple display. Runs OK with HQ settings at 1024 x 768 on my 1.6 G5 PowerMac and an ATi 9800 Special Edition. Still, I think I would rather pick it up for Xbox and play on the 60in projection screen TV in the living room.
Like
Version 1.0
Jeronymus
23 September 2005
Demo is playable @ 800x600, HQ settings on my upgraded DA G4 533. +OWC Mercury Extreme 1,4 GHz G4 +1280 MB Ram +GF Ti 4600 128MB. But no sound!!! (M-Audio Revo 7.1 + Logitech Z640 speakers)
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 September 2005
yep same, playable in 800/600 (dual g4 1.25 1.75g ram). But same problem - no sound. I have a m - audio delta 66 sound card, any ideas anyone?
Like
Version 1.0
nwfrg
23 September 2005
I was unable to mount the disk image file after downloading the demo. Anyone else have a similar problem? Disk Images failed to mount. Reason: not recognized Doom3MacDemo.dmg file (345282412 bytes)
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 September 2005
I Have to agree, I just spent 1hr 1/2 downloading the demo of the game and it will not mount. The dialog box says " Not recognized" does anyone know a solution for this?
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
22 September 2005
Be warned! This game requires a helluva system to be even playable. I have a Power Mac G4 MDD, dual 1Ghz, 1.5GB RAM with a Radeon 9800 Pro. I have messed with all the settings to try and get good preformance, but it's barely even playable. As soon as an enemy attacks you, the game becomes pretty choppy. Very frustrating. It's even a little choppy on my dual 2.5Ghz G5! That's partially because of the stock Radeon 9000.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
22 September 2005
brilliant game and loads of mods and sp-maps / Total Conversions to make it even better!!!! :D Took their time getting the demo out though! But where is RoE expansion!?!?!?!!?!? Come on aspyr!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
22 September 2005
Such a game is a waste of time. Wait for Quake4 or better, just move your 4ss from MU and go play some crazy Q3 online games!
Like
Version 1.0
UmarOMC
20 July 2005
Good update for, pretty much, one reason: vid_restart. For some reason, when I launched Doom 3, the Finder's pointer would stay stuck smack in the middle of the screen- from the point the opening video is played, in game, until I quite the program entirely. Enabling the terminal and using vid_restart now not only doesn't crash Doom 3 (forcing me to hard reboot!) but it gets rid of the dang pointer! Yay.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 September 2005
uninstall QT's divx plugin, that's why you have the pointer.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
19 July 2005
The updater just hangs and doesn't install. I had to force quit after every attempt. Any ideas?
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 July 2005
Found the solution. After launching the installer, you have to launch Activity Monitor and quit the process called osascript. That allowed the install to progress.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
19 July 2005
What happened to computer gaming ?Companies spend all this time and money making a game that requires the latest hardware to run,when they should be focusing on making a good game.This is not a good game, especially for mac users.Who wants a cpu hogging,ram hoggin game like this?I would much rather play quake 3,which runs great on even on a 5 year old machine.its always the simple games that are the best,like super mario world for super nintendo.They are the best because they are good games.Who cares about good graphics anyways?Its not the graphics that make a game fun.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
15 July 2005
Download my game optimizer to make doom 3 run more smooth! http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/15306
Like
Version 1.3
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 July 2005
Let's read what macupdate says, shall we? "All posts are logged. Note: Developers, please don't unethically post star rating reviews to your own products or you will be added to a public Developer Blacklist." Good job.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 July 2005
yeah, shall we! because I can't see where he posted a star rated review on his own product, all he did was suggest its use! maybe you need to read what macupdate says more closely!!!
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 July 2005
The reason I made my app was so that mac gamers can get the best performance. It's completely freeware.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 July 2005
lol....this guy who made this optimizer is just fine, get off his back. Dude, maybe you should also list it in it's OWN listing on Macupdate...that would be good too. Everyone just be glad that SOMEONE is making ANYTHING for Mac. We need MORE of this kinda thing
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 July 2005
lol again,this time at myself...ha ha, you already DO have a listing for it. Peace dudes.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
02 June 2005
top notch gfx and audio. Check out filefront or planetdoom.com for great mods like GreenTech and new sp-maps like Church Of Ruins. Lengthens the game somewhat. 10/10 !!
Like
Version 3
UmarOMC
05 May 2005
...DAMN... first time playing it since I upgraded to 10.4 and the Finder's pointer stays SMACK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE SCREEN, FROZEN!!!!!!!! Extremely ANNOYING...! Anyone else...??? thanks
Like
Version 3
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 May 2005
You've probably got the DivX codec installed, this happens with Quake III Arena too. You can move the codec manually before running Doom 3, or if you're using Mac OS X 10.4, you can write an Automator application that can work around this: 1. Get specified Finder items /Library/QuickTime/DivX 5.component 2. Move Finder items to Desktop 3. Launch Application (Doom) 4. Pause 10 seconds (lets Doom fully launch) 5. Get Specified Finder items ~/Desktop/DivX 5.component (need to have the file on the Desktop when doing this part in Automator) 6. Move Finder items back to /Library/QuickTime/ (nice, puts it back while Doom is running)
Like
Version 3
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 May 2005
Backing out "DivX 5.component" works for me ... Thx :-)
Like
Version 3
Anonymous
28 April 2005
Wow, Having played the original and doom 2 a while ago on my old P.C. I'd forgotten how good the series was. BUT not a patch on Doom 3 everything about the game is class, graphics and gameplay are in a league of thier own. The game is dark and truly worrying, I found myself jumping at serval points in the game, nearly all of which takes place in little or no light meaning the torch you carry is invaluble and also somewhat of a hinderance as you can't use it while involved in a fight. The only possbile minus to a rake of plus' is I found the puzzle solving element a bit straight forward, but don't let that put you off. Weapons are brillant and using the shotgun to distroy the spiders is most enjoyable. All in all the game will be hard to match on the Mac. Maybe the appearence of Half-Life 2 will change my mind, but for the moment there is NO better game than Doom 3. Enjoy.
Like
Version 3
Anonymous
05 April 2005
This is a great game. I am also running the game on a 1Ghz MDD G4 with a Radeon9600Pro and 1.5GB RAM and get 23fps in TimeDemo with 800x600 med quality and 2x FSAA. I get the same frame rate at 1280x1024, low quality and no FSAA (+/-1-2fps), but I like the look of it at med quality and 800x600. In fact I got NO performance increase when I turned FSAA off at 800x600. If you got playeable frame rates in Halo then you will get same performance in Doom3. Halo for me slowed during heavy fights and so does Doom3 but it is still verty playable. Those of us with a L3 cache rejoice! as it can increase frame rates by 15-30%. Get the game and enjoy.
Like
Version 3
UmarOMC
30 March 2005
I JUST got this game today! I'm very impressed that it works so smoothly with my setup: MDD G4 1GHz/10.3.8/Radeon9800Pro/1GB RAM yes, of course it has slight hiccups here n there, but nothing intolerable- I'm AMAZED at how good it looks and how playable it remains! I tweaked the CFG file to utilize cache and raised the alloted memory for that to 32MB (from 20) and disabled shadows (although, oddly enough, the game still retains the shadow effects- just not as intense... and barely noticeable- still scared me more than a couple of times!). You've GOT to play this in the dark! :D Considering I didn't even expect it to run... I can't even express how impressed I am with the performance- Oh yeah, the game itself is eerily fun! Wear a diaper... lol
Like
Version 3
Anonymous
21 March 2005
I am aware of the fixes or patches for windows Doom3 but are there any for mac? Anyone know? Im running it on a dual 867 G4 and I have no problems so all of you crying with your G5s you must be doing something wrong unless you have that much shit on your hard drive...Great game!
Like
Version 3
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 March 2005
I can't believe that the game runs well on your machine. You must have a very high tolerance for low performing games. Which is good I guess. Then you enjoy them more. :-)
Like
Version 3
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 March 2005
there are a load of tweaks that ppl can use within their cfg doom3 file. Check the web/google. Esp check out IMG! D3 runs great on my G4 :)
Like
Version 3
Anonymous
17 March 2005
checkout IMG as there are optimization tips in the forums. Using a dual 2ghz G5 and i now get 46fps in medium and 51 in low. (both at 1280x1024). TURN OFF SHADOWS and any FSAA. Check out the Classic Doom3 total conversion!!!!!!!
Like
Version 3
Ilgaz
15 March 2005
Well, its a huge game, millions of lines code, latest inventions on gfx industry. I mean, we need a demo to test it. I think you can give it back in USA saying "it didn'T work" to store but what about overseas? I can't say anything without demo and also of course, I won't buy it that way. If they didn't optimize for G5, Altivec etc. its a big shame.
Like
Version 3
Anonymous
15 March 2005
Optimize optimize optimize ! ! ! Doom 3 looks very sexy but even on my G5 2GHz MP with 1 GB RAM the game is putting a lot of pressure on the hardware. The makers obviously wanted to create a new engine which they would like to sell and which will live for the next few years. So it might take a couple of years before we really know what kind of PC/Mac will be able to handle it. My advice: Buy the XBox + Doom 3
Like
Version 3
Anonymous
15 March 2005
Why in the hell is this even posted on here without a demo? This is just advertisement, plain and simple. Did Macupdate get paid to post this and make it a "Hot pick"? Give us a break.
Like
Version 3
Aya
15 March 2005
Very unique and impressive game on sounds, atmosphere and graphics. However, it is not yet really "optimized" for Macs, even the top high end G5 with the latest Apple OEM high end ATI or NVidia video card. My suggestion: rent an XBox with the game. :)
Like
Version 3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 March 2005
rent a xbox? stupid! at first the xbox version isnt out yet! secondly, the xbox version will differ to the pc/mac version. and third! M$ SUXX!
Like
Version 3
Anonymous
14 March 2005
one word: optimize. http://www.macworld.com/news/2005/03/02/doom3/index.php
Like
Version 3
Anonymous
14 March 2005
3 words: need a demo
Like
Version 3
6 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 March 2005
No kidding... After all the mediocre reviews the PC version of this got, I'll be damned if I'm gonna spend that much money without a demo. I couldn't even get the Windows demo to run better than 1/2 FPS on my PC (with all the settings at their lowest) so I'm really interested to see how it runs on my Mac.
Like
Version 3
Mudflap
Mudflap
14 March 2005
Yeah, c'mon. How's about a demo? The requirements are so steep, how do we know if this can even run on our machines without testing it out first? I have a dual 1.4 G4 with a Geforce4ti. I might be able to run this smoothly. Or not. I would know if I could download a demo. Sheesh.
Like
Version 3
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 March 2005
yeah, this is a game that pretty much requires a demo. i'm running a machine that just barely meets the requirements, so i really would like to give it a quick go before i give out $50.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 March 2005
They will not make a demo soon until a large number of the game is sold. It is not right to sell games around $50. Ok they say it is because of piracy but this only gives the pirates a reason to keep bootlegging. If they were to keep games at around $20-30 more people probaly consider owning a copy.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 March 2005
"It is not right to sell games around $50. Ok they say it is because of piracy" Sounds like a good theory, maybe some countries should take up this policy and require all legal citizens to serve 1 day in prison to make up for all of the criminals that have gotten away too!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 March 2005
lots of peeps pirate because they're impatient to see what the game looks like. Releasing a demo a bit before the release date would reduce piracy i'm sure.
Like
Version 3