Back to CocoThumbX page
CocoThumbX free download for Mac

CocoThumbX Reviews

3.1
05 April 2007

Creates/removes icons from image and .pdf files.

Ronl
29 November 2010

Most helpful

I'm thankful to see that there are developers such as this that are providing thumbnail creator apps... but... why do the thumbnails for 'full image' preference appear blurry? This never happened when I used QuickImageCM (no longer supported in SnowLeopard).
Like (1)
Version 3.1

Read 45 CocoThumbX User Reviews

Rate this app:

Gog4
09 February 2018
I love this app but since is only 32-bit I would like to find a comparable one. Thank you.
Like
Version 3.1
Penguirl
12 January 2012
v3.1 available here in 7zip to save space: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/447272/CocoThumbX.app.7z
Like
Version 3.1
Sea-Mac
01 April 2011
Dead Link. Program is GONE
Like (1)
Version 3.1
Ronl
29 November 2010
I'm thankful to see that there are developers such as this that are providing thumbnail creator apps... but... why do the thumbnails for 'full image' preference appear blurry? This never happened when I used QuickImageCM (no longer supported in SnowLeopard).
Like (1)
Version 3.1
jocatra
12 August 2009
Tested on Leopard (v. X.5.8 - Intel) and it is working fine here. Many thanks. :)
Like
Version 3.1
Xypher
06 October 2007
Fantastic in every way, unfortunately I cannot get it to create Thumbnails for WMV files though I have Flip4Mac installed.
Like
Version 3.1
Macnews
01 April 2007
Still getting services error with 3.0.2. I *do* have a services folder in my user library, and there never has been a CocoThumbX service in there. I'd love to be able to get this to work, but it just won't. :(
Like
Version 3.0.2
ochyming
25 March 2007
Great. But it would be great if the icons are more discernible. Like movies with that vertical black bars with holes for example. So the file extension would not be necessary to be on.
Like
Version 3.0.2
B0b
24 March 2007
An Error Occured Can not install or register the new CocoThumbX Service. Please go to ~/Library/Services and delete the CocoThumbX service manually. Then restart CocoThumbX on launch after updating from an older version. I don't have a ~/Library/Services folder on my Mac. Where is the service installed? OSX 10.4.9
Like
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
sven-8
sven-8
26 March 2007
Or download CocoThumbX 3.0.2 I have fixed this problem in the new version
Like
Version 3.0.2
Andu
25 February 2007
The only one I know doing it for and from Text-Files (RTF...), too! And it does it in a great way!!!! Thanks a lot!
Like
Version 2.3
hced
22 December 2006
I like this! I just wish I had an option to save the icon thumbnail when you choose the Save Icns option. That way you would not have to go back to CocoThumb and choose Add Thumbnail once again, on the just saved .Icns file. This would replace Iconverter completely for me.
Like
Version 2.3
Colourgravity
07 October 2006
Great app - really useful - but broken since the Quicktime 7.1.3 update. Hopefully the developer's working on a fix...
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
sven-8
sven-8
12 October 2006
Broken? i have not received any emails that CocoThumbX does not work with QT 7.1.3. And i've got no problem on my own iMac G5 using CTX with the newest QT version. And please do not post any feedback about crashes here. Send me an email with the crashreport to my account.
Like
Version 2.3
Pecos
06 May 2006
really great work ! previously i used PictoIcon or ThumbsUp, or even Pinki... but this is definitely the best app for creating thumbs icon right like photoshop icons, I.E. with beautifull shadows ! reasonably fast, and it works perfectly well on macintel under rosetta (macmini OSX.4.6...) thanks for this work, and maybe an universal binary release for soon ?
Like
Version 2.2
Deckeda
17 January 2006
magosilvan --- Yes of course you could always later replace QT 7.01 with QT 7.04. Everyone --- Despite what Sven says, the crippled CocoThumbX 2.2 update for 7.04 users still results in a crash when an image or folder is dropped on it.. But I got it to work with QT 7.04 by first launching CocoThumbX and UNCHECKING "Run task in Thread."
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
sven-8
sven-8
25 January 2006
i don't know, but with some installations from Quicktime 7.0.4 on some user Macs, QT does not return the version string. So CocoThumbX can not figure out what QT version installed on the Mac. So CocoThumbX can not disable the option by it self. But as you can see, after disabling the option, CocoThumbX works without a crash. I don't know why Apple has made this change, but IMHO thois s... Hope that Apple will readd this option to QT 7.0.5 Best Sven Janssen
Like
Version 2.2
Magosilvan
15 January 2006
I don't understand if I can install again QT 7.0.4 after reinstalling QT 7.0.1. Thank you Sven magosilvan
Like
Version 2.2
sven-8
12 January 2006
After downloading and installing the ReInstaller for Quicktime from Apple http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/quicktime701reinstallerforquicktime704.html CocoThumbX works as it should. Best Sven Janssen
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Magosilvan
Magosilvan
14 January 2006
Thank you Sven, but I don't understand if I can reinstall QT 7.0.4 over 7.0.1.
Like
Version 2.2
Drummist53
11 January 2006
v2.2 Still Crashes Every Time on 10.4.4!!!!
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
sven-8
sven-8
12 January 2006
Have you installed Quicktime 7.0.4? Or Just the Mac OS X Update 10.4.4? Take a look at the preferences and disable the last CheckBox "Use Task Thread". if the application still crashes please contact me and/or send me the crashlog to svenATstalkingwolf.net Thanks Sven Janssen
Like
Version 2.2
Orion-Mk-V
11 January 2006
CT 2.2 isn't opening for me under OS X 10.4.4 -- previous version worked fine.
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
sven-8
sven-8
11 January 2006
Please retry to download the Disk Image Sven Janssen - sorry
Like
Version 2.2
M-Prewitt
11 January 2006
Seems to be broken by the latest QuickTime or OS update (QT 7.0.4 or OS X 10.4.4). It was working until I updated.
Like
Version 2.1
Logicalnot
02 December 2005
I drop 20 111 images (small jpegs). Not only the soft didn't crash, but it did the job very very well. Bravo !
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
15 November 2005
Download site 2 above file is listed as version 1.9.1??? Love the app btw : )
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
14 November 2005
Each time that I start CocoThumbs I get the spinning beach ball for about 30 seconds. I have repaired permissions, but still no change. OS X 10.4.3, Quicktime Pro 7.0.3, Version 2.1
Like
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
Sven Janssen
Sven Janssen
14 November 2005
To Every one: This happens because my webprovider has some problems. CocoThumbX looks at software.stalkingwolf.de/cocothumbx if there is a new version available. Disable the option "Check for Updates" in the preferences. i'm going to fix that for the next version.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 November 2005
Problem solved. I have deselected the "Check for updates automatically" option in the preferences. I have a dial up connection and so am not online all the time. Thanks for the reply Sven...just beat me to it!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
29 October 2005
I almost left without saying THANK YOU! As everyone else has been saying... Great piece of software. Brillant and easy to use. Again, THANKS for making this free! Mike
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
08 October 2005
One of the best free apps for OSX! I use it everyday. I have a few suggestions though :) Would it be possible to put a button in the toolbar that collapses the window down to just the "Drop your files here" section. Most of the time I use the same settings on the right side of the window, and it would be less intrusive on the desktop if it were possible to hide these options. Also, I know that you listed 10.4 as the requirements, but I thought I'd let you know that it works on 10.3.9 as well - the only problem I've found is that it often crashes when I drag images onto the dock icon. Aside from these issues, it's a great program. Keep up the good work! (ibook, 1.2 GHz G4, 10.3.9)
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 November 2005
Thanks for incorporating my idea into the 2.1 release. The collapsable window is really handy when you are working on a cluttered 12 inch screen. The stability issue when using on 10.3.9 seems to be sorted out as well. Good Work.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
14 September 2005
Brilliantly simple. Thanks for great freeware.
Like
Version 2.0
Durer
20 August 2005
WOW, this little app does EXACTLY what you want it to do and it does it quickly, quietly, cleanly and it works like a freakin' CHAMP!!! Get it, use it, and definitely make a donation to this guy 'cause he deserves it, big time! AAA+ rating, big "thumbs up" from me!!! (Get it? It makes thumbnails and I gave it a "thumbs up"! Har! ;-)
Like
Version 1.9.1
Anonymous
04 July 2005
BEST ICON TOOL EVER! And a great support! Thank u very much Sven!
Like
Version 1.9.1
Anonymous
04 July 2005
really handy and useful tool for creating thumbnails. thanks for providing this free tool. highly recommend this application.
Like
Version 1.9.1
Anonymous
04 July 2005
Thank you Mr. developer, for this great and productive application!
Like
Version 1.9.1
Anonymous
03 July 2005
Awesome little util. Thanks for the fine freeware!
Like
Version 1.9.1
Anonymous
05 June 2005
Great to see HFS Type/Creator support in this version. Works great.
Like
Version 1.9
Anonymous
01 May 2005
what i meant is that none of the other apps leave photoshop files alone. They all "erase" their icons. This would be a 'stand-out' addition to cocoathumbs.
Like
Version 1.8.3
2 answer(s)
Sven Janssen
Sven Janssen
01 May 2005
You mean something like : "Dont add thumbnails to files with extension psd" ? Sven
Like
Version 1.8.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 July 2005
yes, that would be the option that would make me use this program hands down. "leave files alone that either have a .psd or are typed as photoshop files."
Like
Version 1.9.1
Anonymous
01 May 2005
really coool, but one thing that would really make this app stand out is if it just left layered photoshop files in a folder alone, instead of replacing their already nice icons with the white "Saved without a composite image" screen haha. None of the other thumbnail apps do this, and I would like to be able to just drop my pictures folder on cocoathumbs with no worries that it would effectively remove the icons from all my layered photoshop files. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.8.3
Anonymous
23 April 2005
Reduced Anti-Aliasing, why?
Like
Version 1.8
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 April 2005
> Set the Anti-Aliasing back to High thanks... but not working
Like
Version 1.8.1
Sven Janssen
Sven Janssen
24 April 2005
Not working? the application or the AA. Other Users told me thats know ok. Just like befor.
Like
Version 1.8.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 April 2005
there are not differences between use-AA and not... before version 1.8 the difference was notable however thanks, great app!
Like
Version 1.8.2
Sven Janssen
Sven Janssen
26 April 2005
your right. i fixed the problem today and i'm going to release it the next days
Like
Version 1.8.2
Anonymous
23 April 2005
Nice little app. Too bad, it doesn't look at the meta-data of a file without extension, however.
Like
Version 1.8
2 answer(s)
Sven Janssen
Sven Janssen
23 April 2005
blaim Apple not me ;-) From NSImage initWithContentsOfFile: The filename argument may be a full or relative pathname and should include an extension that identifies the data type in the file Ok i take a look at it :-)
Like
Version 1.8
Sven Janssen
Sven Janssen
26 April 2005
added HFS Type Support and i'm going to release the application the next days.
Like
Version 1.8.2
Anonymous
15 April 2005
I'm really happy you implemented icon creation from text files, but I'm rather disappointed in how you changed the way it hands .pdf files. Prior to 1.7, PDF icons would show the ENTIRE first page, like Preview does in the drawer, but now it's just a small snippet of the upper left hand corner. Maybe you could keep text file generation in everything the way it is, but return PDF files to how they were?
Like
Version 1.7
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 April 2005
Preferences->Icons
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 April 2005
Damn, you're good! And I feel like an idiot for not exploring the preferences first, I guess I just assumed the old preferences were in place. Thanks man!
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 April 2005
Glad to help. Checking preferences is a ritual for me. Btw, did you notice the misspelling of "whole" as "hole"? :-)
Like
Version 1.7
sven-8
sven-8
17 April 2005
yes i'm sorry. just download the dmg again and the spelling error ist gone.
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
15 April 2005
Started to use it instead of QuickImageCM which takes a while to load from context menu if a number of files are selected. However, the thumbs created with QuickImageCM are decidedly sharper so I'll switch back
Like
Version 1.6.1
2 answer(s)
Sven Janssen
Sven Janssen
15 April 2005
maybe deactivating AA?
Like
Version 1.6.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 April 2005
TNX for getting back on this. AA was active. Now with v1.81 is much better - even when AA is accidentially turned off. Anyhow, TNX!
Like
Version 1.8.1
Anonymous
10 April 2005
Hmmm...someone wanting to collect royalties on a concept idea, from a guy who offers his software for free...? Perhaps this user should buy a PC?
Like
Version 1.6.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 April 2005
It was obviously a joke I made...
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
08 April 2005
I'm not expecting anyone do this, for it would be too difficult (I only assume it would be, I'm not developer), or too CPU intensive: Allow it to make thumbnails of text files and .doc files, etc. How? It opens the file for a split second, takes a screenshot of the file within the window, closes the program, and shrinks that image to 128x128. That'd be great. :-) P.S. You would owe me royalties if you did that, it's my idea ;)
Like
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
Sven Janssen
Sven Janssen
08 April 2005
please send me an email. i'v got an idea. with kind regards Sven Janssen
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
08 April 2005
It doesn't always get every one of the images I tell it to. When I repeat the function with the image it didn't work on, it says it works, but there is no result in the finder. I also remember a time when I was converting an image back and forth, and suddenly, it changed to the Mac OS default thumbnail, and wouldn't be allowed to convert again. What's the deal with this behaviour; is it the finder or CocoThumbX? Anyone?
Like
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
Sven Janssen
Sven Janssen
08 April 2005
Sometimes the Finder behaves very strange. So maybe after restart the Finder will show the Icon. But maybe the file is read only. So CocoThumbX can not change the icon. Enable the error log in the preference panel. And create the thumbnail again. Or please create an archiv of this file and send it to me via email. with kind regards Sven Janssen
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
24 March 2005
I love it. It works well, it's tiny but really useful ... and moreover free. A great application! Thanks to the author
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
24 March 2005
Works beautifully!
Like
Version 1.2
Marsviolet
14 March 2005
Well done. Support for Adobe's DNG files would be a nice addition.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
14 March 2005
LOVE THIS APP! Fast, stable and does exactly as promoted. Way to go Sven! many thanks!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
14 March 2005
Great software does exactly as advertised, though if it were possible to have .eps support then we would love you. Cheers, Simon
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Sven Janssen
Sven Janssen
14 March 2005
well eps works fine here?!
Like
Version 1.0