Back to Iridient Developer page
Iridient Developer free download for Mac

Iridient Developer Reviews3.3.11

08 April 2020

Powerful image-editing application.

5
mzbe
02 December 2015
Version: 3.0.7

Most helpful

Absolutely 5 Stars app - ID does some unique things that help image quality that you will not find elsewhere. Examples: - sharpening - this has multiple state of the art sharpening algorithms at your disposal that rival or exceed other leading raw converters (C1, DXO, LR, ...) - noise reduction - works really well - monochrome conversion - one of the few apps (besides AccuRaw Monochrome) that applies a different de-bayering algorithm specifically for monochrome (again with 2 choices of preference, including smooth tonality) What it doesn't do (yet): Missing the powerful color wheels of C1 (to be fair, no other app does those). Missing convenience features from LR (e.g. automatic perspective correction). Missing local adjustments (= if you're using ID, you still need an image editor, e.g. Photoshop, to finalize processing all of your images to your satisfaction. With LR, arguably you could try and get by just with the raw converter). ID doesn't try and do DAM (asset management) and I would score that as a positive. The half assed capabilities in some other tools only slow down my workflow. ID is focused and fast, I hope it stays that way.
(2)

How would you rate Iridient Developer app?

Read 25 Iridient Developer User Reviews

5
mzbe
02 December 2015
Version: 3.0.7
Absolutely 5 Stars app - ID does some unique things that help image quality that you will not find elsewhere. Examples: - sharpening - this has multiple state of the art sharpening algorithms at your disposal that rival or exceed other leading raw converters (C1, DXO, LR, ...) - noise reduction - works really well - monochrome conversion - one of the few apps (besides AccuRaw Monochrome) that applies a different de-bayering algorithm specifically for monochrome (again with 2 choices of preference, including smooth tonality) What it doesn't do (yet): Missing the powerful color wheels of C1 (to be fair, no other app does those). Missing convenience features from LR (e.g. automatic perspective correction). Missing local adjustments (= if you're using ID, you still need an image editor, e.g. Photoshop, to finalize processing all of your images to your satisfaction. With LR, arguably you could try and get by just with the raw converter). ID doesn't try and do DAM (asset management) and I would score that as a positive. The half assed capabilities in some other tools only slow down my workflow. ID is focused and fast, I hope it stays that way.
(2)
Show comment (1)
2.5
Amazon
20 November 2015
Version: 3.0.6
Iridient Raw Developer got excellent image sharpener. Other than that, very high price for what this software is all about. The CaptureOne cost $29.00 for Sony camera users and easily surpass Iridient Raw Developer with futures aimed to professional photographers. If Iridient Raw Developer will lower price it may turn more photographers attention and interest for purchase of this IRD software.
(2)
5
Alvin-H
29 June 2015
Version: 3.0.3
i use it to process fuji xtrans raw, and very satisfied with the results, and developer is very responsive, believe me, I'm not a professional photographer, but i like photography and I think this app is very easy,and i can get sharp picture easily with this app. keep your hard work... love this app
(0)
Drdul
30 October 2014
Version: 3.0.0 beta 3
I've used Iridient Developer as an alternative to Lightroom when I want to recover the entire image captured by the sensor on cameras where lens correction is applied in software. I recently purchased a Canon G7X, and was pleased to see that the beta of version 3 includes support for this new camera. I was surprised, therefore, when I opened a RAW image in Iridient Developer at the default "camera aspect ratio" setting and there were fewer pixels than in the accompanying JPEG from the camera. Even at the "maximum" setting, Iridient Developer gave me fewer pixels on one side of the image than the camera gave me in the JPEG, and I assume Lightroom will give me when support for the G7X is added. I might have paid the upgrade fee (40% discount, which means USD $60 to upgrade), but not if I can't get all the pixels that the sensor recorded.
(0)
Show comments (2)
siamlotus
19 December 2013
Version: 2.3.2
There is a 29% discount on at the developer's site until 27/12/2013 with this coupon : Iridient9
(4)
Show comments (3)
4.5
Andrew-D-Rodney
27 February 2013
Version: 2.0.1
Gorgeous film like rendering makes this the go to raw converter for difficult images and I often use it to compare the quality of other converters. The new dot release now supports DNG profiles which is a feature I use for nearly every image (in Lightroom. ). I still use LR 90% of the time and 100% for my DAM but now and then, I have to feed a raw to ID and I'm always very pleased by the results. Developer is very responsive to suggestions. If processing raw files is part of your livelyhood, the upgrade price isn't an issue one lick.
(0)
4
Drdul
11 February 2013
Version: 2.0
Version 2 is worth the upgrade. The upgrade price is now a more reasonable $45 (and the full price of the app is now a more reasonable $75). For me, the big selling feature is the addition of controls to correct chromatic aberration (which the previous version was missing), as I have a couple of images with bad CA that I could not satisfactorily convert with the previous version. I can still process images from my Olympus and Panasonic cameras without applying the lens correction information that's included in the raw file (and that other apps like Adobe Camera Raw and Lightroom apply automatically). And it looks like for some lenses I would be able to apply a lens profile with the built-in chromatic aberration correction but without the built-in distortion correction, but so far none of my lenses offer me this option (the check box for CA is grayed out). The reason I'm only giving Irident Developer 4 stars instead of 5 is that it doesn't offer any localized adjustments. All adjustments apply to the entire image.
(0)
5
Liam-
10 September 2011
Version: 1.9.2
Though RAW Dev is still by far the best raw processor, the high upgrade price is too steep imo
(0)
Show comments (4)
Mjkphoto
01 April 2011
Version: 1.9.1
$75 is a bit steep for an upgrade price.
(0)
Drdul
02 March 2011
Version: 1.9.0
FYI: Version 1.9.0 is a $75 upgrade for anyone who purchased RAW Developer prior to November 2009. That includes me, so I'm gonna keep using the old version before I decide whether the upgrade is worth $75.
(1)
Bumbleb
31 May 2010
Version: 1.8.10
Finally support for my lovely Sigma DP2 camera! Much love to the developer, Brian G!
(3)
5
Tybeck
29 November 2009
Version: 1.8.6
I've used RAW Developer (RD) as my main raw file processor for about the last 2 years. Having tried CaptureOne, ACR, Bibble, Aperture, Lightroom and a several other raw converters, RD had the best mix of speed, quality of output, and easy of use for my needs. There are some features that would be helpful like shadow recovery, flash fill, and a local contrast tool like Vibrancy, but the flexibility and control that RD provides makes up for these absences. Any photo that I can't tweak to my liking in RD can be done in LightZone (another wonderful program). Stand out features: Speed - this is the fastest raw converter on Mac I've tried. Batch mode - very flexible with excellent scale up features, fast. Only RAW developer I've seen that will allow multiple format output in the same batch session. Controlling exposure sectors with sliders - very intuitive. Copy and Pasting Settings - move all or groups of settings between photos. B&W development - absolutely the best black and white rendering that I have seen in any raw converter. What this program is not: It is not Expression Media, Aperture or Lightroom, it will not help organize your photos at all. RD does play well with other programs, for example you can open a selection of photos directly in Expression Media, the Finder, or Path Finder in RD. It's more like ACR as stand alone. To my eye it is not that effective with high noise photos. I use NoiseNinja for this. In brief, if you looking for a fast, clean raw file converter for Mac and won't miss the "one program for everything" approach (like in Lightroom and Aperture) give RAW Developer a serious look.
(2)
5
Jan13
09 October 2009
Version: 1.8.6
I just test it and as “PURE” RAW processor this software in one simple word “ROCKS” !!!
(3)
5
Drdul
22 August 2009
Version: 1.8.5
RAW Developer is a must-have for me. I shoot with an Olympus E-P1 and a Panasonic LX3, and the RAW files from both of these cameras are corrected for barrel distortion when converted in Adobe Camera Raw, SilkyPix, Olympus Master and most other RAW converters. RAW Developer doesn't apply any corrections, which enables me to apply however much (or little) correction I want in Photoshop, and also enables me to recover additional bits of the image around the edges. The workflow in RAW Developer is similar to Adobe Camera Raw, which makes it easy and fast for me to use. The image preview updates as corrections are applied, and the result is an image that is as good as or better than what I can get from ACR. Image settings are saved in files with a .rdsf extension, so they don't conflict with the .xml files created by ACR. The only other RAW converter I could find that doesn't apply corrections to images during conversion is Raw Photo Processor. I have used RPP several times and even donated to unlock additional features, but I gave up after a while, as I found it just too difficult. The UI is awkward, the documentation doesn't explain things very well, the preview does not update automatically, and I never could get the highlight recovery feature to work properly. In comparison, RAW Developer is a pleasure to use. My only (minor) complaint about RAW Developer is that the documentation is somewhat out of date (it appears to be for version 1.4). As a result, there is no explanation of a few settings, but in most cases I have been able to figure out what they do through trial and error (although I'm at a loss to guess what "TC Shadow" means).
(5)
Show comment (1)
5
Rpphoto
04 July 2009
Version: 1.8.4
I've used this for quite awhile now, and I'm still impressed! This is like the sleeping giant of raw processors. I own and use just about all of them.
(1)
5
Beige
03 January 2008
Version: 1.7.2
I reviewed Aperture and Lightroom for Ars Technica and this is the only app that I've spent my hard-earned money on (the others were sent to me for review). While this app doesn't do all that Aperture or Lightroom does for library or metadata handling, it just does everything I ever asked a good RAW processor to: -has a radius setting for sharpening -great handling of high-noise images, letting you sharpen and denoise without getting unnatural blips of noise -interactive curve adjustment -extremely customizable settings and the price is incredible for the quality. After using all major apps including Canon's Digital Photo Pro, Bibble, Capture One Pro and others, I'd say that this is the best option, at least for the Digital Rebel xti, which is what I have.
(3)
4
Bumbleb
22 December 2007
Version: 1.7.2
As a raw image developer, RAW Developer kicks ass major big time! Really. It handles every kind of RAW file I throw at it better than Lightroom and even the manufacturers own softwares... Especially the new processing pipeline for Sigma X3F files are much appreciated. Extreme quality, both color-, noise- and monochrome-wise. I wish the more workflow related features were a bit more robust though. As is now, I can mark select images, but no way to work through a shoot fast, delete the bad shots, sort images into different folders. And I also wish I could rotate the thumbnails! Well, I know RAW Developer is not a Lightroom or Aperture kind of app, but more a high quality developer. And I dig that. I just feel Lightroom is overkill, and that with a little expanded "workflow" functionality, my mind would enter a zen mind state, doing less, to accomplish more. Lightroom and Aperture has catalogs and databases. I don't want that, I just want a folder hierarchy. I feel tied up with database structures. So what do I propose? A grid view of the opened folder, and a folder hierarchy like found in Capture One 3.x series. Now that Phase One has blown their nasty version 4.0, I guess that a lot of ex Capture One users would go with RAW Deveoper if a Capture One file workflow could be done in RAW Developer. To a lot of photographers, Capture One has been more than enough to allow great productivity. I just need my shots in, work, out, next. Then have some keywords / IPTC / metatags / Spotlight tags to find a certain image again, should I need it. Brian the developer is a great developer, answers emails thoroughly, so maybe he will consider the above? Would be way cool. The world needs less-fuzz-solutions instead of all the crowded, bloated busy-stuff.
(0)
Show comments (2)
4
MAchintrucbidule459
30 July 2007
Version: 1.7
A very good program. I particularly like how you can work with rvb curves and lab curves at the same time. I've tried lightroom and aperture but I wasn't as satisfied with their color correction/adjustement tools. Export and batch tools are pretty useful too. Few bugs though: -redraw problems when zooming -error message when I apply "previous image setting" to a picture and use undo -error with some cropped pictures using batch process Some suggestions: -a true preview for crops (I mean without transparency) -maybe a kind of fullscreen mode, without palettes
(1)
5
Abraham-Irawan
09 January 2007
Version: 1.6.2
Best for digital infrared photograhy, i don't have to load photoshop to use channel swap, its all in there direct from RAW file bravo!
(1)
5
Yunfat
18 May 2006
Version: 1.5
Quite simply the best RAW conversion application on the market, at least in the opinion of this photog.
(2)
5
Rpphoto
25 January 2006
Version: 1.4.4
I've managed to pull better looking and more detailed images than I have from any other Raw converter, and I've tried them all. I've done side-by-side comparisons with ACR, and I can't tell you how much better Raw Developer files look, the difference is astonishing. I'm very pleased with my purchase, and love the fact that I am supporting a small "developer" who makes such great apps. And, no, I don't work with or know this developer; I just love this stuff!
(1)
3.25
Pixeljunkey
09 December 2005
Version: 1.4
Not bad for such a young product. Would be better if the interface were shored up a little bit. Get the progress bar off of the center of the viewing area and replace it with the spinning tick-mark meter, maybe at the top right corner of the toolbar. Need an easy way to reset all changes made to an image. Resizing the viewer panel should not resize the thumbnails, and it would be good if you could see two rows worth.
(0)
4.25
Anonymous
10 September 2005
Version: 1.2.3
Fast, simple and clean interface. Worth a look/try-out. Opens many Raw file types that others cannot.
(0)
4.25
Anonymous
31 March 2005
Version: 1.2.2
This is actually a very cool program. It actually offers way more functionality than photoshop, and seems to offer better image quality. Based on an open source RAW decoder as well..
(0)
Anonymous
15 March 2005
Version: 1.2.1
Why would I use this instead of Adobe's DNG converter, or their RAW plug-in in Photoshop? Or, the RAW converters than Canon, Nikon, or Olympus bundle with their cameras for free?
(0)
Show comments (3)