Back to DockArt page
DockArt free download for Mac

DockArt Reviews

2.2
26 May 2013

Displays cover art from current iTunes track in Dock.

j-paseka
27 March 2017

Most helpful

Please, for itunes 12.6
Like (7)
Version 2.2

Read 69 DockArt User Reviews

Rate this app:

patrickrushton
26 September 2017
Not compatible with 12.6. Seems that Apple have changed the way that 3rd party visualizers should integrate with iTunes (nb they have not disabled 3rd party visualizers entirely)
Like
Version 2.2
j-paseka
27 March 2017
Please, for itunes 12.6
Like (7)
Version 2.2
j-paseka
24 March 2017
Ne marche pas avec itunes 12.6
Like
Version 2.2
Caschreier
08 December 2015
I have been using this little software for some years now. Couldn't imagine iTunes without it anymore. Still works on itunes 12.3 in El Capitan.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Wts
02 April 2015
Unable to get it to work in Maverick OS 10.9.5 with the most current version of iTunes. Perhaps developer may offer some clues.
Like
Version 2.2
Maciej-Tarmas
26 July 2014
Just dropping by to report that DockArt works flawlessly with OS X Yosemite Public Beta and iTunes 12.
Like
Version 2.2
LaurentV5224
25 December 2013
I still experience troubles with Dockart I have to click on the options in iTunes and the enable dock art panel. Than the current album shows, but won't change with the next song from a different album. I run Mavericks, iTunes 11.1.3 and dockart2.2. Any suggestions?
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
LaurentV5224
LaurentV5224
25 December 2013
I found the problem: I had to check the 'show visuals' option :-) It seems to wrk fine by now. Happy to have it back and running!
Like
Jazzyguy
19 October 2013
Great to have this Back in itunes11. This is a great visualizer with a great developer who is gracious in every way. I donated to this developer but he refused saying he wants the money to go to his favorite charity so I donated there. He is one very special guy!!
Like (1)
Version 2.2
LaurentV4807
27 August 2013
I was wondering. I have `dockart for a couple of years now, but it doesn't work anymore on iTunes 11.0.5. I downloaded Dockart 2.2. But I cannot find the Plugin folder where I'm supposed to copy the bundle. Any suggestions? I really miss it.
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
20 October 2013
Option Click the GO bar in your Finder and you will find the Library,then you will be able to find it in iTunes Plugins.
Like (1)
Brooklyn-Al
21 June 2013
Correction; 2.2 works fine on Mavericks. I was trying to use 2.1 on iTunes 11.0.4/Mavericks which did not work.........
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Brooklyn-Al
21 June 2013
DockArt does not work on Mavericks. Hopefully, an update is or will be in the works.
Like
Version 2.2
Maciej-Tarmas
06 June 2013
Happy to report that iTunes 11.0.4 didn't break DockArt :D
Like
Version 2.2
Maciej-Tarmas
17 May 2013
iTunes 11.0.3 broke the plugin :(
Like (3)
Version 2.1
6 answer(s)
kayoubi
kayoubi
17 May 2013
yup iTunes becomes unresponsive if the visualizer is on !!
Like
StuartNicholson9207
StuartNicholson9207
20 May 2013
If you select options for Dock Art and click ok it will show the current album playing. But if you change album the last album stays there unless you go to options again and choose ok then again the current album cover displays. Only since 11.0.3
Like
zeroskie
zeroskie
23 May 2013
I hope it gets fixed. This app is literally the only reason I have a MacUpdate profile--so I can comment on how great it is.
Like (1)
Maciej-Tarmas
Maciej-Tarmas
25 May 2013
DockArt 2.2 which works with iTunes 11.0.3 should be available soon. Thanks Gregory!
Like
Gregw
Gregw
26 May 2013
DockArt 2.2 is now available at the link, and I've submitted the update information to MacUpdate. For those who are curious, the change in iTunes 11.0.3 is that it no longer sends "idle" messages to plugins other than the selected one and only when it's enabled. I was using those messages to manage the transition from one image to the next. The lack of responsiveness in the iTunes window if you told it to "show" DockArt was iTunes itself ignoring the clicks in the window's content area because it expected me to handle everything going on there.
Like (4)
Hoople
Hoople
27 May 2013
Thank you Greg! Dockart was missed.
Like
Maciej-Tarmas
29 November 2012
I can confirm that it works fine with iTunes 11.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Vitaly
22 September 2012
great visualizer, but does not work with itunes 10.7 under osx 10.8.2. no cover art in dock
Like
Version 2.1
NUmB
25 November 2011
Great plugin! Just one thing, when the track changes and you have on random play the previous album cover is shown when information about the song playing pops up from the dock. Otherwise it's really good!
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
09 March 2012
Sorry, didn't see this comment until just now. Even sorrier: I can't reproduce the behavior you're describing. If you see this, please write to me directly and we can try to get it figured out.
Like (1)
iGMX
21 November 2011
This is one of those "useless" apps that's a must-have on everyone's Mac.
Like
Version 2.1
Shidong
12 November 2011
super plug in... love it :-)))
Like
Version 2.1
Lex-Yu
12 November 2011
5-star app!! I have a suggestion regarding the new progress bar feature. How about adopt this design? http://img.skitch.com/20111112-rq646whmyyip4m3kxmj3uaebma.jpg It is intuitive and also go great together with OS X's default UI.
Like
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
12 November 2011
Interesting idea. In your concept, is that image showing that the track is 1/3 done or 2/3? I suspect 1/3, but I want to make sure I'm seeing what you're trying to convey.
Like
Lex-Yu
Lex-Yu
12 November 2011
It goes along with clockwise. So, it's 1/3 done. :)
Like
drezha
01 November 2011
Excellent. Version 2 works fantastically well. Glad I found it as I missed it after updating to Lion and the 64 bit iTunes.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Zoidbert
02 October 2011
Curious as to when we might see a 64 bit version; I'd rather not run iTunes in 32 bit to make it work. Great addition; Apple should buy it from you and implement it as a feature.
Like
Version 2.0.2
4 answer(s)
David-Livingstone
David-Livingstone
08 October 2011
I agree, but then I understand the buzz an author gets by his free contribution. I really miss it since my Lion update.
Like
Tipp-Flo
Tipp-Flo
30 October 2011
Works in 64 bit here.
Like
Gregw
Gregw
08 November 2011
The 2.0 release in August added 64-bit support.
Like
Zoidbert
Zoidbert
08 November 2011
Thanks to all -- indeed, the August update does work with Lion.
Like
Jazzyguy
14 August 2011
The Developer not only solved the problem of the unexpected quit (due to a corrupted preference file) but I had an additional problem of iTunes taking a long time to launch and quit. He solved that also. The Developer is extremely helpful,cooperative and I was astonished as I never expected this sort of help from a "Free" application. I must say he is a credit to the Mac Community.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
zeroskie
zeroskie
19 August 2011
No, seriously. The developer seems to be very dedicated in supporting his work. If only everyone were like that.
Like
Jazzyguy
10 August 2011
I figured out what is wrong here and why the new version doesn't work. I have iTunes 10.4.3 not the newest version. DockArt does not show in my list of visualizers and the options button is grayed out so there is no way I can enable it.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.2
6 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
10 August 2011
I'm having the same issue.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
10 August 2011
The old version still works good but every once in a while I get an error message that on quit that itunes unexpectantly quit because of the Dock Art Plug in but this is on rare occasions.
Like (3)
Gregw
Gregw
11 August 2011
As noted above, DockArt 2 requires iTunes 10.4. Due to changes in the way iTunes interacts with plugins it would be very difficult (at best) for a single build of DockArt to work with both current and prior iTunes releases. I won't say today that DockArt 1.x won't get any new development - I'm seriously thinking about the art cycling thing - but it's probably not going to be a high priority. Except for bugs. If Jazzguy wants to contact me directly we can try to work out the source of the unexpected quits; I've not heard of that before.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
11 August 2011
I see that I don't have the proper version of iTunes. I have 10.3. That explains everything. Thank you for answering but I looked on your web site for an eMail address but couldn't find one. If you can post one I will be happy to write you.
Like (3)
Gregw
Gregw
11 August 2011
support at splook dot com
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
11 August 2011
The Developer is working hard to find out what is going on with my DockArt plug in. He is a great guy!
Like (3)
Maylbu
10 August 2011
Great app, working fine.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Jazzyguy
10 August 2011
It Didn't work in 10.6.8 I had to put the old one back in.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.2
Lex-Yu
09 August 2011
2.0.1 fixed the bug. It now is a PERFECT app!
Like
Version 2.0.1
Lex-Yu
08 August 2011
DockArt 2.0 seems to have some bug. It shows an album art while no song is being played. To tell the details, when I stop the music, the album art disappears and changes to iTunes icon. It seems normal so far. Then, however, within a minute the album art I played last suddenly comes back (without dissolve effect.) My iMac runs OS X Lion 10.7 and iTunes 10.4 with no other plug-in than DockArt.
Like
Version 2.0
4 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
08 August 2011
Thanks for reporting this. I've just submitted a new build that should fix it. You might want to check out the file(s) for which you observed this; I think you'll find they have multiple pieces of associated artwork.
Like
Larrylogic
Larrylogic
09 August 2011
Hi Greg. I'm having the same issue with the album art coming back after stopping. I'll look for the new build when it is released. However you mention multiple pieces of album art which I noticed with the 2.0 version it cycles though the album art. I never saw that with previous version. Is that a new feature with the 2.0 version and is there a way to play just the first piece or artwork? It's a great plug in and I am very happy you were able to make one to work with the new iTunes. Thank you.
Like
Gregw
Gregw
09 August 2011
The art cycling is a new behavior as of 2.0. It was actually a very long-standing feature request that I had deferred because it was a lot more work than I was prepared to do. Some behind the scenes changes in iTunes 10.4 made me write about 90% of the necessary code anyway - iTunes no longer provides the artwork to plugins other than the selected one - so I decided to finish it off. I'll probably add a pref to control it in the next release.
Like
Lex-Yu
Lex-Yu
09 August 2011
That was fast. Thanks a lot Greg!
Like
ttlcntrlprint
07 August 2011
Anticipating this release but crashes iTunes 10.4 running as either 32/64 BIT. No other plug-ins installed. Should add: Mac OS X Lion 10.7 Thanks, totalcontrolprint
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
07 August 2011
You should also contact me. You're the first, and so far only, person to report a crash; even counting the beta cycle. DockArt 2 *should* work on iTunes 10.4 on any machine and OS version that can run it. Get in touch and I do what I can to help determine why it's not working on your machine.
Like
ttlcntrlprint
ttlcntrlprint
10 August 2011
The bug has now been fixed with 2.0.2 release.
Like
Baby-Bloc
05 August 2011
I get confused when I use a computer that doesn't have this on it. It adds a useful and natural and fun feature.
Like
Version 2.0
Gregw
04 August 2011
DockArt 2.0, supporting iTunes 10.4, has just been submitted and I expect it will be available shortly. A faithful troupe of more than a dozen testers have put in a lot of time for me over the last week getting it ready.
Like (3)
Version 1.3
obao
29 July 2011
Use iTunes in 32 bits mode for now to make it work (in finder, right click get info on iTunes and check "open in 32 bits mode"), it's the only way until the plugin is updated
Like (1)
Version 1.3
zeroskie
25 July 2011
This is by far one of the best little apps I've ever used. I've had DockArt for years and it's made a happy user. Five Stars! PS. It seems that the new update makes iTunes 64bit, which doesn't allow this plugin anymore. Help us Mr. Weston!
Like (1)
Version 1.3
Lex-Yu
21 July 2011
Love this but it won't work with iTunes 10.4 or higher because iTunes has become a 64-bit app, and a 64-bit app can't load 32-bit plug-ins. Dock Art needs to be updated to 64-bit.
Like (4)
Version 1.3
Chris-Zhang
05 July 2011
Lion+Safari10.5 is 64-bit...So We can't use DockArt...Please update this software to 64-bit,Waiting...
Like (6)
Version 1.3
Curing@
12 December 2010
Work fine on MacOS 10.6.5 + iTunes 10.1
Like
Version 1.3
Mil_Mascaras
19 February 2010
Great for a couple Years, but Snow Leopard + iTunes 9 Kills it... I am still going to give this app a 5 star review. This was pretty much a 1 trick pony, but it did that 1 trick superbly... Hopefully it will be updated, as iTunes specifically mentions this plugin in its crash error report. Used this previously on my Legacy Mac (PPC, OSX 10.4.11) which I used as my Music Server. Finally upgraded to a new Quad iMac, running Snow Leopard, and this was one of the first plugins I went looking for. Alas, no more, it crashes everytime, bigtime, and the error report only mentions the DockArt Plugin as the sole culprit. Oh Well. Thank you for your past work, Mr Weston, it was great while it lasted, and I will check in occasionally to see ii this gets updated, but if not, I would still like to express my appreciation.
Like
Version 1.3
4 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
23 June 2010
I'm sorry for the delayed response; as one guy with a full-time job and a family, it's much more reliable to send me mail rather than post to the download sites' discussion areas. That out of the way, and hoping you haven't given up since it's been so long, I'm not aware of any issue between DockArt, Snow Leopard and iTunes 9. I use it daily, and haven't heard of a a similar problem from any other user. If you could forward the crash logs to me, I could try to diagnose the problem and point out a solution.
Like
Version 1.3
Király
Király
15 August 2010
Here's how to fix the DockArt crashing iTunes in Snow Leopard problem: 1) Uninistall DockArt. 2) Delete all of the iTunes files from these locations: Home/Library/Caches/com.apple.iTunes Home/Library/Preferences/com.apple.iTunes.* Home/Library/Preferences/ByHost/com.apple.iTunes.* 3) Reinstall DockArt. Presto! It now works!
Like
Version 1.3
incrzr
incrzr
02 September 2010
Never had a problem with DockArt and SL. And it works fine even with iTunes 10. I'm glad so I don't see the rubbish new icon.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
arkayn-1
arkayn-1
08 September 2010
I first found out about this plugin this morning, I actually installed the 1.2.1 version that was on the [url=http://homepage.mac.com/gweston/dockart/index.html]developers home page[/url]. I got the link from MacosXhints this morning. It works just fine on iTunes 10.
Like
Version 1.3
Enrico-Nencini
01 April 2008
iTunes crashes while launching on my new iMac (intel OSX 10.5.2) after installation.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
10 September 2008
Over 5 months later and I'm seeing this comment for the first time. The user never contacted me and hasn't provided enough information for me to help diagnose the problem. Perhaps this was an April Fool's joke.
Like
Version 1.3
zx
27 February 2008
not working for me!!!
Like
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
28 February 2008
I can help you get it working if you'll contact me directly. I suspect you've just not put the plugin in a correct folder.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Jack-Kronborg
02 April 2007
To Dev... the shadow of the skew is being cut off.
Like
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
02 April 2007
I know about the shadow. The dock tile is by nature restricted to a 128-pixel square and I figured most people would prefer as much detail as possible on the image over a few extra pixels on the (rather subtle, IMO) shadow. I may tweak it during the next update, though.
Like
Version 1.1
Gregw
Gregw
21 June 2007
Just pointing out that as of v1.2.1 the skewed image has been adjusted to avoid clipping the shadow.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Azizane
01 April 2007
a great plug-in for itunes, it's nice to see it's still being maintained and improved
Like
Version 1.1
Sibelius
17 March 2007
How did you make it skew? I can't see how to contact the developer via his site, nor any way to reach any preferences. Looks good in the dock though!
Like
Version 1.0.8
6 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
19 March 2007
Make sure that DockArt is the selected visualizer plugin, and then choose the Visualizer Options menu item. (Specific locations of these vary from version to version of iTunes.)
Like
Version 1.0.8
Sibelius
Sibelius
19 March 2007
Thanks Greg - but I'm running iTunes 6.0.4 and can't find any visualiser options, even after selecting Dockart! Any ideas?
Like
Version 1.0.8
Gregw
Gregw
19 March 2007
It's been a while since I've seen iTunes 6, but I believe that the way to get at the visualizer options was to select the visualizer you wanted to configure and then actually activate the visualizer functionality. Once active, there was a button in the upper-right corner that would invoke the settings dialog.
Like
Version 1.0.8
Sibelius
Sibelius
20 March 2007
No luck with that. Activating the visualiser with DockArt selected just brings up a black screen. I also tried iTunes Help, and found this > "with visualiser selected, click the options button if available". It wasn't. Looks like the skew effect only works with iTunes 7, but I guess I can live with that!
Like
Version 1.0.8
Gregw
Gregw
20 March 2007
"No luck with that. Activating the visualiser with DockArt selected just brings up a black screen." DockArt's "real" visualizer is only a black screen because all it does is change the icon. It's not really meant to be selected as your primary visualizer. "Looks like the skew effect only works with iTunes 7, ..." So you're saying that when you select DockArt as your visualizer and then activate the visualizer there's no button in the window that says "Options" or "Settings" or something like that? Something's very strange on your setup if that's the case; iTunes has supported plugin settings dialogs at least back into the 4.x era, and I believe much further. (DockArt got its first user pref about 2 months before iTunes 5 was released.) Here's a screen shot of iTunes 6: . What do you see in the upper-right corner in your copy of iTunes when DockArt is selected and the visualizer is turned on?
Like
Version 1.0.8
Sibelius
Sibelius
20 March 2007
I've got it now - visualiser was set to full screen, which is why the options button did not appear!
Like
Version 1.0.8
Wim-Waman
17 March 2007
I absolutely love this little piece of software! It has always proven to be stable and the new skewing feature is just what it needed. Perfect!
Like
Version 1.0.8
Kp-gores
09 June 2006
How about new features: 1) if the song playing has no cover art, but is track number n of m then display the cover art from track number 1. 2) if more than one art is available change the displayed every 10 secs. I wish itunes itself would automagically display the cover art like in 1) - i saved some GB by deleting all the cover art from tracks with number > 1.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Pslieber
09 June 2006
What a wonderful, nifty little program that works as advertised. A must-have for visual-oriented folks who play their iTunes in the background. Good stuff.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Writedawg
09 June 2006
Talk about response! This update is a response to a bug that he was notified about TODAY. Give the man a big hand.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Writedawg
10 April 2006
Would be a nice addition if the program worked for Shared Music playing. iTunes can now show the album art from a shared track - but DockArt just shows the iTunes icon. Just a thought - But this is still one my favorite Li'l Mac apps. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.0.4u
Adinb
20 March 2006
Great little app--I've been looking for something to do this since switching to OSX. Drop it in your itunes plugin folder and it goes to work. Highly Recommended.
Like
Version 1.0.4u
Gregw
19 March 2006
At about 4:20PM (eastern US) on March 19, I found out I had put up the wrong zip file that morning, and immediately corrected it. Sorry about the inconvenience.
Like
Version 1.0.4u
Anonymous
21 November 2005
Apple should have done this, but sense they didn't you came up with it, perfect, just perfect, it couldn't be a better addition, I love the plugin option!
Like
Version 1.0.4
Autumnzen
13 September 2005
I looked in iTunes in Library, but there's no plug-ins folder. An I missing something?
Like
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 September 2005
Go to ~(user)/Library/iTunes/iTunes Plug-ins No problemo if that folder does not exist, simply create a new folder under the ~/Library/iTunes and name it: iTunes Plug-ins (That is what some of the behind the scenes installers do: check to see if the expected folder exists, if it doesn't create it, then move the plug-in module/program to that folder) Then put the dockartplugin.bundle there.
Like
Version 1.0.4