Back to Wine page
Wine free download for Mac

Wine Reviews

23 January 2020

Run Windows applications (formerly Darwine).

Aargl
11 February 2020
Version: 5.0

Most helpful

To sum up what you'll need: - XQuartz - Wine package from https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/macosx/download.html - as it will probably ask you soon for Gecko and Mono, you can let it download them or do it yourself at https://wiki.winehq.org/Gecko and https://wiki.winehq.org/Mono (you'll have to put them in special folders if you do it manually, as explained on those pages — ~/.cache/wine if you chose to install Wine for current user only)
(1)

How would you rate Wine app?

Read 6 Wine User Reviews

Macinman
17 September 2020
Version: 5.0
Hey guys, before I download Wine 5.0, Was curious if it now runs on Catalina? For a long time wine was 32 bit only for certain parts. I checked here to see if anyone mentioned it, and I looked at the program information, and description, but nothing jumped out. If someone knows, or has a reliable source of information, they can point me to: would appreciate it. Thanks
(1)
nocturmus
25 March 2020
Version: 5.0
hello mi name is jhon i have the problem whit wine in Mac os Catalina dont run, for the kaygen
(0)
Aargl
11 February 2020
Version: 5.0
To sum up what you'll need: - XQuartz - Wine package from https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/macosx/download.html - as it will probably ask you soon for Gecko and Mono, you can let it download them or do it yourself at https://wiki.winehq.org/Gecko and https://wiki.winehq.org/Mono (you'll have to put them in special folders if you do it manually, as explained on those pages — ~/.cache/wine if you chose to install Wine for current user only)
(1)
5
Aargl
11 February 2020
Version: 5.0
Until today I've relied on Crossover to run occasional .exe, mainly old XP programs, no games and nothing too complicated, so I was quite satisfied. But reading Derekcurrie's reviews here and on MU's Crossover page gave me the input to try Wine and after a quick test, It looks very promising — for my use case. First of all, it's free. The installation is not very complicated, as one might fear. In fact, when you've found how it works, it zaps a few steps compared to Crossover and it cancels a useless software layer, so in the end it looks faster, at least on launch. I have yet to make some other trials before I install it on my main OS partition but it's very likely that it will soon replace Crossover, here. :-)
(0)
Show comments (2)
Derekcurrie
26 November 2018
Version: 3.21
Keep in mind that WINE is an ongoing project with both beta "Development" versions and 'Stable' versions ready for mass public consumption. As such, v3.2.1 is currently a "Development" version. v3.0.3 is the current Stable version, which is what I'd suggest for new users. Visit the developer link to find both latest versions.

There are certain things WINE will never be able to do, seeing as Microsoft uses a great deal of proprietary code in Windows. Microsoft's DirectX is proprietary. Apparently, getting WINE or any of the virtualization systems to work with software requiring DirectX 11 or 12 isn't happening. That's one reason the number of recent games that run in WINE or virtualization is very limited. I've ended up using Apple's kindly provided Boot Camp instead, which runs the latest Windows 10 perfectly (not that Windows 10 is perfect, please note). Add on Paragon's excellent utilities for APFS/HFS+ and NTFS compatibility and you're golden.
(0)
Derekcurrie
17 September 2018
Version: 3.16
The notes at MU are incorrect. *There IS a compiled app version of WINE available HERE: http://winebottler.kronenberg.org/downloads It is from the same kindly developer who compiles WineBottler. You'll see Wine.app Downloads if you scroll down that page past WineBottler. Choose the version most compatible with your macOS system. The way it works is simple: Double-click a Windows .EXE and macOS attempts to open it inside the Wine.app. If that fails, then try WineBottler, which is more convoluted to use.. I find Wine.app to be more reliable and easier to use than WineBottler for most purposes. It's simply called Wine.app. I have no idea why MU doesn't provide a page for it.
(1)