Back to Airfoil page
Airfoil free download for Mac

Airfoil Reviews

28 January 2021

Send audio from any app to AirPort Express/Apple TV and more.

How would you rate Airfoil?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
garywpeacock
garywpeacock
Oct 24 2020
5.9.2
1.0
Oct 24 2020
1.0
Version: 5.9.2
I bought two speakers, controlled from my Mac computer. One of the speakers keeps regularly cutting out, on average about once every 10-15 minutes. My retailer is helping me try and sort out this problem.
bessa-007
bessa-007
Dec 1 2019
5.8.8
1.0
Dec 1 2019
1.0
Version: 5.8.8
Did not work. Also, it kept muting the sound of my browser. Fits very well, to throw in the trash can.
celineroze
celineroze
Dec 1 2019
5.8.8
1.0
Dec 1 2019
1.0
Version: 5.8.8
I have a problem using DVD reader with MAC: there is a strong delay between sound and image that is higher than the possible setting up. Thanks to tell me how to do Best Celine
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
Jun 22 2019
5.8.5
5.0
Jun 22 2019
5.0
Version: 5.8.5
Airfoil is the central audio management solution of my complex media center system based on a Mac Mini and many iDevices. And since it's NOT subscription based I highly recommend Airfoil for similar setups.
andystenn212
andystenn212
Jun 6 2018
5.7.4
5.0
Jun 6 2018
5.0
Version: 5.7.4
Excellent
Balanchine
Balanchine
Feb 12 2018
5.6.4
5.0
Feb 12 2018
5.0
Version: 5.6.4
Very good app. I use this every day to stream to multiple Airplay speakers around my house. Apple only provide this functionality in iTunes, and even then they don't implement it as well as Airfoil does. I occasionally notice a slight loss of sync between speakers. Not sure if this is an Airfoil or Airplay problem, though.
zajoho
zajoho
May 2 2017
5.5.2
0.0
May 2 2017
0.0
Version: 5.5.2
Is Airfoil for Mac able to stream to the USB port AND airplay the same time?
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Feb 9 2017
5.5.2
5.0
Feb 9 2017
5.0
Version: 5.5.2
My situation is a bit different but probably worth mentioning. I have hearing aids. They're able to bluetooth directly to my iPhone, which is nice, but I wanted to connect them directly to my MB Pro. But there's no application interface by the hearing aid manufacturer that will let me do this. Instead, they want to sell me a $500 device that will run from the laptop headphone port to their device, and then the aids bluetooth to that device. As I was doing a ton of research on how to avoid that $500 expense, I ran across a mention of AirFoil. I already had a license for AudioHijack, so I trusted this manufacturer. (There are some other apps or software that claim to do some of what AirFoil does, but they were nowhere near as user friendly.) Indeed, AirFoil lets me link from my laptop directly to my iPhone, and from there, it bluetooth connects directly to my hearing aids. And for $470 less than I would have had to pay otherwise. Developer: I shall be certain to mention your program to my audiologist. Trust me, they get a lot of business these days.
Mcclough
Mcclough
Oct 31 2016
5.5.0
5.0
Oct 31 2016
5.0
Version: 5.5.0
Version 5.5 fixes the device setter. Thank you so much !
smithjc1978
smithjc1978
Feb 24 2016
5.0.0
4.0
Feb 24 2016
4.0
Version: 5.0.0
I have been using Airfoil since the first time it was ever released. I love it and this new update is even better because I have many bluetooth speakers that I use, but my mac is my main entertainment hub, hooked to my tv for a monitor. This is the first time blue tooth connectivity has been offered with airfoil and as much as i like it, it is quite choppy on and off. I am sure it will get fixed but for now it is hard to deal with using. I know it has to be the app, because when i connect natively the speaker works flawlessly and radium connects to multiple speakers better too. When the bluetooth connectivity is better it will be a five star app
rick85739
rick85739
Oct 15 2015
4.9.1
5.0
Oct 15 2015
5.0
Version: 4.9.1
If Rogue Amoeba makes it, you can be assured of a quality product and great tech support, if needed. (No affiliation, of course. Just a happy customer.) Airfoil just works perfectly.
J. A. G.
J. A. G.
Aug 6 2015
4.8.14
5.0
Aug 6 2015
5.0
Version: 4.8.14
:) its a great app and i highly recommend it to anyone who uses airplay, in some way, for their audio/music playback. its a rock solid piece of software which quickly becomes one of "The Essentials" for any audio lover.
Macs007
Macs007
Dec 24 2014
4.8.12
5.0
Dec 24 2014
5.0
Version: 4.8.12
By far the best app of its kind. Never fails with my Sirius radio. Great value and fantastic support. The developers reply within a day and solves problems very quickly. $25 gets you a premium app and premium customer support. Don't look any further when you need to stream stuff.
Mcclough
Mcclough
Sep 25 2014
4.8.9
5.0
Sep 25 2014
5.0
Version: 4.8.9
By far the best Airport app. Easy to setup and use.
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Jul 25 2014
4.8.7
5.0
Jul 25 2014
5.0
Version: 4.8.7
I use this program / driver since its first version and always found it very helpful. Apart from its main use with Apple TV and other AirPort Express units in my room I need this application to hear the sounds of my DAB Radio which is connected to an USB aufio input device since the new iMac I own only has audio output ports! And Airfoil was a lifesaver for this. The Digital radio input sounds better than ever and is always a companion when I work at the iMac. And I can stream the music easily to my HiFi Receiver using Apple TV. I use now OS 10.9.4 but never have had any problems with older systems. Many thanks to the developer team!
Noivad
Noivad
May 18 2014
4.8.5
5.0
May 18 2014
5.0
Version: 4.8.5
It is apps like this that have made me a fan of Rogue Amoeba. I purchased it probably close to a decade ago, and it has allowed me more flexibility than I would get off Apple’s stock system. Streaming to many devices and from any software is a feature only half implemented by Apple to this day. DL it for free to check it out, and if you find it useful, get it. There are a few caveats, all minor, and none related to crashes. It is as stable is it can be — the only crashes I have experienced were due to other software (Instant On) which it relies to dynamically patch audio from on years ago.
ylluminate
ylluminate
Feb 24 2014
4.8.3
0.0
Feb 24 2014
0.0
Version: 4.8.3
Hmm, just tested with Adium and it seems to have problems working reliably with it for some reason. It seems if I change the audio output via `audioswitcher` (v.2.17 (40)) from Line Out to something else and then back to Line Out, it will work. Oh well, would be nice if it worked, but not too thrilled after testing it out as I had hoped it to be more reliable.
Alex8602
Alex8602
Oct 31 2013
4.8.1
3.5
Oct 31 2013
3.5
Version: 4.8.1
Airfoil is excellent for streaming any audio to any Airport device (for Airport Express and Apple TV, I know for sure). However, if you intend to watch a video, the functionality of the build-in Airfoil Video Player is disappointing. The issue with the Airfoil Video Player is extreme CPU usage. As soon as you start watching any video the CPU usage is going to spike. After a couple of minutes your Mac's fans are running at max trying to prevent another Chernobyl meltdown. The build-in Web Video function's playback manage to use all my Mac's resources, yet the playback is not smooth and the player often crashes. The Web Video function also has a strange bug; scrolling on a webpage causes the speakers (you are streaming to) to make static crackles. My best tip is to use VLC instead of the Airfoil Video Player – in the menubar when VLC is open select Window –> select Track Synchronization and set Soundtrack-synchronization to -2 sec for correct synchronized playback Bonus tip: Airfoil is not compatible with 10.9 Mavericks yet, but most functions works if you disable the new App Nap function for Airfoil by right clicking on the Airfoil application -> select Get Info -> check 'Prevent App Nap'
anonymous-mollusk-5346
anonymous-mollusk-5346
Sep 24 2013
4.8.0
3.0
Sep 24 2013
3.0
Version: 4.8.0
The video synching is this app's Achilles heel. Noticeably jerky video playback with DVDs on my Mac mini using the Airfoil Video Player, with a hint of picture degradation compared to VLC and DVD. After contacting support they concluded that my Mac mini's GPU was to blame. Using VLC with audio re-synched manually works perfectly, so I'm disinclined to agree. In addition, there's no playlist option for the Video Player, which is a pain if you're watching a serial. There also doesn’t appear to be a way to sync the audio when playing videos back with iTunes. Perhaps a contextual menu to open in the Airfoil Video Player is a solution they should try? I believe this is a possibility. All-in-all, using this to hear the audio from videos is a pain. Rogue Amoeba have clearly tried hard to simplify this aspect, but the end result falls short. But you should be aware of the shortcomings in this area before buying.
aka
aka
Dec 29 2012
4.7.5
5.0
Dec 29 2012
5.0
Version: 4.7.5
I tried several solutions to stream music from my mac to my audio system: via the build in streaming solution of my TV, WD TV Live and an Bluetooth Adapter. But there have always been some problems with not working firmware/software, bad connections, bad nearly unusable app GUIs (I look at you PlugPlayer), complicated usability of hardware/software. All of the above solutions just sucked. Now I use Airfoil, and have my old iPhone 3G (I don't use it anymore) connected to the audio system. This is a killer solution. Just install Airfoil on your mac and your iPhone and you are ready to stream. No need for Airplay or Airfoil enabled hardware systems. You just connect your iPhone to what ever hardware you like. Airfoil lets you stream to multiple targets. Plus, you can stream audio from one single app (rdio in my case), but still play the audio from all other apps and the system sounds on your mac. I give Airfoil five stars, because it is the most practicable solution I can think of, it didn't fail a single time in several months, it looks great (even sends the album art from the rdio desktop app to the iPhone) and because I'm so very happy with it!
Sheagirl
Sheagirl
Dec 11 2012
4.7.4
5.0
Dec 11 2012
5.0
Version: 4.7.4
This software does exactly what it says it will do. I choose to stream music directly from my MacPro to my iPhone which is connected to a speaker system in my garage. I works perfectly by passing iCloud which require broadband data usage. I know I could use an Airport Express but this is cheaper and does the trick. Set up is almost automatic.
Gitte79
Gitte79
Oct 3 2012
4.7.4
5.0
Oct 3 2012
5.0
Version: 4.7.4
Works as advertised with no extra bells. But we now have the free Airplay. Making this obsolete? Still 5 stars though
Qurious
Qurious
Sep 29 2012
4.7.3
4.0
Sep 29 2012
4.0
Version: 4.7.3
Reliable and ease of use. Was using it since version 2.something.
Macmuffin
Macmuffin
Sep 2 2012
4.7.2
4.0
Sep 2 2012
4.0
Version: 4.7.2
Overall it works well with a minor lagging, but on occasion I get a message to update Flash to 10.2.0 or higher otherwise the player wont play. Well I have Flash Player version 11.4.402.265, can't go much higher can I. This is very annoying and I hope there will be a resolution to this bug soon rather the later.
cradbobb
cradbobb
Jul 29 2012
4.7.1
4.5
Jul 29 2012
4.5
Version: 4.7.1
This is brilliant software! It is working very well with both 10.7.4 and 10.5.8 (with a legacy version) on a G4 MBP This 25.00 app makes my... "fancy" Yamaha "AirPlay" receiver very reliable with Spotify. Many thanks to the people that created this program.
livonthedge
livonthedge
Jul 11 2012
4.7.1
5.0
Jul 11 2012
5.0
Version: 4.7.1
Outstanding, reliable, well written, and easy to use application. I started with the Windows version a few years back and am now using the Mac version. The team offered a very reasonable cross platform discount and with such an incredibly useful tool I was more than willing to support them. Keep up the good work!
Hendricx
Hendricx
Mar 24 2012
4.7.0
5.0
Mar 24 2012
5.0
Version: 4.7.0
Works very well with my Sirius radio. Simple to use and clean interface.
Basementjack
Basementjack
Jan 2 2012
4.6.2
5.0
Jan 2 2012
5.0
Version: 4.6.2
Airfoil is great! I purchased Airfoil to stream Spotify to my stereo and it has worked flawlessly - the developer was great about keeping it updated - and it's now 100% lion compatible. As other reviewers noted, it's very solid - It's never crashed and always seems to "just work" Well worth it!
dartguy
dartguy
Nov 18 2011
4.6.2
5.0
Nov 18 2011
5.0
Version: 4.6.2
I have spent the last 18 months...and 3 major parties...fighting with Apple's AirPlay. The flakiness and unreliability drove me crazy and put a damper on our parties. Music was constantly cutting in and out, and I was running around restarting the Mac and all the Airports in attempts to fix it. Sure enough, one day before this year's Halloween party, iTunes couldn't connect to *any* of my remote speakers (3 Airport Expresses and an Apple TV). During my online search for potential fixes, I came across Airfoil. I installed it and within two minutes everything was working like a dream. For the very first time, there was not a single hiccup in the music for our party! Airfoil is a rock-solid solution. It would be nice if Apple's own technology worked, but the price of AirFoil is well worth eliminating my stress and headaches.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Oct 22 2011
4.6.2
3.0
Oct 22 2011
3.0
Version: 4.6.2
How about AirPlay video support and AirPlay Mirroring? Now THEN this app would be really useful... ;)
Priosantos Jan
Priosantos Jan
Aug 23 2011
4.5.5
0.0
Aug 23 2011
0.0
Version: 4.5.5
Sinds upgrading, many of my apps crashes. After some searching it seems Airfoil is doing this. Shame
Yangzone
Yangzone
Aug 19 2011
4.5.6
5.0
Aug 19 2011
5.0
Version: 4.5.6
Do not update to 4.5.6 - Instant On has a bug. It affects various applications.
paulsrandall
paulsrandall
Aug 19 2011
4.5.6
0.0
Aug 19 2011
0.0
Version: 4.5.6
They need to fix this thing. The Instant On extra make every application made in Real Basic crash, every single one of them. I uninstalled Instant On and everything is back to normal.
Daniel-Alex-Finkelstein
Daniel-Alex-Finkelstein
Aug 18 2011
4.5.6
0.0
Aug 18 2011
0.0
Version: 4.5.6
Version 4.0.0 appears to break SpamSieve 2.8.6 and DragThing 5.9.6. Awaiting response.
Higherterrain
Higherterrain
Aug 18 2011
4.5.6
0.0
Aug 18 2011
0.0
Version: 4.5.6
Still in beta, as you can see they keep trying to fix things that should have been fixed before they released it.
Higherterrain
Higherterrain
Aug 6 2011
4.5.5
0.0
Aug 6 2011
0.0
Version: 4.5.5
Not worth it while their still in beta even though they don't slap a beta sign on it. I'm not wasting 25 bucks with all the bug fixes they keep bring out.
moog5
moog5
Jun 6 2011
4.0.2
0.0
Jun 6 2011
0.0
Version: 4.0.2
Embedded flash video still does not playback full screen on my iMac 27", 10.6.7. Graphics card is ATI Radeon HD 4850. A shame, otherwise it works fine.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Apr 28 2011
4.0.2
3.0
Apr 28 2011
3.0
Version: 4.0.2
The Airfoil Video Player is useless without AirPlay support to iOS Apple TV...
Pwenzel
Pwenzel
Mar 22 2011
4.0.2
5.0
Mar 22 2011
5.0
Version: 4.0.2
Airfoil and it's companion Airfoil Speakers operate beautifully in three rooms of my house. It's easy to set up, and works as advertised. Rogue Amoeba creates software that "just works" and their prices are fair. My only desire in Airfoil would be an option hide the audio level monitor when it runs in the foreground. I can hear the audio in my speakers, so I don't need to waste visual space and CPU cycles on level meters.
Michael-Sebrecht
Michael-Sebrecht
Feb 27 2011
4.0.2
0.0
Feb 27 2011
0.0
Version: 4.0.2
This will be obsolete when OS X 10.7 hits the street. The new Airdrop feature will do this by default.
Macsimon-se
Macsimon-se
Feb 12 2011
4.0.1
0.0
Feb 12 2011
0.0
Version: 4.0.1
When can we get an complete streaming solution with both audio & video to stream any video or music to AppleTV?
Tbrizitsky
Tbrizitsky
Dec 17 2010
4.0.0
0.0
Dec 17 2010
0.0
Version: 4.0.0
Some features of 4.0 look very interesting, but new UI is step backward. At the same time AirFoil remains the best solution for sending music to AppleTV.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Nov 7 2010
3.5.4
3.0
Nov 7 2010
3.0
Version: 3.5.4
As soon as developers start adding AirPlay support to their Mac apps, AirFoil is irrelevant, except for older OS Macs... http://www.apple.com/itunes/airplay/
Diogo-Cocharro
Diogo-Cocharro
Sep 25 2010
3.5.3
0.0
Sep 25 2010
0.0
Version: 3.5.3
You should check also speakershare. http://code.google.com/p/speakershare/
anonymous-elephant-5748
anonymous-elephant-5748
Dec 16 2009
3.5.0
0.0
Dec 16 2009
0.0
Version: 3.5.0
Airfoil is so superior to iTunes' transmission to the Airport Express, it never hiccups the playback when switching on or off the transmission of audio through the computer's speakers. And now I can send audio to my iPhone which means I can play soothing music from my computer while bathing my baby girl, then take that music while I walk to the back of the house to her nursery to diaper and dress her for bed. This app has only gotten better with time. Rock on Rogue Amoeba!
Curtpo
Curtpo
Dec 5 2009
3.4.3
0.0
Dec 5 2009
0.0
Version: 3.4.3
Syncing with multiple speakers locations works as expected in this version 3.4.3 like no other
Wallydog321
Wallydog321
Nov 3 2009
3.4.1
0.0
Nov 3 2009
0.0
Version: 3.4.1
My ibook hd crashed a week ago, I'm now reinstalling software. I need a version of Airfoil that runs on Tiger. All the links on the page listed below (http://www.macmusic.org/software/version.php/lang/en/id/15290?) download the newest version of Airfoil. Please make a Tiger version of Airfoil available.
Mmmac-Man
Mmmac-Man
Sep 12 2009
3.3.3
0.0
Sep 12 2009
0.0
Version: 3.3.3
This page says v. 3.3.3 requires OS X 10.4 but it requires 10.5 and there's no link here or on the RA site to a downgrade.
Lukerohde
Lukerohde
Aug 31 2009
3.3.2
5.0
Aug 31 2009
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
I've always loved my Airfoil software but needed to use it with VLC to play video because of VLCs video delay feature. However the audio and video never quite synced and vlc is a little awkward to use. I just discovered that Airfoil has a very nice video player, much nicer than VLC and the sync is perfect. I can't believe it took me a year to notice this feature! I thought I better post in case others had overlooked it too.
Blacksmith-tb
Blacksmith-tb
Aug 13 2009
3.3.2
0.0
Aug 13 2009
0.0
Version: 3.3.2
It will allow you to send any audio to your Airport Express, but it introduces about a two-second lag. For watching DVDs, or avis, etc., VLC solves this problem by allowing you to shift the audio (intended to compensate for bad dubbing, I think, but it works perfectly with Airfoil).