Back to XviD_codec page
XviD_codec free download for Mac

XviD_codec Reviews

1.0a
01 March 2008

QT extension for XviD format.

Doug-Engelbart
31 March 2008

Most helpful

OK, I installed 'XviD_Codec 1.0 alpha.component' correctly into HD\Library\QuickTime on my OSX.4.11, but the 'XviD 1.0 Pref App' says that it cannot be opened. Why?
Like (1)
Version 1.0a

Read 18 XviD_codec User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aikousha
21 May 2009
We need a developer to upgrade this to work better. Needed is quantizer controls and the ability to play friendly with both AAC and MP3 audio encoding in QT. Video through QT without quantizer is usually horrifically large to look even halfway decent.
Like
Version 1.0a
Mac-Adam
02 May 2008
"XviD_codec... Play and encode XviD format." Where and How Encode ?
Like
Version 1.0a
Doug-Engelbart
31 March 2008
OK, I installed 'XviD_Codec 1.0 alpha.component' correctly into HD\Library\QuickTime on my OSX.4.11, but the 'XviD 1.0 Pref App' says that it cannot be opened. Why?
Like (1)
Version 1.0a
Darukaru
01 March 2008
There really doesn't seem to be a use for this with Perian around.
Like
Version 1.0a
2 answer(s)
tvalleau
tvalleau
02 March 2008
Perian doesn't encode, AFAIK
Like
Version 1.0a
Houdini
Houdini
22 June 2008
qt_thing from qt_tools gives me that in the terminal: + 785 @0x0001002b imdc:xvid:Peri "Xvid (Perian)" I think that means Perian handles xvid for decoding.
Like
Version 1.0a
MacUpdaterater
01 March 2008
Leopard compatibility?
Like
Version 1.0a
Mac-Adam
12 August 2007
Update this nice codec please !!!
Like
Version 0.5.1
Mac-Adam
21 May 2007
Please update…
Like
Version 0.5.1
Zwilliams
16 August 2006
Where is the Universal version? This baby would scream on Quad Xeons.
Like
Version 0.5.1
4 answer(s)
14 September 2006
There's an Intel version on the Homepage
Like
Version 0.5.1
Zwilliams
Zwilliams
16 September 2006
Oh... heh. Thanks.
Like
Version 0.5.1
Bucho
Bucho
02 October 2006
Has anyone tried the new Intel version? Comments? http://n.ethz.ch/student/naegelic/download/XviD_Avi_Import_Preview4_intel.dmg
Like
Version 0.5.1
Bucho
Bucho
20 October 2006
Tried it myself. Works beautifully so far.
Like
Version 0.5.1
Heathermason
22 June 2006
Excellent! This does just what it is supposed to. Five stars. And to the person who said there was no sound, this is a video codec.
Like
Version 0.5.1
Jeikobu
14 February 2006
This hasn't helped at all. I downloaded it and moved the thing into my Library Quicktime folder as instructed and nothing has changed. I still can't play my .avi video. I even used DiVX Doctor II to try to get it to work and all that it did to help was it let me hear the audio. But I still have no picture at all. I tried using DivX Converter and that also did nothing.
Like
Version 0.5.1
8 answer(s)
Deejemon
Deejemon
19 April 2006
It's probably not Xvid then. Get Info on the movie and check the signature for the video. There's usually a 4 character code that should give you an idea of what video codec is actually used. .AVI does not imply any particular codec for either the video or the audio. It's a container, like QuickTime. And into that container, you can put video encoded into any format, audio encoded into any format, and other things as well. .AVI doesn't tell you anything about what is actually needed to play it (even if Windows people think it does). To get your file playing, you should also try VLC Media Player. It handles a lot of file types and a lot of codecs. It is also less picky about looking through the container and finding video/audio it can play. If QuickTime doesn't find video/audio where it expects it inside the file, it tends to just give up; VLC is much more likely to keep looking and find something.
Like
Version 0.5.1
Jeikobu
Jeikobu
19 April 2006
But the thing is I'm trying to get Toast Titanium to recogize it, since I want to burn it to DVD. Info on the file: Format: WMV3, 640 x 480 pixels size, Millions (of colors I assume), MPEG Layer 3, Stereo, 48,000 kHz FPS: 24.04 Playing FPS: Available while playing Data Size: 290.64 MB Data Rate: 1785.75 kbits/sec
Like
Version 0.5.1
Eliashc
Eliashc
16 June 2006
"Format: WMV3" says it all: It's a WMV (windows media video). You might want to try the Flip4Mac WMV Player (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/17787)
Like
Version 0.5.1
Jeikobu
Jeikobu
16 June 2006
I already have that and it didn't work, besides doesn't that only play the files, and not convert them?
Like
Version 0.5.1
Eliashc
Eliashc
16 June 2006
According to the website of flip4mac (http://www.flip4mac.com/wmv.htm) you should be able to "import WMV files for editing and conversion to MOV" with WMV Player Pro.
Like
Version 0.5.1
Jeikobu
Jeikobu
17 June 2006
Doesn't that cost money?
Like
Version 0.5.1
Eliashc
Eliashc
17 June 2006
Yes it does. $29.
Like
Version 0.5.1
Jeikobu
Jeikobu
17 June 2006
Meh, I would really rather not do that. Besides, I found a way to convert the files on my PC, so I guess I'll just stick with that.
Like
Version 0.5.1
16 November 2005
I need help, very thanks first!!!!! I made a component fro a case of audio media, it almost finished and playback greatly within quicktime 6.5, but it can not work with quicktime 7 ,NO Sound!! only playback!!!, how can I do it! how can change the source to make it work correctly in quicktime 7!! hurry, very much thanks, very much please connect me with mail if possible: k_yuer@hotmail.com
Like
Version 0.5.1
1 answer(s)
Bigjohnny002
Bigjohnny002
09 March 2009
good dl, good install. trying it out and so far it's working. so far 3star
Like
Version 1.0a
16 November 2005
I need help, very thanks first!!!!! I made a component fro a case of audio media, it almost finished and playback greatly within quicktime 6.5, but it can not work with quicktime 7 ,NO Sound!! only playback!!!, how can I do it! how can change the source to make it work correctly in quicktime 7!! hurry, very much thanks, very much please connect me with mail if possible: k_yuer@hotmail.com
Like
Version 0.5.1
Anonymous
01 October 2005
Great video playback, BUT NO SOUND!!! [QT 7, Mac OS 10.4.2]
Like
Version 0.5.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 October 2005
I think you're trying to decode an avi. XviD Codec is currently a video codec an no movie importer. As QT has no working avi importer, you have to use the DivX Component, too. As DivX 5.x is not compatible with QT7, you have to use the next beta version. Have a look at: http://www.divxlabs.com/ http://download.divx.com/labs/DivXFusionBeta3.dmg -- Enjoy
Like
Version 0.5.1
Anonymous
24 August 2005
Same here. No sound during playback :(
Like
Version 0.5.1
Smokeonit
25 April 2005
when playing back in QT it doesnt play the AC3 nor mp4 audio, VLC player is playing back fine those files, is it just me or do others have the same problem??? other divx codecs for QT have the same problem. can anyone suggest a remedy for this problem? please?
Like
Version 0.5.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 April 2005
You should install an AC3 Component for QuickTime. for example from http://www.insaneness.com -- Cheers
Like
Version 0.5.1
Anonymous
04 March 2005
Excellent! Very good encoding and integration with Quicktime makes it easy to use. Thanks!
Like
Version 0.5
Anonymous
14 February 2005
Does this even work at all? I tried encoding a DV Stream file of 30seconds to this codec and the results were laughably bad, SO BAD in fact that either this doesn't work at all or I did something wrong but since there's no real manual I have no idea what that could be. Could anyone explain what some of the settings do?
Like
Version 0.4.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 February 2005
If you have time, you can mail me about this. You'll find my email at my homepage...
Like
Version 0.4.1
Anonymous
06 February 2005
I have used the decoderside and compared the cpu usage the 3vix, dvix 5.2.2, ffussion, and vlc player. This xvid for quicktime component uses the lesat cpu for decoding. This is while using fullscreen through "xinema" and divx 5.1.1 avi praser.
Like
Version 0.4.1