Back to PDFKey Pro page
PDFKey Pro free download for Mac

PDFKey Pro Reviews

4.3.9
22 September 2017

Edit and print password-protected PDF files.

GreenBeerGuy
23 September 2008

Most helpful

A great program. Works as advertised. Opened a locked 10 page document in 30 seconds. Worth the purchase price. It took a few hours for the activation code to be sent to me. I wrote them an email asking about this and received a prompt apology (and the activation code).
Like (7)
Version 3.7.4

Read 43 PDFKey Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

susan-43
18 June 2018
does this ap allow you to optimze file size?
Like
Version 4.3.9
Schwity
16 April 2018
I use PDFKey Pro (v4.3.9) under macOS 10.13.4 and I discover a strange bug. When I set one of both protection options for copying or printing to allowed , I see that still both options not protected in the new created PDF! The info panel from the preview app shows that printing and copying is still allowed. I think this was quite wrong, wasn't it? Hoping of a fast update fixing this issue… thanks.
Like
Version 4.3.9
OiKatsu
18 March 2015
4.1.4 does not launch on Mac Pro, 10.10.2. 3/18/15 11:12:13.823 AM PDFKey Pro[56694]: Failed to find library: 3/18/15 11:12:13.823 AM PDFKey Pro[56694]: .:Failed to launch JVM 3/18/15 11:12:13.824 AM com.apple.xpc.launchd[1]: (com.pdfkey.pdfkeypro.348500[56694]) Service exited with abnormal code: 1
Like
Version 4.1.4
1 answer(s)
brainnolo
brainnolo
18 March 2015
The software has been tested on 10.10.2 so it should normally work. Please try redownloading the software and write us at support@pdfkey.com if you still have problems!
Like
Stephen-Strum
29 December 2014
I just upgraded my OS to 10.10 (Yosemite) and prior app to unlock PDFs so I could edit them (underline, highlight) was not working. I purchased PDFKey Pro and it worked for a while but then stopped working. I reinstalled and tried again but finally gave up and re-purchased the prior app (PDF Recover by Universe GMBH) that I had used for 10.6. It now worked fine. Don't know why PDFKey Pro failed to function but for me it was not a heart-warming experience.
Like
Version 4.1.0
1 answer(s)
brainnolo
brainnolo
12 January 2015
Would you please send us a report of the problems you are having, maybe with a file to test?
Like
mjbraganza
25 October 2014
Just bought this yesterday. It’s an ok looking app. But it does what it says on the tin and it darned easy to use. What sets it apart is Michele’s support and his responsiveness. He’s worked with me patiently when I mailed him about a set of documents that would not decrypt and has gone over and above what any other developer would do to help me. For this kind of service, I would have gladly paid twice over what he charges! Totally recommended!
Like
Version 4.0.2
brainnolo
30 September 2014
This is the developer here: We are preparing an automated upgrade path for PDFKey Pro 3.x users for a discounted price. If you need a new license right now please write us an email and we will generate a discount coupon manually for you.
Like
Version 4.0.0
1 answer(s)
Abbott
Abbott
30 September 2014
I sent a note to the developer, got a reply almost immediately and was able to complete the upgrade. Very pleased with the responsiveness!
Like
pettifogger0712
30 September 2014
Looks like there is no upgrade path for v3.x users :-(
Like
Version 4.0.0
2 answer(s)
brainnolo
brainnolo
30 September 2014
Dear Pettifogger0712,

There is an upgrade path, but we still did not notify existing customers about the new version. We are planning to do this shortly. In the meantime please contact us for the details
Like
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
09 November 2014
Thanks - bought my upgrade copy this afternoon; so far so good :-)
Like
Ront
23 May 2014
I just tested this on an Acrobat XI Pro passworded/encrypted document and it would not work.
Like
Version 3.16
1 answer(s)
brainnolo
brainnolo
30 September 2014
The newest version of PDFKey Pro can now decrypt Acrobat XI documents!
Like
Deanl
22 December 2012
The requirements needs to amended. It appears that as of V3.14, PDFKey Pro is Intel Only.
Like
Version 3.16
1 answer(s)
Deanl
Deanl
22 December 2012
My apologies that should be V3.15 + are Intel Only
Like
xcoxco
15 August 2012
Requires Java Runtime 6. But I just installed the last Java Runtime 7 from Oracle. Must my Java downgrade to run. Bummer.
Like
Version 3.15
2 answer(s)
xcoxco
xcoxco
15 August 2012
Ooops: Must downgrade my Java 7 to run this app. Bummer.
Like
brainnolo
brainnolo
17 October 2014
With version 4.x, PDFKey Pro does not depend on the installed Java Runtime anymore.
Like
Ront
26 July 2012
Uses Java Runtime, so doesn't work after installing Mountain Lion 10.8 unless you reinstall Java, so I gave it 1/2 star on stability. Due to security issues, I am reluctant to install Java on my Mac. It would be nice if the developer could recompile to run under Mac OS X.
Like
Version 3.14
Sforf
12 June 2012
Stay away... this is one of those developers who wrote a program for a very specific function and charges way too much, then the very specific function becomes freely available elsewhere and they continue to milk cash by not changing or adding much over the years and again charging way too much for tiny incremental upgrades. They prey on the unsuspecting.
Like
Version 3.13
2 answer(s)
Don-Morris
Don-Morris
17 September 2012
Specific function: just what I'm looking for. Charges way too much: seems to be competitive with other paid apps in this category. Freely available elsewhere: only if you're willing to roll back three full versions of Mac OS X. Not changing or adding much: it's a PDF unlocker, it unlocks PDFs -- there's nothing to add. Charging way too much for tiny incremental upgrades: the last charge was $6 for the upgrade from 2.x to 3.x and that was 6 years ago, right? Prey on the unsuspecting: color me unsuspecting, then. I researched the market, looked at my options and chose an app that was supported, looked nice, did the job, and had favorable reviews from reasonable people. I chose this PDFKey Pro.
Like (3)
Edac2
Edac2
22 October 2014
I agree with Don Morris. I've been using PDF Key Pro for years and I've only hit a snag a couple of times (where it unlocks only the first page and not the whole PDF). Other than the Java requirement, it's the perfect little utility and well worth the money.
Like (1)
Mart°n
10 July 2011
I really like PDF Key Pro and used it for several years. For example, I receive regular invoices via mail which are encrypted. I know the password to encrypt the PDF but I prefer to save the PDFs as unencrypted documents for easy review and QuickLook compatibility. I also have a bunch of PDFs which I could not print or extract single pages. After squeezing them through PDF Key Pro, I can do all those things. Works great and received several updates. If you need this kind of software, PDF Key is a good joice.
Like (1)
Version 3.13
1 answer(s)
Mart°n
Mart°n
10 July 2011
“joice“ should be ”choice” *shame*
Like (1)
Aargl
15 July 2010
Well, using Skim instead of Acrobat, you can still copy material from a "copy protected" document (though print protection is ok)... :-( Where is the protection if there is at least one (free!) app in the world that can break it with no effort?
Like
Version 3.11.0
Ajmac25
22 March 2010
Ok, I guess I do not understand this program. When I lock or encrypt a file I do this to the whole file, not copying and printing only. I have a PDF, that I saved over a year ago and cannot remember the "viewing" password, so this program does me no go. I guess there are some people who set PDFs so they cannot be printed or copied, but I have yet to encounter one.
Like (2)
Version 3.11.0
Myrrhrrym
03 March 2010
Fine program for demo use, but you can save yourself $25 with several open source solutions. I recommend mupdf: http://ccxvii.net/mupdf/ If you can use a terminal, it comes with a program, pdfclean, that will do the exact same thing.
Like (1)
Version 3.10.2
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
08 January 2011
Hmm. MuPDF website and ReadMe file that comes with the (uncompiled) tar ball mentions encrypting PDF files, but does it UN encrypt files for which the password is unknown - like PDFKey Pro can? Can't see any reference to that function.
Like (1)
Davebarnes
20 February 2010
I have used PDFKey Pro since 2005. Although I only need it about 5 times a year, when I need it, I need it. It has UNlocked every PDF that I thrown at it. It is trivial to use. Highly recommended.
Like (5)
Version 3.10.2
Leif-Heflin
18 February 2010
Just wondering...what's the point of password protecting a PDF with your app then? If your app can just break it.
Like (2)
Version 3.10.2
GreenBeerGuy
23 September 2008
A great program. Works as advertised. Opened a locked 10 page document in 30 seconds. Worth the purchase price. It took a few hours for the activation code to be sent to me. I wrote them an email asking about this and received a prompt apology (and the activation code).
Like (7)
Version 3.7.4
Coloradomac
08 September 2008
works as advertised, a usable if uninspiring interface and free. what more can you ask for software. thanks for developing this!
Like (3)
Version 3.7.4
1 answer(s)
TSMelo
TSMelo
25 October 2008
Free??? What are you talking about?
Like (3)
Version 3.7.5
M-Rick
05 July 2008
Since version 3.5 it has a problem with certain multi-pages PDF files which didn't occure with version 3.1 For exemple on this document http://www.setram.fr/docs/LTram.pdf only the first page is converted. No problem with previous versions till 3.1 So i reverted to version 3.1
Like (2)
Version 3.7.2
1 answer(s)
brainnolo
brainnolo
07 July 2008
Could you write us at support@briksoftware.com ? I've tried with version 3.7.3 to unlock the file you specified and it works perfectly. I think I know whats wrong on your system, if you mail us, we can sort this out.
Like (4)
Version 3.7.3
Methodub
23 June 2008
Dishonest Company!!! Had several problems with pdfs. They initially agreed to fix them and then went back on their word. They never responded to my request for a refund
Like (1)
Version 3.7.2
1 answer(s)
brainnolo
brainnolo
25 June 2008
The user sent us broken source documents. I tried my best to fix his source documents but without success. Is to be noted that PDFKey Pro worked perfectly on them, but it obviously couldn't fix the fact that the document was messed up to start with. We do not offer refunds because the trial version is enough to test the application before purchasing it.
Like (7)
Version 3.7.2
Kobalt
15 June 2008
I love this app! Hasn't let me down, yet. Fast and efficient this is an all-star winner. :)
Like (2)
Version 3.7.2
dmaxwell42-1
10 August 2007
This is a excellent application and I am glad to have it. HOWEVER - does the serial activation code really have to be 87 characters in length? Not to mention that it chokes my password storage program. Seems a little paranoid to me!
Like (3)
Version 3.4.4
Msjstw
03 June 2007
Excellent app! Works like charm, looks good - everything as I expected!!
Like (1)
Version 3.4.2
Dom21
27 March 2007
Where are your stars then?
Like
Version 3.4.1
1 answer(s)
Holypoly
Holypoly
07 May 2007
One of them lives at my place ;>))))))))))
Like (1)
Version 3.4.2
A7r0p4l
10 March 2007
Need a PDF print-security decryption/encryption utility? Let me tell you something! PDFKey is not an utility. PDFKey is just the final resource that allows professional managing of PDF-security on a Mac system. From the dock icon to the software support, everything has been developed with extreme accuracy. Enjoy this little masterpiece. 5/5 STARS!
Like (1)
Version 3.3
Hauslendale
04 December 2006
Java Java Java Just when I had talked my boss into buying this for our archives department. The java requirment is a major downfall for our networks. The boss man said no way. Anti java people..
Like
Version 3.2.1
Hauslendale
24 October 2006
Testing this application for the first time. Intel Mac user OS X10.4.8. ________ I find that if you unlock a PDF then try to lock it, you must restart the app for it to work. This does not happen every time but I would say 3 out of 5 times. Also 3 out of 5 times if you lock a PDF then unlock it without restarting the app, nothing will show up when you open your unlocked PDF. The page is just blank. The demo stats that only one page will be processed, so my test where with a one page PDF only. I would not want to pay for an app that is this buggy. We Mac users like applications that work and work well. At this time I can not say that about PDFKey Pro v3.0...
Like
Version 3.0
Danway
23 October 2006
A $5.99 upgrade price from version 2 to 3! On a twenty dollar program? Forget it! Not worth the money!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
09 November 2005
Simply Outstanding! Decrypted a 40 page PDF in about 1 second, a 200+ page PDF took just a few seconds more. Easy to use, fast & rock solid on 10.4.3.
Like
Version 1.2.8
Anonymous
16 September 2005
The PDF file I attempted to decrypt in the Demo version opens for a few seconds and then proceeds to cause Preview to crash--good thing I used the demo mode and didn't pay up. Your mileage may vary, so don't take my word for it. I'm sure it works on some files, but definitely not all; be sure to try it out in demo and see first hand.
Like
Version 1.2.6
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 September 2005
You may want to send me the file, i stated on the homepage that the demo sometimes outputs broken files (especially for preview, acrobat reader can almost everytime cope with them). Probably the full version would decrypt it with no problems.
Like
Version 1.2.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 October 2005
Copyright reasons forbid me from sending you the file, but all I wanted to do was strip my recently purchased ebook of its password, so as not to constantly refer to the 9 key code every time I wanted to casually read a few pages. Oh well :-(
Like
Version 1.2.8
Anonymous
22 August 2005
Great app, works seemlessly under X.2.4, very responsive author... BUY!
Like
Version 1.2.5
Anonymous
14 June 2005
Works fine for me and a real time saver!
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
03 May 2005
This can be done free using PDFViewer (here on macupdate) and Print to pdf, then it will be open to edit.
Like
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Michele Balistreri
Michele Balistreri
03 May 2005
I don't know if this thing in PDFViewer still works on newer Mac OS X versions or just generates blank pages. Also, printing to PDF loses bookmarks, forms, page size may change, etc. Yes, you can remove protection also by making screenshots of each page of the PDF, but this isn't what PDFKey Pro does.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
03 May 2005
All I get is an 'Invalid Function Resource' error on my resulting decrypted pdf file. Any ideas....?
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 May 2005
You may want to send me an email so i can fix the problem. I encountered some incompatibilities with some files in the past but all has been solved.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
15 March 2005
Preview 1.1 under Jaguar does something similar: It opens PDFs that don't allow printing. But Preview 1.1 ignores this "feature". Not only can you print from Preview 1.1, but if you "print to PDF" you get a new PDF without the print protection.
Like
Version 1.1.3
1 answer(s)
brainnolo
brainnolo
22 March 2005
Preview.app behaved a bit like the standard PDFKey version, the files are not complete of bookmarks and their layout is adjusted for printing. However it should not work at least on 10.3 systems because the enforcement of the protection is not to be integrated in the applications but is integrated at system level (that is, it should print blank pages). PDFKey print protected PDF files and PDFKey Pro can instead give you a file identical to the original, including forms, bookmarks, etc, except that is decrypted.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
27 February 2005
I also trye other PDF decrypting apps that I could find out there before I found out about this. Conclusion? For less money PDFKey Pro made a better job at decrypting a PDF I had problems with. Defentetly worht the money!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
21 February 2005
Wow at least i got one that really works ... I tried all other apps of this kind without any success but that one really rocks. It unlocked all the protected PDF documents I have so I now can print them or generate a new unprotected PDF. I bought it without any hesitation and I also recommend it to everybody who need this. Great Job ! ... and Congratuation !
Like
Version 1.0.7
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 September 2005
how do you work it noinstructions come with it,
Like
Version 1.2.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 September 2005
Have you visited the developer's website? "PDFKey Pro can be used by simply dragging one or more files, or even an entire folder on its icon or via a simple open dialog." DOH... Not much of a newbie, are you?
Like
Version 1.2.6
Anonymous
18 February 2005
Does nothing on double-click (10.2.8), nothing on drag and drop? What is this thing?
Like
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
brainnolo
brainnolo
20 February 2005
You can email me describing exactly your problem, i will try to fix it as soon as i can.
Like
Version 1.0.6
Anonymous
10 February 2005
Okay, I wrote the very first review and now with this version it works very well for me so I registered it. The USD exchange rate sucks, but it still a great deal.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
09 February 2005
this is the second version i've tried (1.0.3)...both have crashed after selecting a file.
Like
Version 1.0.3
1 answer(s)
brainnolo
brainnolo
10 February 2005
May you want to send me a bug report? You can see that i mantain regularly my program releasing often fixes (maybe too often) and i'm willing to fix every bug that can bother the user. Please get in touch with me if you want to.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
02 February 2005
Crashes and does not work.
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
brainnolo
brainnolo
02 February 2005
Crashes and does not work? You might probably want to contact me before giving bad, unhelpful comment on a popular mac site. This program is just version 1.0 and i had the chance to test it only with about 30 files. I'm sorry if it didn't do the work for you.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 February 2005
Please note that I gave it no rating, so there is no downgrading as such. It does crash and testing only thirty files is simply not enough population to provide statistical data that it truly works. Hey, I wanted it to work.
Like
Version 1.0