Back to Delibar page
Delibar free download for Mac

Delibar Reviews

1.6
22 August 2013

Menubar item for Delicious bookmarks.

Theotreo
29 May 2010

Most helpful

Urfortunately Delibar does not search in comments field. Which makes it quite useless for me, as I put a lot of info there and I have no chance finding stuff. Emailed dev, but got no reply after a canned one.
Like (4)
Version 1.3.0

Read 29 Delibar User Reviews

Rate this app:

lucysky
04 December 2013
I have been using Delibar for more than two years and I never had a single issue with it. Since I am a Pinboard user I cannot comment on how the app performs with Delicious accounts, but Delibar in combination with Pinboard is just a joy to use - the app is fast, stable and pretty and the keyboard shortcuts are a godsend. Never having to use the mouse to interact with Delibar is worth the price alone for me ;)) The search is also remarkably fast and smart enough that I can find the item I'm looking for instantly. I wonder if the problems with speed and chrashes, that the reviewer before me mentioned, have to do with the amount of bookmarks (I have around 2000), the multiple accounts or maybe with Delicious itself? Maybe there are differences between the Appstore and Non-Appstore versions (I use the Non-Appstore version)? Whatever it is, it's a shame - because Delibar really is an awesome application and has always performed flawlessly for me. Also, the auto-completion of tags is instant in my case, like absolutely and totally instant. I can highly recommend Delibar (at least for Pinboard users), but you might want to do some testing with the free version before you buy - it seems that there are some performance differences depending on your setup.
Like
Version 1.6
3 answer(s)
gryphonent
gryphonent
10 December 2013
Second the above. Top app!
Like
Mar6473
Mar6473
11 December 2013
Does this work on Mavericks? The website looks out of date.
Like
Stevey-G
Stevey-G
28 March 2016
deliver is actually only $4 from the developer site now and there is also a free version! check it out :)
Like
Mykl.biz
06 February 2013
Observations based on a couple weeks trying Delibar (as a replacement for beloved but defunct Pukka): • the promise of managing multiple Delicious accounts attracted me. • the tidy interface made a good first impression. • seemed to download 13,000 bookmarks from Delicious in a reasonable amount of time. • it crashed on multiple occasions. • it's as painfully slow as Delicious’ bookmarklet when autocompleting tags. (like, "go do something else and come back" slow.) • maybe it works better for someone with a small number of bookmarks? I really want to like you Delibar. I'm looking for a simple, unobstrustive and efficient user experience. But you're too slow, at least with my large bookmark collection. And the crashes don't help. side note: More impressed than ever with how well Justin Miller's Pukka worked (until it got orphaned).
Like (1)
Version 1.5.5
4 answer(s)
Mykl.biz
Mykl.biz
12 March 2014
The little improvements in DeliBar 1.6 make it more usable. And I've experienced no more crashes. Auto-complete is still so slow that entering tags is impractical. If there were a Preference to TURN OFF auto-complete, I'd find DeliBar's interface far more useable.
Like
Mykl.biz
Mykl.biz
12 March 2014
To avoid auto-complete, the simplest work-around is to type all your desired tags in the Notes field (or TextEdit, or anywhere convenient that you can type text), then cut-n-paste them all into the Tags field.
Like
Mykl.biz
Mykl.biz
02 November 2014
Rather than outright crashing, after a while (typically, after creating a few bookmarks successfully) Delibar 1.6 usually just stops responding (spinning beachball) indefinitely. It must be force quit.

I'm still searching for a useable Mac app for creating and editing Delicious bookmarks.
Like
Mykl.biz
Mykl.biz
13 December 2014
These days I'm leaning toward Shiori as the most usable bookmarking app for Delicious and/or Pinboard.


http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/48820/shiori


It certainly uses less Memory and CPU than DeliBar, or any other bookmarking client I've tried.
Like
Jazzyguy
03 January 2013
I love the Delibar.I had the original which I still use on Snow Leopard when it was owned by anotherDeveloper. The new version is even better than the original!
Like (1)
Version 1.5.5
iMacWare
26 August 2011
I love Delibar! it syncs to not only Delicious, but also my Pinboard.in!
Like (1)
Version 1.4.3
iMacWare
24 July 2011
I absolutely love my Delibar! I use it on Mac and iPhone to integrate with both Delicious and Pinboard.in! July 24, 2011
Like (1)
Version 1.4.3
Moxiesozo
12 May 2011
-- This has been dumped on the Crap App Store with no changes or upgrades. Unless the developer makes an indication that s/he will continue to improved this software, I'd recommend a cautious approach. Could be a final attempt to make some quick cash without bothering to really support the product anymore.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.1
Yoshita
03 April 2011
Can someone please let me know why utilities like Delibar or Pukka don't support the rating of bookmarks? Matter fact, I don't know of any Delicious related utility that lets you rate your bookmarks.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Theotreo
29 May 2010
Urfortunately Delibar does not search in comments field. Which makes it quite useless for me, as I put a lot of info there and I have no chance finding stuff. Emailed dev, but got no reply after a canned one.
Like (4)
Version 1.3.0
jakebaruch-1
29 March 2010
Fantastic application - does it's job seamlessly and is aesthetically very pleasing. I don't use it with delicious, but rather pinboard (which is another bookmarking site), and I recommend it to any other pinboard users who are sick of bookmarklets... IMPORTANT NOTE: The current iteration of firefox has broken firefox's previous applescript integration. As a result, delibar (as well as many other applications that utilized applescript) can no longer autofill the url info correctly. I have been assured by the developers that bug has been submitted to Mozilla and should be fixed soon.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.0
Jason-C-
17 February 2010
wow. i simply love this app. its beautiful, friendly and usable. a bit pricey though.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
Droopysignal
06 November 2009
Release notes aren't listed here or the developer's website. This is the second time in two/three days and it would be nice to know what changes were made so I can decide to download the new version or not.
Like
Version 1.1.2
TSMelo
22 October 2009
Not really free, is it? It's correctly listed as a shareware, but with a $ 0.00 price. According to the developer's site, the license is 18€.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
22 October 2009
Thanks Tiago, I updated the listing.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
Jazzyguy
21 October 2009
Search Bar is on the edge of my screen G4 12" Powerbook running 10.5.8) I can't drag it so it can be usable. Tried using command ,option,control, No soap! Hot keys also won't configure.
Like
Version 1.0
truthhurts
02 December 2008
Nice app - too bad it appears to be dead. It's a shame, as there are a variety of bugs, and some room for improvement: - Sorting is applied haphazardly. For instance, my list of tags is sorted, but bundles are not. Tags underneath bundles are not sorted. Bookmarks are not sorted. Etc. - No option to hide tags, bundles, or both. Especially if you have all your tags in bundles, seeing several hundred tags flowing beneath is kind of ugly. Here's an example for improving nesting: Say you have a particular set of tags that have been applied commonly. For instance, I have "webcomic" and "comic". In my tags, every "webcomic" is a "comic", but not every "comic" is a "webcomic" (make sense?). When I nest tags and look at "webcomic", why bother to show the "comic" subfolder, since every bookmark in "webcomic" has that tag? This can be extended - to make up a stupid example, say I also labeled them all "humor" since I don't read anything serious (just kidding). Currently, "webcomic" would now show two subfolders - "comic" and "humor", each with the exact same items. What it should really show is just the bookmarks, since all of them have the same tags. Implementing it would be fairly simple - when showing a nested display, if there is any tag that shows up for all bookmarks in that folder, remove it from consideration - pretend it's not there for the moment. This way you can eliminate any "common" tags seamlessly. There's more that could be done here, but like pretty much all delicious-based apps, this appears to have withered and died. Perhaps Delicious and social tagging wasn't all it was cracked up to be (lacking any sort of batch tag management and support for hierarchy didn't help).
Like (1)
Version 0.9
1 answer(s)
truthhurts
truthhurts
05 December 2008
Oh, and things like "Open in Tabs" would be useful. Or if I choose to only show tags with "x" number of posts, add an "Other" bundle at the bottom with all of the hidden tags - otherwise you can't get to some tags. So please, please take another look at this program. It's excellent and I'm enjoying it, but there are still areas that can be improved.
Like (1)
Version 0.9
Joi
11 April 2008
Good little app, and its donation-ware...
Like
Version 0.9
pedrotaquelim
29 June 2007
It's a great utility but is always eating 47,5MG of Ram... it's a little to much.The Finder uses 58 MG...
Like
Version 0.9
Joebob
13 August 2006
This would be brilliant if you could make posts to your delicious account! The other OS X apps that let you do this are all shareware/not working.
Like
Version 0.8.2
1 answer(s)
JoaoCP
JoaoCP
14 August 2006
If you don't have anything against Dashboard widgets, Dashlicious is free and is still working.
Like
Version 0.8.2 bis
Anonymous
17 October 2005
Yes, sorry from 0.6.1 delibar only work in macosx >= 10.4.... On my web site there is a old version for tiger.
Like
Version 0.6.1
1 answer(s)
Argotnaut1
Argotnaut1
18 October 2005
Ah, I see -- sorry, I hadn't looked closely at your site. Just saw the requirements listed on this page. Downloaded the older version and everything looks great. Thanks!
Like
Version 0.6.1
Argotnaut1
15 October 2005
Using 10.3.9. I get an error when trying to start. This is what appears in the console: ImportError: Failure linking new module: : dyld: /Volumes/Applications/Delibar.app/Contents/MacOS/delibar Undefined symbols: /Volumes/Applications/Delibar.app/Contents/Resources/Python/lib-dynload/AppKit/_AppKit.so undefined reference to _NSAccessibilityActionDescription expected to be defined in AppKit /Volumes/Applications/Delibar.app/Contents/Resources/Python/lib-dynload/AppKit/_AppKit.so undefined reference to _NSAccessibilityRoleDescription expected to be defined in AppKit /Volumes/Applications/Delibar.app/Content See the Console for a detailed traceback.
Like
Version 0.6.1
Anonymous
14 February 2005
All working now since 0.5.1.
Like
Version 0.5.1
Anonymous
10 February 2005
A problem with bundle as occured, the size of program is not 16Kb but 590Kb, try to do another download, or download it directly from my site.
Like
Version 0.5
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 February 2005
Thanks for that, that fixed it, it now loads. But I still can't use it was it won't accept my password/username, I know they are right, I copied and pasted from Keychain Access as I saved it in Safari for the de.icio.us website.
Like
Version 0.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 February 2005
This is a know problem, i've fixed it in 0.5.1, try it, and then if not work, send me a mail =)
Like
Version 0.5.1
Anonymous
10 February 2005
Doesn't work for me, I get a: An unexpected error has occurred during execution of the main script Error: (-35, 'no such volume') See the Console for a detailed traceback. when I try to load it, might be cos I'm on 10.3.8?
Like
Version 0.5
Anonymous
31 January 2005
2 requests: some way of having a key combination to add bookmarks and/or scriptability, so i can write a script that has a key combination to add bookmarks
Like
Version 0.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 January 2005
Eh =) This is my first cocoa application, but i will work for a hotkey that point to the post panel =)
Like
Version 0.4
Anonymous
31 January 2005
sweet :D really adds to delis utility now that you can post. i don't think i'll ever use my browser's normal bookmarks again... +50 points for including the source.
Like
Version 0.4
Manu
31 January 2005
this is the missing app when you use del.icio.us. Love this. Simple and powerful.
Like
Version 0.3
Anonymous
25 January 2005
Downloaded, launched, configured, worked. There is really all I ask of an application, and this one was clearly no exception. Great work, thanks!
Like
Version 0.3
Anonymous
24 January 2005
Well, the prefs window shows now, and it works... but you might want to use NSSecureTextField for the password instead of showing it in clear text ;) I'll count that as stability.
Like
Version 0.2
Wakest
24 January 2005
this is a fully working beta, and it rocks for being at 0.2, so I am rating it as much as I can to get some notice of it, because del.icio,us is awesome, and I want it in my menubar all of the time... and its open-source! (free + I am going to play with it)
Like
Version 0.2
Anonymous
24 January 2005
Prefs window doesn't show, SPOD when telling it to reload bookmarks (in the hope of getting an error dialog with an option to open the preferences window)
Like
Version 0.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 January 2005
The pref window appear, only appear under all other windows, fixed in 0.2 =)
Like
Version 0.2