Back to iBackup page
iBackup free download for Mac

iBackup Reviews

7.6
24 October 2015

Backup and restore tool.

Fhf
29 December 2010

Most helpful

My MacBook Pro just had a system issue which affected Finder window display and IPhoto albums. No amount of tinkering would fix the issues, so I decided that an OS reinstall was in order. After erasing the volume, re-installing 10.6.5 and my files via Migration Assistant, the problem was still there. Aak!. I finally used iBackup to back up just my core Apple apps: Safari, iCal, Address Book, Mail, and Keychains. These I really wanted to be right, as losing or manually replacing them would be a complete pain. Erased the HD, reinstalled the OS, but did not take up the installer's offer to import my user settings. Basically, the computer was back to factory-new state. Gulped, ran iBackup 'restore', and bingo! All my mail and mailboxes, Safari bookmarks and history, Address Book contacts, and iCal calendars were just the way I had left them before wiping the HD. Very cool. Oh, and the problems that had prompted me to do the clean install were finally gone; everything works properly. Five stars and a donation to the developer from me!
Like (6)
Version 7.1

Read 68 iBackup User Reviews

Rate this app:

triche
16 July 2017
Good software... unfortunately non more updates since years..
Like
Version 7.6
kscmint
22 June 2016
Very good backup and restore tool based on rsync. Good point is that it allows you to select OSX specific files to be backed up like applications and system settings.
Like
Version 7.6
Finkel
28 October 2015
I can't get it fully working on 10.11.1. Opening plugins produces error "ls: /Users/samuel/Library/Application Support/iBackup/Update/plugins/System Settings: No such file or directory (1)" Any Ideas?
Like
Version 7.6
Kees-Stoute
03 February 2015
STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS! I'm here to share my bad experience in case anyone is considering their cloud services. I've been a loyal client of this company since 2006. Been using their cloud services to store and organize my documents since the start of my business. It was all good until one fine day my credit card expired. They just sent the payment reminder to inform me that my credit card expired. The bank was already in the process of sending me the replacement card during that time. Then disaster strikes. Before I could update my new credit card details online, they suspended my account due to failure of payment. I rang up their support immediately and informed them my situation. Not only they were RUDE, they mentioned that it's IMPOSSIBLE to retrieve my data. I was told that my account and all associated data was deleted the moment the payment failed. Feeling devastated, I even offered to pay them additional just to retrieve my data. They rejected me straight and even explicitly said that it's my own fault. I'm not that tech savvy but I believe there should be some form of data replication in their servers right? 9 years worth of data were wiped clean just because of one failure to make payment on time. If you are thinking of opting to go with this company for their cloud services, you are better off with Google Drive or some other cloud providers. THEIR SERVICE IS SIMPLY APPALLING.
Like (1)
Version 7.5
1 answer(s)
M-Rick
M-Rick
27 March 2015
What are you speaking about??
Are you sure you're posting in the right place??
iBackup is totally free and has always been, and there is no cloud service behind.
Like (4)
KirillM
21 December 2014
Latest version 7.6 with 10.10 support
Like
Version 7.5
2 answer(s)
sbchavel
sbchavel
05 January 2015
where? pls provide link.
Like
Mibrilane
Mibrilane
01 February 2015
Grapefruit (the developer) lists 7.6 at their site:

http://www.grapefruit.ch/iBackup/downloads.html

MacUpdate should update this listing.
Like
dimardo
20 December 2012
just work
Like
Version 7.4
j-doe
28 May 2011
for a PPC machine running 10.3.9, i had hoped to rely on iBackup 7.3.1 to perform a weekly backup. (i do use the old machine regularly, and keep information on it i would like regularly backed up.) iBackup does write the backup to the proper place (a drive on an external machine, and the machine being backed up is connected to the external machine via cat5 cable, so no airport issues with speed or connectivity). it is incredibly sloowwwwwwww. the weekly backup started friday at 7:30am, and 26.5 hours later, it is 961MB through a 2.6GB backup. i can see progress in the log drawer occasionally (chgrp commands from what i can tell at the moment), so i know it's not completely hung. it is in the Applications folder, and once i can get the whole folder backed up, i can take that out of the list of things to back up. why would the chgrp commands be so slow? why are they necessary? is there something else that could be causing the slowness? any thoughts?
Like
Version 7.3.1
Fhf
29 December 2010
My MacBook Pro just had a system issue which affected Finder window display and IPhoto albums. No amount of tinkering would fix the issues, so I decided that an OS reinstall was in order. After erasing the volume, re-installing 10.6.5 and my files via Migration Assistant, the problem was still there. Aak!. I finally used iBackup to back up just my core Apple apps: Safari, iCal, Address Book, Mail, and Keychains. These I really wanted to be right, as losing or manually replacing them would be a complete pain. Erased the HD, reinstalled the OS, but did not take up the installer's offer to import my user settings. Basically, the computer was back to factory-new state. Gulped, ran iBackup 'restore', and bingo! All my mail and mailboxes, Safari bookmarks and history, Address Book contacts, and iCal calendars were just the way I had left them before wiping the HD. Very cool. Oh, and the problems that had prompted me to do the clean install were finally gone; everything works properly. Five stars and a donation to the developer from me!
Like (6)
Version 7.1
Acuraice
21 November 2010
Not at all! Time machine is the easiest,fastest tool and makes a 100% backup of your mac's contents EXACTLY. I don't know what could be an easier then simply clicking go back in time, and selecting a files/files you want to retore and then clicking resotre,that not only resotre the entire application but its assosiated preferences also in one click! these people on here are morons that they woul put thier faith in a cheap utility that time machine alreayd does better FREE!
Like (2)
Version 7.0.1
3 answer(s)
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
15 December 2010
You hasten to comment what you do not master: iBackup does partially what TM does, just that it requires less space (1/3, approx.) Otherwise, yes, CCC is also a backup utility, but also requires a lot more disk space. But, if you wnat to clone the entire boot disk, it is wonderful (tested it yesterday, after upgrading to a 500 GB disk, previously cloned using CCC).
Like (2)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
20 September 2011
Time Machine is ok unless the system itself gets some hidden corruption that us mere mortals can't isolate. Then if you want just some base files to do a restore and NOT the entire system you're sorta hosed. Plus TM is an incredible hard drive space hog. With iBackup you can do a CLEAN install and then import what you want.
Like (1)
Zarbong
Zarbong
06 July 2012
While the above sounds a bit trollish, let me point out the numerous threads about TimeMachine deciding to create a new backup because of a "verification" problem. Alternatives are a great thing, particularly for critical data. Is TM amazing when it works? Yes. Have I had to create a new image, losing all the data in the previous one? You bet. Secondary backup systems like this are your friend....
Like
Wildfox
18 November 2010
You are correct, Tideshark. Apparently iBackup or Mac OS X has made progress with this problem in recent versions, although the discussion of the 'Volumes' problem remains at FAQ#7. Works for me now.
Like (1)
Version 7.0
Wildfox
17 November 2010
Someone should mention that (as stated in the iBackup 'Help') iBackup does not backup to external harddrives of any kind. iBackup is easy and does exactly what it says, but I deleted it after I got an external hard drive.
Like (1)
Version 7.0
3 answer(s)
Tideshark
Tideshark
17 November 2010
iBackup does backup to external hard drives mounted to your Mac. I've used both my iPod and my USB/FW400 Lacie external hard drive without a problem.
Like (5)
Version 7.0
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
15 December 2010
You are entirely wrong: iBackup does backup unto external drives too, including ones connected, say, to a Airport Extreme wl router.
Like (2)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
20 September 2011
Backing up to an external as I write this
Like (2)
anonymous-mule-4061
10 September 2010
This has been a very reliable backup program for me, although occasionally I will get applescript errors that force me to restart the program. Also, it doesn't seem to work on my Power PC G3 ibook, even though I am running Tiger. For everything else though, it's worked great. For a "non-clone" backup, i.e. not a backup of your whole hard drive, it's hard to beat. I find the addition of application and system preferences and the ability to fine-tune which folders get backed up to be very useful, and restoring files is very easy. Even though I have three other purchased backup programs, I often come back to this one because of its reliability and ease of use.
Like (2)
Version 6.7.3.4
1 answer(s)
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
16 December 2010
Not designed for clone backup, CCC is for this purpose, another wonderful free application.
Like (1)
Vins80
22 January 2010
Very useful tool, I use it together with Time Machine. As said from someone else, with iBackup it's much easier to copy or restore preferences of many applications (iCal calendars, for example). And I agree, the developer is very friendly!
Like (4)
Version 6.7.1
schmelding
10 December 2009
The Backup of the Beast?
Like (4)
Version 6.6.6
Shotgunweddings
10 December 2009
Works as advertised and it's free. No complaints. Love the version number too 666. That should send the religious zealots into a frenzy.
Like (4)
Version 6.6.6
Mjk
10 December 2009
Love the version number. Pity it's not Halloween. :o
Like (1)
Version 6.6.6
Capitaine-Haddock
05 September 2009
Marvelous for me ! What easier than iBackup to save the preferences of the Applications ? With Time machine you can't select them so easily ! The developer is also very friendly ! 5 stars
Like (1)
Version 6.6.3
Peter-earthman
21 August 2009
Can someone tell me why to use this instead of Timemachine? Any benefits? I mean, do we need another Backup tool when it is already there with OS X?
Like (1)
Version 6.6.3
Damino
11 April 2008
I agree, we need synchronisation-incremental backup, and it would be a perfect software.
Like (3)
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Detto
Detto
26 May 2008
Isn't this what rsync with the --delete option does?
Like
Version 6.4.1
Simichavel
02 October 2007
I had used iBackup for many years and generally had been pleased with its development. But I have never been able to find incremental backing up. Without this, backing up has always taken too long. If the fnuctionality is there, please note where.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
Macwatcher
26 August 2007
I used versions of iBackup up to 5.1.7 quite happily for more than a year, and apart from the confusing help manual, I found it was a great little app that did what is was supposed to, efficiently and with the minimum of fuss. Now, at one stroke (5.2.6) the app has been stripped of much of its usefulness. The log report no longer lists the files which have been amended or added during the backup. Is there ANY user who doesn't want to know what has been affected by the backup? I don't know of any, and I have had to restore 5.1.7 to get this functionality back. I won't be updating to any newer version. (The developer tells me the change is to get extra speed, but I did not notice any difference during the backups I did using 5.2.6). I would strongly advise any users who need the BASIC ESSENTIAL MINIMUM facts of file updates, to download a previous version if it is still available.
Like
Version 5.2.6
Lnr1
18 May 2007
So far its alright....But when choosing what to backup I feel its alsightly slugish. Also, whats up with the custom icons for music, movies, etc?
Like
Version 5.2.3
Ibackup
06 April 2007
Hi I don`t agree. iBackup let you select the items you want to restore, but only the same granularity as you have backed up. Let me explain: If you back up the whole folder documents (you select it in your home folder), you are able to restore the documents folder but not particular items of it. If you want to do that, you must backup these items first. In this example you must back up (or select) the items of the folder documents (or you select it as a smart folder), then you are able to restore all items individually. See the help on the web page for more details. Regards Martin
Like (1)
Version 5.2.3
3 answer(s)
TSMelo
TSMelo
06 July 2007
So, basically, all you need in order to be able to perform a partial restore is the ability to predict which folders/files will be damaged, so that you can backup them individually... Piece of cake, huh...
Like (2)
Version 5.2.6
Simichavel
Simichavel
08 July 2007
Ridiculous response. Just back the whole thing up then. The developer has given you the control to save time or space and select exactly what is essential to you to backup at any given time, then to restore it.
Like
Version 5.2.6
GeogProf
GeogProf
21 February 2009
If that's the way this app works then it's retarded -- even if it's FREE. I've used many, many different backup apps, some fairly expensive and some cheap or free, but no matter the price it should work logically. So, please tell me that the description above of how it restores is wrong.
Like (2)
Version 6.6
Jlaro
24 March 2007
This program may be fine for backup, but the true test of a backup is in the restore. In that respect it falls very short. It can only do a total restore, but not a restore of individual files or folders. Compared to resurrecting a whole drive after a disaster, finding the old version of a lost or modified file is a much more frequent occurrence, and this program cannot do it. I don't want to restore 100 GB when I need one file.
Like (1)
Version 5.2.3
Alexwein
26 February 2007
I've been using this program for many months now. It works consistently and as claimed, with only a few minor glitches along the way (mostly related to iDisk issues). I have several backups scheduled for different times of the day and week, including backups to iDisk. It just keeps getting better with each incarnation.
Like
Version 5.2.2
Jj-mac
25 February 2007
I use the non-compressed sync to folder and it works great. It's fast and easy to select what I want backed up. I like that it has modules that dig out .pref files and other bits hidden in User/Library and other places for me. I've backed up and restored mine and my wife's desktops and laptops many times using this little gem.
Like
Version 5.2.1
Cv186
25 February 2007
There should be a more recent REVIEW here - so here it is. I've looked at many of the free and cheap-ware backup and "Sync" facilities that are around and this is by far the best of all, and equally free. The developer is incredbily responsive to suggestions and advice, and a couple of times has posted rapid upgrades to fix personal problems. Five stars from me on all fronts.
Like
Version 5.2.1
Ibackup
14 January 2007
Hi Alobos On the web you could find the help, it's describes how to use and set up iBackup to run proper. You also could write a mail to me, the mail address is on the site too!
Like
Version 5.1.6
Alobos
05 December 2006
Stay away from this app. Just after backing up my user library reinstalled OS X 10.4 and updated it to the same version I was using when backing up. The user library just won't restore despite what you do.. And the worst is that if you need help there's nowhere to run. The site doesn't have any support docs. Just a plain explanative manual. No troubleshooting, no nothing.. Stick with Apple backup instead.
Like
Version 5.1.6
Hdmy
10 August 2006
Does not even show the main window on first start. Waiting did not help; as well as zapping the pref file. The only window I could open was the preferences. Sluggish performance, there. The application was tested on a dual core 2.7 GHz G5. Feels like the whole app was written in AppleScript. Not usable!
Like
Version 5.1
3 answer(s)
Mixel
Mixel
17 September 2006
Do you have a dual screen setup? I had a similar problem.. running one display it worked flawlessly, but with two and the main window seems to appear off screen or something...
Like
Version 5.1.3
Ibackup
Ibackup
14 January 2007
Hi! I've also using two displays and have no troubles. But I've heard that some users have this problem. Look here to find a solution: http://www.grapefruit.ch/iBackup/iBackup%20Help/content/known_errors.html (last topic)
Like
Version 5.1.6
Quiiick
Quiiick
24 February 2007
I have the same problem on my Powerbook G4. (no second monitor): iBackup starts, but no window appears od can be shown via the menu-command !!! There seems to be a major problem with iBackup, but it looks like the developer takes no notice ... :-( ... schaad eigentli ...
Like
Version 5.2
rtheone
27 July 2006
Oh, I just forgot - the application also hangs from time to time for absolutely no reason, and you have to force-quit it. :-(
Like
Version 5.1
rtheone
27 July 2006
Extremely unreliable program! You have to check all files in the backup archive individually(!) to make sure they are really copied. Many files and folders are ignored entirely when specified using "dot files", for example "Application". It is far to easy to wind up with multiple backup files. For example, the "System Preferences" move many files that will also get moved if you backup your Library folder. Redundancy will always lead to trouble, sooner or later. A backup utility should be reliable. If it's not, then it isn't a backup program but just an enormous waste of time.
Like
Version 5.1
Hal2007
14 July 2006
Backups all my important files to a safe location. That's pretty good for migrating from one machine to another without doing everything by hand. OK, it relies on AppleScript and UNIX commands, and yes, it's slow sometimes, but hey, you can't beat the price! Good software, IMO.
Like
Version 5.1
Danielandrews
15 June 2006
The app is slow, but for donationware it's pretty good quality.
Like
Version 5.0.9
Fransik
22 February 2006
...first time I seriously use the software ever, the very first one being a kind of test to see the GUI. And I thought I should use it. Actually I wanted to copy everything from one disk to another, something I had been doing with CCC until recently (Before Mac OS 10.4.4): while 0k for the less populated folders, iBackup becomes a real nightmare with some others. For instance, 1821 items are within my music folder, and I had to check manually every single one I have there. Then, well I have experienced numerous Apple Script errors, -2753 (Task not defined? French localisation is not 100% here), and even -1700 (Folder using Greek letters; no problem with Japanese characters though). Anyway I managed through errors and glitches, and could complete the initial setup, normally a one time procedure if you do not change your folder structure. At least I thought I would start my backup right after the lengthy settings, and sadly I had to see yet another failure notice after a few minutes, according to which the OS would have some components that had stopped responding(!), which is something iBackup 5.0.2 would have detected, and it would now quit... The app itself was behind this notice, and the GUI was almost indistinctable, almost completely black. Now this is a backup program, and I do not feel I can rely on it any time now. LaCie's SilverKeeper (v. 1.1.4 by the way) can not save many profiles, but had my job done.
Like
Version 5.0.2
Slob
17 February 2006
Sorry, not this version. All previous settings disappear - too much of a pain to start again, so back to v.4. And I did donate a while back and would like a serial number or something to stop being asked again with every update.
Like
Version 5.0
Starmanta
28 December 2005
I don't see how this got a good review from anyone. - It's S-L-O-W. To make matters worse, it acts like it's fast, so you think you clicked an item, and nothing happens, but you never get any indication the program is working. - Applescript errors when checking and unchecking items. - There is no way to select all items for backup. That's right, you have to check EACH AND EVERY application, system preference, and folder you want to include. And this brings me back to the slowness. It takes a second for each of these checkboxes to register. It would likely take me hours just to select everything I wanted to backup. - Interface feedback is poor. I click the plus button, nothing happens; I move on to see if the "set" button does anything, and a file dialog opens up. Go figure, it's actually the first button catching up to me! but of course this window gives no indication of what it's for, so I assume the latter... ugh.
Like
Version 4.1.3
1 answer(s)
Hal2007
Hal2007
14 July 2006
Cmd-a doesn't work. It only highlights all interface text, but doesn't check/uncheck the buttons. Definetly a feature to be added.
Like
Version 5.1
Simichavel
24 December 2005
Still having backup problems. It seems that the trouble begins with v. 4.0.9, since with every update since I have had trouble and consistently return to 4.0.8, which always runs perfectly. iBook G3 / OS 10.3.9
Like
Version 4.1.3
Simichavel
18 December 2005
It was nice to see 4.1.1 come out so quickly after problems with 4.1 were reported. But now I am having trouble with this release as well. (1) Backing takes an extremely long time. (2) It completely ties up the computer, making it almost impossible even to force quit iBackup itself. (3) It doesn't manage memory well. Namely, although the preferences are set to replace the old backed up material with new, it doesn't find enough memory to do so. Which just does not work out mathematically, in my case. It'll have to be back to 4.0.8 yet again for me. iBook G3/OSX 10.3.9
Like
Version 4.1.1
Anonymous
26 November 2005
Since I first discovered, I have found iBackup to be excellent. It provides a great service and couldn't be easier to use. On my machine, though, 4.1 has had several problems. It fails to back up many files for permissions reasons, and takes an incredibly long time to run. It does not like multi-tasking either. If this is related to "10.4.2 only" status, it should be clearer in the release notes. I am back to an older version - and loving it again. iBook G3/ OS 10.3.9
Like
Version 4.1
1 answer(s)
Luciano67
Luciano67
13 December 2005
I have the same configuration and had problems with the last version too. Which is the best previous version for this configuration? Thanks.
Like
Version 4.1
Anonymous
19 November 2005
Question: Does iBackup have error-reporting in case something went wrong/beserk during the backup? If yes, are these notes entered into the log file? (Schön, dass es jetzt näbed Cyberduck ä wiiteri guät g'machti Friiwär us dä Schwiiz git. Dankä!)
Like
Version 4.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 November 2005
yes, the log that is shown in the window is written to the log file.
Like
Version 4.1
Anonymous
18 November 2005
Powerbook 17" G4 - 4.0.9 worked...though was still iffy on working unless you left the interface window open in the Dock - so it would work at the set time. This new version does not open at all.
Like
Version 4.1
Anonymous
18 November 2005
The requirements for iBackup 4.1 are stated to be OS 10.4.2 or greater but it works fine in OS 10.3.9. iBackup is a really nice app, and it's free, too. Kudos and accolades to the developer!
Like
Version 4.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 November 2005
Note that the iBackup website, download page, states that iBackup versions 4.x work with both OS X 10.3 (Panther) and 10.4 (Tiger).
Like
Version 4.1
Anonymous
15 October 2005
Powerbook G4 17" - still have to throw away prefs once I quit iBackup or restart the machine. Can you fix this issue? Then this would be the premier free backup app.
Like
Version 4.0.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 October 2005
Contact me at my mail address. Thanks.
Like
Version 4.0.8
Anonymous
28 September 2005
Works well on Powerbook now. This is a great FREE app! Thank you! Wish list: Program automatically starts and shuts down for scheduled backups so you don't need it running in the background. Thank you! gt
Like
Version 4.0.8
Anonymous
23 September 2005
Great free app...thank you! Having problems running on a G4 17" Alum PB. The interface does not always come up when you open the program. Many times it will appear once and then not reappear. Would be GREAT if this program would turn itself on at the designated run time and backup automatically soo it doesn't have to run all the time in background. Thanks for the price. Great start.
Like
Version 4.0.7
Anonymous
01 September 2005
Excellent! A backup utility for the 21st century. I have been looking for a decent backup utility for a very long time. This one is the best so far. It would be perfect if there was an option to create a disk image of what you are backing up. Imagine if you could create a spanned disk image! Backing up to CD or DVD would go from labour intensive 3 day marathon to a Sunday walk by the beach. Where's my Visa? I going to donate. Thanks!
Like
Version 4.0.7
Anonymous
25 August 2005
This App is really cool and extremely useful! The GUI is very easy to navigate and very powerful at the same time. My one complaint was going to be that the backup clock doesn't have AM or PM, but then I realized it's military time. So I would consider this app perfect for what it does. Now whenever I log in, iBackup opens (i selected the HIDE preference) backs up my entire system onto my External and I'm good to go if I need to restore! And Best of All: ITS FREE!
Like
Version 4.0.7
Anonymous
16 August 2005
The program is such a time-saver. Not just a time-saver, but makes something complicated and arduous into something organized and easy. Thanks so much. From an iBook G3 it backs up onto a 10GB iPod rather slowly. Don't know about other externals. Logo could be something a bit less gimicky and a bit more reflective of what the software does. (If it already is and I missed, well, maybe that supports the point.) OS 10.3.9
Like
Version 4.0.7
Anonymous
11 August 2005
Great program...and thanks for the price. Am having trouble with stability. The program often does not respond and will not pull up when app is runing. Or will not open up, but won't quit either. Very odd. Running 10.4.2.... everything is stable but this program so far. Perhaps I have a confluct, but it seems odd.
Like
Version 4.0.7