Back to FinderCleaner page
FinderCleaner free download for Mac

FinderCleaner Reviews

1.9
09 January 2006

Removed hidden files that the Finder creates. (was iCleaner).

Steve-Hodgson
29 December 2007

Most helpful

Like other reviewers here, I am wary of recommending this application because of the ping and curl requests it sends out. I have tried to contact the developer to ask why this is necessary on the basis that if I understood what was happening I would continue to use the app. I have never had a response so I use this app as little as possible, consider it to be seriously flawed and could not recommend it unless one had a pressing need for something of this type. I reckon that there is an opportunity here for a nice little app to clear Mac-specific files from removable media before ejecting. I constantly use media that will be used on Windows or other FAT formatted devices and find it frustrating to see these ‘hidden' files.
Like (2)
Version 1.9

Read 47 FinderCleaner User Reviews

Rate this app:

Steve-Hodgson
29 December 2007
Like other reviewers here, I am wary of recommending this application because of the ping and curl requests it sends out. I have tried to contact the developer to ask why this is necessary on the basis that if I understood what was happening I would continue to use the app. I have never had a response so I use this app as little as possible, consider it to be seriously flawed and could not recommend it unless one had a pressing need for something of this type. I reckon that there is an opportunity here for a nice little app to clear Mac-specific files from removable media before ejecting. I constantly use media that will be used on Windows or other FAT formatted devices and find it frustrating to see these ‘hidden' files.
Like (2)
Version 1.9
Viva
07 November 2007
Finder Cleaner does exactly what it is supposed to. It is reliable but has to be used with caution - it does execute destructive file manipulations, that's what it is for. To all comments complainig about the app having caused troubles: RTFM! And, btw, you can disallow it to phone home for updates (with Little snitch, for example) and it works well nonetheless.
Like
Version 1.9
1 answer(s)
Rex76
Rex76
19 May 2008
I had been using FinderCleaner but now I can't open it. When I went to download 1.9, I got a message in Dutch saying they couldn't find the file. Has anyone else had this problem? I'm using a G4 mac X 10.4. and had no problems till now. Otherwise, I found FinderCleaner to work flawlessly. Does anyone know how to get around this prpblem?
Like
Version 1.9
Akrobat
23 July 2007
Well I for one found this app very useful. Any chance of a UB or Intel version?
Like
Version 1.9
Garyi
16 March 2007
They should have called this the magical crash machine.
Like
Version 1.9
1 answer(s)
Nosrac
Nosrac
22 July 2007
Don't be silly! There's nothing magical about the crashing!
Like
Version 1.9
Itkito
07 November 2006
i have problem with FinderCleaner 1.9 too, and unexpected i have FinderCleaner1.8 in old HD so i upload to this site, follow the link. http://savefile.com/files/234712
Like
Version 1.9
Choopong-Tangusaha
18 August 2006
I used to used 1.8 and think it better than 1.9 because when I open 1.9 it always take sevaral time and not reapond often. So I have to force quick all time. I cannot back to use 1.8 because I didn't backup 1.8.dmg and no more to download ringht now. Very dissatisfy.
Like
Version 1.9
Crucial
18 August 2006
This looks like just the app I need, something to delete all those .trashes and .ds files on my USB thumb drive so that when I mount the drive in windows, half the files are not junk. It says that it will scan a folder or volume, delete all those pesky files and then eject the drive. When I launch the app and select my drive it gives me the option to select just a folder (the folder had 5 items, but FC reported deleting 40 .ds files), but it then looks like it deletes all the .ds and trashes file on the drive. When I click on eject nothing happens. The drive remains on my desktop. If I pull it out the system gives me an annoying warning not to do that, and when I mount the drive on my windows machine I see FinderCleaner has done absolutely nothing.
Like
Version 1.9
Norton
02 May 2006
everytime i open this it says There is not enough memory available to use the specified item.
Like
Version 1.9
Timgoeree
13 December 2005
If you encounter problems please email me with some details like OS version and description of the error. Then I can actually try to solve it.
Like
Version 1.8
2 answer(s)
Arnolds
Arnolds
17 January 2006
Downloaded and installed version 1.9. Have a 1.4 GHz dual G4 running OSX 10.4.4. Trying to eject an external volume (memory stick) gives the error 'variable auteject not defined'. As the main reasin I (try to) use it is to clean my memory sticks of .DS_Store files etc for use with PCs, the program is of very little use now. Hope it will be repaired soon. Regards, arnold
Like
Version 1.9
Organmorgan
Organmorgan
29 March 2008
cant run finder cleaner any more it now shows variable version number not defined has been a very usefull and good app for a few years but no more. uninstall and reinstall makes no difference. want to clean flash drives and MP3 player cheers organmorgan
Like
Version 1.9
Lady8
04 December 2005
1.8 keeps giving me the error variable not defined so i cant use it either. it would be really useful if i could use it as my SE phone does get crappy .ds files and ._ mp3 files which cause my phone to play erratically. please fix this version. thanks Jan
Like
Version 1.8
Anonymous
25 November 2005
v.1.8 keeps on giving me the "The variable "button" is not defined" message, so it's useless for me like v.1.7 was. last working version on my machine is 1.6. MacOS 10.3.9, iBook G4
Like
Version 1.8
Anonymous
25 November 2005
Perfect this time around! Mac OS X 10.3.9 It now works flawlessly removing the crap as advertised without the double errors from 1.7!! Cool, and it even supports drag 'n drop ! Only thing missing, are some options! I would like to be able to toggle the resource fork removal part on/off but still remove the rest of the invisible files. Thanks for some great software , keep up the good work!
Like
Version 1.8
Anonymous
25 November 2005
I have't been able to connect to the site for the last two releases to download the program. Please provide an alternate site to download.
Like
Version 1.8
Anonymous
24 November 2005
Garbage! Doesn't do anything but spew errors. Some password error and then even some stupid script error. Pathetic Don't waste your time folkd!
Like
Version 1.7
2 answer(s)
Timgoeree
Timgoeree
24 November 2005
You could be a bit more specific and help to identify the problem instead of just bashing a product I spent a lot of time on AND offer for free. At least I know there are a lot of satisfied users so I'll continue development but if everyone reacted the way you do there would be no more free software.
Like
Version 1.8
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 November 2005
You should check your Mac Set Up. This app works fine on mine. Don't act like a moron - Especially when this costs nothing anyway.
Like
Version 1.8
Anonymous
17 November 2005
In v.1.6 the "Password" problem is fixed and it's running fine on 10.3.9. In v.1.7 another problem is introduced. As soon as a folder or an usb stick is chosen, a message appears complaining that "The variable "button" is not defined", leaving no other choice but to quit. Funny too that the v.1.7 download is containing a prog that identifies itself as "findercleaner 1.8 (exe)" in the menu bar. If working, this is a very useful utility, but, alas, not all versions have been working as expected so far. Anyway: thanks to the developer for keeping on trying.
Like
Version 1.7
mika67
27 September 2005
Great job, it's just hard to find on the web. And it works almost good, under OsX 10,3,9 with USB key STF, because i need to unplug the key and then replug for FINDERCLEANER do the job ??? See you later for an up-date
Like
Version 1.5.2
24 September 2005
Unable to run program get error message Unable to run script Droplet due to program error Mac OS10.2.8
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
19 September 2005
I just tried it and I am getting the "The variable thePassword is not defined." message. It seems I am not the only one judging by the other messages on his web site (with 10.4.2 as well). Any word on an update to fix this? Am using 10.3.9.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
01 September 2005
Does this not work in Tiger? I'm running it as a drag and drop app..as a work flow...and it's just not deleting the files.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
20 August 2005
still waiting patiently for the fix announced on 7/26/2005
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
03 August 2005
Great app for my K750 ! Thanks !!!
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
26 July 2005
I will fix the issues as soon as possible. I hope to have an update out before week's end.
Like
Version 1.5.2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 July 2005
Thank you! M.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 August 2005
couple of weeks later: still waiting ;-(
Like
Version 1.5.2
LD
25 July 2005
Works nicely on my 256MB USB disk. I put the small app on my desktop so I can just drag the mount on to the app when I want to eject the disk. Thanks for the great app!!
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
23 July 2005
Hey developer, we are having password problems. You need to fix this. Otherwise, this is a nice program.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
23 July 2005
Great app but this version is giving me an error: The variable thePassword is not defined". It then does not eject the my flash drive and I get an error that I did not safely remove the drive. Stick with 1.5.1 until the author fixes this error.
Like
Version 1.5.2
3 answer(s)
Timgoeree
Timgoeree
23 July 2005
Strange, I don't get that but I'll look into it. What OS are you on?
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 July 2005
I am using 10.4.2 I went back to v1.5.1 and the problem went away. I installed 1.5.2 over 1.5.1 and the problem came back.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 July 2005
Same prob here on 10.3.9
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
16 July 2005
Using FinderCleaner 1.5 on a TransFlash card with a mobilemate sd+ sandisk USB reader/writer. Worked great the first time I used FC1.5. Loaded TF card into my phone and walla I could actually read the images and play mp3's from the phone. (Only 4 images and 2 mp3's). So I loaded up(not to full capacity) the 256 mb tf card with mp3's and ran FC1.5 and the little b/w spinning icon started and I waited and waited and waited and finally had to force quit the FC1.5. I'm a bit confused on why this would be. If I could figure out why the program is hanging that would be great. I appreciate your time in writing this program and the value it has for getting info over to my phone. I would gladly come back for a great review if I/anyone can figure out why the program is hanging. Or am I just that impatient. Thanks. M. Running OS X Panther 10.3.9
Like
Version 1.5
4 answer(s)
Timgoeree
Timgoeree
18 July 2005
I guess it just takes longer for larger volumes but I'm not sure what it could be. I'll check it out anyway. I see you use 10.3.9 and you say it works? I just got a comment it didn't work in Panther anymore so I'm a bit confused. I'll check the problems and see what I can do.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 July 2005
I was thinking maybe it was due to a larger volume(256mb transflash). So my reasoning for letting the program run for a bit. I appreciate you looking into it. Right now I have 2 script's I can run to remove the .trashes/DS_Store files. Mostly just the .trashes files unless I reformat the card. But I really liked the ability to drag the volume to the FC1.5 Icon and let it run its script. By no means am I a programmer. Just found the script and modified it with my volume name. Ok, enough blah blah. Thanks for your response...look forward to any info you can gather on this. Michael
Like
Version 1.5
Timgoeree
Timgoeree
19 July 2005
I use it on a 256MB mp3 player so that can't be it. Tried it on my music folder (18GB) and it worked so it's not size. I've found that it hangs before it actually cleans anything so the problem is in Keychain scripting. You can force quit and retry without any problem but that's not really a nice solution. I'll look into keychain scripting today or tomorrow and I'll hope to get a fix out as soon as possible.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 July 2005
Makes sense now that the volume size(overall volume or amount of files) probably has nothing to do with it hanging. Yep, tried the force quit many times and would end up in the same hang position. Just for kicks I ran the activity monitor to see what was functioning. I did see the keychain comeup after running FC1.5 and after that the curser just sits in spin mode until force quit. Sorry I did not think about mentioning this earlier as I ran this before posting to MacUpdate. Thanks for your reply and for looking into this further. M.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
14 July 2005
And if people like CB3 would read the readme file they would know that it's not for use on Mac volumes but deveices like mp3 players.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
14 July 2005
I've never even tried this program, but had a good laugh at CBC's idiotic comments below. Obviously these files are only useful on a Mac. Not on your flash drive, camera, mp3 player, cellphone. So delete at will folks.
Like
Version 1.5
Cb31
13 July 2005
I'm not so sure I would call them "pesky" files. .DS_Store is used by Directory Services. If you have FBC files, it's because you're using FindByContent. Not all resource forks are useless. Finally, the .Trashes are used via the Finder for storing files you delete by emptying the Trash. Deleting any or all of these files you may find certain functions no longer work or programs that no longer function.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
13 July 2005
Wow, I have been waiting years for an easy program like this. Cleaned almost thousands of those nasty ._ files. Now the PC folks wont try to open those up on the server anymore! Bonus for not crashing and deleting my entire drive!
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
30 June 2005
I get this message "can't get name ofof application"Keychain Scripting" if I choose a file or any file. Is it keychain permission problem,what to do? I think ths software is great!!
Like
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Timgoeree
Timgoeree
01 July 2005
Try repairing permissions and rebooting. If that doesn't fix the problem please send me an email and I'll try to help you.
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
28 June 2005
Thanks developer - works fine with my SDcard for Ericsson MP3player (HPM-10).
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
17 June 2005
It is so dang nice of this developer to provide this for free. Works great and helps me a bunch. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Timgoeree
Timgoeree
22 June 2005
I don't really like people who charge money for stuff Apple should have put in their OS but didn't for whatever reason. I think Apple should have provided us with the option whether we want Mac crap on our non-hfs volumes or not. Apple sees this as a feature, I see it as a problem so I came up with a fix. And fixes of OS problems should be free. Expect version 1.4 to be out VERY soon.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
05 June 2005
Thank you! This small application does exactly what I was looking for - cleaning up the files on my Sony Ericsson K750i. Jan Erik
Like
Version 1.3
Andrew-0a52b8ff
31 May 2005
Great Application, Thanks Developer! One feature suggestion: It would be nice if the application could use the system keychain to remember your administrator password so that you are not always typing it in. I use this app everyday multiple times and occassionally it gets old retyping my password. Thanks! Andrew
Like
Version 1.3
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 May 2005
I apologize for my previous post (I shoulda read the readme!!!). Anyhow, I'm glad to see that keychain support is included, however it currently does not work correctly in 10.4.1 Thanks developer for your hardwork!! Andrew
Like
Version 1.3
Timgoeree
Timgoeree
01 June 2005
I'm currently testing a new version which should make keychain more reliable but there's only so much I can do. The main problem is with Apple and until they fix things my new found work-around sort of works but in some cases you'll still need to enter your password. I could make keychain acces 100% reliable but performance of the app would suffer so much that typing your password every now and a while is preferred. I guess users are not going to like it when the app takes 5 seconds to complete operation and takes 5 minutes the next (or the tenth or whatever) time they use it. I hope Apple fixes this fast but I don't think this is a major issue so it probably will take a while.
Like
Version 1.3
Riccardo
16 May 2005
Do you have a brand new SonyEricsson phone? When you transfer files such as mp3s or images to it, some duplicates are listed on the phone? You can't figure out how to solve this problem?? Download this app and these problems will vanish!!!!!!!! Great application!
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
16 May 2005
Exactly what I needed to clean the extra Mac-only files from my flash drive, which I use to transport files between a Mac and a PC at work. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.3
Timgoeree
16 May 2005
Just curious, why do you care how big an application is these days? We have fast internet connections and hard disks that can hold 100's of GB's. It's 550kb and that's not too large I think. The app itself is only 96kb but the dmg with text file make it 550kb. Code is pretty efficient as it is and if you think you can do better please do so. That will save me a lot of time. I made this app to be usefull to people, if you don't like it that's fine but please give a normal argument so I can improve things. Not some BS about it being 550kb. Thankfully I have a lot of users that are very satisfied with my product and who actually try to make suggestions to make this app better.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 May 2005
Thank you for your answer. In fact, I'm stuck on 56K at home and your fast internet connection and 100+ GB HDs don't make me feel better. :-( As regards my phrase"bad programming," I apologize for even mentioning it. No offense was intended. As I said, I was simply curious. When I stumbled upon this app the size made me a bit suspicious. You might also know that there are apps performing simple tasks, usually GUIs for terminal commands, whose size is unacceptably big (Cocktail, etc.). But 96 KB sounds good. I will give your app a try. Again, I'm sorry for the idiotic phrasing.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
16 May 2005
Yeah, but why is it 550 KB? Bad programming perhaps? Just curious ...
Like
Version 1.3
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 May 2005
c'mon dude...... make more responsable comments! you're opinion is based on size?? so bad...
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 May 2005
^^^ As I said, I'm just curious. Given the tasks this app is supposed to do I simply wanted to know why it was 550 KB. That's all. Btw, I didn't say anything about quality so, please, don't read anything into my question. ;-)
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 May 2005
You said nothing about quality? "... Bad programming..." That is a statement about quality.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 May 2005
Why even suggest "bad programming"?
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 May 2005
Ninty something K is fine by me. Check that file size again.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
26 March 2005
This is essential if you have a PSP and want to load it with pictures from your Mac. It strips away the resource forks which are the cause of the "Corrupted Files" you'll see sometimes with photos you load onto the PSP.
Like
Version 1.2
lancealot
09 March 2005
I was getting tired of finding all these hidden files on my cheap-but-useful mp3 player. Basically the invisible files on the Mac are visible on the player and are subsequently displayed as songs, however they don't play.............very confusing. So I search MacUpdate for 'hidden files', find this app, download and use it. PERFECT!!! All the hidden and DS files gone. Now I don't know what the problem was with the idiots who posted below, perhaps as the developer mentioned they don't read the instructions. In either case I give it 4 stars 'cause it's a good app and works well. I'll stop short of 5 stars 'cause there's always room for improvement :-). Keep up the good work.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
06 March 2005
I bet the next review is from someone saying that you shouldn't use this on an osx volume.
Like
Version 1.2
Timgoeree
24 February 2005
For starters, I don't write this comment to defend myself or my app. I understand some people see problems in using it. That could be the case but it does what it should and claims to do. I hope this explains what and why to people who don't read manuals. You're absolutely right about the .DS_Store files. You should not remove them from you OS X volume. This app wasn't designed to do that. I made it for external deveices like usb keys or mp3 player. The program will let you remove everything, it will warn as of version 1.2 if your trying a HFS volume but it is up to you wether you'll do that or not. To most people cleaning their OS X volume will not even be a problem although it isn't recommended. Resource forks are another thing offcourse. The reason the program deletes them is because it was written to clean ALL Macintosh mess. Why? Simply because some deveices seem to choke on the mess your Mac leaves. Warnings and what the app exectly does are all in the readme. I wrote this to be helpfull, not to get people into trouble. If you don't read the manual and screw up something that's not my problem. The description is clear and if you are unsure about this being safe or not you probably shouldn't bother.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
23 February 2005
Don't delete DS_Store files, unless you want to recustomize all you're folder settings again. List view, side panel icons etc... They take up bugger all disk space, let sleeping dogs lie.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 February 2005
To be fair, this software really isn't designed for use on HFS+ boot partitions* and can do some serious damage, especially to the Classic environment. It is, however, ideally suited to preparing removable media for use with PCs, which don't respect Finder window settings anyway. And while .DS_Store files are small, Find By Content files can balloon out, and .Trashes contains anything you've moved to the Trash without emptying, so you can lose space this way (my father does this all the time with USB sticks). I must admit though, I was under the impression that resource forks are only supported by HFS, and don't need to be deleted from other formats... *Is it possible to disable resource fork deletion when a Classic system folder is detected? I'm thinking of Murphy's Law: if you include an option that lets you hose the system, someone will eventually use it...
Like
Version 1.2
Timgoeree
29 January 2005
You should indeed not run this on an OS X volume, it won't cause problems if you're only running OS X exept for the trashcan wich won't work until reboot. There is no real point in removing resource forks from a mac volume anyway so just don't do it. I expect people to read the readme file wich does specify that you shouldn't use this on a mac volume. Nevertheless I agree that this could be made more obvious to the user so I will look into this.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 February 2005
"I expect people to read the readme file..." Good luck!
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
20 January 2005
Do NOT run this on ANY volume except ones for portable media players, cameras, etc like the author suggests. This really needs to be made much clearer....
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
20 January 2005
I'm very curious about this. Has anyone tried cleaning the resource forks on an OS X volume without Classic installed? It wouldn't bother me a bit to delete my resource forks if I could be assured it wouldn't hose OS X.
Like
Version 1.0