Back to OSS 3D page
OSS 3D free download for Mac

OSS 3D Reviews

2.3b7
29 December 2007

Real-time enhancements of sound in OS X.

Syharris
05 August 2008

Most helpful

OSS-3D has been taken over by Joesoft.com and is now called Hear. It's supposedly been improved upon and has a new face. People either love Hear it or hate it. Some say it enhances your listening pleasure, others say it ruins it. I rather like it. Try it and decide for yourself.
Like (2)
Version 2.3b7

Read 79 OSS 3D User Reviews

Rate this app:

Syharris
05 August 2008
OSS-3D has been taken over by Joesoft.com and is now called Hear. It's supposedly been improved upon and has a new face. People either love Hear it or hate it. Some say it enhances your listening pleasure, others say it ruins it. I rather like it. Try it and decide for yourself.
Like (2)
Version 2.3b7
Xypher
07 May 2008
'Hear' is a con at $50, though they do have a good upgrade price for existing SRS iWow or OSS3D customers. http://joesoft.com/
Like
Version 2.3b7
Me2
09 April 2008
After studying "HEAR" and "OSS 3D" it appears that OSS 3D is now "HEAR PRO" if you can find it. That's why the two programs look identical almost. Maybe OSS 3D was sold to ProSoft? I don't know. Just FYI.
Like
Version 2.3b7
Sergioman
18 January 2008
I love this thing, many people have their problems with it but for me it works perfectly fine, had to wait a while for the Leopard release but it is totally cool and easy to use, once you figure it out it just brings your mp3 collection to life.. I still prefer Audio Hijack if I need serious sound enhancement, but this works great for iTunes and watching movies!!
Like
Version 2.3b7
Rpitcairn
06 January 2008
Just went through an interesting experience. I have been using Wiretap studio to record some DAT tape on to my computer. Today, this program would not start, would quit every time opened. In addition, no sound output from iTunes or from Pandora web site. Still I could use the keyboard to adjust sound and heard beeps accordingly. Very odd behavior. Spent quite some time repairing permissions, removing preferences, etc. trying to fix it. Finally called Apple Tech and we went through a number of steps without solving it. They suggested I reinstall the OS (Leopard). Before doing that I removed all the audio plugins and solved my problem. Turned out the culprit was the OSS 3D plugin. I add to this that the software has not been working for me either, no effect on sound output so the unfavorable situation was of the software not working and also causing sound loss and considerable time today trying to figure it out.
Like
Version 2.3b7
Rpitcairn
03 January 2008
I downloaded this a couple of weeks ago. Was incredibly impressed with the improved sound on my bookshelf speakers. Unfortunately I upgraded to Leopard and now OSS 3D will not work at all. I have emailed the developer about it and hopefully there will be a fix. Not encouraging.
Like
Version 2.3b7
Dirtyswine
01 June 2007
OSS 2.0: I am running 10.4.9 (old G4 tower with 1Ghz card) with iTunes 7.0 with Monsoon 2000 speakers. Works great if you READ THE MANUAL. I created an alias in the dock as it did not appear in the iTunes top bar under "window" Have not tried with Garage Band or anything else. If you are running into a high end system, this is an excellent choice to use with iTunes. Use AppZapper to remove old copies.
Like
Version 2.2
Ipeck
13 April 2007
It would be a good software if It wouldnt make the system preferences panel crash. I've uninstalled OSS 3D and no more problems.. So work it out. Intel 2,0 Ghz core duo. 10.4.9
Like
Version 2.2
Hilbo60
02 March 2007
The first version worked fine for me too, then came the new version of iTunes and it no longer worked!! Subsequent versions failed to work properly until the last version which, although working with iTunes, stopped my copy of 'CD Spin Doctor' working completely!! I have now stopped using it altogether, waiting (hopefully) for a plug-in version.
Like
Version 2.2
Orion-Mk-V
02 March 2007
Loved the first version, but v2.x has never worked well for me once they made it a system-wide sound enhancer (hell it really doesn't even work anymore). I switched to SRS Wow! (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/22847) and again wonderful sound enhancement in iTunes through both my G4 Powerbook and Intel iMac.
Like
Version 2.2
New-User
02 March 2007
Too dang complex. I suppose if I had time to sit down and read the manual thoroughly and play around with all the settings to learn this thing then I'd find it useful. As it is, it's just too dang complex. They need to cut all these tabs and settings down to a couple sliders and a couple checkboxes. Back to using iTunes' Sound enhancer and EQ for me. At least I don't need a giant manual to use it.
Like
Version 2.2
O5220803
25 January 2007
It's the only audio enhancer you'll ever need. It leaves the competition in the dust! So complete, it makes you really think about your audio enhancement options! Totally EXCELLENT with iTunes!
Like
Version 2.1
Demos
15 January 2007
Download OSS 3D 1.62 from our site for 10.3.9. New version only works with 10.4. dmitry
Like
Version 2.1
Easer
14 January 2007
This is working fine on my G4 PowerBook with 10.4.8, using iTunes 6.05. (I refuse to try iTunes 7, given all the bad reviews I've seen. Glad I kept a copy of the v6 installer.) I also tried the new Volume Logic beta for iTunes 7 (and earlier). It works, but I've always found Volume Logic to be very processor intensive. I find that the current version of OSS 3D is not bogging my system down, so I'm choosing it.
Like
Version 2.1
Threedee912
04 January 2007
Does this really work on 10.3? I've installed it, opened the app, and then it instantly crashed. Edited the Dock as well. I have no clue why.
Like
Version 2.09
Raddle
03 January 2007
Okay, FINALLY we're getting somewhere. This .09 release does finally effect the sound. I can only comment on iTunes, as i don't use it for anything else. Most of the presets don't work, but if you saved your old ones and drop them in the right folder, they do. There's a way to go - and I can't believe it's taken NINE releases to get this far, but at least I've got my sound back now...
Like
Version 2.09
Wvtechie
02 January 2007
Version 2.09 or OSS 3D installs the file "OSS 3D.plugin" into the folder /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL. This file causes GarageBand to crash when it is started. Remove the file, and GarageBand works fine.
Like
Version 2.09
JPP-Zoso
14 November 2006
even after the 4th point release, this app still doesn't work w/ itunes 7. i give up. system sound is not impacted at all. itunes sound is not impacted at all. oss 3d settings do not hold between sessions, nor do they have any impact on the sound. click 'em on or off, no difference. slide the sliders all around, no difference. the only thing that has improved since v2.00 is the uninstall routine. just who is beta-testing this application and on what system configuration? i'm running a 1.67ghz g4 powerbook, os x v10.4.8 w/ itunes 7.02 and no other 3rd party add-ons...oss 3d no worky, at all. the only reason i keep trying the oss 3d point releases is volume logic has not released an update to their plug-in yet. volume logic was a much better purchase, and at least they haven't wasted my time w/ updates that don't work.
Like
Version 2.04
paulsrandall
12 November 2006
I was having trouble with all of the 2.0x versions of OSS 3D and found a solution after I uninstalled version 2.03 without reinstalling. I found that the OSS 3D Daemon was installed in /Library/StartItems/ and never uninstalled with the OSS 3D Uninstaller. I deleted it the folder from StartupItems. Today I installed OSS 3D 2.04 and everything works great. I noticed that the OSS 3D Daemon is now in Application Support/OSS 3D. If you are having problems, make sure that an old version of the OSS 3D Daemon is not in StartupItems.
Like
Version 2.04
Juki
11 November 2006
I had updated itunes to version 7, when I tried OSS 3D. It just didn't work, and made a mess of my dock, too. So I trashed it. Since I didn't like iTunes 7, I reverted back to iTunes 6.04. Later on, I checked the OSS 3D website and found that version 1.62, for use with iTunes 6 and Panther(OS 10.3) was reinstated, so I downloaded and installed it. Well now, this version really works....and very well, too! There are a great choice of parameters that can be adjusted, and the results are easy to hear. I'd say that OSS 3D rocks like a house on fire!!! I hope that the developer irons out all the bugs in the OSS 3D version for iTunes 7 so that those folks who are using version 7 can discover how really fine OSS 3D truly is.
Like
Version 2.03
1 answer(s)
Raddle
Raddle
12 November 2006
Agreed. With iTunes 6 it's a fabulous product. It's just been a bit of a wait now for a 7-compatible version... I just wish the developers would be open about whether it's supposed to be Intel-compatible yet too.
Like
Version 2.03
Tob
31 October 2006
this product sucks ass. nothing about it works: playback's broken and interface is broken too (when i switch from preset to preset interface is not updated except for eqializer)
Like
Version 2.03
Raddle
25 October 2006
Another week, another sub-version... and still it doesn't work. I have enormous goodwill towards this product, because of the great things it (used to do) to iTunes' sound. But it just ain't functioning now: even changing to different presents doesn't change any of the settings - never mind actually altering the sound. I don't know what you guys are testing this on, but it must differ radically from the set-ups out in the real world... Good Luck!
Like
Version 2.03
89bnnnnb
20 October 2006
This program completely altered the dock, and changed which drives are mounted on the desktop. I'm sure there are other problems, but I trashed this junk before it did any more damage. More like a virus than a useful application. Why was this nonsense even released? Worst program I have ever seen on the Mac. Beware...
Like
Version 2.01
1 answer(s)
Orion-Mk-V
Orion-Mk-V
23 October 2006
OSS 3D 1.x was great, but 2.x seems to monster of incompatibility -- presumably because of moving to a systemwide daemon instead of just an iTunes plug-in. I've had it do "weird" things to my machine too, so until there's a 2.x release that's solid (as in I'm not a beta tester), I'll hold off.
Like
Version 2.02
Hauslendale
14 October 2006
Tested this on OS X 10.4.8, G5 Intel Mac. This app does not work. Nothing about it works. Are you guys even testing this before release? I would say not.
Like
Version 2.01
Orion-Mk-V
13 October 2006
Still no worky. Just go back to making it an iTunes plug-in please... that's the only time I "need" better sound output.
Like
Version 2.01
Creativeguy
13 October 2006
I loved this app, but with the latest version of iTunes it hasn't worked since they went to 2.0 and made it a "stand-alone application" This latest version still doesn't work with iTunes 7 on OSX 10.4.8
Like
Version 2.01
Raddle
13 October 2006
2.0.1 dosn't crash the sound preference any more, but it still isn't working in iTunes... and selecting different presets doesn't seem to alter any settings in the main window.
Like
Version 2.01
Juki
13 October 2006
Installed it but just can't get it to launch. I'm running OS 10.3.9. After installing and logging out/back in again as per instructions, my Mac's dock's position changed and so did it's contents......very strange, indeed.
Like
Version 2.01
Raddle
09 October 2006
Ditto CreativeGuy's experience, down to the Sound Preference crash. Hope this gets fixed soon - I miss the sound!
Like
Version 2.0
Easer
09 October 2006
I stopped using iTunes version 7.anything. No matter what I try, it acts somewhat flaky. That being said, I'm not having the problems with OSS 3D that others seem to be reporting. If anything, I find that version 2 does not slow down my system to the extent that version 1 did. In fact, I just turned off Volume Logic because my system was actually slower with that than with this new version of OSS 3D. I also appreciate that this is an update from a version 1 to a version 2, yet the developers are not charging for the update. That's getting pretty rare any more.
Like
Version 2.0
Carbo
05 October 2006
I have pb with OSS 3D and Parallels Desktop : I can't launch a VM in Parallels Destop until I kill the OSS 3D deamon...
Like
Version 2.0
Orion-Mk-V
05 October 2006
Alas, I spoke too soon. For some reason OSS 2.0 was actually working for a spell, but after a restart it's not working. All attempts to make the settings to stick, or for the core audio of the system to play the OSS settings seems in vain. Odd that it worked for about an hour and I COULD hear the sound settings.
Like
Version 2.0
Creativeguy
04 October 2006
This latest version doesn't work with iTunes 7 or 7.0.1 on an Intel Mac and OSX 10.4.8. It will install, the stand-alone application will open, but it will not affect the sound from iTunes one bit. On top of that, trying to click on the Sound System Prefs panel results in an immediate crash. The only upside to this version is that the Uninstaller works perfectly. Too bad, because previous versions were spectacular.
Like
Version 2.0
B4tm4n
04 October 2006
New version still breaks iTunes 7.x If you stop the OSS 3D running then iTunes starts working again.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
B4tm4n
B4tm4n
04 October 2006
Forgot to add it work Ok with VLC, doesn't seem to work with quicktime. Haven't tried it with any other apps. Cheers.
Like
Version 2.0
Orion-Mk-V
04 October 2006
Just upgraded to OSS 2.0 (looks to be a free upgrade for 1.x users). Very nice that it's externally controlled and thus its sound features work for the whole OS now. Sweet.
Like
Version 2.0
Randy-Burleson
14 September 2006
Be advised... Installing the iTunes 7.0 update with this plug in installed will cause iTunes to not work. If you remove this plug in from the iTunes plug in folder , iTunes will work again.
Like
Version 1.62
Specmode
15 July 2006
Now we MacIntel owners can finally enjoy OSS 3D goodness as it was meant to be! Kudos to the developer for quickly eliminating two showstopper bugs once he had access to an Intel machine for testing.
Like
Version 1.62
Specmode
13 July 2006
Cross-post from VersionTracker since it keeps giving me problems (and I like MU more anyway). Audio CD burning on my MacBook Pro does not produce usable discs with 'Apply to CD burning' enabled (discs contain nothing but loud static). (already reported on VT, but reiterated here in case someone else knows what's going on): Selecting a preset has no effect on EQ or other sound settings; manually adjusting said settings produces the expected effect. Persists across a complete removal and reinstallation of plugin. All that being said, ratings pending resolution of these issues (I'm not going to ding a program based on problems with an architecture the developer isn't even able to directly test on!).
Like
Version 1.6
3 answer(s)
Demos
Demos
15 July 2006
I just acquired an intel mac, so I will be testing this more... sorry about these issues. dmitry
Like
Version 1.61
Demos
Demos
15 July 2006
The problem you've described is eliminated in 1.62.
Like
Version 1.62
Matthk777
Matthk777
13 September 2006
The problem you're having (presets not having any effect) is simply due to the demo period having expired. I had the same issues. I then dug out ALL the OSS3D bits from my MacBook Pro, reinstalled the demo and voila! Musical bliss (for the next 14 days) I'll def. buy OSS3D when an iTunes 7 version comes out. PS: iTunes 7 is ug-er-lee! cheers, http://www.matthk.net
Like
Version 1.62
S-P-L-A-T-!
11 July 2006
recently i test this plug-in... and iTunes take until 50-60 % of my CPU cycles!! a lot... just for fun!
Like
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
Orion-Mk-V
Orion-Mk-V
11 July 2006
Confirmed. I'd assumed it was iTunes that as it became bloatware was slowing down, but discovered it was OSS 3D that was the CPU hog. I love the plug-in, but it's not worth the cycles on my aging G4.
Like
Version 1.6
Bebopredux
09 May 2006
There is a factor here that a lot of people seem to exclude. What speakers are you using? Nothing will make your PB sound like a 500 Watt RMS 7.1 speaker system. Same if you have $35 cheapo 2.1 setup. Get a good speaker system FIRST! Having said that I have a Logitech z5500 system with 10" subwoofer and it rattles the windows in my office at home. I am ALWAYS trying to get a better sound though. iTunes EQ presets are OK but, if you have "soundcheck" checked in the "playback" preferences, you don't get the full "oomph" of your setup. I uncheck this. I usually play around with the "volume adjustment" when you right click a song on iTunes and "get info". Be careful though, you can distort the sound. Each song is different. I have been playing around with OSS3d for a week now. Firstly, $25 is too much IMO. I have Volume Logic and, at $14.95 it offers a better approach that OSS3d. Oss3d should be used by those that have poor speakers and want them to sound a little better, spacious at lower volumes. I founf that using OSS3d on my G5 with a Revolution 5.1 sound card and the z5500's that it was simply too much. The 3d settings and "enviroments" end up distorting the sound and washing things out. The only way I could get a good sound was by pretty much shutting everything off and using the "rock" or 1 or 2 other presets. Honestly, if you have a laptop and want better sound, spend another $25 and get Logitech's 2.1 speakers. If you have a speaker setup that is a little more than that perhaps OSS3d MIGHT help you obtain a better sound but, really, just having good speakers and finding the right "fit" for them via the iTunes EQ ( it lets you make your own presets) does a good job. Sometimes the best sound I get (and I push my speakers relentlessly) is to shut off iTunes' EQ and push the volume adjustment up as many db's as your speakers can handle. Oss3d has it's place but, not for my setup. To each his own I guess.
Like
Version 1.51
1 answer(s)
Jeric01
Jeric01
14 August 2006
this shareware is good. im using a macbook hooked up to an old stereo mini component through the headphone jack. The best setting for me is the pull down menu - 02 clean touch. Go to General tab and disable the ff:3d surround sound, extended space, extended fx, extended fidelity, reverb and ambience and leave the rest checked and you will have a better sounding itunes system
Like
Version 1.62
Alanr01
12 April 2006
Interesting software, which does what it promises. Unfortunately, I was looking for something to replace Volume Logic on my new Intel Mini, and this does not seem to be able to do quite the same thing. The difference made by the controls in the various tabs is incredible, with the exception of the limiting/compression, which cannot seem to even out great volume jumps from track to track (I've tried squashing all dynamics out of the music successfully, but tracks ripped from different CDs still pop out annoyingly). The "fidelity" tab works absolute magic, adding depth, extending highs, etc., and the bass controls (including speaker cabinet resonance correction) have really tightened the bottom end (a bit boxy and muddy) on my HK SoundSticks. NB the developers have steadfastly refused to answer emails (three of them) with questions about the plug-in not showing after install (fixed in the following release) and about setting up the controls. Their total lack of care for my questions has lost them a customer despite the magic the software performs - I don't plan on registering - and badly impacts my overall review of the pakcage.
Like
Version 1.51
2 answer(s)
Demos
Demos
07 May 2006
hi, I don't know what you're talking about, we respond to all of our email promptly. I suggest to check your spam filter. If you look through the list of reviews here, you will see that nobody ever mentioned anything about that. We also take feedback from users and read requests and try to implement them for FREE in next releases. dmitry
Like
Version 1.51
Alanr01
Alanr01
11 May 2006
No replies in my junk mailbox or anywhere else. I've disabled the software....
Like
Version 1.51
Darth-Brooks
07 April 2006
w00t! Confirmed! OSS 3D now works with the M-Audio FireWire 410.
Like
Version 1.51
Darth-Brooks
23 March 2006
OSS 3D does NOT work when sound is routed through an external audio device. For example, I have an M-Audio FireWire 410 and OSS 3D has no effect whatsoever on the music going to my headphones.
Like
Version 1.4
2 answer(s)
Demos
Demos
23 March 2006
I contacted m-audio to see if they will test it for us with latest drivers, please stand by for a response from them. Thanks, dmitry
Like
Version 1.4
Demos
Demos
07 April 2006
New release of OSS 3D 1.5 is now compatible with your audio card. dmitry
Like
Version 1.51
Ynot
22 March 2006
Installs, but is not visible anywhere in iTunes. Tried uninstalling it again and re-installing to no avail.
Like
Version 1.4
3 answer(s)
Demos
Demos
22 March 2006
Does OSS 3D appear under Window toolbar? If so, you just select that, and window will pop up! dmitry
Like
Version 1.4
Ynot
Ynot
22 March 2006
No, but using the earlier version on your website works great. Maybe it is because my machine is not Intel. But, considering it is universal, it really should not matter. Oh well. This version works.
Like
Version 1.4
Demos
Demos
23 March 2006
Should work no matter what. Please email me directly via our website, we'll figure out what's going on with your system. dmitry
Like
Version 1.4
Gmax
04 March 2006
@ HELLOALLAN: an uninstaller is included in the download and places it in the apps folder by default.
Like
Version 1.3.6
User-Name
28 January 2006
Somehow I don't like it and going to stick to Volume Logic. The irritating thing is, despite a written statement in its license, an UNINSTALLER is NOT included in the down, nor an instruction on how to get rid of the add-on. That's irresponsible to say the least. Sigh.
Like
Version 1.3.6
2 answer(s)
Demos
Demos
28 January 2006
Have you checked /Applications/OSS 3D Uninstaller As far as your comments regarding VolumeLogic: I think if you don't understand what OSS 3D is about, you shouldn't be using it. that's all. dmitry
Like
Version 1.3.6
Demos
Demos
28 January 2006
On top of that, if you reviewed Documentation it explains how to do it manually. I guess people stopped reading in this country! dmitry
Like
Version 1.3.6
Jackonmacupdate
24 January 2006
Just installed v1.3.5. The Cylon problem is still there. To re-cap, when a song ends and a new song begins, the music gets this echo'y Cylon-like reverb. It also sounds slowed down. After a few seconds the distortion disappears and the song plays normal... until the next song when the same thing happens. Hope they fix this as, other than this bug, I really the richness that OSS 3D brings to music.
Like
Version 1.3.5
Jackonmacupdate
17 January 2006
Just installed 1.3.1 after 1.3.0 stopped working with the advent of iTunes 6.0.2. 1.3.1 seemed to work okay, but when a song ends and a new one begins I get this weird almost tinny Cylon effect on the new song. Hope they fix it soon as I really enjoy the usual effect OSS 3D brings to music.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Orion-Mk-V
17 January 2006
Works amazingly well for me to create a wide range of equalizations and spatial variations. It really improves the playback on a Powerbook's built-in speakers, and of course the externals I plug into. Very slick.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Zymverb
17 January 2006
This app installed fine. 1. Made iTunes dysfunctional on 10.4.4, It 6.02. go to next song stalled. repeat song broke 2. sound quality On Powerbook speakers, there was improvement. On real speakers, simply overode the studio set- added muffle, or pumped up bass or muddied something else. No perceived spatialization, just volume adjestments in each speaker. If it worked better, might be an interesting toy on the laptop speakers. On real speakers, added nothing desirable. 3. Uninstaller is broken. Manual uninstall required. They did tell you where they put ther files, which was good.
Like
Version 1.3.1