Back to Mouseposé page
Mouseposé free download for Mac

Mouseposé Reviews

4.0
03 April 2019

Spotlight your mouse movement for presentations and training.

Rob-h
24 January 2011

Most helpful

I'm a little confused by the license options. Download it from the Mac App Store and it's £9.99 which according to the App Store rules allows you to run it on any Mac you control in your household. Download the same product from the developers website and it prompts you to purchase it for either 16.99USD (£10.61) for a single computer or 29.99USD (£18.73) for up to 3 computers in your household. Also, it's tricky to get a feel for the software when you have to restart it (and go thru all the license rigmarole) every 5 minutes and have a nag banner on the screen. One or two days unrestricted use of the product would enable me to get a better feel for how it fits in with my daily workflow. Good app though - lots of features. Have been using Isolator up until now.
Like (3)
Version 3.2

Read 35 Mouseposé User Reviews

Rate this app:

ahmedhatata-ah
12 April 2019
Why most people talking about utilities and forget this amazing application, must have to boost your performance and productivity on mac , for presentations and screen casts, doing step by step instructions, this application is outstanding, gives you the whole control on your mouse , highlight, focus , dimimg the screen , colours and it is fully customizable . Many others offers mouse customizations tools but this is the most amazing and convenient app in all .
Like
Version 4.0
steffen-7
04 April 2019
A must-have for presentations
Like
Version 4.0
Schlingel
11 May 2015
Highlights the cursor and shows keyboard shortcuts. Great for presentations and workshops.
Like
Version 3.2.7
schmelding
10 October 2014
Just a head's up: This page says it's $4.99, but it's currently $9.99 in the App Store.
Like
Version 3.2.6
gryphonent
08 July 2014
Update fails during expanding. Cannot download the full version from the website as the developer is only linking to the AppStore these days. Very frustrating.
Like (2)
Version 3.2.5
1 answer(s)
Magosilvan
Magosilvan
28 July 2014
If you contact Boinx Support you'll quickly receive a link to update to last version and your License code, in case it were requested again.
Like
fractalpillar
21 March 2013
I made an account just to write this review and WARN people that the app tries to access your Aaddress Book when you install it. This app is some kind of trojan-ware BS that is just harvesting your data for spam and maybe backdoor-ing viruses
Like
Version 3.2.3
7 answer(s)
Yogi-Coach
Yogi-Coach
04 April 2013
There's an explanation for this on their forum: http://www.boinx.com/forum/#/discussion/comment/3814 If you're using Mountain Lion you'll receive a prompt for access to your contacts. If you have already given access you can revoke it in the Security & Privacy System Preferences (Privacy tab). I encourage you to rethink your review in light of this explanation. Boinx Software are a well established Mac company and certainly don't distribute "trojan-ware".
Like (3)
OhEssex
OhEssex
07 July 2014
So just make the default the non-intrusive kind. It makes a negative statement when you assume permission like that...
Like
OhEssex
OhEssex
07 July 2014
Obviously my comment (which, in the 21st century, still can't be edited) is intended for the developer.
Like
Yogi-Coach
Yogi-Coach
07 July 2014
Your review makes a very serious accusation which, to the best of my knowledge, is completely unfounded. If you have concerns about something that an app is doing (in this case asking for permission to access the Contacts) I encourage you to contact the developer directly and give them a chance to respond.
Like (2)
OhEssex
OhEssex
07 July 2014
Curious. I'm not making a "seriously accusation" about anybody (assuming your comment was directed at me vs the original poster). I'm just saying that if you don't want to tick off the paranoid folks out there then just set the defaults accordingly. It's a sensible, generic comment that applies for any developer. If the developer wants to chime in here to defend his product's defaults then he's welcome, of course.
Like
Yogi-Coach
Yogi-Coach
07 July 2014
Mmueck - Thanks for the clarification and my comment was intended for the person who originally posted the review and not for you.
Like
Yogi-Coach
Yogi-Coach
07 July 2014
Mmueck - p.s. Point well taken. Apple allows users to control access to the Contacts and they can say yes or no based on their comfort level.
Like
RJC.NJNYC
18 September 2011
Download link for v3.2.3 not working, error 404 Not Found. I tried to update via apps software update, but error came up. I tried to download via developers website and again error 404 Not Found. Very frustrating.
Like
Version 3.2.3
Maylbu
11 July 2011
They changed price AGAIN. App store is now $3.99, from .$99 a couple of days ago. How many times a week or a month are they going to change? can you trust a software from a company like that?
Like
Version 3.2.2
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
08 September 2011
Apparently as many times as they wish. From what I can see, it's now $16.99. (Says $16.95 on MU, but their site says $16.99.)
Like (2)
Maylbu
11 July 2011
Nice potential app, pricing is confusing, at first I found $16 was over priced, waited a couple of weeks and bought it for $.99, yes $1, on App store although the developer's website still shows $16. Today's update 3.2.2 here, Appstore still 3.2.1. Still buggy, needs some work.
Like
Version 3.2.2
Arby2008
11 March 2011
I've been looking at quite of few of these programs, and this is certainly one of the nice ones. A few unique features. Depending on your needs, you might find that others, like PinPoint might be better for you. That is the one I ended up choosing. Big price delta between the two as well.
Like (1)
Version 3.2
Rob-h
24 January 2011
I'm a little confused by the license options. Download it from the Mac App Store and it's £9.99 which according to the App Store rules allows you to run it on any Mac you control in your household. Download the same product from the developers website and it prompts you to purchase it for either 16.99USD (£10.61) for a single computer or 29.99USD (£18.73) for up to 3 computers in your household. Also, it's tricky to get a feel for the software when you have to restart it (and go thru all the license rigmarole) every 5 minutes and have a nag banner on the screen. One or two days unrestricted use of the product would enable me to get a better feel for how it fits in with my daily workflow. Good app though - lots of features. Have been using Isolator up until now.
Like (3)
Version 3.2
Kranbollin
07 October 2010
A useful tool would be one that highlights the cursor on the presentation screen, not just on the computer's screen. Put another way, if I'm giving a presentation using my laptop connected to a projector, and not mirroring, I want to be able to highlight the cursor on the PROJECTED image, not just on my laptop screen. No application, including this one, can perform this function. Correct me if I'm wrong. The closest to it is in PowerPoint, Pointer Options, where you can turn the cursor into a pen and highlight things on the PROJECTED image, not just the laptop screen. What is the point of highlighting things on the laptop screen? Am I going to turn it around to show the class?
Like
Version 3.1
1 answer(s)
Arby2008
Arby2008
11 March 2011
Not sure I understand you, but if you are like me, and I use Keynote in the same way, when I project on the second screen, I move my mouse on the second screen and point to things. Works fine. I enhance my pointer with PinPopint, but I figure Mouseposé does the same thing.
Like
gcoghill
29 October 2008
Just a quick demo proved this to be a well thought out app. If you are looking for software to draw attention to your mouse pointer, display clicks, double-clicks, right-clicks, keystrokes (including modifier keys), Mouseposé has it all. And the different indicators have separate customizable hotkeys which can also be paired to trigger simultaneously or not. Price seems reasonable as well. Thumbs up!
Like
Version 3.1b5
k0gg
28 February 2008
Version 3 is a massive improvement for me. I use iChat screen-sharing to help my Dad use his iMac. Version 3 of Mousepose allows me to show and have sounds for the mouse clicks independently of the 'spotlight' focus on the cursor feature. Left and right clicks are shown with different colours which all helps when showing someone what to do. The new window focus morphing into the cursor 'spotlight' is very smart and a great improvement that I had never even considered. All this means that I have upgraded to the family license without a second thought.
Like
Version 3.0
Garlicbreath
28 February 2008
Won't launch on my intel core 2 duo iMac 10.4.11
Like
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
flo-muc
flo-muc
28 February 2008
Sorry about that! Please just download the zip again. Due to some build problem the first 3.0 version did not work on Tiger. It should now work fine. Cheerio, Florian Albrecht Boinx Software.
Like
Version 3.0
Garlicbreath
Garlicbreath
29 February 2008
Thanks. Works now.
Like
Version 3.0
iGaucho
28 February 2008
This is a free upgrade for MacHeisters. I just installed the update and it kept my license. It just gives me the option to get a family license if I want. Thanks Boinx!
Like
Version 3.0
macupdate-290
08 May 2007
I wish you could set the size and place of the keystroke display feature on the screen, similar to the way synergy does it (well, used to, I haven't used it for a while...)
Like
Version 2.5.1
MAchintrucbidule459
23 January 2007
Nicely done I especially like the red dot+concentric circle for clicks. The shortcut display fit me well too but if I'm using the follow mouse feature from snapz pro that doesn't do the job. Would be nice if it could follow the mouse (as an option of course), with specified pixels under the mouse... etc.
Like
Version 2.5.1
collin-2
15 January 2007
This really looks like it'll do the job for the Photoshop tutorials I'm going to be recording. You may, however, want to change the price here since it's now $14.99 to register.
Like
Version 2.5.1
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
15 January 2007
Done, thanks for the 'heads up'.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Fvdg
27 September 2006
This is great! I'm a software trainer and the addition of showing keys is VERY nice indeed
Like
Version 2.5
Oliver-Breidenbach
14 July 2006
Moe nice reviews of Mouseposé: Softpedia: "A great program that puts other similar ones to shame. It's not only the functionality but the elegance and good looks that make it a winner. After all, a presentation is supposed to look good, and Mouseposé if anything, will make it look even better." ExtraBITS: "Mouseposé 2 incorporates a couple of valuable improvements." Adam Pratt of Adobe on his blog Scratch Disk: "It's really a great teaching/training tool."
Like
Version 2.0
Oliver-Breidenbach
14 July 2006
Upgrade Policy: Since there seems to be a bit of confusion about this, let me quickly explain our position: Mouseposé 1.x was free. It required a license which was mailed to you at no cost when you filled out a form on the web. Mouseposé 2 now is 9.95 for everyone because nobody has paid for it before. 9.95 is hardly a steep investment. In many places, it won't even get you a decent six pack. Oliver Breidenbach Boinx Software.
Like
Version 2.0
Fransik
11 July 2006
Version 2.0 is now shareware, 1.3 was free.
Like
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Pankisen
Pankisen
11 July 2006
Well, not for me anyway. As far as I remember I payed for it and for certain got a license number by mail from Boinx Software. And, of course, I'm not very happy to pay a second time to say the least.
Like
Version 2.0
Oliver-Breidenbach
Oliver-Breidenbach
11 July 2006
Mouseposé 1.x was free, but required a license key which was mailed to you at no cost. US$9.95 is hardly a steep investment, about as much as 3 packs of cigarettes or a six pack...
Like
Version 2.0
Pankisen
Pankisen
11 July 2006
Well, all right then - my mistake. But why issue a license number for free software? All the same - I don't mind the price. It wont even buy a sixpack where I live. It's just that, due to the license number, i was to beleive I payed for it. But in the end, I think we both learned something from this.
Like
Version 2.0
Pankisen
11 July 2006
My license key for Mouseposé 1.3 doesn't seem to be valid for version 2.0. Do I have to buy a new license för this upgrade?
Like
Version 2.0
ianianianian
24 February 2006
Nice little program, but I have a few suggestions - First, it would be nice if the é actually displayed as such, because it is quite consistently something else in a lot of places. Second, if it faded in quickly, rather than just turning on and off like a switch, it would look better. Third, it would be a lot easier if you could paste in the license code rather than having to type it out. ( on that note, the program said it was valid when I still had two characters to type in. Odd.) Fourth, as was already said, it would be nice if it was invisible - No dock icon, no menu bar item. Fifth, there isn't much point in being able to activate it from the menu, because if you can access the menu item, you must have use of your mouse, no? Aside from that, it's a great program, and I'm sure I will get lots of use out of it.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Oliver-Breidenbach
Oliver-Breidenbach
05 March 2006
Ian, First, it would be nice if the é actually displayed as such, because it is quite consistently something else in a lot of places. Sorry about that. We surely would like to have it read Mouseposé here as well. Second, if it faded in quickly, rather than just turning on and off like a switch, it would look better. Good suggestion. It's on the todo list. Third, it would be a lot easier if you could paste in the license code rather than having to type it out. ( on that note, the program said it was valid when I still had two characters to type in. Odd.) The behaviour you describe is indeed odd. If you have your license copied to the pasteboard (using Command-C) before you enter the registration dialog, it will be recognised automatically. We are working on a web page to illustrate this. Fourth, as was already said, it would be nice if it was invisible - No dock icon, no menu bar item. It is very complicated to have a cocoa application which does not either appear in the Dock or as a Menu item. We are certainly looking for options. Fifth, there isn't much point in being able to activate it from the menu, because if you can access the menu item, you must have use of your mouse, no? You can alway use the hotkey which is F1 by default but can be set using the prefs. Enjoy! Oliver Breidenbach Boinx Software
Like
Version 1.3
Magosilvan
24 February 2006
Silent, great little app (as others of Boinx) and it's free! Very usefull in presentation/education. Never had problems with it.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
30 April 2005
Just as other said (but I want to put emphasize on their comments) : - should be a preference pane, juste like ex-posé. Dock icon is useless, menu icon is useless too, the only *problem* if providing access to... the settings, aka a preference pane. - should not display pref window ("hey I'm here ! - well, you ought to cos' I asked you to, no need to tell") my own contribution, a little bug : on effect triggering, the circle appears a fraction of seconds at its previous position - useless glitch Also, it would be nice if the effect was soft as exposé does. Anyway, very nice utility.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
15 April 2005
It's a great app, but as others have said, put it in a preference pane. One other thing: I have to hold down my function button on my iBook to get the hotkey to work. If I don't already have something assigned to F7 for example, why is it this way??
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
06 February 2005
mousepose should be made as preference pane. period.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
01 February 2005
Love it! But... 1. Needs to be a background app, perhaps a menu item 2. Why must the preferences always pop up when the programs starts? 3. Why require registration on a freeware program? In the next version, please, address these, expecially #1
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
paulsrandall
paulsrandall
24 February 2006
I set the Preferences not to display from within the Accounts Preference Pane under Login Items and do not even know that it is there. I have my own issue. The name Mouseposé does not play nice with Little Snitch. Little Snitch keeps asking if Mouseposé can connect to the internet on every reboot. It appears to be the last character in the name that causes this to occur.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
19 January 2005
Bill is very right about that app might be pretty much useful when being background task, not visible prog. Anyway, very very nice app.
Like
Version 1.0
Bill-B
18 January 2005
Nice app. Don't see why a Dock icon is needed. Once set up, it would be great if it ran like a background daemon.
Like
Version 1.0
Dbrennan
16 January 2005
Have been running this nice little utility for a week now. It runs absolutely flawlessly and does the job beautifully. My only niggle, and that's all it is, is the file "gmon.out" left in the Finder after each use. Easily deleted. But why is it there?
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
11 January 2005
Nice idea and worked well for the first few tries. Now it's putting up white squares on my desktop when I open (and then close) the Settings window. Time for a 1.0.1 version, I guess...
Like
Version 1.0
Wanderer
10 January 2005
I use a similar utility called Pinpoint which allows me to have anything, not just F keys as the hotkey. Mouseposé is a bit jerky but it is free!
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 January 2005
Wanderer, thats for the reference to Pinpoint. Never heard of it before, but it is great. I especially like the circle set to a light grey for a subtle halo effect.
Like
Version 1.0
Fahjr56
Fahjr56
11 July 2006
Why buy version 2 when version 1.3 is free and seems to do the job just fine, I mean just what extra do you get with version 2 other then the capability of drawing a red circle (or two or three around the mouse It don't seem worth $9.95 Also I agree with everyone else it would be better off putting it in the preference pane rather then a dock icon it don't make sense.
Like
Version 2.0