Back to PDFpenPro page
PDFpenPro free download for Mac

PDFpenPro Reviews

11.1
10 July 2019

Advanced PDF toolkit for HTML conversion and more.

Getsomesauce
23 October 2008

Most helpful

PDFpenPro is a powerhouse of thought and action, but its inclusion into your workflow may prove to be a frustrating experience. For the money, PDFpenPro (and PDFpen) offers tremendous value compared to other paid offerings such as Acrobat, PDFClerk, and PDF Studio while offering tremendous abilities over the free alternatives such as Apple's Preview or Skim. Pros and Exciting Nuances: 1) The addition of an OCR engine to the program is a powerful move by SmileOnMyMac. No other program aside from Acrobat has even ventured into this realm. 2) It's applescriptable. 3) Little things - This is the only PDF program I've found that correctly selects/highlights PDF text when the page has multiple columns. 4) It has the ability to edit text that is already in the PDF as well as draw in your own text boxes to add text of your own. 5) It's a Universal binary. 6) Incredible tech support. So incredible, it's practically emotional. 7) Library Pallet - Collection of commonly used shapes and signatures. 8) Primitive layer control. That's a good thing. 9) It has the ability to make an integrated image transparent. Totally genius. 10) Very nicely prepared and thorough help system. While wrought with exciting capabilities, Apple's bomb.app (Remember? From 10.0? Google it.) is occasionally more productive. You'll need to exercise patience save often. Cons and Annoyances: 1) It's buggy. It's Buggy McBugbug. It's bugtastic. It's Bugfest 2008. The bugs are manageable and you'll come up with workarounds, but they're there and numerous. 2) No ability to scroll from one page to the next. You can scroll through a single page, or scroll through the thumbnails, but no scrolling through an entire multi-page document using the scrollwheel or slider. 3) Can't scale the document size. 4) No ability to crop an image. (Yes, there's a menu option called "Crop Image", but it just scales an image without letting you crop it...and yes, you can crop an entire page, but not a separate integrated image.) 5) Can't zoom by creating a zoom window. KnowwhatImean? Sure, You can hit the "+" or "-" buttons to zoom in or out, scroll around the document, then hit those buttons again, but wouldn't it be nice to be able to select a portion of your PDF and have it zoom right in/out for you? 6) Very, very, very limited ability to handle PDF permissions. 7) Very limited control over printing options. Want to scale an image to fit the entire page when printing? You can't. Want to print non-contiguous pages from your PDF (in one step)? You can't. Sadness reigns. 8) The OCR engine WILL crash on you. The longer the document, the higher the chances. 9) It's slow. Sluggish, like a wet sponge. It's Sloe McSlow. It appears to only be able to use one processor, and suffers for that. 10) No way to turn off those pesky page numbers that appear at the bottom right of every document. On the whole, I love this program. It's chock full of such sweet milk and honey that it makes me happy to be alive. However, you'll only keep your sanity when using PDFpenPro if your PDF workflow includes a stable companion such as Preview or Skim. I think it offers a good value for it's cost and features, but that's just my vote. By the way, if you want PDFpenPro, go to their website and start to purchase PDFpen (non-Pro) and it'll offer to sell you (also known as "upselling") PDFpenPro for $90...which is $10 off. Happy PDFing.
Like (27)
Version 4.0.1

Read 116 PDFpenPro User Reviews

Rate this app:

Drdul
03 September 2019
PDFpenPro is the best alternative I found to Acrobat Pro (which I want to get away from as only the subscription version will work on macOS 10.15 Catalina). I looked at a bunch of different PDF editors, and only PDFpenPro has every feature of Acrobat Pro that I depend on. Pro tip: Download the free ebook Take Control of PDFpen, which does a great job of explaining how to use every feature. At $125 it's not inexpensive, but I managed to get it at 20% off (I found the page on Smile's website offering a 20% discount through a Google search, and was pleased to discover that the coupon for PDFpen also worked for PDFpenPro). Annual upgrades are $30, which if I upgrade every year works out to a reasonable $2.50 per month.
Like
Version 11.1
Andy49
19 August 2019
11.1 does not open on Sierra anymore. Support is terrible. No response in 3 days. They need to update to Apple's new protocols.
Like
Version 11.1
Alvin-H
29 June 2019
Yet another up date... that change version number but now "major" features , only need more money from costumer, I used this app form v6, v7, v8, v9, skip v10 and this time I'll try another app. small change for new price, this price not fit my bill. I'm leaving..
Like
Version 11.0.3
MoirSomeone
31 May 2019
So bloody expensive and yet when I tried converting a web page to a P.D.F. document it barely did a better job than one or more free online converters do!
Like (1)
Version 11.0.2
Mindplay
16 May 2019
Another spring, another major version. Holy cow!!! Look at that shit!!! It's so radically improved since last major version, I can't quite recognize it.
Like (7)
Version 11.0
gryphonent
16 May 2019
I've been using PDFpen since version 1 and upgraded diligently up to version 9. I skipped version 10 when I realized that Smile forks out a new upgrade each April/May for $30 and that the new features were meeehh at least. Sadly, version 11 hasn't changed that. Split view and font bar isn't something I really need. Also, the competition has become more and more interesting with PDFExpert. I'm back and forth between the two apps, but given that I've registered version 9 pf PDFpen and PDFExpert around the same time.... my bang for the buck has definitely been better with PDFExpert. Especially as they keep on improving the app without asking for $$$ (for exmaple, introducing editing with version 2).
Like (6)
Version 11.0
2 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
16 May 2019
Right there with you.
Like (2)
Philfrance
Philfrance
20 May 2019
+1
Probably the last time I upgrade this app.
Too bad that PDFExpert as no OCR, and no export to word/excel/powerpoint
Like (2)
Esekel
05 March 2019
Have been using it for years. Works well, but i dont like how the company pushes their updates. I have updated many times only to find out it was a paid update and having to spend time to reinstall the old version.
Like (2)
Version 10.2.2
Jimw
20 February 2019
Having seen a number of PDF products either released or upgraded recently and many of these costing between $10 & $100 triggered this review: I am an early adopter of PDFpen and upgraded when PDFpenPro was released, I still remember when Smile Software was nothing but a small kiosk at MacWorld., which is where I first purchased it, Since then may other less capable 'competitors ' have come and gone often with great ideas and promises but with little to show for them. Smile has continually strived to improve this product, which I regard as the 'Swiss Army Knife' of PDF tools, and continually releases free updates and occasional major fee based upgrades, often spaced years apart. I have always received satisfactory support from them That said as oly having an ocassional need to edit or modify PDF'' the GUI can sometimes be challenging to deploy the exact tool you are looking for. However that is almost always with any product that is as versatile as this is. If I was a frequent user I suspect any interface challenges would disappear within a few weeks of use, So after years of perusing the 'competition', I feel that if users are interested in serious PDF editing, the have two choices. They can either pickup a bunch of products, which may do a few tasks very well, but be left with a bunch of piecemeal Apps that do not work together,; or they can purchase this product and have a completely integrated PDF toolbox that has a long track record with decent support and maintenance that will handle most any PDF task as well or better than the competition. The choice is yours. But from what I have seen, in the end the piecemeal approach will likely cost about the same if not more then just taking a deep breath and deciding to purchase this product. That said, I am strictly a satisfied user with no connection to the company or anyone else associated with the company. I have not been compensated in any manner for this review.
Like (2)
Version 10.2.1
thojac65
06 January 2019
I no longer need this application
Like
Version 10.2.1
Nicke.Martin
28 November 2018
g0000111dd
Like
Version 10.2.1
Giant-Microbe
31 October 2018
I was tired of the horrific interface and price gouging tendencies with Acrobat and have settled on PDFpenPro after trying several others. I think the price is fair for all it offers and I have not missed Acrobat one bit since making the jump. It is a clean installing application and does not feel like a "second class" citizen on my MacBook Pro. I have found myself delighted when I need to do something different to the many PDFs I work with and it just works. Of course your use case may differ for some specific work types. I read and process many PDFs with some production of PDFs from scans or word processing environments and have been very pleased. I will continue to upgrade at what seems to me to be a very reasonable pace and price.
Like
Version 10.2
gsteer
08 June 2018
Product is OK, business practices stink
Within 3 months of purchasing PDFPenPro, a new version was offered, for US$30. I've never had a vendor that doesn't offer free upgrades for purchasers within 12 months. Now the older version just doesn't work at all anymore. On principle I will buy a competitor product.
Like (1)
Version 10.1
1 answer(s)
Smile
Smile
13 June 2018
We offer free upgrades to those who purchased on or after January 1, 2018. Upgrading is not required. Older versions remain available from our download page if someone did an in-app update to the newer version and wishes to revert: https://smilesoftware.com/PDFpenPro/download
Like (3)
dwp-1
11 April 2018
This is a great pdf editing, annotating, OCR, etc. Smile Software does appear to work hard a making this a better app by squashing bugs and adding features. None of the new features are important to me yet I feel obligated to upgrade or I'll get behind when the next update comes along in about a year. So I spent the $30 on nothing of any interest to me. That aside I have not found a better PDF app with the numerous features provided by PDFpenPro that would make me even slightly consider switching. SmileSoftware has been around a long time and for me that is important. I want to work with an app that is going to be here still developing and adding features, six months from now. It seems there are many new PDF editing app's on the market. I am willing to bet 10 to 1 that 9 out of 10 won't be here a year from now. Umm, those are some weird odd's. Keep up the great works SmileSoftware
Like (1)
Version 10.0
Dr-Sparks
11 April 2018
PDFpenPro 9.2.3 of 07 Nov 2017 is no longer the newest version. I just got this in an email:

"It's that time again. Time for a big app launch with the features you've been asking for all year. We're proud to announce … PDFpenPro 10 … Download v10 to upgrade.. A single user upgrade is only US $30."

Just a few months ago I paid $40 to upgrade from 8 to 9. Has Smile added itself to the ever-growing list of developers with ever more frequent paid upgrades with hard-to-find differences and documentation (user manuals) lagging years behind?
Like (1)
Version 9.2.3
2 answer(s)
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
11 April 2018
I downloaded the free trial version of PDFpenPro 10. This message popped up:

"Get PDFpen Tips & Special Offers
Downloading now. Please sign up for our PDFpen Tips and Smileworthy Offers mailing lists." — So I gave them my email address and what they returned to my inbox was this:

"Join the PDFpen 8 Tips email list". — Exactly the same as they sent me in October 2016 when I paid for the upgrade from 7 to 8 and in November 2017 after upgrading from 8 to 9. If there are so many new features why do Smile Software consider version 8 tips to be adequate also for 9 and 10 users?

P.S. The 8 to 9 upgrade was also $30, but they added local VAT so my total bill was 33 Euro, equivalent to US $40.
Like (1)
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
11 April 2018
When I confirmed my subscription they sent me this:

"PDFpen 8 Tips
Thanks for registering for the PDFpen email list!
The Help is the best guide to everything that PDFpen can do and the video tutorials are a great intro."

That Help link is all about version 8 and earlier:
https://smilesoftware.com/help/pdfpen8/help/index.html

However I discovered that if I replace the 8 in the URL with 9 or 10 there are indeed newer help pages:
https://smilesoftware.com/help/pdfpen9/help/index.html
https://smilesoftware.com/help/pdfpen10/help/index.html

The video tutorials are updated, too:
https://smilesoftware.com/pdfpen/support

Also I found free versions of "Take Control of PDFpen" 6, 7, 8, 9 & 10:
https://www.takecontrolbooks.com/search?keywords=PDFpen
Now that's nice!

Like (2)
l-bradac
23 March 2018
Nice app. I would very like to have more OCR and exporting languages, for example my Czech language. Thanks
Like
Version 9.2.3
Meitnik
17 March 2018
Can anyone tell me what OCR engine they are using. I discovered it does a better job than Prizmo does with mixed languages and handles underlined printed text better too. However, there are number of missing Mac UI problems I found thats putting me off. The manual needs tweaking to be more clearer about how to do stuff. Do they offer cross-grades, pen to pro? Just for the OCR I might do PDFpen for now. Thanks.
Like
Version 9.2.3
1 answer(s)
Meitnik
Meitnik
17 March 2018
oh, mystery pricing on cross-grade, really? I should know before I do a cross-grade. Never seen that done in 30 yrs. Nope moving on.
Like
Rikyman
04 March 2018
Love it, at least is PDF Pen Pro is not a subscription service, very powerful app for Mac and a good alternative to some other apps.
Like
Version 9.2.3
Gary30
08 November 2017
If I want to upgrade from 8 to 9, I cannot just do so. I need to download the new version and it will tell me the price. Why won't they just say the price before I (presumably) enter a bunch of information. Probably because the upgrade price comes with enough sticker shock to turn people away. Better to get them "into the process" first. Such is the thinking of the kind of marketing puke who probably came up with this lame upgrade system. Or maybe a kind person will post the price here. Or not. (I don't need version 9 but I might go for it--if the price is right.)

p.s. Yes. Multiple 5 star reviews from new reviewers on one day is pretty suspicious. Another pukey marketing decision. I suspect.
Like (1)
Version 9.2.3
macspectrum
07 November 2017
if u want to edit PDF or scan/edit OCR foiles on your mac PDFpen pro 9.2 is a 'must have' program !
Like
Version 9.2.3
Rob-h
08 September 2017
Wow, three people who all joined on September 7th, all left a brief review of one product, all gave it 5-Stars... That's amazing ;-)
Like (2)
Version 9.2
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
08 September 2017
Better call Ripley's!
Like (2)
theprin
07 September 2017
Long time user. Easy to use. Signature --no prob--fill in questionnaire--no prob Good customer service
Like
Version 9.2
delshome
07 September 2017
I’m a retired guy dealing with everyday household material and have used PDFpenPro daily for many years. PDFpen permits me to reduce the size of downloaded PDF manuals; for example, remove foreign language sections plus inserting extra pages with model and serial numbers. I add clarifications comments to poorly written instructions. I easily combine photos with word documents when building my own PDF documents. Most importantly, I can rearrange the order of PDF pages if new material needs to be added.
Like
Version 9.2
photo-17
07 September 2017
I have used PDFPen Pro for several years. It's an indispensable part of my toolbox. Revisions, comments, markups are all part of my daily routine. PDFPen Pro makes it a breeze. With each revision it only becomes more useful.
Like
Version 9.2
johngagardner
07 September 2017
Indispensable, PDFPenPro is a robust PDF tool so far does everything I've asked of it and more. The form creation is excellent, the OCR and conversion facilities likewise.
Like
Version 9.2
afm369
26 July 2017
Please read tobyscott2 comment.
Like
Version 9.1
jlsabo
18 May 2017
I have now used PDFpen Pro for several years, and I just wanted let you know how much I appreciate the software. One concern that I had previously was that I could not see comments made by the co-editor of our Newsletter. He made the comments using Adobe Acrobat. I noticed in your last update that the comment issue was solved. Your software is awesome. I love the form feature, the conversions to MS programs. You have my support, and I will continue to recommend your program.
Like
Version 9.0.2
Full Score
14 April 2017
A problem updating v8 to v9 from WITHIN the app. A demo Smile watermark appears on each document. Downloading and replacing the app fixes it.
Like
Version 9.0
dwp-1
12 April 2017
I've been using PDFPenPro for years to help me go paperless. I have tried many of the others like PDF Expert but I always end up back in PDFPenPro. It performs every function I need with the exception of one. Every once in awhile I will get a PDF+TEXT file and the OCR layer is not accurate. I can't find a way to delete that layer and create a new one. The OCF engine in PDFPenPro is so much better than the competition it would be nice to be able to eliminate the inaccurate OCR layer and replace it with the OCR engine of PDFPenPro.. SmileSoftware offers two versions of PDFPen, PDFPen & PDFPenPro. The pro version has the extra features a person who creates and edits PDF's would use but the ordinary person could get by just fine with PDFPen. I highly recommend this app, the customer service is great, feature rich and they consistently update their two key app's PDFPen & TextExpander. I'd give them a 5 star review but I don't want there heads to get to big. Besides I want to keep them reaching for the 5 star review.
Like
Version 9.0
1 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
13 April 2017
PDFPen Pro 9 allows you to delete the text layer of an image+text pdf.
Like
Mhoutman
20 March 2017
I was a big SMILE fan until TextExpander went to a subscription base.

Also PDFPen is marvellous software but especially on iOS, SMILE seem to pay not much attention to both PDFPen end PDFPen Scan anymore

I really like to support devs but lack of software updates brought me to alternatives.
Like (2)
Version 8.3.3
Gary30
08 November 2016
I have PDF Pen Pro V6 and avoid upgrading because I always seem to want to do text editing on PDF's and find the workflow for simply selecting existing text and then editing it to be arcane and (so it seems to me) flakey. I don't do a lot of it, but always fumble. Has--not adding new text boxes--just simple document text editing improved or changed in version 8? From screenshots I infer the answer is maybe "no."
Like (1)
Version 8.2.1
Jweisbin
05 October 2016
I bought version 7 on the app store. there doesn't appear to be an upgrade price for version 8 - I have to pay another $85 to "upgrade"?
Like
Version 8.2
1 answer(s)
Smile
Smile
21 October 2016
We offer discounted upgrade pricing on the direct purchase version to Mac App Store customers. It should be offered to you automatically by downloading the app from our site. If you encounter any trouble, please contact support: https://smilesoftware.com/support
Like
Tony-Aguila
16 September 2016
I don’t wish to leave a review at this point, not until macOS Sierra is officially out. I’m running the release candidate (10.12 (16A320)) and the first thing I noticed was the clumsy way it handles text editing. I wondered why I stopped using this a while back but I decided to buy the upgrade anyway, just to keep me current. Now I remember why I dropped it in favor of Acrobat Pro, and now, Acrobat DC. I really wanted to get back to using this app, and hopefully their Sierra-compatible version will work better.
Like
Version 8.1
cassiope
06 July 2016
Its a decent upgrade, specially with the portfolio implementation - alas not supported on many platforms, making it something only PDFPenPro. It still lacks the possibility to embed vid-links in PDF, or audio links that are playable from within the PDF. Else a good prodiuct - in development.
Like
Version 8.0.2
Alanterra
27 June 2016
I have been using PDFPen for a long time, and just upgraded to PDFPen Pro. Honestly the difference in the feature set between the two is small, but if you need the Pro, then you need it.

I had to put together a 1,000 page pdf in a day, and PDFPen Pro made it easy. My experience is that with many apps, they work until you need them for a large project, and then you find the bugs and the limitations. While I did find a few bugs in PDFPen Pro, they all could be worked around, and I was able to compile about 40 separate documents into a single document, annotate them, create a table of contents, adjust for last minute changes coming in from colleagues, and create a protected pdf really quite easily. I never had to wait for the thumbnails to be drawn (I'm looking at you, Acrobat), and every change was easy and I almost never had to refer to the manual. When I had to completely undo and redo everything (after I changed my mind about some issues), it was very straightforward.

While I didn't use OCR on this project, I use OCR in PDFPen all the time, in both English and Spanish, and mostly it is better than Acrobat's (at least the version that I have). I love the fact that PDFPen will show you the "OCR layer" as a separate item, which makes it much easier to understand what is going on.

I have never liked Acrobat. I keep around the older versions because it seems to just get harder to use in each revision. And, if you have to purchase Acrobat outside of a collection of Adobe apps, the cost is totally beyond belief. And then the learning curve (at least the last version I own, Acrobat X) is very slow.

PDFPen is a welcome addition to my suite of pdf applications. I use Skim for day-to-day reading, because I like its user interface the best of all pdf readers, and I like its way of adding notes to a pdf. I use Acrobat Reader and Preview to make sure that my pdfs display correctly (completely unrelated code in these two apps, so they have different bugs in displaying pdfs). I use Photoshop to convert pdf's to image files, because I like the control it gives me.

And I use PDFPen (and now PDFPen Pro) to edit and compile pdfs.

My only complaint (the 1/2 star deduction) is that PDFPen Pro uses Apple's new document versioning and Save As code. I find this a total time waster, and just a bad idea. But fighting with Apple is like fighting city hall — you aren't going to win, even when they are wrong.
Like
Version 8.0.1
dezmiklos
24 June 2016
Could not live without it. A terrific tool.
Like
Version 8.0.1
evoth-1
22 June 2016
I've been using PDFPen for many, many years and am very pleased with its performance. Have also been pleased with their EXCELLENT customer service! When I first began using PDFPen, I had a few questions which were promptly and completely answered. I highly recommend this product.
Like
Version 8.0.1
Brighton-Pete
19 May 2016
Great app for creating and viewing PDF's. Not to mention - very easy to use. Their customer service is also excellent, with replies that day or the next.
Like
Version 8.0.1
john-141
30 April 2016
I've used PDFPen Pro for many years and find it a really effective tool for both creating and editing PDFs. It does not suffer the bloating and is nowhere near as expensive as competing products, but always does the job. What's equally important is that PDFPen Pro is backed by the great customer service of Greg and the Smile team.
Like
Version 8.0
Mhoutman
27 April 2016
I will not update and will go further with PDF Expert. Not that much new features to paying/or justify another update. Feels bad also after the recent TextExpander pricing debacle. In general Smile seems now more focused on corporate users so I am glad their are excellent alternatives (also for TextExpander)
Like (3)
Version 8.0
1 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
25 May 2016
PDF Expert is becoming a serious contender. It already is much easier to use for overlays. Put simply, PDFPen should be much better than it is given its maturity.
Like (1)
KatRoss
27 April 2016
I cannot stand Acrobat, always issues and complications! PDFpenPro it's simple to use and costs a fraction of Adobe A.
Like (1)
Version 8.0
tobyscott2
26 April 2016
I have been using PDFPen for a LONG time. A few years ago upgraded to PRO. It is great and I have almost no problems with it. If I do have any problem or question, customer support gets back to me within minutes and solves whatever it is. I really like being able to edit pdf's and work with them. I use PDFPen Pro every day. Great application.
Like (4)
Version 8.0
1 answer(s)
Ajmac25
Ajmac25
14 April 2017
Interested to hear your thoughts on the update. I am still using PDFPen Pro 7 as I did not think 8 upgrade was worth it. Also use PDF expert and find it gives me most of what PDFPen Pro did.
Like (1)
ylluminate
26 April 2016
Very unhappy with the seeming increase in paid upgrades. Used to be thrilled with this product, but it seems that we're getting too little for the last couple "major" updates.
Like (6)
Version 8.0
2 answer(s)
ErvinsStrauhmanis
ErvinsStrauhmanis
27 April 2016
This is not exactly a reply, rather some musings of my own on this matter:

If I got this right, then:

PDFpen 1 was released in Jan 2004
PDFpen 2 was released in Jan 2005
PDFpen 3 was released in Oct 2006
PDFpen 4 was released in Sep 2008
PDFpen 5 was released in Sep 2010
PDFpen 6 was released in Mar 2013
PDFpen 7 was released in Jan 2015

I hoped that Smile would actively work on PDFpen 7 features, a copy of which I have, a bit longer, but overall they've been consistent with their release cycle. What is being put into each major release is of course another matter.
Like (2)
ylluminate
ylluminate
26 August 2016
@ErvinsS I agree.
Like (1)
tommy-10
28 February 2016
I'm a counselor and educator. PDFpenPro has become an indispensable tool that I use on an daily basis. It is stable, CPU friendly, easy to use, has a great workflow, and does exactly what it claims, and is sold at a competitive price.. Also, the developer is responsive and provides frequent updates that include improvements and bug fixes. I could not ask for anything more. Before picking this up, I read several reviews . . . most of which are positive. There were a few negative comments, but I have not experienced any problems whatsoever. I do not miss Acrobat, and I have NO buyers remorse. GREAT APP!
Like
Version 7.3.4
S13cybergal
27 February 2016
I am legally blind with Cerebral Palsy. I use the "invert Colors" option on all my devices. Reading regular printed material is almost impossible. PDFPen has been invaluable for me. I scan Bible Study Exercises, Our Sunday School book and even an entire print book I got as a gift. My rent has gone up and my fixed income keeps me from spending $10 for an ebook.

Being able to read sitting up straight with no eye strain is a God-send. Since my handwriting is shaky, I can fill out any form with my computer thanks to this program. Thanks for a great product.

Tried other scanning software (image capture and preview) and found it very confusing. PDFPen makes sense to me. I'm doing work instead of pawing through help information to attempt to devine what a particular graphic means.

BTW support is very good, as is their on-line manual and video tutorials.
Like
Version 7.3.4
brock-benjamin
10 January 2016
Support is always responsive. Have had a couple issues with bugs and also features, but overall great product that keeps me from having to buy adobe pro.
Like
Version 7.3.4
DavidB8281
02 January 2016
PDFPenPro does all I need it to do. It's simple to use and does what it promises at a reasonable price. Where it really wins however is the customer support service - second to none.
Like
Version 7.3.4
Dr-Malcolm-Blueberry
18 December 2015
I have been a loyal PDFpen customer since version 1. While there are many options for PDF management, I have found the SmileSoftware team to consistently be a step ahead of the others. Perhaps more importantly to me is the customer service. I have had some technical questions over the years and found the customer support at Smile to be EXCEPTIONAL. They get back to you quickly with actual answers to your questions. Its these interactions where Smile shines the brightest.
Like
Version 7.3.3
dwp-1
15 December 2015
I have been using PDFPenPro on a daily basis for a few years now and have yet to find a pdf editor that compares in features, updates and customer support. Years ago I used Acrobat and hated it. Since I've been using PDFPenPro for so long, it has become part of my daily workflow and I forgot that Acrobat even existed. I highly recommend PDFPenPro as a replacement for Acrobat or any other pdf editor for that matter. BTW: TomatoSoup, yes it is interesting to see many 5 star reviews, curious what you are suggesting However, I do agree, you should find that interesting.
Like
Version 7.3.3
Esky212
07 December 2015
Awesome piece of software! I use it several times every week for editing invoices and creating other documents for work. Very powerful and to me easier to work with than with Acrobat. However Acrobat has probably a steeper learning curve, for me PDFpenPRO 7 is absolutely sufficient and gets the job done. Easy and faster in my opinion :-) Buy PDFpenPRO 7 with 60% DISCOUNT on Ebay.com : http://ebay.to/1QaZ1c9 I bought PDFpenPRO 7 about 2 years ago and now got a second copy of it in a mac app bundle. I am selling my 2nd unused license key now at a very cheap price of only 49,90 USD. Compared to the official price this is a 60% discount for the MU community :-) Kind regards :-)
Like
Version 7.3.2
Macfreek
07 November 2015
First a disclaimer: I don't own PDFpenPro yet, but tried it a couple of times to see if it is a good replacement for Acrobat which I still use a few times a year, but is getting old.

I would rate PDFpenPro 4/5 stars. The software itself is on par with Acrobat. It is slightly less powerful than Adobe, but the user interface is better then Adobe (not that this tells you much: Acrobat's interface is rather bad...).

I'm not very impressed, in particular when it comes to editing existing PDF files, like editing the OCR text. Of course, this is partly due to the nature of PDF files (PDF has no concept of text flow, just about the location of individual characters). Yet, I often find it easier to just export to some other format, import or create a text, layout or form in another program and then export to PDF. So my use case is still limited to an occasional OCR job.

However, if all you want is OCR, cropping of pages, or filling out forms, check out their beta.

Finally, I must say the support by Smile is phenomenal. In one test, PDFpenPro 6 garbled up a PDF I was editing (it made some areas opaque instead of transparent, or changed the z-ordering which element should be above the other). I left a somewhat negative review (see bellow), and reported back too them as well. I got a kind answer, and even follow-up. Handling of this particular PDF is improved in PDFpenPro 7 (though not entirely flawless yet), and it turned out most PDFs worked fine.
Like
Version 7.3.2