Back to iSwiff page
iSwiff free download for Mac

iSwiff Reviews

1.13
12 January 2019

Play Flash games without a browser.

Anonymous
04 January 2005

Most helpful

Thanks. Needs a volume control though ;-)
Like
Version 1.0

Read 15 iSwiff User Reviews

Rate this app:

J-Mueller-MacUpdate
04 January 2006
I like the marketing idea of it. But then again, opening a whole nother window to play a flash game seems like more clutter unless you open your browser, find the flash game, and then quit your browser when iSwiff launches.
Like
Version 1.2
Bill-B
11 November 2005
Appears to work OK, but is redundant as Macromedia provides a free flash player at their website. Hard to find, though. As far as getting flash files from websites, if the website serves the file (i.e., it isn't loaded from another server) try saving the webpage using Camino. There are also websites that provide free downloads of flash files, like dumpalink.com.
Like
Version 1.1.2
1 answer(s)
Bill-B
Bill-B
11 November 2005
I just checked and Macromedia's flash player is much easier to find now. Here's the link: http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash&P2_Platform=MacOSX
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
22 October 2005
yeah real great except i thought i would be able to actually get files of web pages . i tried it with sitesucker didnt work , so oh well
Like
Version 1.1.1
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 November 2005
In safari, go to the page the flash is on, hit command-option-U and search for .swf Then download that file from either google, wget or whatever.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Matt
Matt
09 November 2005
Or just copy the .swf web address and paste it in the downloads window.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 November 2005
Or use FireFox. Hit page info, click the media tab. Locate the swf and hit download (or whatever it says!)
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 November 2005
Or (in Safari), open the Activity window, find the file for the page you're viewing, and option-doubleclick on it (if I remember correctly... my iBook's dead at the moment. :( )
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
11 October 2005
What are the games shown in the screenshot? :)
Like
Version 1.1.1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 October 2005
To find games I have put a starter list of sites here: http://echoone.com/iswiff/flashfinder.html Kind regards Henrik
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 October 2005
Thanks very much!
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
06 May 2005
i want it on my dashboard
Like
Version 1.1
Guardian-Archon
30 April 2005
Excellent piece of software. It will likely become very useful now that QuickTime 7 no longer plays Shockwave files. Only feature I'd like to see is the ability to stretch the files to fill the screen in full screen mode, if that's possible. Excellent little utility.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Ryan
05 March 2005
(Not rating because it's probably more accurately classified as a utility than a game.) Freakin awesome. Small, fast, and free. QuickTime Player can be very picky about playing Flash files -- sometimes they open, sometimes not, and when they do open, sometimes sound doesn't sync or something. (I'm guessing QT uses it's own decoder for SWF, instead of using the plugin? Not sure.) iSwiff just uses the Macromedia Flash plugin for running flash files, so they work exactly the same as they would in Safari, except that you can scale them to any size that you want. By right-clicking on the window, you can change some settings with the plugin, like quality and zoom. (Tip: If a file is playing back very jerky, just bump the quality back to Medium or Low. Low is a little nasty, but Medium looks fine.) It also allows you to run the files in full screen mode, so it's great for showing off your H*R collection to a bunch of friends. :) Be sure to check out the link to the Prince of Persia flash game for a great blast from the past.
Like
Version 1.0.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 March 2005
You may note that this software is classified thusly: Category: Games Sub-category: Gaming Tools & Utilities Quite correctly so.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
26 February 2005
cool that it's free, but what is the difference between this and Macromedia's free Stand alone Player ? (Other than you have dig around for it on their site. )Thanks
Like
Version 1.0.3
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 February 2005
This seems quite a bit slower than SA Player too
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 March 2005
What are you talking about? Link please.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 March 2005
A search of the MacUpdate website reveals: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/17338 Too easy.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
16 January 2005
I wish this had more features but it does it's job
Like
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
16 January 2005
This is what I've been waiting for.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
06 January 2005
see if you can make it for 10.2. I want to try it. :)
Like
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 January 2005
Sorry - I don't think this will happen. The webkit I am using for the Flash plugin is not available for 10.2.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
05 January 2005
could do with the file name in the window at the top... well like normal
Like
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2005
Now on my list....
Like
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
05 January 2005
Needs a Minimize Window feature and a thrue FullScreen Mode!
Like
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2005
Now on my list...
Like
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
04 January 2005
Does this play Director (.DCR) files, or just Flash? I've been looking for a non-browser way to play Director files for years. ^_^ For Flash, I already use Macromedia's stand-alone Flash player for OSX, but if iSwiff works better, I'll use it instead. (No, this is not intended as a slam against iSwiff in any way.)
Like
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Henrik Dalgaard
Henrik Dalgaard
04 January 2005
iSwiff does not support .dcr files - yet. I have put it on my to do list.
Like
Version 1.0
Henrik Dalgaard
Henrik Dalgaard
05 January 2005
Macromedias stand alone player seems no longer to be available for download.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2005
I'll look forward to it. ^_^ As for the Macromedia player: I don't know about a link, but the archive itself still seems to be there.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
04 January 2005
Thanks. Needs a volume control though ;-)
Like
Version 1.0