Back to MKVToolNix page
MKVToolNix free download for Mac

MKVToolNix Reviews

11 October 2021

Create, alter, and inspect Matroska (mkv) files.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
mingzhewang
mingzhewang
May 25 2021
57.0.0
0.0
May 25 2021
0.0
Version: 57.0.0
Seems many people didn't know. If you mac won't open the file, just hold down 'control' while clicking the app, then choose 'open'. it will then always open.
marcelb3
marcelb3
Mar 5 2021
54.0.0
1.0
Mar 5 2021
1.0
Version: 54.0.0
MKVToolNix-54.0.0” can’t be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software. MACOS is 11.2.1
RandMan
RandMan
Feb 15 2021
53.0.0
1.0
Feb 15 2021
1.0
Version: 53.0.0
Mac OS cannot even open the application, as others have stated. Error stating that Apple cannot check it for malicious content.
jallengraham
jallengraham
Sep 6 2020
49.0.0
0.0
Sep 6 2020
0.0
Version: 49.0.0
This app won't open on iMac running Catalina 10.15.6 “MKVToolNix-49.0.0” can’t be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software." is there an update?
goblin79
goblin79
Apr 10 2020
45.0.0
5.0
Apr 10 2020
5.0
Version: 45.0.0
I need only to split a big file , not good for FAT-32 and this tool did the job easily and quickly.
tonybaxe
tonybaxe
Apr 4 2020
44.0.0
0.0
Apr 4 2020
0.0
Version: 44.0.0
What version I should download for Sierra
tonybaxe
tonybaxe
Apr 4 2020
44.0.0
0.0
Apr 4 2020
0.0
Version: 44.0.0
I can’t open the program neither on my Mac Sierra or windows 10 , not happy !
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
Mar 14 2020
44.0.0
0.0
Mar 14 2020
0.0
Version: 44.0.0
Was it NECESSARY to drop down the support of High Sierra? On WHAT has 10.4 and 5 more 'power'? For all what I know, High Sierra is still now the best 'professional OS X'; later ones are 'gimmicky' iOS prone downgrades adding funky 'Gadgets' (Gadget is a name! Of the French company who built the statue of libery in front of the New York harbour!) of no-use by a serious 'power-user', in fact NOT supporting useful utilities like FinderPop, exempli gratia!) GRRRRRR!!!!!
coresster
coresster
Jan 12 2020
42.0.0
5.0
Jan 12 2020
5.0
Version: 42.0.0
i only miss the hungarian language :)
Flavum
Flavum
Jan 9 2020
42.0.0
0.0
Jan 9 2020
0.0
Version: 42.0.0
Multiplexing speed has increased dramatically compared to previous versions. A marked improvement.
Scion777
Scion777
Jan 3 2020
42.0.0
0.0
Jan 3 2020
0.0
Version: 42.0.0
BEWARE! - this new version 42 will not run on Sierra or High Sierra - the system req's got bumped - sigh .....
Flavum
Flavum
Dec 9 2019
41.0.0
0.0
Dec 9 2019
0.0
Version: 41.0.0
MacUpdate - The program name is "MKVToolNix", with capital T and N.
Aargl
Aargl
Mar 13 2019
32.0.0
0.0
Mar 13 2019
0.0
Version: 32.0.0
MU> Requirements for MKVtoolnix: macOS 10.12 "Sierra" and newer https://mkvtoolnix.download/downloads.html#macosx The last known version to run on Mavericks is v24.
Mdewakanton
Mdewakanton
Jan 4 2019
30.0.0
0.0
Jan 4 2019
0.0
Version: 30.0.0
Doesn't start on 10.11 here (no crash on startup). The application is about 20 MB smaller than 29.0.0 and that sounds strange.
Barry5p
Barry5p
Oct 23 2018
28.0.0
5.0
Oct 23 2018
5.0
Version: 28.0.0
Great app for complete control of MKV files. Will you be releasing a "Dark" version for Mojave?
Mdewakanton
Mdewakanton
Aug 29 2018
26.0.0
0.0
Aug 29 2018
0.0
Version: 26.0.0
Version 26.0.0 requires 10.11 or later.
Aargl
Aargl
Jul 16 2018
25.0.0
0.0
Jul 16 2018
0.0
Version: 25.0.0
v25 crashes on launch, here on OS 10.9.5. Tried also on a fresh Guest user account. v24 was ok.
Atalantia
Atalantia
Apr 8 2018
21.0.0
4.5
Apr 8 2018
4.5
Version: 21.0.0
Very good app. I would give all the stars if "Stretch by" would work on audio.
dimersongerd-sousa
dimersongerd-sousa
May 19 2017
9.8.0
5.0
May 19 2017
5.0
Version: 9.8.0
yes
allengogogo
allengogogo
Apr 25 2017
9.8.0
4.5
Apr 25 2017
4.5
Version: 9.8.0
great tool to remove unnecessary audio tracks and subtitles.
Mt-Saint-Michel-+-Saint-Michaels-Mount
Jan 24 2017
5.0
Version: 9.8.0
Moritz, thanks for your development on this.
Mcr
Mcr
Dec 30 2016
9.7.1
5.0
Dec 30 2016
5.0
Version: 9.7.1
READ THIS: initial release of 9.7.1 would only launch on 10.12 Sierra due to inadvertent compiler setting. A new build, #4, is now available as of Dec 30 which runs on 10.9 and later. Download direct here (don't download from MacUpdate link): https://www.fosshub.com/MKVToolNix.html/MKVToolNix-9.7.1-build4.dmg If you're not sure what build you have, or if you get an error at launch about needing 10.12 or later to run, just make sure you get build #4. 5 stars for the developer Moritz for working it through and resolving it.
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
Dec 28 2016
9.6.0
0.0
Dec 28 2016
0.0
Version: 9.6.0
Just a little warning for all 'aficionados' Latest 9.7.1 even if states as minimum system requirements 10.8, actually pretends 10.12 to run. last release running on 10.11.6 is 9.6.1
Aargl
Aargl
Oct 20 2016
9.4.0
0.0
Oct 20 2016
0.0
Version: 9.4.0
Current version is 9.5.0. :-)
Mcr
Mcr
Jul 3 2016
9.1.0
5.0
Jul 3 2016
5.0
Version: 9.1.0
I used this because I couldn't find anything to edit metadata for an mkv file encoded with x.265. Subler (as of current 1.09 version) can't handle x265, and is my usual 'go to' tool, also Subler can only remux and save to MP4 container. MKVToolnix worked great for editing metadata, and saved back to original MKV container, and handled x265 video track just fine. While I was at it, I removed foreign language audio and subtitle tracks that I didn't need, and reduced the size of the file by 25%.
Aargl
Aargl
Mar 19 2016
8.7.0
0.0
Mar 19 2016
0.0
Version: 8.7.0
MU> v8.9.0 is out. :-)
Nuttawut
Nuttawut
Jan 18 2016
8.7.0
5.0
Jan 18 2016
5.0
Version: 8.7.0
Terrific Programme Wish I had found this ages ago. Split my large MKV files so that I can view them with my player. Add subtitles. Everything I want.
Fightingcat
Fightingcat
Jan 1 2016
8.5.1
0.0
Jan 1 2016
0.0
Version: 8.5.1
You can found the latest version for OS X here: http://www.fosshub.com/MKVToolNix.html The Downloadlink from MU is not working.
Rmtv
Rmtv
Nov 10 2015
8.5.1
4.5
Nov 10 2015
4.5
Version: 8.5.1
Working link for the version 8.5.2: http://download.fosshub.com/Protected/expiretime=1447157267;badurl=aHR0cDovL3d3dy5mb3NzaHViLmNvbS9NS1ZUb29sTml4Lmh0bWw=/2407fed6ef6aa84c9ae67c3257b47b8d74ee4b743026feb47e0035892fb5d0fe/MKVToolNix/MKVToolNix-8.5.2.dmg
Holypoly
Holypoly
Sep 21 2015
8.2.0
0.0
Sep 21 2015
0.0
Version: 8.2.0
Sorry - wrong posting. Please delete ;)
Penguirl
Penguirl
Feb 6 2015
7.4
0.0
Feb 6 2015
0.0
Version: 7.4
Please pardon my ignorance but what is the benefit of moving, say an xvid file, from avi to mkv? Second question, wouldn’t m4v be a better container for Mac users?
bekurgato
bekurgato
Nov 28 2014
7.2.0
0.0
Nov 28 2014
0.0
Version: 7.2.0
Is it possible to enlarge subtitle font in MKVtoolnix before i merge with movie? On my Panasonic TV subtitle is to small and i can't watch movie because i am concentrated just on reading?! Thanks
jkesler
jkesler
Sep 16 2014
7.0.0
5.0
Sep 16 2014
5.0
Version: 7.0.0
A great free tool. I have had some problems with v7.1.0 and v7.2.0 so I had to downgrade but otherwise stellar! (problems with the Header Editor stalling when opening a file)
Markoh
Markoh
Sep 9 2014
7.0.0
5.0
Sep 9 2014
5.0
Version: 7.0.0
Download MKVToolNix Mac OS X (alternative build by Harry) - 11.45 MB | version: 7.1.0 2014-07-27 Moritz Bunkus <moritz@bunkus.org> * Released v7.1.0. * all: bug fix: Fixed file seeking code for »seek relative to end of file« case. Fixes #1035. * mmg: bug fix: Selecting the root of the chapter editor tree will disable the language/country inputs properly as changing those fields doesn't make sense for the root. 2014-07-26 Moritz Bunkus <moritz@bunkus.org> * all: bug fix: if MKVToolNix on Windows is residing in a directory containing non-ASCII characters then translations weren't found. This has only been fixed for cases where those non-ASCII characters are part of the system's active code page. 2014-07-10 Moritz Bunkus <moritz@bunkus.org> * mkvmerge: bug fix: track statistics tags are not written for WebM files anymore as the WebM specification doesn't allow tags. 2014-07-01 Moritz Bunkus <moritz@bunkus.org> * mkvmerge: bug fix: Fixed wrong default duration for PCM audio tracks if the source file provides timecodes for that track. Fixes #1001 and #1033. 2014-06-18 Moritz Bunkus <moritz@bunkus.org> * mkvmerge: enhancement: SSA/ASS: in addition to semicolons comments can now start with exclamation marks, too. 2014-06-11 Moritz Bunkus <moritz@bunkus.org> * mkvextract: bug fix: Fixed a crash when opening damaged/invalid Matroska files in all extraction modes. Fixes #1027. http://www.fosshub.com/download/Mkvtoolnix-7.1.0.dmg
mamartinezp
mamartinezp
Aug 19 2014
7.0.0
5.0
Aug 19 2014
5.0
Version: 7.0.0
Great app!!!
Tschigg
Tschigg
May 9 2014
6.9.1_2014-04-18-ab10
5.0
May 9 2014
5.0
Version: 6.9.1_2014-04-18-ab10
Works great and is a much needed tool if you want to mux e.g. old AVI files to MKV. Thanks, Jonathan for continuously providing those OSX builds (which would not exist otherwise!).
Markoh
Markoh
Apr 22 2014
6.9.1_2014-04-18-ab10
5.0
Apr 22 2014
5.0
Version: 6.9.1_2014-04-18-ab10
64bit ! ! !
Markoh
Markoh
Apr 22 2014
6.2.0_2013-04-28-b48
5.0
Apr 22 2014
5.0
Version: 6.2.0_2013-04-28-b48
Dear MacUpdate Admin, Mkvtoolnix 6.9.1 was released on 21-Apr-2014 http://jonthn.free.fr/MKVtoolnix/
Markoh
Markoh
Apr 21 2014
6.2.0_2013-04-28-b48
5.0
Apr 21 2014
5.0
Version: 6.2.0_2013-04-28-b48
http://jonthn.free.fr/MKVtoolnix/Mkvtoolnix-6.9.1_2014-04-18-ab10.dmg
herman428
herman428
Feb 12 2013
6.0.0_2013-01-20-f398
4.0
Feb 12 2013
4.0
Version: 6.0.0_2013-01-20-f398
Was working great for about a week or so, then got hung up when trying to add in a file. Now it crashes each time I hit the "add" button, or just hangs if attempting to drag a file into the input window. Currently running version 6.0 on Mac OSX 10.8.2. Why ? Why ? Why would it suddenly start quitting on me ?
Agmaster
Agmaster
Oct 18 2012
5.8.0_2012-09-02-6920
0.0
Oct 18 2012
0.0
Version: 5.8.0_2012-09-02-6920
Why is there no support for 10.6.8?
chromafile
chromafile
Oct 17 2012
5.8.0_2012-09-02-6920
0.0
Oct 17 2012
0.0
Version: 5.8.0_2012-09-02-6920
It won't launch at all. The app icon just bouncing on the dockfor a few times and nothing happens. Back to 5.7.0, I'm on 10.8.2 btw.
Sirhumphalot
Sirhumphalot
Jul 19 2012
5.7.0_2012-07-11-cd22
0.0
Jul 19 2012
0.0
Version: 5.7.0_2012-07-11-cd22
Just wanted to say thanks for keeping this updated. It really is an invaluable tool.
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
Jul 1 2012
5.6.0_2012-06-01-39d7
4.0
Jul 1 2012
4.0
Version: 5.6.0_2012-06-01-39d7
Great tool for my needs, so far. It let's me change the charset of my portuguese subtitles to ISO-8859. Great!
Max66
Max66
May 15 2012
5.5.0_2012-04-14-38ac
4.5
May 15 2012
4.5
Version: 5.5.0_2012-04-14-38ac
Excellent tool but I would love it if it supported FLV as input and the ability to drag & drop a file to add it to the list
mpiekielnik
mpiekielnik
Apr 16 2012
5.5.0_2012-04-14-38ac
2.0
Apr 16 2012
2.0
Version: 5.5.0_2012-04-14-38ac
I tried many, many times to split large MKV movie for my Sony BluRay player, or add subtitle track, but every single time this software prepared output just unplayable by my device. I also have first gen WD-TV and it also have problems with MKVtoolnix files, however it is able to play some of them. Of course all files are easily playable on my computer with MPlayer...
Darren-Grant
Darren-Grant
Feb 17 2012
5.3.0_2012-02-10-ec37
4.5
Feb 17 2012
4.5
Version: 5.3.0_2012-02-10-ec37
Really useful when ripping blu-ray's using MakeMKV and then compressing using handbrake the subtitles are lost. This utility makes it possible to take the compressed file and combine the subtitles from the original MKV file. Works a treat most of the time, only had one problem where it messed up audio sync on a movie.
xXAkumuXx
xXAkumuXx
Feb 12 2012
5.3.0_2012-02-10-ec37
0.0
Feb 12 2012
0.0
Version: 5.3.0_2012-02-10-ec37
Newest version can be found here: http://jonthn.free.fr/MKVtoolnix/Mkvtoolnix-5.3.0_2012-02-10-ec37.dmg
ben-marko
ben-marko
Dec 29 2011
5.2.0_2011-12-27-6848
4.0
Dec 29 2011
4.0
Version: 5.2.0_2011-12-27-6848
Nice app - I have some very stubborn mkv files that Aimersoft will not convert, I am switching from MKV Tools. Nice work!
Konsti
Konsti
Dec 26 2011
5.2.0_2011-12-18-a267
0.0
Dec 26 2011
0.0
Version: 5.2.0_2011-12-18-a267
The tool, in general, is simple in its GUI yet excellent for MKV operations. Version 5.0.1 worked very well on my iMac i7 computer. However, on a clean system installation, 5.2.0 crashes all the time. I hope the programmer will fix this problem that seems to be related to /usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib according to Console (but doesn't affect 5.0.1 at all, however).