Back to GraphClick page
GraphClick free download for Mac

GraphClick Reviews

3.0
25 May 2008

Retrieve data from a graph image.

Giovanni-Lanzani
29 October 2009

Most helpful

This is just an amazing little piece of software, I thought the only way to go with this thing was datathief, which is an ugly, slow, buggy, expensive piece of software, but then I stumbled upon GraphClick. If you need to take data from plots, go for it. The only minus is that it doesn't state clearly the limitations of the shareware version, so when you find them out, you have to buy it, because it is extremely well done.
Like (1)
Version 3.0

Read 12 GraphClick User Reviews

Rate this app:

A11en
30 April 2013
3.0.2 purchased MAS - bug exists It appears that the program cannot select data properly on my macbookpro retina running 10.8.2. I'm trying to data-mine a black and white decent resolution graph from a journal article, and currently the system is no-go. Selecting data in the white of the image, not on the data-line. Using masks only ends up with data that is at the center of the mask (ignores actual line of data). Upon closing the document I noticed a weird version of the image in the window flash for a few seconds. I suspect the view of the image is different than the image being mined, and you're lucky if you happen to click on the proper portion of the image that the software has in it's head -v- what you can see. Contacted developer, we'll see what the situation is. May have to request a return of the software from apple. BTW, I often suggested this software to my co-workers in the past, so previous versions had been working as far as I can tell. Current versions having difficulty.
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Greg-Ucker
Greg-Ucker
11 August 2014
Same here. Unfortunate cause it was a nice app. Needs to be updated.
Like
Peternsteinmetz
02 March 2012
Very responsive developer fixed the issue I had with licensing right away. Program is nicely designed, works well, and has a great price.
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
gryphonent
gryphonent
18 April 2012
Agree. Good to know the app is still alive. It hasn't been updated for 4 years now and I was already thinking that it might have become abandonware.
Like
Peternsteinmetz
01 March 2012
Nice program with good features BUT purchasing a new license sends emails, but the license codes don't work, at least not on a 64 bit system running Lion.
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Peternsteinmetz
Peternsteinmetz
02 March 2012
I can't figure out how to revise this rating. But developer is very responsive and fixed the licensing issue pronto. So I would have to raise my rating.
Like
Giovanni-Lanzani
29 October 2009
This is just an amazing little piece of software, I thought the only way to go with this thing was datathief, which is an ugly, slow, buggy, expensive piece of software, but then I stumbled upon GraphClick. If you need to take data from plots, go for it. The only minus is that it doesn't state clearly the limitations of the shareware version, so when you find them out, you have to buy it, because it is extremely well done.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Martinb
Martinb
08 March 2011
so can you tell me what are the limitations of the free version?
Like
Peternsteinmetz
Peternsteinmetz
01 March 2012
Limitation is exporting only 10 data points.
Like
gryphonent
09 May 2009
No update for over a year. The other developers apps have either been sold on (PhotoPresenter) or discontinued (the excellent and unmatched ProVoc, which is sorely missed). I am therefore hesitant to pay $8 for this app. Granted, it is a nice piece of software. But I only support shareware that is in active development. And I do not get the feeling that Arizona Software is still around.
Like
Version 3.0
William-S
05 May 2009
Graphclick is one my favorite Mac apps. It is as valuable to me as some very expensive apps like Labview, Igor Pro and the MS office suite. It's a bit surprising it doesn't have more reviews, but the reason might be that this app is the one to reach for at the start of a data crunching project that gets forgotten by the end, because it performed its task so well. I think I've been using this for 3 years or more. Every now and then a startup message informs that an update is available. I haven't run into any problems that required an update to fix, but I install them anyway and continue to have trouble-free performance.
Like
Version 3.0
0157h7
03 November 2006
In the middle of a really difficult late-night review of some of my predecessors work, I needed to convert some graphical data back into "real" numbers. After much shopping around, I ran across GraphClick, and it saved my bacon. The $8 shareware fee completely belies how useful and well-written this program is.
Like
Version 2.9.1
Anonymous
27 January 2005
Note that help files do not correspond to 2.4b1 version - keyboard shortcuts are not the same; axis deformation tool doesn't seem to work properly (although I may not be using it correctly because Help is not up to date yet).
Like
Version 2.4b1
Anonymous
05 January 2005
Also check out Digitalizer for mac os x (free) at http://naranja.umh.es/~atg
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Signore-Rossi
Signore-Rossi
27 February 2007
I use both. Digitizer on a PC at work and Graphclick at home. Engauge Digitizer might be free... But that's the only advantage. It's no real competitor to Graphclick!! Graphclick works like a charm, is easy to use AND has a REAL Mac OS X UI!!! Digitizer is quite strange to use and has a QT UI... d:-((( I'd wish, there would be kind of a Graphclick version for PC...
Like
Version 2.9.1
Anonymous
05 January 2005
It is a pleasure to see how GraphClick is becoming more and more professional. It is definitely one of the coolest, as well as useful, scientific applications around. I will pay the $8 gladly; I think it worth much more... In a more 'mathematical' language, 2.2 -2.1 >> $8. One must also appreciate the fact that the developer takes very seriously the feedback comments made by MacUpdate reviewers. All items in my wish list, for example, have been fully and elegantly incorporated. Highly recommended!
Like
Version 2.1
Fxt
02 January 2005
outstanding. i tested this on several x-y plot images where i've wanted the "raw" data awhile, and this app did a superb job of extracting the numbers. it tool about 10 minutes of playing around with the app to see what it was doing before i was able to get serious about an extraction. fxt
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 January 2005
Once upon a time, at those glorious days of OS9, there was a cute little application called DataThief by Kees Huyser and Jan van der Laan. I was desperately waiting for its analytic continuation into OSX, but as many others, had to face the fact that it was discontinued. Suddenly, out of the blues, here comes this masterpiece GraphClick to fill up the vacuum. My first impression from this application is fantastic. It works beautifully,and the list of points produced is easily recognized by (say) Kaleidagraph for further treatment. On top of everything, it is free. We can only hope this nice application will not be swallowed by a bigger company, like another succesful apllication (Curvus Pro X) by the same company (Arizona). I would suggest however (please add it to my wish list) to control the Automatic curve detection (that is tolerance, spacing, and the total number of points) directly in the main frame, and not to hide it in the references. Furthermore, some support documentation is badly needed.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 January 2005
Absolutely phenomenal. I co-wrote a similar program for use in Matlab, but this has a much better interface, and the automatic curve detection is very cool. Very nice... and free!
Like
Version 2.0