Back to You Control: Desktops page
You Control: Desktops free download for Mac

You Control: Desktops Reviews

1.3.1b1
10 December 2008

Create many virtual desktops for different work tasks.

Mactoe
29 July 2008

Most helpful

Shame on you AKROBAT... you do NOT write 2 star reviews (thus lowering the overall rating) for a product just because you could not assign the middle mousebutton... and you don't run around to all the other virtual desktop applications and do the same, as you have. Try developing some software and learn what it takes before you do such a disservice to developers. I have tried them all... Desktop Manager, Virtual Desktops, Spaces... and by FAR You Control Desktops is worth every penny. For my money... SPACES is pure junk and not thought out well at all. This is particularly discouraging when it is Apple and when there were so many good software models for SPACES to choose from. You can't even assign an F key to switch to specific space... while you can specify an application to show up in all windows you cannot specify it to show up in ANY window... a subtle but significant difference... such as being able to open a second window of the same app in another space... and leave it there when switching. YCD is elegant and miles above SPACES... for example... you can use the pull down menu to select any currently running application and choose which behavior you want. You can simply click on the pull down menu to display each open desktop and drag windows from one to the other. I was a senior software engineer at Apple when the first mac came out and it never ceases to amaze me they bring out a new operating system and do things like SPACES so miserably... or like going to all kinds of trouble to put 4 rounded corners on menus (which I think looks refined) and yet remove the trademark rounded corners from the menubar and make it transparent... which is worse than windows! If you enjoy working with SPACES then you will LOVE working with You Control Desktops. As a developer I could not live without virtual desktops and YCD makes it easy and intuitive.
Like (4)
Version 1.3b5

Read 27 You Control: Desktops User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jeff-Nailen
27 March 2010
is this still being developed or is it dead?
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1b1
Robotank
20 October 2009
When I first bought this app, I was pleased for the most part with its functionality. It offered several tangible advantages over Spaces. However, I reported an issue that the support team said they aware of and working on, but it never got fixed. In fact, the only update that came out at all for this app in, I think, the last two years, was this beta release. Now, the developer's website basically states that Desktops will never be compatible with Snow Leopard. What did I pay for exactly? I think You Software treats their customers very badly, and I would never send them another penny.
Like (3)
Version 1.3.1b1
Iscreen
07 October 2009
10.6 Compatibility NOT Compatible There are significant changes in Snow Leopard that seriously impact You Control: Desktops. A number of features of the application are not functional. At this time, we are unable to commit to supporting You Control: Desktops on Snow Leopard. We will continue to support existing users on earlier versions of the Mac OS. source: h**p://www.yousoftware.com/desktops/desktops.php
Like (2)
Version 1.3.1b1
Jorgeg4
02 September 2009
Excellent software. No more updates for Snow Leopard ?
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1b1
sjk
11 December 2008
CodeTek VDP is abandonware.
Like
Version 1.3.1b1
Strob
13 November 2008
Desktops is a good virtual desktop program. The features it has works well. If it were not for Codetek's similar program this would be my top choice. But the program is missing two very important features: 1) to assign applications to a particular destop and most important to allow a program to appear on selected, multiple desktops. Codetek Virtualdesktops, therefore, is much more configurable. The only thing that this has over Codetek is the fancy desktop transitions, which I love. You Control also needs polishing in one particular area. The pager is not at all polished. The desktop names in it look awful. The window pictures appear to be black and white and are difficult to distinguish from one another. This is important when you want to move a window from one desktop to another. Codetek does this slightly better but not perfect. It relies on displaying the applications icon on each window. I prefer this method, at least I can tell which program it is. Also Codetek lets you configure the pager multiple ways, not being locked to the menu bar, whereas You Control only allows a non-configurable vertical column. A long column makes dragging a window more work. Rating: 3.5 stars
Like (1)
Version 1.3
St00pid-M0nk3y
04 September 2008
This is what Spaces SHOULD HAVE been. Excellent program. :)
Like (3)
Version 1.3b6
Mactoe
29 July 2008
Sorry... I forgot to assign the stars.
Like (2)
Version 1.3b5
Mactoe
29 July 2008
Shame on you AKROBAT... you do NOT write 2 star reviews (thus lowering the overall rating) for a product just because you could not assign the middle mousebutton... and you don't run around to all the other virtual desktop applications and do the same, as you have. Try developing some software and learn what it takes before you do such a disservice to developers. I have tried them all... Desktop Manager, Virtual Desktops, Spaces... and by FAR You Control Desktops is worth every penny. For my money... SPACES is pure junk and not thought out well at all. This is particularly discouraging when it is Apple and when there were so many good software models for SPACES to choose from. You can't even assign an F key to switch to specific space... while you can specify an application to show up in all windows you cannot specify it to show up in ANY window... a subtle but significant difference... such as being able to open a second window of the same app in another space... and leave it there when switching. YCD is elegant and miles above SPACES... for example... you can use the pull down menu to select any currently running application and choose which behavior you want. You can simply click on the pull down menu to display each open desktop and drag windows from one to the other. I was a senior software engineer at Apple when the first mac came out and it never ceases to amaze me they bring out a new operating system and do things like SPACES so miserably... or like going to all kinds of trouble to put 4 rounded corners on menus (which I think looks refined) and yet remove the trademark rounded corners from the menubar and make it transparent... which is worse than windows! If you enjoy working with SPACES then you will LOVE working with You Control Desktops. As a developer I could not live without virtual desktops and YCD makes it easy and intuitive.
Like (4)
Version 1.3b5
1 answer(s)
Swo
Swo
04 September 2008
You're way too hard on Spaces. I think it's definitely a different execution of the virtual desktop concept that You Control: Desktops, which I have had for a few years now. Both approaches have their strengths and I think both are great and quite useful.
Like
Version 1.3b6
Akrobat
06 May 2008
I've a Macbook and an eMac. I use Spaces on my Macbook and was looking for a similar app for my eMac. All I need is the option to allocate the main menu to the middle mouse button (like Spaces). Click the middle button, choose a desktop and that's it! I've tried all of the Virtual Desktop application on MacUpdate and not one of them offers the simple choice of bringing up the main menu (desktops) with a mouse button... not one! They insist on hotkeys... This is why I stick to Spaces.
Like
Version 1.3b5
Dana-Sutton
20 November 2007
Let's revisit this app. and compare it with Leopard's Spaces. In two ways, I think YCD is still better. 1.) Although it is not entirely stable, as I have already noted, it DOES let you place different windows created by the same application on different desktops, which can be very useful if you have several projects going at the same time which require the same applications. 2.) It lets you put different desktop backgrounds on different virtual desktops, which is a very effective visual cue to help keep you oriented about where you are (by contrast, in Spaces it's very easy to get disoriented). Also, of course, the different Keynote-like transition effects have an undeniable cool factor.
Like
Version 1.3b4
1 answer(s)
Jetfiredx
Jetfiredx
21 November 2007
I agree that it is better than Spaces in many ways, but after setting it up in demo mode and using it for several hours is it $30.00 better? I would drop $15 maybe $20 on this, but I think it is over priced for what it does. (That is unless I find some amazing feature I can't live without. Hasn't happened yet.)
Like
Version 1.3b4
Dana-Sutton
21 August 2007
I've tried some other multi-screen apps., including some freeware ones. I. m. h. o. this is the best and most stable. And yet it continues to lack a feature I really like, the ability to open windows created by a single given application in various desktops and to accurately remember and maintain the position of those windows on the desktop where the user wants them. That would be a more accurate and more useful virtualization of the experience of having multiple monitors. Unless some undocumented improvements have been made (like all other such virtualization apps.) really isn't entirely good or entirely stable about remembering this kind of window placement.
Like
Version 1.3b2
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
23 August 2007
Re: And yet it continues to lack a feature I really like, the ability to open windows created by a single given application in various desktops and to accurately remember and maintain the position of those windows on the desktop where the user wants them. Indeed! That capability eludes every OS X vdm I've tried … CodeTek VDP came closest but wasn't flawless. VirtueDesktops (which I'm currently using) seems to "insist" (i.e. "work best when") all windows for an app resides on the same vd, with the workaround of making any window(s) sticky on *all* desktops. I don't know what Spaces will (dis)allow though from the preview video it appears possible to move windows to different vd's and have them remain there. In VirtueD they'll "snap back" to the vd an app is bound to. I explained that more clearly and thoroughly on the forum, with suggested improvements that were never implemented. One things that can be tricky is how to determine which vd new windows and dialogs should open on. For instance, if an iChat buddy list is on a unsticky, non-active vd should a new chat request dialog appear on the active vd or the one where the iChat buddy list lives? I haven't tried YC:D for awhile so there could be personally useful improvements I'm unaware of, though at this point I'm not going to switch from VirtueD before trying Spaces.
Like
Version 1.3b2
Edanrogo
21 August 2007
I would've given You Control: Desktops a 5 stars review if it weren't for the lack of control that an user has to decide if he/she wants to switch from one desktop to another once he/she closes an application. I emailed the developers about this situation, but they've ignored my suggestion in every update so far. So, even though I've been an user of this application for over two years now, it annoys me that they would continue developing such an useful app without including such a simple option: switch or not switch to the next desktop after all the apps have been closed in the current desktop.
Like
Version 1.3b2
Paul-Burney
07 August 2007
I am a former CodeTek virtual desktops user who recently switched to this application when I got a MacBook Pro. My Virtual Desktop needs are pretty simple - just have a set of applications that are always displayed on a particular desktop.This app works great and is very stable for that purpose. I haven't tried all the extra features. The demo worked for me without any problems. The app has a nice menu to switch between your desktops and you can customize the icon to your liking which is nice. I typically just use keyboard shortcuts for this, though. The arrangement of desktops is a simple list that cycles which is how I'm most productive. I've tried 2D sets / grids of desktops in other programs and always found it to take too much thought. The current beta has a bit more polish than the previous release and I've found it to be stable on my MacBook Pro and on my G5 Tower. YouControl Desktops also doesn't exhibit the annoying "unfocused dialog box" issue with Adobe Creative Suite CS 3 of which other similar applications suffer. The only feature I miss from CodeTek is the ability to have an external monitor not do switching. A workaround is to set those applications on the second monitor (e.g., EyeTV) to "display on any desktop" then turn off the desktop transitions. All said, the software is well worth the money for me.
Like
Version 1.3b1
Jonedwards
23 February 2007
This is the only virtual desktop application that works properly on Intel 10.4.8. It's missing some of the features of a few of the others, but it also doesn't have nearly as many bugs. NOTE: there seems to be a better version of this application on their website.
Like
Version 1.3b1
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
23 February 2007
A 'better' version? Could you be more specific? The version posted here on MacUpdate is the very latest version.
Like
Version 1.3b1
Amcan12
16 December 2006
Same as previous reports - cannot get past selecting demo mode. Lack of reply from developer for so many months says it all... YouSoftware sucks.
Like
Version 1.2
Westheman
21 June 2006
I've never been able to try this software... I can't get past the window that asks if you want to try the demo, buy or register. If I hit the demo button another window appears saying that there was an error with my license (which i don't have of course) because it expired. Next time I launch it, there's no demo button.
Like
Version 1.2b1
1 answer(s)
John-F-
John-F-
06 July 2006
Same here. This sucks.
Like
Version 1.2 b3
Bella-Photo
30 May 2006
As a professional photographer, I need all the desktop space I can get. This product helped me be more productive.
Like
Version 1.2b1
Ciro
25 May 2006
Great app! I can't work without it. The latest version works great. Desktops transition smoothly and I can allocate specific files to a specific Desktop - really reduces the clutter.
Like
Version 1.2b1
Anonymous
18 July 2005
Sparky, try version v1.1.1 on TIGER, it works!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
01 May 2005
I got it for TIGER because the other multiple desktop program I normally use wasn't compatible with TIGER. You Control Desktop is unstable in TIGER in the sense that the wibdows in one desktop have a habit of jumping over to another desktop. Annoying!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
20 April 2005
wow! really anoying app.. i have installed "Little Snitch" in my system like a tool to try to isolate spyware or web-contact applications... and You Control Desktop try to contact some server almost for 5 times! ...c'mon dev dudes, you only make stay away from your software!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
19 April 2005
Interesting alternative to dashboard ;-)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
19 April 2005
Phones home.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 April 2005
Or rather, tired to phone home, and then throws a fit anyway (even if you let it) and refuses to work. Useless.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
19 April 2005
Virtue Desktop Manager offers everything this offers for free! So, unfortunately I see no reason to try this as great as product it might be. I can't live and work without virtual desktops!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
05 December 2004
I agree with Anonymous. It may very well be a great product but with open source alternatives it's hard to justify the cost.
Like
Version 1.0b1
Anonymous
02 December 2004
niiice, i love this! If it would use a different Dock for every configuration that would be the clincher.
Like
Version 1.0b1