Back to BwanaDik page
BwanaDik free download for Mac

BwanaDik Reviews

4.1.0
08 September 2017

IP address (WAN and LAN) menu item.

Maulrat
15 October 2008

Most helpful

I really like this little menu app for what it is. This is something that I always thought should be available from the Airport menu.
Like (3)
Version 3.2

Read 43 BwanaDik User Reviews

Rate this app:

TJLuoma
14 July 2019
As of 2019-07-13, http://www.vanprosolutions.com/ is down and the Mac App Store link says that it's no longer available. Wonder what happened.
Like
Version 4.1.0
WordWeaver
26 February 2019
Still the best FREE IP address -- WAN and LAN -- menubar app out there. I have been using it for years on several machines. This is a must-have utility for all Internet users. Thanks again John Schilling and Henk vanBruggen.
Like
Version 4.1.0
Balmac
05 November 2018
BwanaDik has been around for years and is the best little IP utility you can have on your Mac. Would use it every day.
Like
Version 4.1.0
Freeshare
11 March 2018
Does its job, very well.
Like
Version 4.1.0
roro01
09 September 2017
Funny name for an application - bwana in East Africa is a boss or master.
Like
Version 4.1.0
1 answer(s)
billybien
billybien
13 September 2017
Its a Frank Zappa reference
Like
Diarbyrag
21 August 2017
Brilliant, was using an old original version 3.3 which was still working fine on Sierra but getting an updated version on the App Store and for free is a nice bonus ! Nice work Henk, having my little green globe shining in the menu bar tells me all is well !
Like
Version 4.0.6
WordWeaver
21 August 2017
Bwanadik 4.0.5 -- downloaded from the App Store -- is not working properly on an early 2009 24" iMac running 10.11.6. Somewhat similar to Jimw's comment below, 4.0.5 does not recognize my external IP address -- says it is unknown -- and it reports that I am not connected, which is contrary to the truth. So, I have the red menubar icon, instead of the green one. I am using an Airport Extreme router, BTW. Apparently, there is something in 4.0.5 that is causing the aforementioned problem. So, I deleted the complete "com.vanprosolutions.BwanaDik" folder from ~/Library/Containers -- it was the only Bwanadik-related files/folders that I could find on my hard drive -- and then reinstalled 4.0.4, which is working fine again. I am also curious as to why Bwanadik requires all of the following folders or folder aliases in its "Data" folder. Perhaps Van Pro Solutions would like to comment regarding this: Desktop Documents Downloads Library Movies Music Pictures Bwanadik has worked well for me for a number of years now. Thus, I am just subtracting half a star due to the current problems.
Like
Version 4.0.5
1 answer(s)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
21 August 2017
Bwanadik is working again with 4.0.6. Thanks Henk for quickly finding and fixing the problem. :)
Like
Jimw
20 August 2017
Unfortunately, using an AT&T u-Verse Gateway to connect, and running MOS 10.12.6 it failed to recognize my WAN IP connection.. It also placed numerous files all over my boot drive which I found with File Buddy.
Like
Version 4.0.5
zo219
15 March 2016
Available in the Mac App Store - and you know Apple would *never* screw up.
Like
Version 3.3
momijigari
16 April 2015
Does its job, and works on every OS so far.
Like
Version 3.3
RogerKatz
18 January 2015
VanPro Solutions has taken over updates for BwanaDik. It's now at version 4.0.3 http://www.vanprosolutions.com/software/
Like
Version 3.3
2 answer(s)
edum7697
edum7697
29 January 2015
It fails at start on Yosemite 10.10.2 LSOpenURLsWithRole() failed with error -10810 for the file /Applications/BwanaDik.app.
Like
momijigari
momijigari
16 April 2015
Working fine for me using Yosemite 10.10.3
Like
marzipan
24 November 2010
it could be that BwanaDik's been updated since the previous posters reviewed it, but for whatever reason, and speaking only of BwanaDik 3.3, i don't have any of the problems they describe. i've watched BD for a while in Activity Monitor and haven't seen it taking more than 1.0% of my CPU nor more than 18.3 MB of RAM. i'll keep an eye on it and see if it uses up more of anything than it should, but i run it constantly - and i don't shut my Macs down, either, so it frequently runs for weeks or months on end - and haven't yet traced any problems back to it. i don't remember that my experience was so problem-free with earlier versions (but neither do i remember that it wasn't), so i'm not going to say anything about that. but i do heartily recommend giving BwanaDik 3.3 a try. i think it's indispensable.
Like
Version 3.3
ivanovitch
31 October 2008
I'd love to be able to say that I like this app, but when it consumed 95%-110% of my CPU (i.e. a runaway process), I had to ditch it. A real pity. I've noticed that it has a memory leak on a number of laptops that I've installed it on, and cannot recommend this app at all on that basis alone: it's too dangerous until it gets fixed. Other than that, it shows great potential, though I'll be looking for alternatives for now.
Like
Version 3.2
Maulrat
15 October 2008
I really like this little menu app for what it is. This is something that I always thought should be available from the Airport menu.
Like (3)
Version 3.2
Arnauld
03 August 2008
If bwanadik doesn't work with Leopard (only local IP is shown in the menu), end it, clear the preference file "com.stimpsoft.bwanadik.plist" securely and restart a new copy of bwanadik 3.1. Since this procedure bwanadik worked again for me . I appreciate this software! TNX developer!
Like (1)
Version 3.1
Bertobox
15 January 2008
Alas, we have a Leopard compatible version, THANK YOU BwanaDik gods [developers]!! **bow** **bow** Long live the BwanaDik developers!!
Like (1)
Version 3.1
Follerec
15 January 2008
Finally updated for Leopard. Was planning on doing it myself, but realized I do not have any coding skills at all. Great little menubar applet that just simply shows whether I have an Internet connection or not. I personally set it to "Small Aqua Spheres", which looks great on Leopard's (and Tiger's) menubar. That, in my opinion, would be a better default than the bigger globe icons. One wish: customizable servers for checking the external IP. There are plenty out there to choose from. And I'd love to setup my own for my personal use.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
Emdee
08 December 2007
Same problem for me. I've tried to delete preference file for this app and it works! Checking of external IP works again. ;-)
Like
Version 3.0.4
4 answer(s)
Gap1028
Gap1028
12 December 2007
I too wish to get BwanaDik running again on Leopard. I'm willing to try to remove the preference file, but I have not been able to find it... where is it? what is is called?
Like
Version 3.0.4
Bertobox
Bertobox
13 December 2007
after emdee's success I followed the procedure and deleted my old preferences file and still no love. I tried this on my PowerBook G4 1.5GHz and on a couple of PowerMac G5s Dual 2GHz and it did not produce any successful result… :( @gap1028, to delete your BwanaDik preferences file, go to ~/Library/Preferences/ and find the file called com.stimpsoft.bwanadik.plist and send to the trash. :) good luck!
Like
Version 3.0.4
Anoniimous
Anoniimous
13 December 2007
well same for me, no more bwanadik.plist file in the Preferences, but no external IP neither !..
Like
Version 3.0.4
Ca
Ca
28 December 2007
BD had problems after upgrading to Mac OS 10.4.10. Deleting the prefs file fixed my problem. Well, at least this problem :) The external IP is displayed normally.
Like
Version 3.0.4
Bertobox
31 October 2007
BwanaDik is not working for me, since upgrading to Leopard, is anyone else having this issue?
Like
Version 3.0.4
4 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
31 October 2007
Perhaps you should contact the developer, he's very responsive. http://www.jschilling.net/contact.php
Like
Version 3.0.4
Meatmcguffin
Meatmcguffin
06 November 2007
Depends how you mean by broken. It launches and discovers local IPs but not external IPs
Like
Version 3.0.4
Bertobox
Bertobox
07 November 2007
meatmcguffin is correct, (i forgot to specify on my previous message), BwanaDik identifies the Local IP address but not the more important External IP, and thus, no way of notifying me of whether or not i have a 'good' signal. :) BwanaDik is a great tool, I have sent the Developer an email (haven't heard back from him yet but hopefully soon), it'll be good to have BwanaDik running as part of my LoginItems again… :)
Like
Version 3.0.4
Anoniimous
Anoniimous
13 December 2007
I have the same problem with OSX 10.5, Bwanadik gives the local IP but for the external IP it gives 'unknown'. By the way the same applies for the built-in System Preferences>Sharing>Remote login the local IP is given instead of the external one, no ssh can work. I am using in the meantime the get IP application but it's a widget, not in the menu bar.
Like
Version 3.0.4
Sapigila
20 December 2006
To Developer (Johnny Cat), this is very good software but add keyword "network status" for this. I using macupdate search but this thing is not show up. People will hard to find it using search. I found BwanaDik from people review in other place.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.4
Ca
24 October 2006
Works fine on my Power Mac running Mac OS 10.4.8 (non-US system). A nice utility!
Like (1)
Version 3.0.4
mrsidoric
04 October 2006
BwanaDik is a road-warrior must have. Have spent hours trying to make a coffeehouse wi-fi connection work only to discover the wireless works but the internet router was down. BwanaDik's glowing orb is all I need to really know. The interface and settings are well-reasoned and the operations have been flawless. Very impressive support by John. BTW -- SUPPORT THIS DEVELOPER... his software is useful, fun, and rooted in the true Mac tradition. His website is also fun and engaging. Stimpy would be proud.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
Ca
09 September 2006
BwanaDik has always worked flawlessly. Except version 3.0.1. I have a death beachball when I try to select the little blue ball in the menu bar. BwanaDik quits after this :(
Like
Version 3.0.1
2 answer(s)
Johnnycat1
Johnnycat1
09 September 2006
Seems like this version is crashing for quite a few people. Sadly, I have no idea why. But I'm trying to fix it.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Ca
Ca
09 September 2006
3.0.2 fixes the problem. Yay! Excellent support. Excellent Zappa-esque utility :)
Like
Version 3.0.2
Sublinear
09 September 2006
Love it! Does what it says id does, and it does it well!
Like
Version 3.0
Darth-Brooks
09 September 2006
Sounds like what I'm looking for too, but unfortunately it won't open in 10.3.9.
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Johnnycat1
Johnnycat1
09 September 2006
My bad, fixed now.
Like
Version 3.0.1
celloguy
27 August 2006
I really like Bwanadik and it has the functionality I wanted. However, I have never been able to get the e-mail alerts to work. I have them checked in the preferences, but for some reason, I've never gotten an e-mail. I'd really love to have it all work-does anyone have a similar experience and/or fix?
Like
Version 2.6
2 answer(s)
Johnnycat1
Johnnycat1
09 September 2006
The only reasons I can think of are A) bad email address entered into field or B) Mail.app is not installed. But those two reasons aside, I'll keep looking into it.
Like
Version 3.0
celloguy
celloguy
10 September 2006
ahhhh. does mail need to be set as the default mail client?
Like
Version 3.0.2
Thebryceman
17 June 2006
BwanaDik is THE BEST IP monitoring Menu Bar Application. I have tried many others and BwanaDik is now the best all round! Simple, elegant and does everything I want. I only reviewed version 2.0 a week ago and can't believe that version 2.5 is now out with E-mail support! So, in a heart beat I have now donated as promised. Thanks for a great App John!
Like
Version 2.5
Mistercharlie
13 June 2006
Well, despite the aothor's claims, this is exactly what I have been looking for. I have an intermittent connection and it is great to have a visual indicator of this, along with alert messages. Not much to say really. Simple stuff, done well.
Like
Version 2.5
Thebryceman
06 June 2006
Bwanadik is a well done app that I have used many times and it was very useful when had a bad ADSL connection. However I have had to go back to IP Menu (very similar program) as it automatically sends an e-mail if your IP address changes. If Bwanadik could encorporate an automatic e-mail system on IP change then I would use it and donate to the author in a heart beat.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Johnnycat1
Johnnycat1
12 June 2006
If you send me an email, I'll send you a beta version that can send out email alerts.
Like
Version 2.0
Macs-R-We
02 May 2006
This app does precisely what I want. I install it on my clients' machines so when they call in for help I can immediately tell if their network is OK and then get them to give me their IP address without leading them through a lot of complicated screens. HOWEVER, good luck finding this app. MacUpdate, like almost every other "download service," is using the same URL the developer advertises -- which is a DEAD LINK. :-(
Like
Version 1.3
Jay3ld
19 December 2005
Using it for my first time and i love it. Its really easy to see the difference between 2 colors to know if im online or not. Though i use macupdates MUMenu and its nice i can put my own icons in for new updates or not. Would be cool to see this application let me choose the icon i want to see.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
24 November 2005
This is the best out there. I was using IP Menu which is OK as well but BwanaDik (err whats in a name?) does a few things such as choosing the refresh time and coloured menubar icons to show active/inactive network. Get rid off all other pretend IP notifiers, this is the ONLY option.
Like
Version 1.3
Ryan
01 March 2005
Great. My linksys router goes on the blink quite often -- it'll still share the LAN network over wireless, but I can't get any connection to the internet. BwanaDik makes it very easy to check to see if I have LAN, WAN, both, or neither. Sure is a stupid name, though...
Like
Version 1.3
iSlayer
26 January 2005
Hi, Great little app. any chance of being able to display multiple interfaces. i have ethternet and airport running and the app will only show my airport
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 November 2005
Try LinkUp 2.0, you can launch any count of it's copies to monitor different interfaces.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
15 December 2004
Perfect!..I'm the guy with the cantenna down the street...
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
14 December 2004
Hi, great software! I only have one suggestion: Add a link to: - Network preferences - The "Location" menu (to switch locations) keep up the good work!
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
08 December 2004
In the next version can you add the version info to the Finder. When I do a get info it doesn't tell me what version it is.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Johnnycat1
Johnnycat1
08 December 2004
Yes. The latest version of XCode leaves that out by default, and I keep forgetting to add it to new apps that I write.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
08 December 2004
Thanks to the dev for taking the time to write a good description. Good marks for that. The program seems rather useful; I think it has a home on my menubar. (Along w/ half a dozen other items from SoundSource, iChat, MenuMeters... :)
Like
Version 1.2
Gufus
07 December 2004
Does what it says perfectly.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
30 November 2004
Nice bit of Freeware. It works great, and thank you very much. I was the Anon that responded to the Person Unsettled By The Name. Latex Solar Beef would have been better, actually. If you wanted to stay with the Flo & Eddy band, "Easy Meat" would be a good name (ref. The Florida Airport Tape). Or, to combine a Flo & Eddie band reference AND an obscure Neal Stephenson bit (heh), I'd suggest "Spew King."
Like
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Johnnycat1
Johnnycat1
02 December 2004
Awesome Chunga Mike. BTW, if you haven't picked up the new Zappa book by Barry Miles, do so. It's awesome.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 December 2004
Yo Johnnycat, Thanks for the Barry Miles info. I didn't know it was out. I'll add it to the Pile Of Stuff To Read. The Quadrophilliac disc simply will not leave my machine. Peace, Chunga Mike
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
30 November 2004
Who wants a what?!? How in the world did the developer come up with this name?
Like
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Johnnycat1
Johnnycat1
30 November 2004
Just be thankful I didn't go with my original name, "Latex Solar Beef".
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 November 2004
It's a Zappa thing, you wouldn't understand.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
29 November 2004
Nice little piece of soft. Others are charging for things like this, and some are not so good as this one, really. Thanks to the developer for providing us with this for free! :-)
Like
Version 1.1
Johnnycat1
29 November 2004
If anyone downloaded BwanaDik this morning, please download it again. I've fixed the problem where it thinks the network is broken if the server where it gets the WAN IP from is too busy. Plus, I'm using a better, faster server for that now.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Macs-R-We
Macs-R-We
02 May 2006
The server you're using for it now has been dead for the past few months. Can you host it somewhere accessible, please?
Like
Version 1.3