Back to make LOVE not SPAM page
make LOVE not SPAM free download for Mac

make LOVE not SPAM Reviews

2.0
27 November 2004

Screensaver ping overloads spammers & increases their costs.

Anonymous
27 November 2004

Most helpful

WOT? how does it work?
Like
Version 2.0

Read 54 make LOVE not SPAM User Reviews

Rate this app:

Dennis-taylor
16 December 2004
Maybe this can be redone, if not by lycos- by someone. Try making it similar to a P2P client. Too sporadic of a target to hit, yes? If they dodge left, let's go left. Those monkies need to pay. If I get one more spam about my dog needing siding from SEARS® on his house, viagra for his 13 year old kit-n-kaboodle® and mammories the size of alaska- I think I am gonna lose it.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
16 December 2004
looks like the spammers win again
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
08 December 2004
This Shlashdot article may be of some edifying nature.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
08 December 2004
Mine does not connect anymore. Project seems to be dead.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
08 December 2004
Scam not Spam? LOL my mailbox being flooded with adverts for cialis, viagra, celebrex, casino's, greeting cards, stock opportunities, whatever the case the issue is my privacy, not the validity of the products being sold. I want to hurt them.. oh yeah.. im imagining it right now baby.. twist your head to the left a little.. is that painful?.. oh yeah.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
08 December 2004
MLNS_screensaver_en.exe is available on eDonkey and Kazaa.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 December 2004
I would'nt If I were you guys, the makelovenotspam viruses have arrived..
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
07 December 2004
Seems these guys simply ripped off the idea from another company that was already doing this waay before them. Its called spamitback (spamitback.com), and allows you to choose which spammers, plus a whole bunch of different ways of getting back at them.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
06 December 2004
Hello, everybody. I just learned of the Make Love Not Spam screensaver and looked over some of your written reviews and I believe I comprehend the concerns of both sides of our fence. I get between 40 to 50 unwanted emails a day which I forward to our United States Federal Trade Commission at spam@uce.gov in hopes to track down and stop any number of these unethical solicitors and/or criminals. I've found in my own psychoanalyses of these unwanted emails that perhaps has much as 99% aren't actually so-called spam, but rather in reality is SCAM, or in other words criminals have seized the opportunity to take advantage of the spam business where now the SCAMMERS have outnumbered the spammers by at least 99% to 1. What used to be a spam issue is now a SCAM matter of mainly criminal activity. Anyone who still perceives the problem as spam instead of SCAM needs to be updated on recognizing the differences between spam versus SCAM, for example, it's criminally minded people responsible for more than 99% of my total emails and nearly always contains either 1 of 5 things, either pharmaceutical drugs, scammers faking as banks asking for update information, genuine fake watches, financial/mortgage loans, or information with sexual content. My interpretation of what would comprise a true spammer is someone who might ask me if I might be interested in hearing about financial loans and if I say no then they politely leave me alone, whereas a true SCAMMER will pretend my loan is preapproved when I have no such loan to exist in the first place, that's a SCAMMER looking for innocent victims. Considering how difficult it is with present resouces to catch so many white-collar criminals that use spam techniques, I can't disregard any and all attempts to help our global community in reducing the number of criminal activity. I'll probably download Make Love Not Spam screensaver but I might end up not installing it because I need to have the scammers to continue to try and scam me, in order for me to have something to forward to spam@uce.gov in hopes of tracking these scammers down, however, I would think it's helpful in having others reduce the work load by putting any number of small time email scammers out of business. Lastly, I believe there's been a direct correlation between the amount of scam emails I receive and whether or not I made attempts to unsubscribe. I used to get around 10 a day and have tried 3 different occassions to see what would happen by trying to unsubscibe from these scam emails, and in each case within several weeks the amount noticeably increased by roughtly 10 to 12 more scam emails a day. SCAMMERS seem to look for anyone who might respond to their SCAM in any sort of way because their SCAMS can't work unless their victims are interacting with the SCAM. It seems as long as SCAMMERS can get a click out of anybody it automatically tells them they have better odds of SCAMMING, then the intended victim's worth goes up along with the cost of the intended victim's name as it becomes more saleable in the black market, and the next I know, I get a dozen more nearly identical email SCAMS all employing spamming techniques. Please accept my apology for remaining anonymous as I shall be continuing to forward SCAM emails to spam@uce.gov. Thank you for you time, Sincerely, me
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
05 December 2004
Will they have a similar screensaver to ping Adware and spyware? I think this could seriously stop them... Keep up the good work Lycos!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
04 December 2004
It looks like this screen saver won't attack spammers for the moment at least. Both the screen saver and the "More Info" (MakeLoveNotSpam.com) site display a "Stay Tuned" message. Although this type of thing may cause a little trouble for users of spam-hosting ISPs, I think its worth it.
Like
Version 2.0
Duncan
04 December 2004
I agree with brett, the spammers are playing dirty so lets play them at their game, and judging by the looks of it lycos are winning, now would be the worst time to stop because it would give the spammers the idea that they are unbeatable, how would you feel if you were a spammer and had lycos try to take you down but survived? They don't play by the rules so why should we?
Like
Version 2.0
Jeremymeile
04 December 2004
Perfect! :)
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
03 December 2004
When one side being the spammers had waged a constant assault of unethical self serving deception upon a populace which is already weary from the constant bombardment of their solicitations, plus with no option have been forced to pay higher premiums for their internet service and protective software, the natural conclusion is to strike decisively at the very heart of the matter where it counts the most, and that being the very same which we have all along been forced to pay ourselves. Bandwidth and service. Only a small percentage of spammers have highly profited from their business of gaining the confidence of impressionable victims which ultimately have only served as a source of empowerment for the many thousands of lazy members of their kind who likewise seek the making of a quick and effortless profit while we the true wage earners of our respective cultures continue to work ethically for everything we acquire. Far better is it that the people who are effected most be the ones who have risen to the task of sending forth our message of deterrent against this lower class netizen who would likely cut your throat in order to profit further from your efforts while they themselves continue in living the lifestyle of a leech.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
03 December 2004
bad bad bad idea. This only increases to the slowing down of the internet and exists in a state of quasi legality.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 December 2004
We need active and aggressive action against these spammers. They are built on dishonesty , getting your email address by tricking you (eg, when you clicked "remove" ) . They "steal" your time and hijack your machine, dump offensive material on your screen , ... there are no ethics and the whole industry has become rotten .... lets be grateful that we have a big name like Lycos allowing us to fight back aggressively .....
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 December 2004
I get the beach-ball effect too. When the saver starts I get 1 second of psychodelia and then beachball to infinity and beyond. Have to forced restart. (For no apparent reason, it runs ok from inside the Preferences when I click Test - although under Test it reports it cant connect to anything so I dont know.) Anyway, any chance of fixing this dear Lycos peoples?
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 December 2004
I don't know about any one else, but my spam mail has doubled since I started running this screensaver. Something to think about.....
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 December 2004
This HAS to be the most "stupid" comment in any review! You KNOW that MLNS does not ask for your e-mail address. You KNOW that MLNS is only a http referer. Why do you bother to even waste your energy with comments like this! There is NO WAY you can be spammed because of MLNS - unless you have been giving out your e-mail address to everyone claiming that you are spam-proof now that you run MLNS - which is even more stupid! AM
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 December 2004
The ALTERNATE DOWNLOAD LOCATION cited below worked fine for me just now: http://download2.makelovenotspam.com/screensavers/MLNS_screensaver_en.dmg Also, apparently all over the Gnutella world: Kazaa or Limewire will do the trick. cheers!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 December 2004
Down right now but-- the program is fantastic and well deserved!! The laws should be re-written to exempt spammers from the prohibition on DOS attacks and we'll shut 'm down entirely. The spammers have stolen millions of valuable time, diskspace and bandwidth from from those who-- unlike themselves-- did nothing to deserve it. Go Lycos!!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 December 2004
The screensaver is offline right now, please stay tuned for further info...
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 December 2004
Fighting spam with more spam doesn't seem like the most constructive thing to do...
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 December 2004
Its totally valid .. Spammers steal 20 - 30 minutes of my day and risk my losing valuable emails because I have to delete so much rubbish .... They are a scourge on the entire internet and have no ethics, doubling up your garbage if you happen to have hit "remove" ever etc .... fight back energetically .... we are lucky to have a big name like Lycos taking them on , on our behalf
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 December 2004
Do you also advocate running slow drivers off the road?
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 December 2004
Junk. Tried it on 3 seperate Macs and all three after the screesaver began to load were stuck with the spinning beachball and all three had to be force-restarted. Don't waste your time unti they fix this. Great idea though!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 December 2004
This program worked at first but now I just get a spinning cursor, and have to force-restart my pbook. Re-installing doesn't help.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 December 2004
does anyone know if the program is down?? when my screen saver pops up, it says that i'm not connected to the internet, when i acutally am?? someone help me w/ this problem so i can continue to spam those spammers!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 December 2004
mail servers? Do you even understand the concept of what this program does? It pings ip numbers that are known spammers, in effect eating bandwith causing them to pay more to operate. You must be in IT.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 December 2004
"It pings ip numbers that are known spammers" It PINGS the sites? Wow. And to think you know what you're talking about.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 December 2004
It uses the bandwidth of servers on some list; whether or not these are machines used by spammers is not something the software can verify.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 December 2004
Its now back online
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 December 2004
The http://www.makelovenotspam.com/intl/ site is temporarily overrun--gee what a surprise. You can download the screensaver from any file sharing network using software like Limewire, Kazaa, or eDonkey--use the keyword 'mlns'. Pass the word !!!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 December 2004
Absolutely wicked!!! About time. Where do I send my registration money so Lycos can develop further. Try working in the IT world where a percentage of your resources are wasted on this problem, then cry me a song about how unfair it is. Besides, since when is live fair. Oooo... these are exciting time we live in. I can't wait. Bring it on!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 December 2004
I was able to download the screensaver before it became impossible. (I agree - I think they're getting DOS'd bigtime - someone needs to start putting up alternative dld sites!) It installed and ran very well, and it's fun to watch the "shots" at various spammers. The graphic me think back to the 1980s - "Would you like to play a game of chess?" "No, I want to play global thermonuclear warfare."
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 December 2004
I downloaded from the alternate link, but the program won't connect to the server - probably due to the fact that the website is not working. I guess it's either being heavily hit by spammers or there are millions like me who want the spamming to stop. I get over 100 spams a day, despite unsubscribing from all who spam me. It makes me sick, and I hope this screen saver works in the future.
Like
Version 2.0
St3alth31
01 December 2004
Wtf? Yes, attacking spammers is wrong, you know this, you shouldn't be doing it. Your ip address and request have been logged and will be reported to your ISP for further action. Thats what I got wen I clicked to download....Thanks?
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 December 2004
Site seems to be hacked by spammers
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 December 2004
It's a fake message. Relax.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 December 2004
If you're having trouble downloading, try: http://download2.makelovenotspam.com/screensavers/MLNS_screensaver_en.dmg instead.
Like
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 December 2004
Excellent! It works. thanks!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 December 2004
Hmm, the link works but the program doesn't. I get the spinning wheel of death and have to force-quit System Prefs... maybe it needs to contact the server or something.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 December 2004
I get the same problem... After a long time I get a message saying that I may be disconnected (which I am not)
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 December 2004
Appears to be down. I wouldn't be surprised if spammers were DDoSing this site...
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 December 2004
I downloaded it yesterday and it's GREAT. It's good to just stare at the screensaver and see how we're hitting back at those bastards. Our combined governments are a bunch of inept and indecisive institutions which are apparently more concerned with other things. This has been going on for years and they haven't been able to do anything about it. If this one really works then it will have the added value of not having to depend on politicians. It's to early for me to give fair ratings - but so far it's looking good.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 December 2004
Can anyone even download this? This nor their site seems to work.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
30 November 2004
Now if only we could get spammers labeled as 'terrorists'...
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
30 November 2004
I'm from Lycos & I luv it
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
30 November 2004
You hit us, we hit you back. It's the american way. Don't be like these other girly-men, help us teach SPAMers a lesson! They want to waste our bandwidth, we'll make sure they don't have enough bandwidth open to say "please forgive my retched soul" as they pay for their crimes against humanity. How many kids have gone to check their email hoping for a friendly message from grandma and have been traumatized by porn and viagra SPAM? These are sick, morally corrupted people. They need to be punished. Our government doesn't have the will to do it, but the will of the PEOPLE is more powerful. A good first step in the war on SPAM. Don't let SPAM-friendly propagandists get to you, keep up the good work brothers!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
30 November 2004
hundreds of thousands if not millions are being made on this scrouge called spam. both in protection (which doesn't really work unless you whitelist or force a reply to an automated confirmation message) and far more in the sales of email address lists and the spam senders. i get 40 every couple of days or so more or less from simply having an email address that's linked to my domain registration. i really dont' give a crap if it's legal or not, but if a large corp writes a nice program like this, i'm glad to contribute alongside my 40,000 other partners in crime.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
30 November 2004
This is the best screensaver ever! Let's teach the spammers, guys!
Like
Version 2.0
Rashmi Sunder Raj
30 November 2004
I think this screensaver is great. You guys are probably from the sites that we are trying obliterate. Nah nah!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
29 November 2004
Tried to run this "screensaver," and got a hard freeze of my eMac. Had to use the power button to restart it.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
29 November 2004
As I understand it, ANY user that attempts to perform a denial of service attack (which is exactly what this program allows you to do), is illegal. It is vandalism. This is an electronic equivalent to smashing the windows of the MBNA and Oxfam offices: i.e., it costs them more money to run their spam business, but they'll still run it. This is aside from the fact that it's definitely illegal to perform DOS attacks, yet spam is still a grey area. If you want to participate in illegal direct action (which the US Gubment would have you believe should be called "terrorism"), then go ahead: download this. After all, you probably talk on your mobile phone while you're driving, the morning after a heavy night drinking and smoking pot, don't you?
Like
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 November 2004
If you read Lycos' website, this is not a DDOS attack mechanism. Lycos monitors the traffic, and if it gets too high, they throttle back on the hits.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 November 2004
well then, would you have a magical hint to stop the spamming, then? Have you done anything yet? I'm not talking about how to avoid spam, but how to avoid spammers to do what they're good at. Do you really think it's up to your provider to stand alone against it or would you imagine you could contribute? Maybe it's not the best way, but tell me another ine and i'll certainly consider it
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 November 2004
oh, all the time
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
29 November 2004
This is one horrible idea. Don't create more create more trouble on the Internet because someone else creates trouble. Also, it's shortsighted. Things don't stay the same on the Internet.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
28 November 2004
Most people obviously are not reading what it is they actually do. They are not spamming anyone with this. All they do is a slow burn bandwidth utilization scheme. No spam, no massive ddos, just slowly wasting their bandwidth by going to a site their e-mails are telling people to go to. The only difference between what it is doing and what they want a spam recipient to do is actually viewing the pages. That is the only difference.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 December 2004
This IS a dDoS attack. It might be justified, but in a civilized society, the courts decide who does and doesn't deserve punishment. I think this attack is illegal, I surely hope it is. There will be a lot of collateral damage. Mostly collateral damage, I'm afraid.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
28 November 2004
I downloaded this thing thinking that I might be spammed by Lycos ads (I deal with a lot of spam everyday on my non-.Mac email so it's no big surprise) ... no spam in my box [yet] ... then again, it didn't ask me for an email address to dump spam to. The idea seems to have some kind of merit. The screensaver doesn't pummel a random "spam" server with packet requests so it's not really an instant DDoS attack. It's more like a slow-and-painless death the way I see this map bombing around. FEATURES: Not much of features since it's just a screensaver but then again, what kind of features would you look for in a screensaver aside from preventing it from burning out age-old CRTs? EASE OF USE: I guess the only ease-of-use here is just letting your machine idle for a while or manually turning it on. There is an option to run the screensaver on three different sizes, but it didn't made much difference performance-wise on my system. VALUE: It's free and you can't beat free so it's an auto-5 there. STABILITY: It was slow on my machine at the time I ran it. I just had typical applications open like MS Word, MS Excel, and Safari. Typical stuff I usually run ... it seems really silly to close out of any programs just to load up a screensaver, especially when I'm not usually around to see a screensaver run; it turns off when I go back to my desk. I have an 800 MHz G4 iBook with 640 MB memory.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
28 November 2004
So from what I understand Lycos wants to SPAM other spammers. Now when Lycos is spamming isn't that as much illegal as what the other spammers are doing?
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 November 2004
You obviously are not reading what it is they actually do. They are not spamming anyone with this. All they do is a slow burn bandwidth utilization. No spam, no massive ddos, just slowly wasting their bandwidth by going to a site their e-mails are telling people to go to. The only difference between what it is doing and what they want a spam recipient to do is actually viewing the pages. That is the only difference.
Like
Version 2.0
Ben
28 November 2004
Also a possibility to get customers for the "spam-secure" lycos-email service.....
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
28 November 2004
an interesting idea for getting even with those congealed Spammers...
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
28 November 2004
Lycos is in their own war and their weapon is called a "screen-saver" ... hey, give me a screensaver to cook coffee and I will use it, but please don't waste my time with Your SPAM, Lycos!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
28 November 2004
Worst... idea... ever.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 December 2004
That's because you're a spammer.
Like
Version 2.0