Back to Jomic page
Jomic free download for Mac

Jomic Reviews

0.9b34
09 October 2011

Viewer for comic book archives (beta).

Rmolenda
08 August 2006

Most helpful

A great application for the job. Simply put, you can't beat the price, and the developer continues to improve it.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.22

Read 17 Jomic User Reviews

Rate this app:

fmr
21 June 2016
Requires Java…
Like
Version 0.9b34
Bdkennedy1
03 January 2012
Doesn't work on Lion 10.7.2. The menu bar is grayed out.
Like
Version 0.9b31
Babalooz
07 September 2011
On the website there already is a Lion compatible version (Universal): http://jomic.sourceforge.net/
Like (1)
Version 0.9b31
Quirop-Pa
20 August 2008
Una aplicación sencilla y eficaz. Tal vez las haya mejores, pero con esta no necesito comprobarlo. Gracias!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.30
Springheelmac
07 April 2007
Works well. One question: when Jomic extracts the comic, where does it extract it too? Can the directory be selected? I noticed a considerable amount of space after extracting a comic, but could not locate it, although it was viewable just fine.
Like
Version 0.9.25
Rmolenda
08 August 2006
A great application for the job. Simply put, you can't beat the price, and the developer continues to improve it.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.22
Anonymous
26 August 2005
Jomic is a great program! Wonderful app. The only problem I've had is when I started it for the first time, I got an error message that just said "null," and the program quit. After trying to start it several times with the same problem, I dragged a .zip file to the icon, and it has worked perfectly since.
Like
Version 0.9.10
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 October 2005
This has been fixed in version 0.9.12.
Like
Version 0.9.10
Anonymous
02 August 2005
the below problem seems to be fixed and jomic is the best ever! I love it, 12/10 good stuff.
Like
Version 0.9.10
Anonymous
08 June 2005
the only problem I'm still having with jomic is that maybe 50% of the time when I open a archive (I don't know if it happens more with either type) it will not just open it and instead will prompt me for which file I want to open. Sort of annoying to have to navigate through the directories to get to a file I just opened. Otherwise it's all good!
Like
Version 0.9.9
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 June 2005
Version 0.9.10 was just released. Among other things, opening a comic from the Finder should now work reliably.
Like
Version 0.9.9
Anad
13 April 2005
This works great for me. I like it much better then FFView or Comical. Appears faster and I have less problems with cbr and cbz files. Great work.
Like
Version 0.9.8
Anonymous
25 March 2005
um, yah. went to the download site for the java 3d, made sure it installed, and still nothing. can't really evaluate software that won't start up, so that's about it. hmm.
Like
Version 0.9.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 March 2005
As pointed out in the forum, it seems that the JAI installation fails on Mac OS X 10.3.8 (though it still claims it was successful). To work around that, there is a release with all JAI related stuff already included. You can download it from .
Like
Version 0.9.8
Anonymous
20 March 2005
Several people reported that they cannot get JAI to work with Mac OS 10.3.8, and thus Jomic won't work. See the related discussion in the forum for details.
Like
Version 0.9.8
Adam
19 March 2005
I want to use this program but I can't get it to run. I get the same message about Java Advanced Imaging not being installed. JAI is definitely installed on my machine.
Like
Version 0.9.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 March 2005
Several people reported that they cannot get JAI to work with Mac OS 10.3.8, and thus Jomic won't work. See the related discussion in the forum for details.
Like
Version 0.9.8
Anonymous
16 March 2005
Where do you find comics?
Like
Version 0.9.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 March 2005
you can find comics on bittorrent
Like
Version 0.9.8
UK mac maniac
14 March 2005
Won't work for me, just comes up with error 'needs Java update' which is already installed, everytime I try to launch Jomic? anyone else have the same prob?
Like
Version 0.9.7
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 March 2005
Jomic writes all sorts of interesting things to the console.log file. To view it, please proceed as follows: 1. Open Jomic, click away the error and quit. 2. Open Applications > Utilities > Console 3. Find the line where Jomic logs the version information. It should contain stuff like this: "2005-03-14 18:33:04,472 [main] INFO net.sf.jomic.Jomic - version: jomic = 0.9.7, java = 1.4.2_05, platform = Mac OS X-10.3.8-ppc" 4. Check for error messages in the log. Please post this here, or go to http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?group_id=103788&atid=635943 and file a bug report including the information extracted from the log. Thanks, Thomas.
Like
Version 0.9.7
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 March 2005
Thanks for submitting your bug report. For those interested in tracking this issue, go to https://sourceforge.net/tracker/index.php?func=detail&aid=1163587&group_id=103788&atid=635943
Like
Version 0.9.7
Anonymous
31 January 2005
Amazing that we have such a wonderful choice now on the MAC! Does it let you view CBZ and CBR files? If not ComicBookViewerAlphaA2, FFview or Jomic is the way to go. These all have the ability to browse pictures inside archives (.rar/.cbr, .zip/.cbz) if they're the right format of picture file ;)
Like
Version 0.9.6
jonasyorg
30 December 2004
This program stacks up very well against Comic Book Viewer(which is at gumby.misplacedmac.com and not on any version tracking sites I believe). Especially I was always annoyed by having to get a new version when it would expire and the guy wouldn't post the update right away. I really wish I had been using this when I was doing an art project using comic books because the ability to export the images directly from within the program would have been very useful instead of having to manually unrar/zip the stuff and then find the image. Also CBV doesn't have a scroll bar when you make the image fit by width, you have to use your mouse to drag it down, but frequently it won't work or won't get quite to the bottom. I haven't been using this for a long time but it's been very stable and I plan on making it my main reader, and I would have posted a review earlier if I knew I didn't have to create an account. Great job!
Like
Version 0.9.5