Back to Compress page
Compress free download for Mac

Compress Reviews

3.0
28 February 2011

Compress files using tar, gzip, bzip2, zip, p7zip formats.

Nadoky
23 March 2006

Most helpful

Like the idea that you can compress to various formats but with no progress bar and the lack of a preference to choose where you want the compressed file to be renders this app just average.
Like (2)
Version 2.1

Read 17 Compress User Reviews

Rate this app:

Sharky517
09 May 2006
4got about the blasted stars.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Sharky517
09 May 2006
It did exactly what I needed it to, and cost me nothing. How did I know when it was done? My OS came with an activity monitor.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Nadoky
23 March 2006
Like the idea that you can compress to various formats but with no progress bar and the lack of a preference to choose where you want the compressed file to be renders this app just average.
Like (2)
Version 2.1
Anonymous
06 September 2005
I tried this app on a damaged zip after Open Up 3.2 came back with error of "End-of-central-directory signature not found" and StuffIt Deluxe 9.02 gave me error -40. I got all of the files including the remaining part of the damaged file out of a 1.86GB zip with this (which I restored with a PAR set). (I echo the other comments on the need for a status bar, and for it having p7zip support)
Like
Version 1.2
Ladirection
12 August 2005
I was able to un 7zip a huge 8gb file with compress (NO progress bar? Had to leave it on all night just to make sure it was finished]. Since then, every time I try to uncompress a 7zip file, nothing happens. Strange. Doesn't work.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
31 July 2005
Smashing. Works. Needs a progress bar, and it might be nice if it could stick extracted files into a folder with the same name as the archive, but it's better than anything else I've tried (on a Mac, anyway). Until the 7zip folks take the time to create a MacOS version of the 7zip application, it'll do.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
14 April 2005
Oh Dear; this doesn't work for me (empty folder is all I get), and I'm not gonna use terminal or build a java app somehow. Pleeeeeease, can we get a better solution for 7z files for the MAC?
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
06 April 2005
The interface isn't great, and a status bar would help a bunch, but it gets the job of decompressing .7z file done, and that's what counts!
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
18 February 2005
AFAIK, this is the only Mac app out there that can decompress 7z files, so...if you need it, you need it. I'm just glad I don't need it very often. It has virtually no GUI. I drag a z7 file to it, and the only way I know it's working is that my system slows to a pathetic crawl. No progress bar, no file list, no indication of any sort that it's doing anything. I fired up Activity Monitor to see that it spawned another process to do the decoding, and that process was hogging virtually all my CPU time, to the point where it took several seconds just for clicks to register. NASTY. So, it gets the job done. It doesn't do it really nicely, but I'm still glad to have it.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
12 February 2005
My G3 iBook running 10.3.8 seems to have no problems compressing/decompressing using the p7zip format (whether they were created by Compress or 7-Zip on Windows XP). I'm not sure what I'm doing differently from others who have commented here (although several of them seem to be extra bitter). While I would like to see some new features implemented, the program works as advertised. Great work! Keep it up.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
03 December 2004
Application Unexpectedly Quits. 10.2.8, Pismo G3-500, 512MB RAM
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
22 November 2004
Cannot get it to work for me. With most settings, no compressed files are created. Did manage a couple times to get a .p7 of a folder, but it then wouldn't produce any result when I tried to uncompress that file. Useless, at least on my machine. OSX 10.3.5, G3 iBook. I'm tempted to give it 1-star (if only for that butt-ugly icon, sheesh) but will restrain and give the developer a chance to refine this product.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
20 November 2004
did YOU take he time to make a nice app like this one? Keep up the good work man
Like
Version 1.1
Mdair
20 November 2004
Thanx for the 7zip support
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
20 November 2004
why don't you have the two drop-downs, currently under prefs, just on the main window? That would allow more convenient changing of them and would allow a person to tell what compression is going to be used at-a-glance. Otherwise looks good.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
19 November 2004
Well, it functions fine, but as the previous comment said, it would fit in a lot better if you made it look more like other OS X apps.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
18 November 2004
Command line front end I suppose... Makes it easier for non Unix users I guess but its nothing thats not already on everyones computer. If youre going to make an icon can you... ummm... maybe try & make it look SORTA OS X-ish?
Like
Version 1.0