Back to radioSHARK page
radioSHARK free download for Mac

radioSHARK Reviews

2.0.2
12 April 2007

Drivers for recording live radio via radioSHARK.

Anonymous
16 November 2004

Most helpful

I love it. Big fan of being able to record radio ala Tivo and Replay.
Like
Version 1.0.3

Read 20 radioSHARK User Reviews

Rate this app:

Paco-II
17 April 2016
Sadly, the software appears to have stopped working in El Capitan. I've found one workaround, which is to use an older version of Audio Hijack Pro, which does work with both the radioShark and El Capitan. I do worry about the future though. I love this thing, and it will be a major bummer if there ceases to be any software that works with it.
Like
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
John-Benninghoff
John-Benninghoff
13 July 2016
There is another fix that seems to permanently fix the problem, posted here on the Apple forums: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/7479966. Basically, open Garage Band (or other music app like Final Vinyl) and select "RadioShark" as input and it should start working again.
Like
Mondele
30 January 2016
Ten years on, this hardware and software are still working. Using Yosemite, so I can't speak to El Capitan, but it's a way to listen to (and record) radio without streaming it through your Internet connection. Of course, it might be hard to find the hardware these days, but it's nice that the software still works. Reception is decent (I have a black one with included external antenna) but would probably be better with a better antenna. Software is dated, but still works, which is nice for a discontinued product.
Like
Version 2.0.2
pandixiong
17 January 2015
The Griffin Technology radioShark with software version 2.0.2 has worked well for me with all OS X versions from OS X Tiger (10.4.11) up to and including OS X Yosemite (10.10.1) currently. I either use it alone or with Audio Hijack Pro.
Like
Version 2.0.2
braunnizo
01 November 2014
Well, it seems to finally be broken in Yosemite. I guess it's too much to hope that Griffin will update the software after all these years. Looks like the last update was in 2007. Shucks though, cause It was a really great little desktop usb radio, while it lasted.
Like
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
pandixiong
pandixiong
16 January 2015
FYI radioShark is working for me in OS X Yosemite 10.10.1.......:)
Like
Jeff-H-
31 December 2008
For my uses the Griffin radioSHARK has performed very well. It hasn't failed to wake my computer up and start recording programs. I have just set it up to start recording more shows with a somewhat complex schedule, so lets see how that goes. I'm also VERY impressed with the size of the resulting recorded files. Understand that I've only recorded AM shows in non-stereo and at a rather conservative setting (I believe 96kbs), but a 4 hour show is under 150 MB! And the sound is nice and clear. As far as reception... I've seen around that this has been an issue at least where this first generation (white), radioSHARK is concerned. When I first plugged in the shark I had nothing but static and was a little disappointed. I thought that the radioSHARK was its own antenna. I took advice that I had seen on a couple places and instead of buying a costly antenna I plugged in a cheap set of earbuds I had lying in a drawer. I don't know much about antennas so I'm not sure if the tiny magnets improved the reception but it was incredible! I must have quadrupled the stations that I was pulling in and they were strong and clear, both AM and FM. I would say try that first before spending money on an antenna. All-in-all very pleased. p.s. Got mine on amazon for less that $20 delivered!
Like
Version 2.0.2
Jmh1
01 August 2007
Average rating 3.5, based on category scores. Overall a nice product, but I cannot quite give it a 4. because the FM reception is not as good as I would have expected...it is an antenna after all. Mac functionality is fine or better. Windows version needs a bit of work. New price deal got me to buy.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
08 October 2005
I also own one of theese's Sharkies and have experienced the same problem's that have been brought up on this tread, i.e. useless Ouicktime movie file, not recording a schedule program ect. A couple of things I found to work quite well are: (1) I keep two user's account's on my computer and when I'm not going to be around for a recording I log myself on first, then useing fast switcher I log on to the other user account, this seem's to work quite well. (2) I know this won't be a popular choice but also I set the hard drive to never sleep. I also found that you need to keep checking your schedule recourding's especially around the end of a month. Good Luck!
Like
Version 2.0b23
Anonymous
14 September 2005
This product gets too much flack and bad press. There is nothing wrong with the Hardware; the initial (1.x) versions of the software were poor, but Griffin has stepped up to the plate with the 2.x betas (which are completly rewritten). Scheduling is 100x better, much less buggy... Only things that are lacking are: - Auto station preset - RDS decoding
Like
Version 2.0b23
20 July 2005
actually, I have found the radio shark to work quite well, reception is good, easy to use
Like
Version 2.0b23
Utter Rubbish
20 July 2005
I've been trying to figure out just what to do with this expensive piece of plastic and its utterly useless software that is constantly in beta. I was thinking about letting my kid use it a shark fin in our pool. I hesitate to purchase any further Griffin products as they may look good and sound great on paper, but the reality falls short of end user expectations. Griffin needs to drop their radioSHARK and admit failure while giving us poor fools who bought the bloody thing some sort of discount on another Griffin products. Oh...wait a minute, why would I want another Griffin headache?
Like
Version 2.0b23
2 answer(s)
20 July 2005
Your expectations are way too high. It records radio, and well. Thats all it does... Thats all it was designed to do... and if it doesn't meet your expectations then tell us what they are and what it does thats so rubbish. I found it an amazing product which is really well made... No point in posting a bad comment if you dont tell us why.....
Like
Version 2.0b23
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 July 2005
That's valid, so here goes: A product release waaaaaaay before the software was ready for it, and it is still is not up to snuff. Wonderful concept, poor execution. Period. Poor to fair reception and recordings. Yes, time shifting is a wonderful concept and highly useful, but some group other than Griffin should have run with this idea or at least Griffin should let it go to a group that can do it justice. As you will note I did not give any star ratings as to lower its standing in that area, but let's get real the majority of radioSHARK owners' have experienced what I have experienced. I wonder whether I can glue it on my motorcycle helmet. Hmmmm.......
Like
Version 2.0b23
Dr. Metal
01 July 2005
Hi - for those users frustrated with the radioSHARK's shortcomings, try this - hook up a cheap Walkman with a DC adapter to your audio input using a regular mini-jack...then use Amadeus's built-in timer feature, and you're set. I use this setup to record the Stern show, and it works great everytime. never a problem.
Like
Version 2.0b22
Chapin
05 June 2005
Bummer about RadioShark's mediocre reception; I live in an outlying area, where reception isn't THAT great to begin with, and in a basement to boot. I haven't given up on the fin though (yet). I bought an arial from RadioShack, along with all the proper gear for grounding and shielding, etc., and mounted it on my roof. Even without a signal amplifier, my new FM feed is remarkable; I pick up many stations that I didn't think that I EVER would. Despite this success, only my stereo receiver seems to register the signal, not the RadioShark. After giving up on the headphone/aux. out jack on the base of the fin (I tried soldering my lead to the ground vs. the left/right channels of a 1/8" audio plug, as Griffin tech support suggested), I pried open the top of my RadioShark fin, and straightened out its internal FM antenna so that it sticks straight out the top (even this minor alteration seemed to improve the fin's reception markedly). Then I hooked a 75 to 300 ohm transformer to my coaxial arial antenna feed, and ran the lead wire to the tip of my RadioShark's exposed antenna. Although the signal DOES improve, slightly, station reception, across the band, isn't nearly as good as from my Harmon/Kardon AVR 100 stereo receiver. Shouldn't a clear FM signal, with the proper 300 ohm impedance, improve the RadioShark's reception as well as it improves my receiver's reception?
Like
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
Robert Elliott
Robert Elliott
03 July 2005
I have had the RadioShark since it was available. I record scheduled Radio Broadcasts like Paul Harvey. I get great reception. I bought a 1/8" headphone jack converter that converts into coaxial. Then just plugged in my coax cable from my wall that has been wired into the rest of my home which leads to the antenna on my roof. The roof antenna also has a signal booster also to help reception. On weaker reception stations I still have to move the antenna wire leading to the Shark to find the best reception.
Like
Version 2.0b22
Anonymous
14 April 2005
I've been using the RadioSHARK for about 3 months on my G4 tower (10.3.8) and have had good days and bad. The original software was lacking in some basic features (ex: when to repeat recordings) but it was stable and would record whenever it was told to. By software version 1.0.5 there are most of the features one could want but the recording reliability has gone to hell. I'm regularly being left with .mov files that I can't do anything with and it's random (apparently) which recording will be lost. Oh, and the change to daylight savings time: Someone seemed to think that programming the time shift into the software was a good idea. It was not. The program read my computer's time (automatically corrected) and then added its own 1-hour shift! Result = 5 hours of recording dropped to 3 and I had to go and change my schedule back to what it was. I don't appreciate software modifying my information unless I specifically ask it to do so. *sigh* It is not a bad product so long as you want to do simple things. Poor reception inside of an office building is something I've seen (heard) from many radio devices, not just this one so I don't feel right blaming that on Griffin. If you want reliable scheduled recordings, though, I would think carefully before choosing this particular product. Their software can only improve, really. And why is the font in the scheduler so very small? The original encodings for AAC files were iPod Shuffle incompatible (don't know about the others). I've been using iTunes to make AAC files from the raw AIFFs and have had no trouble... when the files actually record ;)
Like
Version 1.0.5
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 April 2005
Update: I've finally given up on version 1.0.5 of the software. It will not record reliably overnight since Daylight Savings kicked in. It also consistently locks up the whole system at about 2am; something nothing else has been able to do. I'm reverting to 1.0.3 and will see if that fixes anything. At this point v1.0.5 of the software needs someone to take a serious look at it.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 June 2005
I had precisely the same issues with this hunk of junk all the way back in February and it seems that Griffin still doesn't have a new version of the software. It seems obvious they have no intenetion of ever fixing this product and just pocketed your money. I own an iPod too and have NO intention of using Griffin products with it. I consider myself already burned once so no way will I do it again.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
21 March 2005
I've had huge problems getting this thing to actual record a useable file. It apparently saves 5 files as it records, then combines them into the final AAC file. Unfortunately, mine usually leaves the 5 files (3 .mov files and 2 .m4a files) unfinished and uncombined, but NONE of these files can be played by anything -- they all return errors. The problem is intermittent so I can't figure out what is wrong. Of course, the Apple Store refuses to take it back and Griffin ignores my emails so I'm just junking it and sending a complaint to the Better Business Bureau. Of course, this is just one of several issues with this device. The software is crude and limited, the manual nearly useless ("troubleshooting" amounts to little more than the equivalent of "did you turn it on?") and there is no supplemental troubleshooting material on the Griffin website. The tuner sensitivity is poor -- I get better reception from a crappy boombox and a $5 flashlight/radio! In fact, I often get crosstalk from other stations. Frankly, this thing stinks. I consider myself burned and probably won't ever buy Griffin products again.
Like
Version 1.0.5
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 March 2005
The multiple files you have are left over from previous recordings - for any given individual recording there will be a .mov file which - if all goes well - is converted into the format you specify (in this case it is AAC). The 1.0.5 update fixed all known causes of the .mov file not being converted or deleted, so if you are experiencing the problem with 1.0.5 please send Griffin support a copy of your console.log (using Console.app) and ask them to send it to the developers.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 April 2005
Version 1.0.5 did NOT resolve the issues as you claim. In fact, in the couple weeks since I wrote the comment originally, now it won't combine ANY of these files at all on any recordings! Besides no longer recording at all anymore, it doesn't start and stop when it is scheduled to, it switches from FM to AM and random and it reports cryptic messages in the console. I tried reinstalling the software without any changes. This thing is pure, unadulterated garbage. DO NOT BUY THE RADIOSHARK -- IT WILL JUST TAKE A BITE OUT OF YOUR WALLET! BEWARE!
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
25 February 2005
I too love my radioshark. I record 3 shows every day, 3 hours every day, without fail. I only wish we could select lower aac settins. I record am shows (jim Rome, Michael Save, local am show) and don't need even 64kbps. Overall great program with a few quirks. nees more presets in teh EQ, needs to continue to improve on AM radio reception. But, I'm very happy so far.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
24 February 2005
No problems with mine - vwell worth the wait.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
17 February 2005
Hint: Do Not Buy the radioSHARK if you have a G5 So I was really looking forward to using my radioSHARK in conjunction with iMac G5 20", but it is not to be. And this is too bad because if it had worked reliably, it would have been a pretty good product. I bought my radioSHARK after a year's wait. I develop embedded devices for a living, so I must admit I was thinking about developing my own. Actually, I'm still thinking about developing a competing product as I think there's a large market of Mac users that would like to have a product like the radioSHARK that works reliably. So when I bought my radioSHARK, I joyfully brought it home. I had heard that it had reception problems, but I held my breath after plugging it in and yes! I had pretty good reception. But after installing the software and setting up a recording schedule, I was very disappointed to discover the "skipping" problem. Instead of recording morning edition, I got a recording of a half second loop of... well... I don't know what it was recording. But the effect is that it sounds like Philip Glass caught in a tight loop. After weeks of discussing the problem with Griffin support, I was able to convince them that I had a problem. Their final resolution for the problem was... don't ever let your screen go blank. Well... that's great guys. I have a G5 iMac with a built-in 20" screen that's 4 feet from my bed. So if I want to be able to use the thing to record programs over-night, I have to keep the screen on while my wife and I sleep. No thank you. I would like a refund. Sadly the Apple Store couldn't care less that the thing didn't work, telling me I had to talk to Griffin. Griffin told me I had to speak to the Apple Store. So... this is the last product I buy from Griffin OR the Apple Store. Micro Center has at least as good a selection of Mac equipment, and if I want attitude from salespeople, I'll go to Neiman Marcus, thank you very much. Long story short... I'm doing a credit reversal through my credit card company and filling out a complaint with the better business bureau.
Like
Version 1.0.3
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 February 2005
Anonymous: your skipping problem may be related to a possible audio sleep problem the G5 computers have (if you're using a hub, try plugging it directly into the iMac). Griffin support has apparently been able to reproduce the problem you're having with audio devices from other manufacturers. In any case, eventually the radioSHARK software will be updated, so please try that out before you give up. I can assure you Griffin is not ignoring your problem.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 February 2005
I have the exact same problem with my G5. But I'm giving Griffin the chance to fix it before I go scholastic on their booties.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 April 2005
It's not just G5's that have a problem. This piece of junk doesn't work on my G4 Cube or my TiBook either. It fails to record reliably on either one. I had the same problems with both the Apple Store and Griffin too. Apple told me "tough luck" trying to return it and Griffen just says "Oops...I guess you'll have to wait until we update." Screw you -- this product should at least work as advertised out of the box. Instead, I just gave Griffin an interest-free $70 loan for a product that clearly isn't release-quality. There is no way I'm getting ripped off like this again and I plan to tell everyone, everywhere, what a hunk of junk this product is.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
01 December 2004
It works... but the recordings it dumps in iTunes have lots of hiss that is not there when listening off-air. (Wire tap recordings don't have the hiss but are not as convenient for recording at pre-set times). Has anyone solved that problem?
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
29 November 2004
This thing has not worked correctly for me from day one -- after, no joke, more than a year waiting for it. First constant hiccups and now it doesn't work at all on my iMac G4. I generally think highly of Griffin, but they've really dropped the ball on this one.
Like
Version 1.0.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 April 2005
Yep, this thing is clearly not a finished product and they should be refunding the money paid by the poor saps who got suckered in by all the glowing reviews. Just look -- most of the reviews HERE are negative. How unsurprising.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
16 November 2004
I love it. Big fan of being able to record radio ala Tivo and Replay.
Like
Version 1.0.3