Back to Microsoft AutoUpdate page
Microsoft AutoUpdate free download for Mac

Microsoft AutoUpdate Reviews

14 April 2021

Provides latest MS Office updates to customers.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Apr 14 2021
4.34
1.0
Apr 14 2021
1.0
Version: 4.34
Rubbish software from MS. Crashes frequently and/or hangs computer for between 1 and 2 minutes... appalling software with little practical value when it can't update itself without crashing zero stars is realistic evaluation
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
Feb 19 2021
4.32
1.0
Feb 19 2021
1.0
Version: 4.32
Instead of fixing bugs and improving performance, Microsoft tend to introduce even more new problems in every update release. The last time I erroneously applied Office update and it ended up rendering random lines of blank space in the document and I'd to revert back to old version. So if you're really wanting to trust Microsoft, take my advise: make Time Machine backup before you do anything.
philippe.cote
philippe.cote
Nov 23 2020
4.29
0.0
Nov 23 2020
0.0
Version: 4.29
I was using my computer, working on something important...And all of a sudent, without even asking me, my computer shut down and started to do an update that lasted 45 minutes!!!! MAC is getting as worst as Microsoft! I'm looking in my preference to see if I can get the cuputer to ask before doing an update, and I can't find the proper way of doing it. I checked on google, and it looks like I don't have the same version of software or something, because I don't have "Software update/advance options" Grrr!
marc-13
marc-13
Nov 13 2020
4.29
0.0
Nov 13 2020
0.0
Version: 4.29
MacUpdate Desktop crashes on load in Mac Big Sur. Anyone know a fix?
Cyrille-F
Cyrille-F
Sep 19 2020
4.27
0.0
Sep 19 2020
0.0
Version: 4.27
In French please
Jeff-Schlueter
Jeff-Schlueter
Aug 14 2020
4.26
0.0
Aug 14 2020
0.0
Version: 4.26
It keeps Microsoft Office up to date, love it
macindigo
macindigo
Jul 16 2020
4.25
0.0
Jul 16 2020
0.0
Version: 4.25
Microsoft + AutoUpdate! That's like smoking in a TNT factory... what could possibly go wrong?
Meiner2er
Meiner2er
Jun 19 2020
4.24
1.0
Jun 19 2020
1.0
Version: 4.24
Recent versions fail to update if the apps are not on the topmost level of /applications. This is ridiculous.
Tom32547
Tom32547
Jun 19 2020
4.24
0.0
Jun 19 2020
0.0
Version: 4.24
I have been (I think) working with MS Support - after several revisions of this app it still does not complete updating - they have broken this beast and are not making any progress to get it operational again. It is now easier and certainly faster to go to the Office page and download the individual apps.
Ok14me21
Ok14me21
Apr 18 2020
4.22
0.0
Apr 18 2020
0.0
Version: 4.22
I don't need it anymore!
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
Jan 15 2020
4.18
0.0
Jan 15 2020
0.0
Version: 4.18
Nothing but update errors through build 4.19 which looks completely different from previous builds (like the image above). In the past AutoUpdate had never issues updating the Office 365 apps but now after downloading the update for each apps has finished installation starts and always fails (without any explanation of course). Annoying!
Gbbuddy
Gbbuddy
Jul 18 2019
4.13
1.0
Jul 18 2019
1.0
Version: 4.13
Way too many pop-ups!
Mark-Feldman
Mark-Feldman
Apr 18 2019
4.9
1.0
Apr 18 2019
1.0
Version: 4.9
Way, way too many pop-ups asking to turn on Microsoft auto updates. Very annoying.
yusuf85ar
yusuf85ar
Feb 26 2019
4.7
4.5
Feb 26 2019
4.5
Version: 4.7
test
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Feb 8 2019
4.7
1.0
Feb 8 2019
1.0
Version: 4.7
The autoupdate that requires manual updating as the auto isn't auto!
nmassello-1
nmassello-1
Jan 2 2019
4.6
4.0
Jan 2 2019
4.0
Version: 4.6
MAU 4.6 was released on 11 December 2018. https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/officeupdates/release-history-microsoft-autoupdate It's becomes clearer every week that MacUpdate's business model is being pretty well wrecked by the prevalence of automatic version checking and updating in most modern software titles. Time to move on.
incrzr
incrzr
Dec 12 2018
4.5
2.0
Dec 12 2018
2.0
Version: 4.5
Stop the bouncing and hijacking!
BobK1
BobK1
Oct 18 2018
4.3.0
0.0
Oct 18 2018
0.0
Version: 4.3.0
Here's a link for AutoUpdate for Mac 4.4.0 https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/p/?linkid=830196
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Jun 18 2018
3.18
0.0
Jun 18 2018
0.0
Version: 3.18
The current version is 4.0
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Apr 19 2018
3.18
3.0
Apr 19 2018
3.0
Version: 3.18
The latest version as of 04/19/18 is AutoUpdate 3.18. Once installed it downloaded a version of Office 2011 that is not yet pasted on MacUpdate: 1477. Which is cool, considering that Microsoft has supposedly discontinued support for Office 2011. Of course all it contained were security fixes. But that's not bad news. As for those who hate office, I think that's just a (bad) habit. There are plenty of alternatives, all of which cost less than Office. Why waste time and energy hating on Microsoft? That said, the fact that they wrote a whole new app for High Sierra, Office 2016, rather than updating Office 2011 shows how little respect Microsoft has for their users. So I can't give the app much respect either. Three stars.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Mar 15 2018
3.9.1
0.0
Mar 15 2018
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
The current version is 3.17
Flavum
Flavum
Apr 5 2016
2.3.6
0.0
Apr 5 2016
0.0
Version: 2.3.6
Download link no longer valid - it downloads a 4k file. Anyone have a solution?
rpincowes
rpincowes
Jul 23 2012
2.3.5
2.5
Jul 23 2012
2.5
Version: 2.3.5
Could this perhaps be yet another of Gates's bits of spyware, designed to check more and more of what you're doing on your computer, but which arrive masquerading as updates to his pisspoor software?
MisterE
MisterE
Jul 20 2012
2.3.5
2.0
Jul 20 2012
2.0
Version: 2.3.5
The second update to the auto-updater in nearly as many weeks. There doesn't seem to be much automatic about it. Every other app I use that updates itself can also update it's updater. Adobe CS? First thing it does is check the version of the updater app. Windows or Office for Windows update? First thing it does is check the updater version. Office for Mac? Broken, fix it yourself with a manual download.
Higherterrain
Higherterrain
Jul 19 2012
2.3.5
0.0
Jul 19 2012
0.0
Version: 2.3.5
Probably won't work like all the other updaters they have released, but then again what do you expect from them.
Grinson
Grinson
Jul 19 2012
2.3.5
0.0
Jul 19 2012
0.0
Version: 2.3.5
Always like to use MS office. Thank you release the updates.
M-Luther
M-Luther
Jul 18 2012
2.3.4
0.0
Jul 18 2012
0.0
Version: 2.3.4
Microsoft AutoUpdate 2.3.5 is out: http://www.microsoft.com/mac/downloads?pid=Mactopia_AddTools&fid=EBB88AD8-7998-4306-83EE-3C34E55D8A19#viewer
Filchescat
Filchescat
May 29 2012
2.3.4
0.0
May 29 2012
0.0
Version: 2.3.4
Let's see, M$ updated the updater, but not the app the updater is supposed to update. Seem to recall shortly after Lion was released almost a year ago, M$ kept saying they were about to release the M$ Office package to take advantage of all the new OS bells and whistles. Two maintenance updates later (which had nothing to do with OS enhancements), still waiting. Wait . . . no really, maybe this update will update an updater that will update the app. After OS 10.9.
Hkim
Hkim
May 14 2011
2.3.2
0.0
May 14 2011
0.0
Version: 2.3.2
I wonder just what this updates. I found the log to be uninformative and there are no notes. For all I can tell, this could be a trojan (?)
Harv
Harv
May 13 2011
2.3.2
4.0
May 13 2011
4.0
Version: 2.3.2
Interestingly enough, when I open Office 2008/Help>Check For Updates, this update was not identified.
Gwhjelm
Gwhjelm
Mar 14 2008
2.1.1
0.0
Mar 14 2008
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
Micrsoft updater doesn't work in my computer. I have a Mac Pro with a OXS 10.5 sytem that I use professionally for Photography. This system has professional applications like Adobe CS3, Realviz 5.6, Lightroom 1.1 and alot of other programs that are updated through an Automatic Updater. Yours (micrsoft) doesn't work. When the Updater gives you the first screen it wants to know if you want the update, and I mark yes in the box. Then it asks me for my authentication and I do that, and then it asks for to close the following programs and I do that. From this point the updater will not work and no methodology will get it to work. This is disappointing, because I use this program for so much in my business, but not if it is going to fail. Either allow the updates or I wil be forced to find another program that I can depend upon.
Guest
Guest
Mar 5 2008
2.1.1
0.0
Mar 5 2008
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
For Office 2008: Microsoft site says, "Applies To: Developer Tools, Microsoft Office Word, Microsoft Expression, Microsoft Word 2008 for Mac, Microsoft Office PowerPoint, Microsoft Office Excel, Microsoft Office, Office, Microsoft Entourage, Microsoft Office 2008 for Mac, Microsoft Entourage 2008 for Mac, Microsoft Excel 2008 for Mac, Microsoft PowerPoint 2008 for Mac" Won't work on Office 2004.
TJZee
TJZee
Mar 5 2008
2.1.1
0.0
Mar 5 2008
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
Will not work. Get error message, "Unable to find Microsoft Update or you have pressed cancel". Not so. Program is in Apps folder and it works fine. Fix it, MS.