Back to Delicious Library page
Delicious Library free download for Mac

Delicious Library Reviews3.9.3

28 January 2021

Import, browse and share your media.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
gregraven
gregraven
Apr 12 2021
3.9.3
1.0
Apr 12 2021
1.0
Version: 3.9.3
This may be one of the worst Mac apps of all time. Sure, there are apps that crash, and apps that don't work at all, but Delicious Library works just enough that you keep trying to use it. I'm now on the third major version of DL, and it is just as slow as it was when it first came out. It does have an interesting feature set, but the only thing I've found that is slower than DL is Delicious Monster tech support. You can e-mail them and never hear back. Ever. Did a clean install of macOS 11 Big Sur, which resulted in the loss of all 5,000+ of my DL entries. E-mailed support to find out where to look on my pre-install backup. Nothing. Nada. Par for the course with them. Even if the software worked perfectly, it would still be flawed by the fact that it uses Amazon (and other?) sources for data, which means that you are at the mercy of whomever does data entry for those sources, and it ain't pretty. I'm thinking a text file with a list of our books might be more efficient and fun to use than Delicious Library. I can't believe this company is still in business.
ben-marko
ben-marko
Apr 4 2021
3.9.3
2.0
Apr 4 2021
2.0
Version: 3.9.3
Disappointing. Granted, Calibre has a horrible interface, but in DL I can't import epub/mobi files into a library. It only records the information about a book, but doesn't actually manage the books themselves. So it also won't accept drag-and-drop importation of files. It seems to have taken a step down in terms of quality, with the interface being overly simplistic and very limited. Just trying this once for a couple of days has driven me back to calibre with no looking back.
jwerner1
jwerner1
Dec 10 2020
3.9.2
4.0
Dec 10 2020
4.0
Version: 3.9.2
I have to say, I've always been a fan of Delicious Library. It's always worked well for me. It's an easy and fairly convenient way to inventory and keep track of my library (DVDs, Blu-rays, Books). It seems to have adjusted to Catalina (on my Mac) and made it through any problems with Amazon as I seamlessly added new Blu-ray titles to my library yesterday and every one of them was able to fetch information from Amazon. I would like to know how to share my library with my other devices, or at least my other desktop Macs.
nancywiener1
nancywiener1
Mar 1 2020
3.9
1.0
Mar 1 2020
1.0
Version: 3.9
Went for wonderful to abysmal with the 3.9 update. App no longer fetches book details from Amazon. The wheel just spins and spins.
Macbookpro
Macbookpro
Feb 28 2020
3.9
5.0
Feb 28 2020
5.0
Version: 3.9
I love this app. The ability to scan from your iPhone to get information into this app is a great feature. This app allows me to keep up with my books (and more) and can create smart lists or categories. I use it to generate a list of books on topics to provide as something akin to a bibliography.
Taneria
Taneria
Apr 18 2019
3.8.3
2.5
Apr 18 2019
2.5
Version: 3.8.3
Is directed more towards a hobbiest/collector audience then my use case that needed the ability to track SN/Warranty/and userguide information. Otherwise seems fine
ben-marko
ben-marko
Nov 8 2017
3.7
2.0
Nov 8 2017
2.0
Version: 3.7
This has a nice GUI, but the one for DL2 was better. A serious drawback is you can't drag and drop files into it. I have over 1,000 comics that I would LOVE to be able to track in an app like DL. But it won't allow me to do that. It's a shame that there isn't a decent app like this anymore. DL2 stopped working for me some time ago. :(
Ruiram
Ruiram
Oct 24 2017
3.7
0.5
Oct 24 2017
0.5
Version: 3.7
Terrible support. Stay far away.
John-Hook
John-Hook
Jan 6 2017
3.6.2
2.0
Jan 6 2017
2.0
Version: 3.6.2
I bought this several years ago shortly after Steve Jobs introduced it at MacWorld Expo. It was good but the publish to web feature was "flakey". What I hate about the developer is that I emailed them several weeks ago for an upgrade and was told there was no upgrade pricing and I would have to pay the full price!
Julia-S
Julia-S
Sep 23 2016
3.6
2.0
Sep 23 2016
2.0
Version: 3.6
Good app, but the old interface was much better
Tom34772
Tom34772
Nov 8 2015
3.3.5
4.0
Nov 8 2015
4.0
Version: 3.3.5
This software has been updated to 3.4 -- now with El Capitan fixes/compatibility!
JBX
JBX
Dec 29 2014
3.3.5
0.0
Dec 29 2014
0.0
Version: 3.3.5
Crashing all the time in 10.10.1
Essadee
Essadee
Oct 24 2014
3.3.2
4.0
Oct 24 2014
4.0
Version: 3.3.2
oh thank G-d, no more window-wings.
Evilskull
Evilskull
Oct 24 2014
3.3.2
5.0
Oct 24 2014
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
When I moved cross-country, this was an essential app for cataloging my DVDs, CDs, and books. After the move, we only opened it to add new things because it hurt to use. With the 3.3.2 release, skeuomorphism is dead and this app's UI makes a lot more sense now. I can stand to look at this enough to catalog my records now.
RickZeman
RickZeman
Dec 22 2013
3.1.4
4.5
Dec 22 2013
4.5
Version: 3.1.4
I'm so over this app. It does me no good to have a pretty collection sitting on my Mac when I'm out and about. They need to be like 1Password and have a read-only phone app that synchs with the Mac (that wouldn't use any Amazon API). Otherwise, it's mostly useless unless one solely shops from their couch; one can't even publish as a site to MobileMe (iCloud) any more.
macspec
macspec
Sep 4 2013
3.1.2
2.0
Sep 4 2013
2.0
Version: 3.1.2
Heard lots of good things about this software over the years and finally came to the point where I thought I could use it. Scanner integration is nice and was the feature that pushed me over the edge and made me purchase. Soon after I ran into issues that gave me buyers remorse. iTunes integration is weak (no support for multiple or external iTunes libraries) and sends my cpu through the roof. Reading user forums reveals lots of excuses and rationalization why this or that doesn't work the way users would like. Their commitment to Amazon APIs delivers a simple app that performs mostly great lookups, but it fails in delivering what could be (or used to be) a killer app for different levels of users. I'll use it for my physical dvd/book collection, and may recommend it to others with large physical collections, but will look somewhere else to catalog my gigs of digital movies and ebooks.
Makosuke
Makosuke
Jul 13 2013
3.1.1
0.0
Jul 13 2013
0.0
Version: 3.1.1
I shouldn't be surprised by this, given the target audience, but if you scan your old laserdiscs, it actually draws them correctly and to proportional size on the shelf. Which looks weird, because they're huge (would be nice to have a toggle to turn it off, honestly), but it's still sort of amusing.
Fightingcat
Fightingcat
Jun 28 2013
3.1
5.0
Jun 28 2013
5.0
Version: 3.1
I working with Version 2.0 a long time and was happy with it to manage all of my movies, but with the time I start to missing some things. For example I was not able to put Movies from the iTunes Music Store in a library or intelligent library or there is no option to link to a trailer on YouTube or a digital file. With the time this made me crazy. So I decide to switch to DVDpedia who's cheaper and give me much more options to complete my management around my big DVD and BD collection. The support of this Software is awsome and fast. I can't remember me that I got an answer to my problems on Delicious in one day or less. Anyway... Now this company released version 3 and they give a great focus on a new layout for this app, but they still ignore what users want. Still no drag & drop from movies from the iTunes Store for example, still no file linking or a weblink to trailers for the movie. Also I must note, that the performance of this app start's to be not so delightful. Yes, it looks great and the effect with the shadows or when you moving over a DVD Cover or an Item are outstanding and I never seen it before, but what will helping me that to manage my stuff in this application? Oh and there is still no iOS application. I know... In the past there where one, but it was dropped because of amazon and the using of the API. I never understand why this company decide to drop the amazon API for the iOS app and bring it back to life. I need a platform to watch at my list, if I'm in a shop and looking for new DVDs or BDs. Two times I bought a DVD doubled, because I has no overview of my collection... Thanks to Delicious Lib. Well... If you want to have a good looking user interface and some nice effects, you will love this app. But if you need good solution to manage more than 50 DVDs, it's better to spend DVDpedia a bit of time. You will safe some money and some frustrations, I think.
Eatrocks
Eatrocks
May 28 2013
3.0.2
0.0
May 28 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0.2
Barcode scanning with details pulled from Amazon is cool, but I don't see a way to add a second image, like a receipt, or an instruction manual, nor warranty information. Is it there and I missed it, or is it really designed for "Library" like functionality?
Mar6473
Mar6473
May 20 2013
3.0
0.0
May 20 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0
I guess this is just my opinion so I'm not giving it a bad rating; however, I think buyers should be aware that they released version 3 less than two months after running a big sale for version 2. In my mind this is dishonest marketing and just inconsiderate. I am sure that most people who bought version 2 at the sale, including myself, would have waited if they had known that a completely new version was on the horizon and was going to cost the same for everyone.
Endymion0000
Endymion0000
May 6 2013
3.0
1.0
May 6 2013
1.0
Version: 3.0
In addition to the many other issues people have mentioned about 3.0, here's what I'm seeing with the huge memory use. Library - 3,276 items - 30 shelves. With 2.0, open the app - 163 MB used, clicking through every few seconds each of my shelves - 1.3 GB used, then after a bit it drops to 660 MB. Not great even with this version, but useable. With 3.0, open the app - 402 MB used, click through the 30 shevles - 3.3 GB…. memory doesn't begin to go down… click back through some of the shelves and resize zoom (that never remembers it setting the next time you launch) grows to 3.7 GB… wait, still doesn't drop. So, way way way too much memory for this app under 3.0.
gatorjim
gatorjim
May 5 2013
3.0
1.5
May 5 2013
1.5
Version: 3.0
Skeuomorphism to the Max! If you like crown molding and a baseboard on your window, over twenty kinds (count 'em!) of wood bookshelves, jiggling objects, moving lighting effects, eraser dust on your chalkboard, and much more...then you'll love this software. But if you are like me, and apparently many others, that want a way to turn off all this stuff so it doesn't get in the way--forget it. You can't. Not to mention that the implementation eats up screen real estate, sucks up 1 gigabyte of real memory, and causes other performance hits. This application has great potential to be a productive tool, and could be fun to use to catalog your books, DVDs, software, video games and gadgets (a catch-all for any kind of technology-related stuff). But the developers have lost their way with all the skeuomorphism. I'm sure a lot of effort has gone into the design and implementation of the appearance of this application. Too bad the effort didn't instead go into features and functionality that make it easy to use and manage your information. For example: - Displaying the details of your stuff is truly laborious with a small pop-up window and unintuitive controls. And you can't edit some of your data after it's in the database. - Controls that should be on toolbars are hidden in menus. - Virtually no customization of your data...what the developer wants is what you get, nothing more. - No preferences? Really? - There's no built-in backup/restore. You can lose a library of hundreds of items without a way to recover. - It hooks up with your iTunes library, but you get the whole thing. I could care less about another app cataloging my music collection, but I can't exclude music. It sucks in the whole iTunes library. Except eBooks! The one category I would want added to the Delicious Library can't be added. Huh? And there's serious bugs: - The main window resets itself to a small size every time you quit the app. It doesn't remember anything, including thumbnail sizes and other things you set in a session. - The app crashes while simply mousing around the features. On the plus side, the companion iOS app to scan barcodes is great, and works well. Unfortunately, all it does is scanning. In an age where we are becoming more and more mobile, there's no way to sync your library to an iPad or iPhone...there's no companion library app. You can publish a website or print a PDF, but that's it. Neither is a good solution for a large library of hundreds of items. If you are using the previous version, can't recommend upgrading at this time. Stick with what you've got. If you are considering a new purchase of this application, download the trial (25 items max) before you spend the $$. And definitely don't take my word for it...spend some time on their support forum. A lot of long-time users have some telling comments about this new version.
L-I-N-K
L-I-N-K
May 1 2013
3.0
2.0
May 1 2013
2.0
Version: 3.0
Version 3 did not work stable on my machine. Hangs on 2.0 library import, barcodescan crashes the app, the skeuomorphic design is not appealing to me (unfortunately) and reminds me of bad Mac OS skins back from the 90’s. Finally and most annoying/important drawback: The is NO detail pane or window on a item anymore!!! All you get is a far too small tooltip that not support convenient editing. I’ll stop by with version 3.x - but don’t expect much to change at the overall a 2 star rating.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Apr 30 2013
3.0
1.0
Apr 30 2013
1.0
Version: 3.0
After playing with the demo of version 3, I must say that the interface if just too over-the-top. I just want to scan and catalog my collections, not feel like I'm playing a video game. I have now removed version 2 since the future looks dim for this series and have moved back to DVDpedia. I really did like version 2 and will miss it, but version 3 is a step back.
Phillat5dock
Phillat5dock
Apr 29 2013
3.0
0.5
Apr 29 2013
0.5
Version: 3.0
Don't bother upgrading from DL2 to DL3. The new layout is annoying. I much prefer the older side by side details view. The barcode scanning has a mind of its own. The much desired extension to include other sellers apart from only Amazon has not made it to version 3. I rarely revert to an older version of software but in this case I have done.
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
Apr 26 2013
3.0
0.0
Apr 26 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0
The MAS version is available now: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/delicious-library-3/id635124250?mt=12
RickZeman
RickZeman
Apr 25 2013
3.0
4.5
Apr 25 2013
4.5
Version: 3.0
I've only started to poke around version 3 (user since the early slowwwww days of Version 1), but I'm still jonesing for an iOS app. I don't want anything fancy, no connection to any Amazon API, just a flat database of What I Have when I'm out and about. That's not asking too much, is it? I'd even pay more $$ for it.
anonymous-panther-5764
anonymous-panther-5764
Apr 25 2013
3.0
3.5
Apr 25 2013
3.5
Version: 3.0
If you were lucky enough to grab the iOS version of Delicious Library, you may want to stick with version 2 of this app. As far as I can tell the syncing option has been completely removed in this version. Understandable but unfortunately a bit of a deal-breaker for me.
Glenbo
Glenbo
Apr 25 2013
3.0
0.0
Apr 25 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0
I'd like to buy it if I could, but every time I click the Buy button it hangs! How about getting that webstore up chaps?!
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
Apr 25 2013
3.0
2.5
Apr 25 2013
2.5
Version: 3.0
I bought Delicious Library 2 some time ago but never got round to catalogue all my stuff beyond a quick try-out. Today I finally started. As I need to make some space I made shelfs like "Books" and "Books for Sale". Cataloguing was easy but unfortunately after a few hours I noticed that I can't drag and drop a book from one shelf to another when I decide to sell or keep it after all! Shelfs are basically just lists, the equivalent of playlists in iTunes or albums in iPhoto, so are a very simple feature indeed. That you can't drag&drop an item from one shelf to another is such an unbelievable omission ... I don't know if you can drag&drop between shelfs in version 3 but I can't upgrade to version 3 anyway as I'm still on Snow Leo (and I don't like Lion / ML ... and yes, I have it on one of my Macs and simply hate that grey in grey appearance).
Chas-m
Chas-m
Apr 25 2013
3.0
0.0
Apr 25 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0
Love this app, will be all over it once I find out the upgrade pricing, but I have to admit (and I hate being "this guy") that after YEARS of people BEGGING them to add Discogs support, it's *still* not here. First company that comes up with a library program that includes Discogs support gets my money. Simple as that, really.
RonMcGregor5948
RonMcGregor5948
Apr 25 2013
3.0
4.5
Apr 25 2013
4.5
Version: 3.0
Looks like a great new version!
Sigil
Sigil
Dec 8 2012
2.7.8
3.0
Dec 8 2012
3.0
Version: 2.7.8
Are the still in business? The website can't be accessed and the MacUpdate download link isn't working for me. I did find online. So, I'm just wondering.
Tobymator
Tobymator
Jul 26 2012
2.7.8
5.0
Jul 26 2012
5.0
Version: 2.7.8
I have used many other similar apps but this is the best program.
ParisMi
ParisMi
Apr 4 2012
2.7.7
4.0
Apr 4 2012
4.0
Version: 2.7.7
Found this app unuseful - would be glad to find this app at my Iphone!
cheewee
cheewee
Mar 27 2012
2.7.7
5.0
Mar 27 2012
5.0
Version: 2.7.7
The probably most powerful management tool for libraries on Mac.
Heartman
Heartman
Mar 16 2012
2.7.7
3.5
Mar 16 2012
3.5
Version: 2.7.7
Wow! Library cleaning works! My library went from 307 MB to 125 MB after cleaning! Lots of junk accumulated over the years in there I guess. It is a fantastic app, there's nothing even close to it. I really do miss the mobile app though, it was so nice standing in Best Buy and making sure I didn't already own the DVD or CD I was looking at! It still works on the iPad for me, but I'd rather have it on my iPhone as I usually don't carry the iPad when shopping.
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
Sep 17 2011
2.7
3.0
Sep 17 2011
3.0
Version: 2.7
I thinks it more than time to add a eBook Reader on this app!
Foxstrong
Foxstrong
Sep 9 2011
2.7
4.5
Sep 9 2011
4.5
Version: 2.7
I can't believe I am getting the update of Delicious Library. I can't remember the last update before this. Thank you for remembering us. By the way, please resubmit your iPhone app to appstore.
Marilou53
Marilou53
Aug 10 2011
2.6.3
4.0
Aug 10 2011
4.0
Version: 2.6.3
I never thought it would be so easy to get an inventory of my whole library. I imagined it would take me ages to list all the books but no! I only have to type the ISBN, and the application automatically finds the right book. It even works with books in foreign languages. I am so glad!
Sternlight
Sternlight
May 14 2011
2.6.3 (v13007)
5.0
May 14 2011
5.0
Version: 2.6.3 (v13007)
Scan books, music, products; app classifies automatically. Loads scans near-instantaneously in real time when in Bluetooth range. Still best in class interface. No fussing with windows or buttons in app to scan; just set up and go. Best in class integration with Bluetooth bar code readers. Jan 2010 update makes program rock stable. If you have lots of items to inventory (selling stuff when moving; insurance inventories), this is the one to get. Much easier and faster in scanning than others in class.
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
May 3 2011
2.6.3 (v13007)
3.0
May 3 2011
3.0
Version: 2.6.3 (v13007)
Once the most beautiful and promissing app for Mac, the iSight camera codebar scan is a must, it goes to internet to find metadata, the disign is very well done, and Apple Inc has copy it as others, but it seems developping stopped, Internet Auto Data only happends when ISDN code exists, it has no conversion format tools, like pdf to epub etc that would be useful to read in a ebook reader etc, it very limited in what it can do, and when I found the FREE and open source Calibre app, I just stopp using Delicious Library, Calibre even if not C native mac app, is quite fast and does lot more, conversion to epub, it reads almost every format, pdf, doc, text, epub, djvu, and many more, also can make a web server for your books, so you can download from anywhere, and the list goes, I wish Delicious was like that... pity
BuddyLove
BuddyLove
May 1 2011
2.6.3 (v13007)
3.0
May 1 2011
3.0
Version: 2.6.3 (v13007)
Do you guys have a problem with reviews in Delicious Library? I'd assume that since 2.6.3 it stopped downloading reviews for any new item (a book, etc) ... Do you have a solution anybody ?
Philih
Philih
Apr 6 2011
2.6.3 (v13007)
4.0
Apr 6 2011
4.0
Version: 2.6.3 (v13007)
Great for every collector of DVDs, Books, ... Everything with a barcode on it. You can simply scan the barcode with your webcam and this software searches all details in the web. but I'm missing an iPhone-App for this software.
Achim2
Achim2
Mar 15 2011
2.6.3 (v13007)
4.0
Mar 15 2011
4.0
Version: 2.6.3 (v13007)
If you're like me and tend to forget which movies and books you already own, you'll love this program. Let it make a nice webpage showing your stuff and you'll never end up with two of the same DVDs again :-) I have few problems with books not found, only very rare volumes have to be entered manually.
LittleGreen
LittleGreen
Mar 14 2011
2.6.3 (v13007)
1.5
Mar 14 2011
1.5
Version: 2.6.3 (v13007)
sent a lot of time ago (about 7 months) an email to the developer, asking if it will implement Amazon Italia. No answer
seba-szwarc
seba-szwarc
Jan 25 2011
2.6.3 (v13007)
0.0
Jan 25 2011
0.0
Version: 2.6.3 (v13007)
Totaly useless as many of such apps for people in Central Europe. People, there are lot of things relesead that are not on Amazon UK DE US etc... I want support for Poland
Craig42a
Craig42a
Dec 30 2010
2.6.3
3.5
Dec 30 2010
3.5
Version: 2.6.3
I test drove this app and it seems pretty good. Scanning barcodes is a cool feature, simple and fast, and it scales each book to its relative size to one another (i.e. coffee table book vs. pocket novel). For years I have maintained a Filemaker database of my book library. Lots of hand-entering, and this would have saved me lots of work. The thing about the Filemaker database though, is Filemaker has been around a long time and this file can be read on virtually any computer including PCs. One thing of interest it doesn't do is magazines. Whether its a 1977 copy of Playboy or a brand new New Yorker, it won't recognize it and this is because its not in the Amazon database. Pre-70s books, before there were barcodes, are another problem and require hand-entering. My only real critical comment is this should sell for less because it seems they are making money both on the front end and the back end. It appears, and correct me if I'm wrong, but when you click on a book you own, or a recommended book based on your reading preferences, you are not only taken to Amazon but taken there via a referral code which means they are getting kickbacks from your purchases on Amazon. Smart. In fact, if they are generating a good income this way, why not make this freeware? It makes me feel like I'm being used. I would prefer companies have transparency when it comes to such business practices. Tell me that in the product description, and I'm okay with it.
Timcrawf
Timcrawf
Dec 4 2010
2.6.3
4.5
Dec 4 2010
4.5
Version: 2.6.3
This application is great for keeping track of your books, movies and music. It can track what you have and who you loan it to.
zx
zx
Nov 30 2010
2.6.2
0.5
Nov 30 2010
0.5
Version: 2.6.2
Also, went from super design to poorly designed! *Can someone explain me why Books, Movies, Videogames and Toys got the same background/shelfs...while Gadgets and Tools got a totally difrent background/shelfs...? Laaaazy!