Back to MAMP page
MAMP free download for Mac

MAMP Reviews

5.5
03 September 2019

Create a local server environment.

Gregorgy
03 September 2009

Most helpful

Still the easiest way to create a test environment. I test all my development locally and no matter which of my Macs I am using and which dev environment (I have a Panther, a Tiger, two Leopards - Intel and PPC - and one Snow) this remains the easiest way to test my sites to death before deploying. 5 outta 5
Like (5)
Version 1.8

Read 52 MAMP User Reviews

Rate this app:

Bleepgeeks-com
14 November 2018
Currently MAMP (PRO) 5 only offers to run Apache version 2.2.x and NOT Apache v 2.4+ . In my case that prevents me to work on latest development projects where .htaccess uses directive only available from Apache v 2.4 onward. Please check your requiements before you buy MAMP Pro 5. Otherwise would be the best local web dev stack for mac.
Like
Version 5.1
Pugwash
08 January 2016
Just to warn people. I've been battling with MAMP for three days now trying to download my existing Wordpress self hosted site following various online tutorials and absolutely none have worked. Each time I have started from scratch including deleting MAMP and re-installing it, trying two different browsers and each time I get the ‘error establishing a database connection’ message. The issue I suspect is phpMyAdmin within MAMP. Each time I get the same two issues. 1/ Create a new local database - When entering log-in info phpMyAdmin won't allow me to leave the Host” field empty. It currently auto fills it with '%' , if I try and delete the %, it highlights with a red border. More importantly 2/ Again when on Add User I get a "A fatal JavaScript error has occurred....." Perhaps this isn't MAMPS fault, I don't know. At the moment I'm just going to give up and maybe try at some stage in the future. Way too frustrating and way too much time wasted. I need a drink. OS: 10.10.5 Browsers: Safari 9.0.2 and Firefox 40.0.3
Like (1)
Version 3.4
3 answer(s)
jammirato
jammirato
31 January 2016
You might try these settings: (quotation marks are used only to highlight the expression for you)
In the HOST field enter: "localhost" (don't type quotation characters)
For user names in phpMyAdmin use only 7 alphanumeric character combinations - for example "mysql99" (don't use any other symbol or marks like these - -&^%$>.?#@)
Like
Mcoyle
Mcoyle
13 August 2016
I have had this problem too, and I believe it was fixed with today's update (version 3.5.2 on 8-12-16), but the way I have gotten around it is to download phpmyadmin and install it into my document root folder. Then run THAT version instead of the included one.
Like (1)
Surfpunk
Surfpunk
14 January 2017
I tend to use Sequel Pro (it's free) instead of phpmyadmin...
https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/28473/sequel-pro

works great, better than phpmyadmin especially if you have large database sqldumps to import/export.

specify 127.0.0.1 as the host if working on localhost.
Like
Morpe
31 August 2015
on Mavericks does not start at boot
Like
Version 3.4
Awado
06 June 2015
Version 3.2.1 is available at the dev's site.
Like
Version 3.0.7.3
Greedyfranky
03 September 2014
Almost fooled me. The name was close to MAME. I was thinking, hey a new MAME frontend. Ahwel ...
Like
Version 3.0.6
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
22 October 2014
If you liked MAME, check out OpenEmu. ;)

https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/32553/openemu
Like
Diarbyrag
11 April 2014
I was under the impression that "the typical Mac fashion" was drag and drop from a DMG, not installer packages which many people distrust.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.4
3 answer(s)
3mors
3mors
16 April 2014
Haters gonna hate... There's an installer just because MAMP folder contains all your project files and database and it takes care of migrating all your data when you update an older version. Something that you can't do with a simple drag&drop.
Like (1)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
16 April 2014
I never said hate anywhere mate ! I have been perfectly able to migrate my stuff on previous updates ta ! the installer also continually re-installs a pile of foreign language files I don't need to clog my mac with. Plus I now use Virtual host so none of my stuff is in the MAMP folder. Would be good to have a choice.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
22 October 2014
Drag and drop would also install language files, but they would be in the application bundle. So I'm not sure what your point is.

Installers are needed when things get installed to the system library folders and such. The parts it installs are what is needed for the install.
Like
mori2k18
12 March 2014
Besides some additional features like ffmpeg etc. very great app.
Like
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
mori2k18
mori2k18
12 March 2014
I mean of course missing features.
Like
Claudio-Ambrosini
05 March 2014
Why don't include MongoDB? Why don't add option to use Nginx with php-fpm? I can help to include this features. Best regards..
Like
Version 3.0
Overall, I have found MAMPS/MAMPS Pro to be a solid useable package. Thus 4 star's; however ... I switched from using MAMPS Pro for several years to AMPPS for the following reasons: 1) AMPPS has been easier to teach to my kids than MAMPS 2) In my view, MAMPS has some pieces related to the user configuration which are "more closed, less transparent" than AMPPS. AMPPS directly provides the raw config files. MAMPS layers a closed source GUI on various config files. 3) AMPPS directory structure is more like our live server directory structure than MAMPS. 4) AMPPS more convenient to use. In particular, the basic CPanel and Softaculous are particularly helpful in working with installing and maintaining open source web apps such as WordPress.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
Whisperquiet
18 March 2013
Just excellent; industrial software configured into a stand-alone environment on your Mac! It just works and works well. This is a must for testing web sites, PHP sites with databases and e-commerce etc locally.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
Whisperquiet
10 February 2013
Great software. Easy to install and use, very reliable and an ideal environment.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Won
12 July 2012
http://mamp.info/en/documentation/releases.html
Like
Version 2.1.1
Bardosity
14 July 2011
After reading the previous reviews I was pretty scared to upgrade, but I did it anyway. Everything worked great and the new SSL features are fantastic!
Like
Version 2.0
Gerylaurent
13 July 2011
After testing in MAMP on Mac OS 10.7, the MySQL database does not even after restarting the computer.
Like
Version 2.0
Mikaelf
22 March 2011
Doesn't work. MySQL wont start. Mac OS X 10.6.6 and latest MAMP.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.5
3 answer(s)
Egyptik
Egyptik
14 April 2011
Do you have admin rights on your machine? Did you allow MAMP to start MySQL?
Like
Mikaelf
Mikaelf
14 April 2011
Yes & Yes
Like
Egyptik
Egyptik
14 April 2011
Are you sure nothing else is running on the port that MySQL is trying to use? A re-boot of your computer or a re-install of MAMP may sometimes solve the problem aswell...
Like
OliverTerrier
20 October 2010
I wish I could give this 10 stars; it's THAT good. Really, if you have a need for this, there is nothing better than MAMP.
Like (3)
Version 1.9.3
Dmnelson
21 September 2010
As someone who's perfectly capable of setting up my own server software on Mac or Linux, I still find this valuable. I like how portable the whole package is. It's nice to be able to grab a copy of the MAMP folder and know that I have everything I need to redeploy an identical config on any stock Mac OS X system.
Like (4)
Version 1.9.2
Trashie
04 September 2010
Just either get your own testing server (mac mini / cheap PC etc) or use a virtual machine and install an entire server set up that way. That keeps your desktop Mac totally clean from server software. Do I like MAMP sure but it is just pointless...as a little vm/server in your LAN works much better and easier.
Like
Version 1.9.1
Chap-Harrison
17 April 2010
I don't remember MAMP being as hard to set up the last time I used it (which was a couple of years ago). I have installed it on a Mini and want to access MySQL and phpMyAdmin from my laptop on the LAN, and I've been fluthering about unsuccessfully for two hours now, unable to connect to phpMyAdmin except via localhost on the Mini. Between the MAMP 1.9 PRO interface and phpMyAdmin, neither of which is stellar, I find that what used to be a marvelously simple "package" has become unapproachably complex. Still waiting for my MAMP forum registration to go through so I can ask for help there.
Like
Version 1.9
.
10 March 2010
Is there a way of using Ruby with this? Any suggestions would be much appreciated, thanks.
Like
Version 1.8.4
qwerasdf
11 February 2010
FARN: Yes, I believe MAMP would be perfectly suitable for your needs. It's simple enough to use, and it comes with everything included.
Like
Version 1.8.4
Pdeli
13 December 2009
Does not work!!! Unfortunately. When launching MAMP, the status pane appears, but neither the Apache server nor the MySQL server start. MAMP is installed, as required, in the /Applications/ folder, however the profile I am using on my Mac (with Snow Leopard) is Standard (as opposed to Administrator). This is for obvious security reasons... XAMPP, however, works fine (although it requires to enter an Administrator profile Name and Password. The problem I have with XAMPP, contrary to MAMP, is that it doesn't have a ZEND manager... So neither program works for me. Sad! Cheers.
Like
Version 1.8.3
Gregorgy
03 September 2009
Still the easiest way to create a test environment. I test all my development locally and no matter which of my Macs I am using and which dev environment (I have a Panther, a Tiger, two Leopards - Intel and PPC - and one Snow) this remains the easiest way to test my sites to death before deploying. 5 outta 5
Like (5)
Version 1.8
1 answer(s)
Farn
Farn
02 January 2010
You seem pretty knowledgeable about this. I'm not. I'm looking to create a "server" like local environment that I can install either Joomla or Wordpress and create a couple of websites and then make updates offline for uploading to my hosted/shared servers. Is this the type of software I need? Do I also need to load Apache or something else? Is it easy enough to use this kind of software to create local hosts. Thanks
Like
Version 1.8.4
gmattie
11 February 2009
Since the past year i've been using XAMPP and while both will do pretty much the same thing, I just find the look and feel of MAMP to be a touch smarter. The dashboard widget for server access is great. thank you very much MAMP Team.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.2
2 answer(s)
Elovez
Elovez
19 February 2009
please help me how to connect to mysql. this is the old script i used by PHPTRIAD on windows, but its didnt work in MAC with MAMP $host=localhost; $user="root"; $pass="root"; include"ver.php"; if($valid==true): $link = mysql_connect ("$host", "$user", "$pass") or die ("fail to connect"); $tanggal= date("Y-m-d"); $wmk="insert into faq //name of table// (tanggal,nama,email,pertanyaan) values('$tanggal','$nama','$email','$pertanyaan')"; mysql_select_db("sd"); $query=mysql_query ($wmk,$link); if ($query) { echo " Sukses pengentrian tabel"; } else { echo " Gagal pengentrian tabel "; } { echo("Thank you $nama for your question, please wait the confirm for a moment, Your data:"); echo("tanggal :$tanggal"); echo("Nama : $nama"); echo("email : $email"); echo("pertanyaan : $pertanyaan"); echo(""); echo(""); } ?>
Like
Version 1.7.2
Gregorgy
Gregorgy
04 September 2009
This is not a support forum but I think you may need to target the port or set MAMP to use the defaults.
Like (1)
Version 1.8
Gaoshan
20 August 2008
This is THE all in one web serving environment for the Mac. Don't waste time with xampp (it's clunkier to use) just use MAMP. I have a each project I work on set up as a local environment (likt http://twc:8888/). It speeds development hugely and lets me make fewer version control checkins which is always a good thing. Yes, you can setup your own dev environment by hand or with fink/macports but this is even easier than that!
Like (1)
Version 1.7.2
Conner-bw
12 June 2008
I use this everyday on my PPC machines. Thank you!
Like
Version 1.7.1
dan-friml
09 February 2008
Yeah! This is killer stuff. Easy installing, just a few easy steps to set it up and you're ready to go! Kudos to the developers!!!
Like
Version 1.7.1
Abrar
06 February 2008
OMG!!! So easy!!! I almost squealed like a School-girl!
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
Theodore-Lee
05 December 2007
I'm a little confused. What do I get in Mamp Pro that isn't already in the free XAMPP or MAMP?
Like
Version 1.7.1
Rawkes
05 December 2007
What are the new features/changes in 1.7.1?
Like
Version 1.7.1
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
05 December 2007
That information has not been made available by the developer, if it were available it would have been posted on the MacUpdate page for MAMP.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Gaoshan
Gaoshan
05 December 2007
The only change is that PHP has been upgraded from 5.2.3 to 5.2.5. Everything else from Apache and MySQL right on down to phpMyAdmin and the littlest library is the same.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Md07
21 October 2007
Haha. Gotta agree with a previous post about almost laughing at how easy this was to use. Best thing for macs? Probably. Better than Tiger server (for mamp)? Probably. Thanks!!
Like
Version 1.7
Zensurfer
24 September 2007
I love MAMP have been using for over a year now with no probs. I love the fact that its non-standard ports as I have a "standard" LAMP setup which i use for demos. the MAMP version I use for dev work and basically messing around with new stuff, so its' totally isolated from my mission-critical stuff. my only quirk is they don't support m-crypt (which I use) hopefully in the future they will find the time to include it as well. It's a lovely app for us mac folks, much prep to the MAMP team and more power!
Like
Version 1.7
Midtoad
20 March 2007
One problem with MAMP, it installs mysql in a non-standard location. That makes is easy to uninstall (just delete the /Applications/MAMP folder), but also makes it hard to install, say, MySQLdb for Python.
Like
Version 1.5b1
Crow
06 March 2007
I had hoped for an easy solution to get Apache 2/PHP 5/MySQL 5...but I couldn't believe it was this easy. After I downloaded it and started it up, I almost laughed out loud - I thought it was too good to be true. I had imagined I would be spending an afternoon messing with my system, but it was up and running in about 30 seconds. Thanks for this. Awesome.
Like
Version 1.5b1
Da-La
09 February 2007
Andy, for that functionality you need to get MAMP Pro. From the MAMP Pro site (http://www.living-e.de/en/products/MAMP-PRO/index.php): With MAMP PRO, you can easily connect your local server with an existing Dynamic DNS provider, as for example dyndns.com. Making it very simple to quickly make the results of your work accessible externally for superiors and prospective customers. And because you can set up many virtual hosts, you can easily offer alternative configurations or suggestions.
Like
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
Oceancubed
Oceancubed
13 February 2007
You DON'T need MAMP PRO to be able to connect your MAMP to a Dynamic DNS Service. I have MAMP (Free version) installed which is broadcasting on port 8888 (the default), I have setup the FREE service with dyndns.org to allow a domain name of my choosing to route to my dynamic home address. Dyndns.org also provide software/daemon that runs in the background on your Mac, which keeps the dyndns.org routing updated to your changing dynamic ip. I can access my site on my Mac from any where in the world via the domain attached via dyndns.org to my home dynamic ip. Better still, buy a NETGEAR router as they have a feature which enables the continous update of your changing ip address to dyndns.org.
Like
Version 1.5b1
Amwc
14 November 2006
I used MAMP for a long time, and then I stumbled across Headdress, which allows you to add virtual hosts to MAMP. A very cool combination. Headdress isn't free, but if you want virtual hosts, and can't face messing around in httpd files, it's well worth the $15. BUT, MAMP has one major flaw, and because of it I invested a day in setting all of its components up manually on my MBP. MAMP will not serve sites outside of itself, and that totally negated a big advantage of being able to run Windoze under Parallels for development purposes - the ability to test in IE6. No amount of emailing or requests on teh forum yielded any responses, so in the end I gave up and went the manual root. Overall, a great product, just let down by the inability to access it from other systems. Still, for free........
Like
Version 1.4.1
2 answer(s)
Vennt
Vennt
07 August 2007
probably old news, but I run mamp through parallels all the time. All you need is your ip address (network system prefs), then access it through ie in the format http://ipaddress:8888 works like a charm.
Like
Version 1.6.1
Aljuk
Aljuk
15 October 2007
"MAMP will not serve sites outside of itself" Incorrect. MAMP Pro does.
Like
Version 1.7
Tekl
13 November 2006
How to update MAMP? If I just overwrite my old 1.4 I'll loose all my settings and databases.
Like
Version 1.4.1
3 answer(s)
Curdaneta
Curdaneta
13 November 2006
Hi TEKL Unless you want to loose tour projects you should overwrite everything but the "db" and "htdocs" folders cheerz
Like
Version 1.4.1
Amwc
Amwc
14 November 2006
Or you could do a full upgrade and just copy your htdocs and db folders to another location, do a complete back up and then overwrite the new htdocs and db folders with your old ones. That's what I've done in the past.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Tekl
Tekl
14 November 2006
Thanks, I also copied my config-folder, so I don't lose my settings.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Mcguffin
19 July 2006
An incredible app, saved me hours trying to set up everything on a server just for testing purposes. Perfect.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Phaleron
19 January 2006
This is the first version that does not work for me. Specifically, the start-up light indicator shows red for Apache, and green for MySQL. I reverted back to the earlier version which works great. Regardless of this issue, MAMP is the most treasured web tool in my Mac arsenal.
Like
Version 1.1
Nicolasd
18 January 2006
nah, i have no interest in knowing what versions of these projects i'm installing. just go ahead and put whatever you want on. thanks. -n.
Like
Version 1.1
MaCoffee.Net
25 November 2005
MAMP is Easy to Use and Cool Features - Thanks More MaCoffee.Net Czech Republic
Like
Version 1.0.1
Shesha Marvin
11 November 2005
http://localhost:8888/MAMP/htdocs/test.php Should I understand that this file will load? I can't seem to actually get any php files to run locally. If you know the missing link please let everyone know.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
15 May 2005
Have only used it a bit - but find it really great - Drag a single folder to your applications folder, double click and your away Note : it leaves the standard mac os X apache alone - so php will only work when you access the pages on the port 8888 (that is the default for MAMP but im sure it is easy to change to 80 if you wish) webpages go in a sub folder in the same folder all in all from a non tekkies point of view is a reat test bed for my simple php needs b4 i upload to my actual website James
Like
Version 1.0b
Anonymous
23 March 2005
Doesn't seem to be anything new about this; hasn't been updated since December. As for the component versions people keep asking about, you can see the versions for December's a3 release at: http://www.mamp.info/en/help/releases/#1.0a3
Like
Version 1.0b
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 March 2005
You find the version Information at http://www.mamp.info/en/help/releases/#1.0b
Like
Version 1.0b
Anonymous
22 March 2005
Maybe not too easy to find but well findable: http://www.mamp.info/en/home/ or http://www.mamp.info/de/home/ for the german-languaged among us with faq on versions, modules and other info. Well worth a look!
Like
Version 1.0b
Anonymous
22 March 2005
Great... Still no idea of what versions or what modules are installed with php... if you don't want to post this here... post it on your site..
Like
Version 1.0b
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 March 2005
Maybe not too easy to find but well findable: http://www.mamp.info/en/home/ or http://www.mamp.info/de/home/ for the german-languaged among us with faq on versions, modules and other info. Well worth a look!
Like
Version 1.0b
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 March 2005
You find the version informations at http://www.mamp.info/en/help/releases/#1.0b
Like
Version 1.0b
Anonymous
05 January 2005
I wish their site was a bit more informative... ie what versions are they using of each software? PHP gets installed, but what modules are loaded?
Like
Version 1.0.a3
Anonymous
03 January 2005
Trying to develop PHP pages using Dreamweaver. MAMP installation was v quick and all seems to work perfectly!
Like
Version 1.0.a3
Ryan
17 December 2004
Great concept, but I cannot get it to work on my PB running 10.2.8. I tried both the .dmg and .pkg installer; when I install from .dmg, the application instantly quits when launched; the .pkg won't even install.
Like
Version 1.0.a2
Anonymous
19 October 2004
would be nice to have an 'auto-update' to get and install the latest packages (without destroying anything !) I hate trying to stay current !
Like
Version 1.0.a2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 January 2005
so agree with that sentiment. Every time I reinstall any of the *AMP solutions on my, or client, sites I end up having to re-do so many settings and configurations it sucks... and updater would be a very, very cool thing
Like
Version 1.0.a3
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 January 2005
MAMP is now in alpha stadium. Please wait until the final release is finished. To make Updaters meens extra work for me.
Like
Version 1.0.a3