Back to TextMate page
TextMate free download for Mac

TextMate Reviews

02 March 2021

Code/markup editor with many features.

How would you rate TextMate?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
jorgemarizan
jorgemarizan
Jul 21 2020
2.0.6
5.0
Jul 21 2020
5.0
Version: 2.0.6
I've been a Textmate user since 2008 when I started programming Ruby. This is my go to editor for Ruby and C++. Fast, reliable and elegant. You will have to take it from my cold hands when I die, I fcking love it!
henry79
henry79
Jun 25 2020
2.0.6
5.0
Jun 25 2020
5.0
Version: 2.0.6
One of the first apps I install on a new machine!
dandersson
dandersson
Feb 12 2020
2.0.6
5.0
Feb 12 2020
5.0
Version: 2.0.6
I've used TextMate for 10 years now and couldn't be happier. I f*cking love it!
penpoints
penpoints
Sep 30 2019
2.0
5.0
Sep 30 2019
5.0
Version: 2.0
Glad to see 2.0 released on 9/29/19. I've used this app since 2005! Later I switched mostly to Sublime Text and others, but could never quite let go of TextMate. So interesting and elegant, and now modernized (multiple cursors, etc.). It's currently free - "version 2.0 of TextMate is being developed as open source" - but that could change with 2.1, according to their website. No problem, it's worth paying for a license IMO. However I hope they'll go with donations instead of paid licenses, so people don't get mad about it moving back to proprietary software.
fukurokujo
fukurokujo
Apr 29 2017
2.0-rc.4
5.0
Apr 29 2017
5.0
Version: 2.0-rc.4
Still the best editor on macOS, sure emacs could beat it but neither can be configured to the degree they actually need and surely not in an acceptable time frame. Sublime too is a good contender but still has problems with most macOS native features like accent panels etc.
pmullins
pmullins
Sep 21 2016
2.0-beta.12.12
4.0
Sep 21 2016
4.0
Version: 2.0-beta.12.12
Back in 2005, when I switched from Windows to OS X, this was my editor of choice. During this time TextMate was without equal and was considered the best code editor that money could buy. Fast forward a decade or more and it's still a fantastic text editor for developers. However, it's also starting to show its age and rapidly falling behind competitors like BBEdit, Atom, and Microsoft's Visual Studio Code in terms of features. Sounds bad, right? Fear not, TexMaters, all is not lost. The editor has gone open source, new features are slowly being added, and, even considering all its current misgivings, there's still something unique and special about it that makes it super fun to use compared to the others. Would I pay $50 for it? No, not at this point in time. However, I have high hopes that one day Textmate will return to its former glory.

Edit: I forgot to mention that you can download the source for TextMate from https://github.com/textmate/textmate
anonymous-skink-4656
anonymous-skink-4656
Jul 20 2016
2.0-beta.11.4
5.0
Jul 20 2016
5.0
Version: 2.0-beta.11.4
Fast, with huge potential. For almost 12 years, still the best editor for Mac. Convenient bundles management, depending on needs. I love this application.
RobertBeckey58
RobertBeckey58
Jul 8 2016
2.0-beta.11.4
5.0
Jul 8 2016
5.0
Version: 2.0-beta.11.4
Great code editor for Mac developers.
jkesler
jkesler
Jun 8 2016
2.0-beta.9.4
5.0
Jun 8 2016
5.0
Version: 2.0-beta.9.4
Great code editor. The original inspiration behind Sublime Text. Still updated regularly. Now open source!
fukurokujo
fukurokujo
Nov 9 2015
2.0-beta.8.1
5.0
Nov 9 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0-beta.8.1
make sure to read the textmate book or other resources else you won't even scratch the surface of its features.
Marcossi
Marcossi
Sep 16 2015
2.0-beta.8
0.0
Sep 16 2015
0.0
Version: 2.0-beta.8
That UI makes me feel I want to go back to the good old 2K :)
UserUV
UserUV
Aug 24 2015
2.0-beta.7.7
4.0
Aug 24 2015
4.0
Version: 2.0-beta.7.7
I think, design of Textmate is a little outdated. Today other design is good in text editors: Sublime-text like, Atom like.
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
Jul 21 2015
2.0 beta 7.6
0.0
Jul 21 2015
0.0
Version: 2.0 beta 7.6
Version 2.x of this outstanding text editor introduces the whiplash-inducing removal of the Project Drawer! Without this feature I cannot use the program. I use version 1.5.11 almost every day. Version 2.x does introduce a Finder-level file browser but that does not replace the Project Drawer. One could imagine making a Finder folder with aliases to all of your files that are represented in the Project Drawer but in recent versions of OS X, aliases are 3-5 MB each, up from a few bytes or KB. I suppose my Project Drawer contains 1,000 files so making a Finder folder with aliases to duplicate the organization of the Project Drawer would take 3-5 GB! It is baffling why this feature has been removed from 2.x. I think the concept of "project" has changed in 2.x, whatever that concept is/was, and I think that the developer associated that concept innately with the Project Drawer, and thus—somehow—the Project Drawer disappeared. I and I suppose many others don't rely on the project "concept" but sorely need the simple and efficient organization of the Project Drawer. Until the Project Drawer is returned or someone makes a plugin, I'll stick to using 1.5.11 and when that no longer works I'll have to look around for a TextMate replacement.
Geekkkker
Geekkkker
Apr 7 2015
1.5.11
3.5
Apr 7 2015
3.5
Version: 1.5.11
Great app! Kind of expensive!
Ronnb
Ronnb
Dec 13 2014
1.5.11
2.0
Dec 13 2014
2.0
Version: 1.5.11
This current beta asked me if I wanted to allow it to access my contacts!? WTF!? Why would software, as this is, want to have access to my personal contacts? Though I like how the software generally performs, software that snoops is not a good sign.
Shodan
Shodan
Mar 4 2014
1.5.11
0.0
Mar 4 2014
0.0
Version: 1.5.11
I've been using jEdit for years and have been wondering whether trying another editor was worth the time investment. Has anyone used/compared TextMate with jEdit? If so, would you mind sharing your thoughts/opinions? Cheers.
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Feb 20 2014
1.5.11
5.0
Feb 20 2014
5.0
Version: 1.5.11
Very good!
michaelkav
michaelkav
Jan 6 2013
1.5.11
5.0
Jan 6 2013
5.0
Version: 1.5.11
I am between this and Sublime 2 both are awesome but I think Sublime 2 has the edge right now. Anyone else think this, or not?
Cgc
Cgc
Aug 9 2012
1.5.11
0.0
Aug 9 2012
0.0
Version: 1.5.11
Textmate 2.0 is open source: http://arstechnica.com/apple/2012/08/textmate-2-0-goes-open-source-in-response-to-os-x-restrictions/
iPoopStore
iPoopStore
Jun 26 2012
1.5.11
0.0
Jun 26 2012
0.0
Version: 1.5.11
Requirements are out of sync with the software maker. 1.5.11 is Intel for 10.5+ Don't download if you need PowerPC support! I don't but my friend cared.
macola2
macola2
May 30 2012
2.0
4.0
May 30 2012
4.0
Version: 2.0
Still prefer TextWrangler, but this is a very close second.
Dr54
Dr54
Feb 23 2012
2.0
5.0
Feb 23 2012
5.0
Version: 2.0
Best text editor for Mac! I love it!
Trashie
Trashie
Jan 12 2012
2.0
5.0
Jan 12 2012
5.0
Version: 2.0
WOW here it is V2 BUGGGYYYYY lol. Then again it is Alpha and V1 is perfectly stable...however there is glimpses of greatness in V2. Ideas and concepts reworked and refactored just not finished yet show this will be hugely popular when complete. I never used projects don't care they are binned in V2. I prefer to work off the file system as projects just f-up using version management tools. That may be why they got nailed. I just wish they would throw people at it as I know it is a tiny team working on it...Textmate is probably the least employee supported app considering it's user base and complexity I know of. At this point all we have is a preview of what is to come. Let us just hope it happens sooner rather than later. Nice preview enjoyed it but will stay with V1 until this matters a bit more...by beta I would think I will move to it.
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
Dec 16 2011
2.0
0.0
Dec 16 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0
The Project Panel has now been "replaced" by a Finder browser panel. No more projects! WTF. This is getting a lot of discussion on the list but the developer so far is not bending. To me, this is a major loss, probably a deal killer.
Broz
Broz
Dec 14 2011
2.0
0.0
Dec 14 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0
I have not tried 2.0x yet. Can anyone tell me if does Undo properly? Every version (thru 1.5.1) of TextMate I've used does Undo one character at a time. What nonsense for a supposedly professional editor! Type a line of code, and then choose Undo 80 times?
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Dec 14 2011
2.0
5.0
Dec 14 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0
So far so good.. am very glad to see TM upgraded (except icon, maybe it is to be in line with the CODA leaf ?!? lol). Interface looks more modern, themes look good.. I think it would be great if it had multiple split panels like CODA.. something I REALLY like a lot.. Cannot yet say much more in terms of more in-depth use so far. So won't try and rate it just yet..
Damian Weiss
Damian Weiss
Dec 14 2011
2.0
0.0
Dec 14 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0
Great, I'm looking forward to the final version of TextMate 2.0. I wrote my last Website using TextMate und CSSEdit only, so there was absolutely no need for a WYSIWYG editor. Thanks to the developer for the continuous hard work!
Lumac52
Lumac52
Dec 14 2011
2.0
0.0
Dec 14 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0
Although "Alpha" is indicated clearly in the title, the download link that currently says "Beta" should also say "Alpha". It's worth being extra clear about this, because the alpha is incomplete and everyday users will want to stick with 1.x
FTBZ
FTBZ
Dec 14 2011
2.0
0.0
Dec 14 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0
I'm not sure that the choice of the icon is good. I already had much problem with the previous pink icon in my dock... Stupid comment, yes, I know.
rambothecat
rambothecat
Dec 3 2011
1.5.10
0.0
Dec 3 2011
0.0
Version: 1.5.10
Great app but I wont be buying until i see an update.
Orefalo
Orefalo
Oct 29 2011
1.5.10
1.0
Oct 29 2011
1.0
Version: 1.5.10
About time this editor gets an update * No full screen * No tabs * better api to provide more integration feature
MaximilianGoetzfried
MaximilianGoetzfried
Sep 26 2011
1.5.10
4.0
Sep 26 2011
4.0
Version: 1.5.10
Blogged by TextMate team today: "There has been a lot of speculation and trepidation about the future of TextMate recently, mostly about whether there will be another major release. Work on 2.0 began and while we wish it could have been completed faster we are very pleased with how it is turning out. Development has reached a point finally where we can make an announcement: There will be a public alpha release this year, before Christmas, for registered users."
Tomy-doe
Tomy-doe
May 18 2011
1.5.10
5.0
May 18 2011
5.0
Version: 1.5.10
Does a great job to highlight Ruby on Rails properly and more comprehensive. By doing so it will save a lost of time by avoiding typos. BBEdit doesn't get close. It might be possible to get BBEdit to do the same but Textmate is the best editor for Ruby.
Trashie
Trashie
Mar 31 2011
1.5.10
5.0
Mar 31 2011
5.0
Version: 1.5.10
I want 2.0! I can't live without this app anymore. It is like heroine you will need a meeting to stop using it. No really. I really like coda and it's all nice perfect modernness but keep getting the shakes for this. I am not going down the EMACS vs VIM vs TEXTMATE road too late at night. Suffice to say yes textmate can be mentioned alongside these legends now. Unless your old school unix check out this book there is a lot of old school hidden in textmate. TextMate: Power Editing for the Mac (no links not selling it).
Richdang
Richdang
Mar 12 2011
1.5.10
5.0
Mar 12 2011
5.0
Version: 1.5.10
bigbrother text editor !!!
Hotodi
Hotodi
Nov 13 2010
1.5.10
0.0
Nov 13 2010
0.0
Version: 1.5.10
I did a German Version of TextMate, you can download it from here: http://goo.gl/ucvA6 Ich habe für TextMate eine deutsche Sprachversion gemacht die man sich hier herunterladen kann: http://goo.gl/ucvA6
Blueone
Blueone
Nov 12 2010
1.5.10
0.0
Nov 12 2010
0.0
Version: 1.5.10
WOOHOO! One step closer to 2.0!!
Broz
Broz
Aug 2 2010
1.5.9
0.0
Aug 2 2010
0.0
Version: 1.5.9
I'm a long time user of BBEdit, and like BBEdit a lot. I tried TextMate awhile back, and found it to be pretty cool. There are some handy features, and it could be a time saver for some things. I ended up spending a week with it, doing all the code editing I would normally do in BBEdit. What I couldn't get past was the single character undo. Maybe there's a good reason for that, but it's about the stupidest thing an editor could do. Why would anyone want that? Don't people undo any more? I just downloaded the latest version 1.5.9 (one year since the last release) to see if that was fixed, and it still has single character undo. I'll stick with BBEdit. TextMate does nothing better, and lots of stuff worse, than BBEdit (for me!). There are lots of people using TextMate, and find it terrifically useful. Good for them.
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Jul 29 2010
1.5.9
5.0
Jul 29 2010
5.0
Version: 1.5.9
I'm eagerly waiting for Texmate to become a little more "OSX-modern".. It could really become close to perfect.. I wish it had: • A more OSX interface with dual panel for web preview. • A side panel for Projects (I use the ProjectPlus.tmplugin but it is a little buggy..). • A better integrated search and replace window (actually that could also be a panel). Actually I wish all "palette" things would be panels integrated in the main interface.. To me drawers and palettes are counterproductive.. Come on Textmate.. catch up in the appearance department and show Coda and other pretty pretenders you are THE one and all you needed was a little nip&tuck ;-) Make it happen soon.. before people get swayed by brighter and shinier things.. It's been know to happen to flesh and blood mates..
H-Ryo
H-Ryo
May 24 2010
1.5.9
5.0
May 24 2010
5.0
Version: 1.5.9
This is absolutely THE best text editor for programmers. Very stable, very easy to use. And with the bundle support, you simply have unlimited possibilities. Oh, and the full-text search in the entire project works GREAT! Highly recommended!
Glenn-Verhalle
Glenn-Verhalle
Mar 12 2010
1.5.9
4.0
Mar 12 2010
4.0
Version: 1.5.9
If you're serious about programming, this is really a must have tool. I use it for Ruby on Rails, HTML and it's soooo good !
James-W-
James-W-
Feb 14 2010
1.5.9
0.0
Feb 14 2010
0.0
Version: 1.5.9
I have a problem setting the non-fixed width font like Helvetica Neue Light in the editor :( Letters overlap each other. Very sad.
Pizte
Pizte
Feb 5 2010
1.5.9
4.0
Feb 5 2010
4.0
Version: 1.5.9
I've been using vim for 8 years now, and I thought it was the ultimate text editor. I searched over all *nix software repositories some graphical editor that could compare to vim, but I wasn't able to find one. Then one day, searching for editors for my Mac I saw TextMate. It was outstanding. It has fast autocompletion, tabs, drawer, and complete customization of the working environment (syntax highlighting, themes, variables, templates...) and lots of tools to do your work faster, and better.
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Feb 4 2010
1.5.9
5.0
Feb 4 2010
5.0
Version: 1.5.9
I enjoy Espresso.. (in more ways than one..) but keep finding myself coming back to TextMate for most of what I actually do... guess that is what "mating" is about.. For now it is my combo of choice.. but I really think TM is a must have.. Simple as that.
Zachwill
Zachwill
Dec 28 2009
1.5.9
5.0
Dec 28 2009
5.0
Version: 1.5.9
I normally don't write reviews, but this app is worthy of an exception. This is by far the best text editor available. The bundles, tab triggers, and ability to customize snippets makes this app worthwhile. I literally code 10x faster with TextMate (incredibly reminiscent of how I felt after finding Quiksilver a couple years ago).
ncianca
ncianca
Nov 4 2009
1.5.9
0.0
Nov 4 2009
0.0
Version: 1.5.9
I sure hope "Avian" makes an appearance soon, which is supposed to be free to registered users. Alan, I'm sure that most TM2 prospective users would be filling to pay a reasonable upgrade fee if that gets it into our hands faster. Software doesn't age well like a good wine, but rather becomes vinegar when the underlying APIs of its foundation evolve, thus broadening the time curve gap. And I really hope that my next comment on TM will be singing the TM2 praises.
Simman
Simman
Sep 2 2009
1.5.9
5.0
Sep 2 2009
5.0
Version: 1.5.9
I've tried a lot - but this one is simply the best one. Thanks for this!
Iconz113
Iconz113
Aug 30 2009
1.5.9
0.0
Aug 30 2009
0.0
Version: 1.5.9
I agree this needs to be in red, best editor or osx.
-M-S-
-M-S-
Aug 28 2009
1.5.8
0.0
Aug 28 2009
0.0
Version: 1.5.8
Mac OS X 10.6 users: TextMate's command-left/right arrow key functionality (one of the most commonly used keystrokes) is broken in Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard). Fortunately' there's a fix. Edit (or create) the file named ~/Library/KeyBindings/DefaultKeyBinding.dict and add the following lines to the end: "@\UF702" = "moveToBeginningOfLine:"; "@\UF703" = "moveToEndOfLine:"; "$@\UF702" = "moveToBeginningOfLineAndModifySelection:"; "$@\UF703" = "moveToEndOfLineAndModifySelection:"; Quit and re-launch TextMate, and your precious key-combo should be working again.
Dan-Briggs
Dan-Briggs
May 6 2009
1.5.8
5.0
May 6 2009
5.0
Version: 1.5.8
I've tried a lot of text editors in my 25 years developer life but this one is simply the best one. It's almost perfect and even better than TextPad on Windows. Add the Project+ plugin and your developer environment is rock solid. I use every day 400+ php/html/css files with MAMP in every project and I need speed. TextMate is always fast and responsive, very simple to use for beginners and still very very complete for geeks. I bought Coda and Espresso too but they are far from TextMate in many cases. With TextMate I can work as twice as fast on my php/html/css code. It's true that the others are better on presenting html and css but when you know these languages a little, everything is done by copying ans pasting part of code to new places. Add Safari and Transmit for your ftp and you got the best and fastest development environment someone can have. Long life to TextMate and thank you to all community for this piece of Art. AL-Paris.