Back to Logic Pro page
Logic Pro free download for Mac

Logic Pro Reviews10.6.1

12 December 2020

Music creation and audio production tool.

How would you rate Logic Pro?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
fleur2metaline-1
fleur2metaline-1
May 13 2020
10.5
0.0
May 13 2020
0.0
Version: 10.5
How to know what are the "Multiple additional enhancements and stability improvements" ?
theresnomoretable
theresnomoretable
May 13 2020
10.5
1.0
May 13 2020
1.0
Version: 10.5
Wow, I literally tried to buy this today (the day 10.5 was released) and it can't be installed on my computer. If I had bought it yesterday I would have gotten the previous version, and it would have worked. I can't just buy the previous version now because that would be to easy. Thanks Apple!
mzaryabz39
mzaryabz39
Feb 27 2020
10.4.8
0.0
Feb 27 2020
0.0
Version: 10.4.8
Hey webmaster, I see your site it just an awesome and really beautiful interface, we have an uploading site for your sites to upload links. Please allow us to work with you; we have an extra earning plan for you http://downloadyourapp.online/ just register account here. And earn money into 10000 downloads upto 100 USD when you uploads link for in your site. Just use for uploading site. See more options to visit. So don’t wait start uploading from here http://downloadyourapp.online/ talk to me : skype : jamshad74hashmi Fb : https://www.facebook.com/jimi.hashmi.5 WhatsUp No : 03027432047
phokabolofo76
phokabolofo76
Jan 3 2020
10.4.8
0.0
Jan 3 2020
0.0
Version: 10.4.8
Is the best software
Moogan
Moogan
Jun 15 2019
10.4.5
5.0
Jun 15 2019
5.0
Version: 10.4.5
10.4.5 update: Increased Number of Tracks and Channels, up to: 1000 stereo audio channel strips 1000 software instrument channel strips 1000 auxiliary channel strips 1000 external MIDI tracks 12 sends per channel strip all-new DeEsser 2 plug-in 16 ports of MIDI clock, MTC, and MMC from Logic – yeah, expect to see a Mac Pro in broadcast/film/TV applications running audio Mixer configuration can be set to your own user-definable defaults (huge time saver there, finally) A clever automatic duplicate erase when you’re merging MIDI recordings And some new keyboard shortcuts to save you time when editing: Option + Shift while rubber-band selecting in the Piano Roll: new time Handles selection. Option-click track on/off button: loads/unloads the plug-ins on the channel strip (wow, easy A/B!) Shift-double-click Tracks background: start playback from that position. And for the “I have an old beat-up MacBook you can pry out of my dead fingers” crowd – finally Freeze works the way it should. (How many of you were desperately freezing tracks while cursing Logic as the CPU meter refused to go down?) From the release notes: “Freezing a track now unloads its plug-ins to free up resources.” http://cdm.link/2019/06/logic-pro-x-10-4-5-upgrade/
Mahjun
Mahjun
Mar 2 2018
10.4.1
0.0
Mar 2 2018
0.0
Version: 10.4.1
why "OS X 10.12 or later" ? Is 10.11.6 such a vintage crapware ? I could understand a special update for the new APFS of 10.13 but between el Capitan & Sierra what is the point ???
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Mar 2 2018
10.4.1
5.0
Mar 2 2018
5.0
Version: 10.4.1
This great piece of software is getting better after each update. I use it besides Cubase 9.5, but I will soon change this and use Logic Pro X only. The new features in every update are wonderful and the DAW is very stable and fast. A big thanks to the developers!
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
Mar 2 2018
10.4.1
5.0
Mar 2 2018
5.0
Version: 10.4.1
Great software. After having used both Cubase and Pro Tools since the late 90s, I've been using Logic exclusively for the past year. Wrote and recorded a whole album using it.
Moogan
Moogan
Jan 25 2018
10.3.3
5.0
Jan 25 2018
5.0
Version: 10.3.3
Logic Pro X 10.4 released 25.01.2018 New FX (CamelPhat type FX and reverbs, EQ etc) Smart Tempo mapping for Ableton Live type recording without a click track. Good update.
tooloud
tooloud
Dec 15 2017
10.3.3
5.0
Dec 15 2017
5.0
Version: 10.3.3
Still the best music app of all time. Thank you Gerhard.
Moogan
Moogan
Jul 18 2017
10.3.2
5.0
Jul 18 2017
5.0
Version: 10.3.2
Logic Pro 10.3.2 was released today 18.07.2017, new drummers etc release notes here: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203718
Greedyfranky
Greedyfranky
Feb 5 2017
10.3
5.0
Feb 5 2017
5.0
Version: 10.3
I consider myself a musician hobbyist playing keys and guitar. For a very long time I used Boss HD recorder/mixer to take my tracks. Last year I started to use Garageband which was truly amazing and lifted my track quality considerably. Sadly for mixing things with compressor, limiters, good EQ plugins, it rather was limited. I now have upgrade to Logic Pro. I did put a strain om my hobby budget but it was well worth the effort. For $200 you get a professional suit to do about anything you want regarding recording and mixing tracks. When coming from Guitarband the learning curve is still steep but ones you make the 'click' it is the most important tool for any musician.

Buy it, use it, adore it. Like I do. :-) Full 5 stars
Tommy-Gun
Tommy-Gun
Nov 6 2016
10.2.4
5.0
Nov 6 2016
5.0
Version: 10.2.4
Best and very affordable mastering tool. Yes, mastering tool because I don't like the workflow for creating music. Ableton Live is much better for doing this.
Albabe
Albabe
Jun 30 2016
10.2.4
0.0
Jun 30 2016
0.0
Version: 10.2.4
Just like GarageBand, this no Longer works in Mavericks. Drag.
Staps Fanny
Staps Fanny
Jan 28 2016
10.2.1
5.0
Jan 28 2016
5.0
Version: 10.2.1
Using Logic from its early years and still do up to today. Cheapest pro level DAW but certainly the most powerful. Cheers
Macinman
Macinman
Nov 8 2015
10.2
0.0
Nov 8 2015
0.0
Version: 10.2
Hey all, I wanted to get some feedback here from those who have used LogicX before buying. I play the guitar and I would have a music related use for it. However in most cases I would want it more for as an audio editor and production app to go with final cut and other editing tools. I currently own a copy of Amadeus Pro, and that's a great editor as well. That's why i am asking if I would be wanting to use logic for something it wasn't intended for, and I should stick with the editor I have, or if Logic will be of any use for regular audio editing. Thanks
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Aug 26 2015
10.2
5.0
Aug 26 2015
5.0
Version: 10.2
Alchemy is really an awesome synthesizer and is already equiped with a huge amount of presets. And it has a wonderful GUI. Meanwhile there exist many great AU plugins too and they all work like a charm.
mosaabjm
mosaabjm
Jan 22 2015
10.1
5.0
Jan 22 2015
5.0
Version: 10.1
about ?
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Feb 20 2014
10.0.6
5.0
Feb 20 2014
5.0
Version: 10.0.6
If you are a serious musician and like to record your songs, you must have this application!
AMGDA
AMGDA
Jan 2 2014
10.0.5
3.5
Jan 2 2014
3.5
Version: 10.0.5
Back to Logic Pro X again after some ups and downs using other audios, and this may be the optimum state of Logic imo. Surely will keep using it.
Clifford
Clifford
Oct 27 2013
10.0.3
5.0
Oct 27 2013
5.0
Version: 10.0.3
I bought my first Mac because of Logic Audio. Back in those early days of hard disk recording each major update of Logic was a truly exciting event. I fondly remember the first audio recording engine with time stretching, the first software based sampler instrument, the first customizable virtual mixer and the first integrated audio effects plug-ins. With Logic X that old feeling of excitement is back with a vengeance thanks to a brand new take on virtual drumming, flex pitch, a beautifully redesigned graphic interface and numerous improvements under the hood. This is one awesome feeling.
Bart-Pans
Bart-Pans
Aug 16 2013
10.0.1
5.0
Aug 16 2013
5.0
Version: 10.0.1
Finally I have a macbook pro. And finally I can use Logic again. Long time ago, when it was available for windows, it was my fav recording software. Apple bought Logic and I was forced to use cubase but it never came any close to what logic can do. Excited times for me. A new OS and Logic back in the studio.
Filipich
Filipich
Aug 8 2013
10.0.1
0.0
Aug 8 2013
0.0
Version: 10.0.1
Hi is there a way to download Logic Pro X to my MAC from appstore? how to install it on iMac studio with no internet connection? i know Mountain Lion could... thank you
Stephan2nd
Stephan2nd
Jul 27 2013
10.0.1
5.0
Jul 27 2013
5.0
Version: 10.0.1
The best DAW gets a huge update and all for a very low price tag ! Thank you Apple .. thank you.
Roburt
Roburt
Jul 26 2013
10.0.1
5.0
Jul 26 2013
5.0
Version: 10.0.1
The new additions make this superb. At this price Logic X is a steal. Amazing program.
SpiessensMark
SpiessensMark
Jul 17 2013
10.0.0
5.0
Jul 17 2013
5.0
Version: 10.0.0
This new version is AWESOME. And I mean A_W_E_S_O_M_E. I was waiting for this a very long time and I urge every Logic 1 to 9 owner to update now. It even more stable compared to 9 and has so many new great feature it is a blast to use. I was so close to jump the Ableton Live train but Logic Pro X made my day ! Thank you Apple for the best Logic ever.
Jessicajazz
Jessicajazz
Jul 16 2013
10.0.0
0.0
Jul 16 2013
0.0
Version: 10.0.0
Let us all "watch the way they go" for just a moment and share our pertinent observations. Watching the act of self-serving greed that serves no one may, in the end, be instructive. I recently purchased Logic Pro v9. To get v10, I will have to uninstall v9. I will also have to pay another 199.99. If I DO uninstall v9 and find v10 wanting, I am not permitted to re-download v9, which I now legally own, as it is "no longer available at the US App Store." Such dulled brilliance in the minds of self-anointed aristocrats whose only accomplishment will be the end of any form of trust between consumer and corporate atrocity is in itself a marvel, a feat worthy only of the lowliest of thieves. I will no longer EVER use the app store for anything except updates, and of those I shall be particularly wary. I was a long-time Mac devotee. I am no longer. Such small-minded, ham-fisted pilfering aimed at those who made a company great (we, the users) is not only an act of unbridled greed, but also an act of heinous treachery. Unless of course we are witnessing some huge merger, meant to create a monolithic monopoly of unknown power and proportion. In either case, I quit. I will have computers built to my own specifications in future. I cannot watch "the way they go" as I can no longer afford it. Nor can I stomach it.
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
May 14 2013
9.1.8
0.0
May 14 2013
0.0
Version: 9.1.8
I eed some advice. . . I am a pianist. I want to make "beds" for my piano, using my Rodes microphones and analog hardware to record the piano parts after I complete the "frameworks" on my Mac Pro. I may record direct to my Mac but believe I will need some sort of modular interface to do live recordings not using all digital instruments. I may want to do piano, bass, and drum tracks and then import them into the DAW that I choose (with your help). I was set on Logic Pro. Now I see Logic Express at the same price. Are these upgrades or full programs? Which is a better program? Should I move towards Ableton or Cubase? I've used Cubase and I get somewhat confused. Any other ideas? I'll consider any suggestions (on this topic), and thank you in advance for your expertise and your time.
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
Feb 11 2013
9.1.8
2.5
Feb 11 2013
2.5
Version: 9.1.8
3 1/2 years and no new version? Logic is starting to feel a bit dated compared to Cubase. Not much evolution going on with Logic nowadays. Apple? Forgetting your pro users? iOS is the thing now I guess.
Mrcham
Mrcham
Oct 30 2010
9.1.3
0.0
Oct 30 2010
0.0
Version: 9.1.3
Nice to see they fixed the HT problem so soon. Only problem is that 9.1.3 still is "heavier" on the Mac than 9.1.1, and there is no real benefit to do the update. How are you thinking Apple?
Der~bot~haus
Der~bot~haus
Oct 15 2010
9.1.2
0.0
Oct 15 2010
0.0
Version: 9.1.2
This totally kills hyper-threading support for 2010 Mac Pro's. You should expect to loose 40% performance. Weakest update ever. Make a 9.1.1 backup or be sorry.
Gynny
Gynny
Jul 23 2009
9.0
0.0
Jul 23 2009
0.0
Version: 9.0
Though MacUpdate writes that Logic would work on both platforms - Intel and PPC: Apple informs that the minimum requirement is a Mac computer with an Intel processor! Very sad!!
Jwilhelm
Jwilhelm
May 21 2008
8.0.2
0.0
May 21 2008
0.0
Version: 8.0.2
The 8.0.2 update screwed up my Audio/Instrument Library. Especially Ultrabeat and some beat-audio-files of my projects seem to be missing. Unsure if this is a specific problem in my case, yet, if anyone experienced similar symptoms plz report.
Musical149
Musical149
Jan 27 2007
7.2.3
0.0
Jan 27 2007
0.0
Version: 7.2.3
I hear all that you are saying and yet I've mixed music for several films released by major studios in logic and half a dozen CDs. The reviews have been good and the I've been nominated for a major award for one of the films. Your excuse me if I wonder if it might be the old “user error” that is the reason you are having so much trouble. The equipment never substitutes for good ear training and creativity. Although I do not use logic for all things, I have found it to be a fast and reliable tool for me to work with in a professional environment. I noticed your earlier, disdainful comment to the other Logic supporter about his work, and I imagine you will dismiss my comments with the same arrogance. Luckily I am not dependent upon you to pay my fees or review my work. Those who do must not have the benefit of your highly refined taste.
Guest
Guest
Oct 10 2005
7.1.1
4.5
Oct 10 2005
4.5
Version: 7.1.1
This isn't a review, but rather a question as to why this update will no work for me. In fact, Logic Pro 7 will absolutely not work on my Powerbook. I've tried many forums and discussions and cannot figure this out. Logic Pro 7.0.1 crashes on launch - every time. Dongle is in and works fine (tested it on a different system to confirm). Then when I tried to run this updater (7.1.1) the installer tells me that there is no eligable app in the applications folder. Yet Logic is in there. Does anyone have a clue as to what's going on? Naturally I don't have time to re-install my OS. I'd really like to use this app I paid a thousand dollars for. Apple won't help, even though it's an install/launch issue. They said it's "beyond their support agreement". The application is brand new. Powerbook works fine in every other way, with all other applications. thanks, mateo
Guest
Guest
Mar 7 2005
7.0.1
0.0
Mar 7 2005
0.0
Version: 7.0.1
Apple is doing it's darn best to give customers the best deal for the money... Surpassingly no one sees the future of Mac developments. I love Logic Pro7
Guest
Guest
Feb 23 2005
7.0.1
4.5
Feb 23 2005
4.5
Version: 7.0.1
WaveBurner: plugin bypass don't work (big problem for me), SDII not support, old versions document not support LogicAudioPro 7.0.1: Plugin bypass automation don't work during realtime bounce
Guest
Guest
Feb 3 2005
7.0.1
4.5
Feb 3 2005
4.5
Version: 7.0.1
I bought Logic 6 when it came out, and was not really that impressed- however after buying Logic 7 I really am impressed with it. 1) Better interface/ more modern The interface is clunky and slower than Logic 6. Apple obviously just added more code on top of the original thereby just more processing cycles for the same operations. Plus it looks like crap. Just use the OSX file dialogues for God sake. Soundtrack looked like hell and now Logic does. 2) Multi-tonal scale support for ALL logic plugins When's the last time you wrote something using microtones - especially in a sequencer with electronic instruments? Priorities, priorities, priorities. 3) Professional mastering plugins ??? I would hate to hear your "professional" music. The Multiband Limiter still destroys the stereo image during the master process. Huge(!) phasing issues. Granted this goes back to Emagic, but Christ, fix the bugs before you add a bunch of crap no one uses. 4) Lots of presets 5) Contains Waveburner, a CD Red Book creation program Waveburner does not work. Period. Too many bugs. It's joke. 6) 3 completely new soft synths which bought separately from any other company would cost at least $500 each. Really? Spectrasonics stuff cost around $300, is ten times better than this Apple crap, and I already own it. Priorities, priorities, priorities. Fix the program before adding a bunch of crap. Really, when one considers all of the above, and countless more which I have not mentioned one just has to be impressed with what the program is- where it is going- and how much it is sold for. Yeah right...Still no sample accurate resolution in the arrange window, an amzaing plethora of bugs, a crappy, clunky new interface, still no latency-free capatibilty with PCI based DSP cards. Lots of bells and whistles, but nothing of import. It all comes down to looking at products intelligently- in Logic's case, there is no one music production solution which is as integrated with both hardware- and software- I mean come on! Logic is now becoming one with the Mac- we have not seen this much integration since Notator on the Atari!! Apple sucks. Tech support calls are now $200 per incident. Give me German tweakheads over greedy America assholes anyday.
Guest
Guest
Jan 20 2005
7.0.1
4.5
Jan 20 2005
4.5
Version: 7.0.1
Considering the fact it doesn't crash THAT many times anymore, Logic 7 Pro is _slowly_ approaching the status of a "Pro Music Software". Right now there are still a few annoying bugs left, however, minor ones. It should be remembered that bugginess is not _directly_ Apple's fault, they're only trying to fix the awful buggy leaking boat the Emagic Sleazo Posse sold to them. :-/ But why did the screen zoom controls change? Argh. Also, considering the fact that LP7 has easily the most versatile selection of built-in plug-ins (and the settings), there's no true competition. If somebody's nagging they're being robbed etc., perhaps they should think about quitting the "pro" game. There's the cheaper Express version for you hobbyists and I-want-it-all-without-paying-and-eternal-free-updates-too -people. Get that first, make some hits, collect your bling-bling and upgrade! ;-) Understand the facts, personnel and man years behind this product and its development. Buy a car today. Have a new free motor installed after five years of usage? Never heard of that.
Guest
Guest
Jan 19 2005
7.0.1
0.0
Jan 19 2005
0.0
Version: 7.0.1
Be careful when you run this update if you are using the EPIC TDM plugins. This update will cause Logic to crash while trying to obtain your XSKey authorization codes. Fortunately there is a fix for this: Go to http://www.emagic.de -> support -> downloads-> tools and other applications -> XSkey installer for OS X. After updating Logic Pro to 7.0.1, remove the EmagicXSKey.kext file from /System/Library/Extensions and re-install the driver you just downloaded from the old Emagic website. Everything will work fine after that.
Guest
Guest
Jan 19 2005
7.0.1
4.5
Jan 19 2005
4.5
Version: 7.0.1
Update went smooth, no problems there. Still, my first session resulted in a crash within 30 minutes!! My system is extremely stable otherwise and I have nothing but validated plugins that work without any problem in Digital Performer 4.5. Logic 7 has so far been NO FUN!
Guest
Guest
Jan 6 2005
7.0
4.5
Jan 6 2005
4.5
Version: 7.0
Considering that this product just 4 years ago would have cost more than $3,000 dollars one just has to be impressed with what Apple has done with Logic. I bought Logic 6 when it came out, and was not really that impressed- however after buying Logic 7 I really am impressed with it. Lets just go through some key points: 1) Better interface/ more modern 2) Multi-tonal scale support for ALL logic plugins 3) Professional mastering plugins 4) Lots of presets 5) Contains Waveburner, a CD Red Book creation program 6) 3 completely new soft synths which bought separately from any other company would cost at least $500 each. Really, when one considers all of the above, and countless more which I have not mentioned one just has to be impressed with what the program is- where it is going- and how much it is sold for. It all comes down to looking at products intelligently- in Logic's case, there is no one music production solution which is as integrated with both hardware- and software- I mean come on! Logic is now becoming one with the Mac- we have not seen this much integration since Notator on the Atari!! Sure you can copy software- and argue that "companies are making so much money", but musicians were the first to complain when MP3's started burning a hole in their pockets! And for all of you out there that want to argue that stealing a car is not the same as stealing software- then think again! Its not.
Guest
Guest
Dec 21 2004
7.0
4.5
Dec 21 2004
4.5
Version: 7.0
Having been using Logic Pro 7 for a while I can say that It's not worth the EXPENSIVE upgrade, I have been a established Logic user and It's down hill from now on. Now Crapple own the license there has been no updates since it's release, this is already proof they don't care about bugs in software and the customer support is a joke compared to Emagic's there's two hopes Bob hope and no hope! Stay with Logic 6 don't believe the hype.
Guest
Guest
Nov 11 2004
7.0
4.5
Nov 11 2004
4.5
Version: 7.0
I have owned logic since Logic 4. I am at Pro 6 after paying 199$ back it March for and I am severly pissed off about this 299$ upgrade price! I missed the proximity window by 1 month! What am I supposed to do? I already have over 1000$ invested in this software since 1998. Long term users are supposed to pay more over time than initial buyers!?! BAD MOVE CRAPPLE! This is a real SHAME!
Guest
Guest
Sep 30 2004
7.0
0.0
Sep 30 2004
0.0
Version: 7.0
Someone hurry up and crack this, jeez. And yeah I did pay for my 6.4 version.
Guest
Guest
Sep 29 2004
7.0
4.5
Sep 29 2004
4.5
Version: 7.0
Thanks Apple and Emagic just bought 6.4.3 last week.......ha...ha...great joke ! spent a load of monay on your software............and now you want 299 dolar ( 160 GBP) upgrade.....what are you thinking.......outragous.......
Guest
Guest
Sep 29 2004
7.0
4.5
Sep 29 2004
4.5
Version: 7.0
YES - WaveBurner for OS X included. We are back in business! Still have to launch it as separate appl., however looks like we can be happy now. Finally.