Back to Camino ExtraPrefs page
Camino ExtraPrefs free download for Mac

Camino ExtraPrefs Reviews

2.3
19 January 2005

Camino browser preference enhancer.

Anonymous
28 September 2004

Most helpful

Can't install. I get this error: [1]cp: /Internet M-FM^R/Camino.app/Contents/PreferencePanes: No such file or directory Several more errors follow, all within the .../Contents directory. Looking forward to getting this to work!
Like
Version 1.0

Read 47 Camino ExtraPrefs User Reviews

Rate this app:

Anonymous
15 September 2005
DO NOT USE CaminoExtraPrefs on 1.0a1!!!, its only for Camino 0.8. It's redundant and causes problems on Camino 0.9a1+. CEP has been replaced by the same author into 6 (currently) seperate prefPanes called CamiTools. You can obtain them here by searching for: CamiSearch CamiFlash CamiOptions CamiBlock CamiLook & CamiLink ...or download them all from the following address: http://www.nada.de/mac/camitools/index.html
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 September 2005
That's CamiCool!
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
28 February 2005
you don't need to tar and gzip a .dmg, guys. it's one file (so you don't need tar), and a .dmg is usually already compressed (so you don't need gzip).
Like
Version 2.3
Bill-B
20 January 2005
Versions since 1.2.1 have not worked for me. Using Camino 0.82, panther 10.3.7. It installs OK, restarts Camino OK, but Camino will not display it's window thereafter.
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 January 2005
the 'culprit' is one of the search engines you've defined. open Camino ExtraPrefs and check that every search engine url has encoded ampersands (&). so instead of '&' there should be '& amp;' (without the space - otherwise it won't display here) save it and restart Camino. and the window is back again!
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
31 December 2004
A must have plugin for Camino, makes it perform everything Safari can for free. CSS ad-blocking, Agent spoofing, and loads more, you couldnt ask for a better plugin!
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
31 December 2004
Alright, CEP is back again in all its glory after some odd behaviour present in v. 2.0.x seemed to drive many of us a little crazy trying to figure out what was happening, and it is as useful as ever, if not even more. :-) It was a good idea to move the apple scripts to an installation apart from that of CEP itself, I guess. Thanks to the developer for his time and efforts and this wonderful little piece of free soft. Thumbs up!
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
31 December 2004
All this program did was make Camino unstable for me. In fact, it was crashing so routinely that I had to switch to Firefox. Kudos to the developers though for trying to get good freeware out to the Mac commnunity. I do appreicate their time and efforts!
Like
Version 2.2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 December 2004
there could have been so many easy ways to repair Camino's crashing behaviour if CEP has been the culprit. you didn't use any of them. good luck with Firefox!
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 December 2004
Well, don't get angry... The guy could have tried with a fresh copy of Camino at least, but not everybody knows how to try to solve issues.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
27 December 2004
Yeah - that's it! A nice gift for Christmas - Thanks - no more sadness :)
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
27 December 2004
Developer seems to have worked out the minor problems in the previous 2.x versions. Great app!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
22 December 2004
This used to work perfectly, but now I can't get CEP to load after a couple Camino restarts or so if I remove the script menu it places on my toolbar. Too messy now to keep on using it.
Like
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 December 2004
Does Camino ExtraPrefs work if you open it in the Finder with double-click?
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
22 December 2004
Okay..so how the hell did this program jump to 2.0 with 2 minor additions?? Right there shows me all i need to know.. ABORT!
Like
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 December 2004
Agreed. It hardly warrants a 2.0, but at least the 2.01 addresses the installer problem.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
21 December 2004
2.0 doesn't seem to work if you remove the Scripts menu on your toolbar... which is something I don't particularly want on mine. Reverting to 1.3 here, too.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 December 2004
An addition to my earlier post: Just like the previous poster I removed the Scripts menu from my toolbar (I certainly don't make any use of it and it was eating up space) and now CEP 2.0 won't load when called from Camino's preferences window... :-( Guess I'm also back to 1.3 after all. Hope the developer can fix this.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
21 December 2004
sorry, 1.3 woks fine - 2.0 not applescript fehler 2004-12-21 19:22:18.589 open[584] No such file: /System/Library/CoreServices/Menu Extras/Script Menu.menu (1)
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
21 December 2004
One more release (with some improvements) of this excellent and free add-on for Camino. The only thing I'd point out to the developer (besides thanking him and encouraging him to keep up the good work, that is) is that it'd certainly be better if he could get the installation process to something as simple as it was in v. 1.0. Having to uninstall any previous version (which I've been able to do as I kept v. 1.3's installer) and then locate the app. (confusing at first, as this is a Camino pref. pane - but I located it at last inside the Intallation Files folder) is perhaps a bit too confusing for some (or many). Anyway, this doesn't detract from the truth: CEP rocks!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
21 December 2004
One more tip if CEP doesn't seem to work for you: Open Camino and then run in the script menu: CEP - Preferences... - Reset path to CEP. It will delete the old CEP preference and then it will ask you to choose CEP on your harddisk.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
21 December 2004
Sorry this update is NOT working - no way! Sad about that!
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 December 2004
sorry for that! but if you could tell me *what* is not working maybe I could help you.
Like
Version 2.0
Nadamac
21 December 2004
dear users, 1) this version of CEP is not meant to be used with the latest nightlies of Camino because there is a change in the way Camino will display its preferences in the future. I will adjust CEP when this development is finished. 2) please uninstall previous versions of CEP before installing version 2 if there are still problems with installation or using CEP then please send me detailled info what went wrong. I will fix it as soon as possible! thank you!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
21 December 2004
The installer for 2.0 isn't working for me . Version 1.0 worked fine.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
21 December 2004
Installer does NOT work. After "install", when clicking on Extra Prefs in Camino Prefs, only get a dialog of what CEP does without the pop up options box. Reverting back to 1.3 until this is fixed. G5 2x2GHz 10.3.7
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 December 2004
No problem here. Did you uninstall any older version fiirst? I did and was asked to find the new version, I did and voila! JB
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 December 2004
Yaaa, I uninstalled it using the 2.0 uninstaller and didn't know where to look for friggin' CEP that it was asking for. I've messed with a bunch of haxies ovet the years so I'm not a total noob. Now that 2.0.1 is out, looks like another waiting period for the "removed scripts menu" fix. Ummmm, great app but did the dev rush this update to beat the holidays? "2.0 by '05!!!" errrrr, rather, "2.0.4 by 12/24/04..." ; )
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
21 December 2004
Has anyone gotten CEP 2.0 to work with the 12/20/04 Camino build? I can't get CEP to launch. The 12/20 Camino build seems to have significant changes in the preferences, at least in terms of layout. Anyway, other than this hiccup, CEP has worked marvelously for me since 1.0 and I wouldn't use Camino without it.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 December 2004
I have the same trouble as you. I am using the 12/19 nightly build with OS 10.2.8 and I can't get it to launch. In addition I get an applescript error message and Camino fails to restart after installation as it had with previous version of CEP.I was able to install CEP 1.3 and launch it after the attempt to use CEP 2.0
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
08 December 2004
Extraordinary application, I wouldn't think of using Camino without it. I LOVE the built-in CSS ad-blocking, agent spoofing, and just about everything else. A must have app for Camino users. The ONLY thing I want to see in the future is an option to automatically close the Downloads window after all downloads have completed.
Like
Version 1.3
Simply great.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Encro
23 October 2004
This utility provide some useful features to easily alter the values of user.js and userContent.css etc. Well done! but... It is completely unacceptable that CEP does not ask you to Quit your Browser when installing the .prefPane!!! Forcing something without a warning is very bad behaviour. ...which also begs the questions why can it not be a real prefPane rather than an embedded application?
Like
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Nadamac
Nadamac
23 October 2004
OK, I will include a warning in the next version.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
23 October 2004
Great, must have app for Camino users. Lots of extra things to edit and it intergrates with Camino nicely! Well done aplication.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
16 October 2004
A must have for the Camino users! Adds features that Firefox extensions allowed. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.2.1
15 October 2004
I can't get CEP to work no matter what. I've even tried reinstalling Camino (preferences and all) from mozilla's site and the only response I get when launching CEP is: "CEP requires Camino 0.8 or newer". Any suggestions?
Like
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 October 2004
Do you use FileVault? CEP doesn't work with FileVault enabled because it has no read and write permissions for the folder where the Camino preferences are. I'm still investigating why...
Like
Version 1.2.1
17 October 2004
Ahh, this is why...I do use FileVault. Thanks for the info. Hopefully there will be a solution soon enough.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
14 October 2004
Doesn't launch from the icon placed in the Preferences window's toolbar. After quitting CEP, Camino's Preferences window is unresponsive to clicks on its toolbar icons (the large pane has been replaced by CEP's text startup banner). Closing and reopening it makes it work again.
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 October 2004
Does it open or doesn't it open? I don't quite understand your post. When you're in Camino's Preference Panes and you want to reopen CEP then click on any other pane (e.g. Web Features) and then again on CEP. If nothing's happening when clicking on the ExtraPrefs icon in the Preference Pane then please read the FAQ. It's described there what to do. There are many other tips for installation problems already covered in the FAQ.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
14 October 2004
Got an error type 1 on first launch. Now ever uninstall/reinstall that happens the problem recurs. Even when prefs have been binned. Bah! I need this bad too. Any suggestions? Standalone produces same result, prefpane now comes up blank. just the about screen.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 October 2004
@anonymous: Do you get the error message from Camino or from CEP? What's the exact text of the error message? Which Camino version are you using?
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
14 October 2004
Great tool ! Thank you for the extra prefs. :-)
Like
Version 1.2
Awareadams
14 October 2004
As a loyal and regular user of Camino as DEFAULT browser, it's always a pleasure to "thank" those fine persons who have the care and effort to make an almost perfect Browser for MacIntoshs' even better. You additional features were typically easy to install, work well, and add luster to a great brower. My best regards, and THANKS. Ware Adams, Chicago---Kerry Country!!
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
13 October 2004
Actually I used Firefox to avoid Ads - Now I am backwith Camino - CEP made the difference.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
03 October 2004
Works fine. The ability to turn of MARQUEE would be a tasty addition for a future version. The more Prefs the better!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
03 October 2004
I wrote a litte application that will help you re-install CEP if you're using nightly builds of Camino: CEP Nightly Helper Download and info: http://www.nada.de/mac/camino/readMePics/cepfaq.html
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
03 October 2004
Although I can't say CEP has truly made Camino any faster as it was already extremely fast on my computer with DSL, but I can safely say it hasn't made Camino any slower nor has it crashed at all. My only gripe is that it disappears when I install a new build of Camino. Oh well, not much the developers can do about that I suppose.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
03 October 2004
I'm a little disappointed that CEP doesn't carry over across nightlies. I can understand why (considering it tweaks the app's package), but disappointed still.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
30 September 2004
Before blaming it on CEP did you consider the fact that maybe it's because you're using a version of Camino that's not even an official release yet? Not many developers release products that claim to be compatible with prerelease software.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Hard-Nard
30 September 2004
I'm withholding my rating for the present, because I'm getting a crash at certain websites (macrumours.com and macnn.com). Both work without CEP. On the sites where it does work its working well. Perhaps I just have something configured wrong? MacOS 10.3.5/Camino 1.0PR
Like
Version 1.0.1
chrischram
29 September 2004
Since installing this, Camino has slowed to a crawl. I'll withhold any blame for this phenomenon until I see what happens after I reinstall Camino. Anyone else have this trouble?
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
29 September 2004
Works VERY well. Nice to have some true customization with Camino, and with broadband at least it's FAST.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
29 September 2004
when the immediate page rendering is turned on (with a broadband connection) camino becomes the fastest browser ever!
Like
Version 1.0.1
Macaster Endolli
29 September 2004
Really good... and free. :-) Thanks to the developer.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
29 September 2004
Installation worked now. Renaming the enclosing folder didn't help, so I just gave up and moved it into /Applications. A beautiful addition. More beautiful than PithHelmet. Camino owns once again!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 September 2004
Excellent. Thank you! Like the reviewer below this was the only thing that kept me away from Camino.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
28 September 2004
Excellent. Camino is now useable with adblocking and single window mode. These were the only two things keeping me from using it.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
28 September 2004
Great addition to Camino. Thank you developer. Looking forward to how you adapt it with further enhancements to Camino, too! Keep up the good work!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
28 September 2004
I had no trouble with the installation. OS 10.3.5 Camino v0.8.1 Finally able to disable cache not needed on my fast cable connection. Thanks developer.
Like
Version 1.0
leoofborg
28 September 2004
Ditto. I get the install, but when I run it I get the 'Sorry, but you need Camino .8 or newer for Camino ExtraPrefs'. Nice try, Developer guys, but try again.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 September 2004
which camino version do you use? you need version 0.8 or newer as written down in the ReadMe.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
28 September 2004
Can't install. I get this error: [1]cp: /Internet M-FM^R/Camino.app/Contents/PreferencePanes: No such file or directory Several more errors follow, all within the .../Contents directory. Looking forward to getting this to work!
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 September 2004
are there any special characters in your folder name: /Internet M-FM^R/ ? that could be the reason why it don't install. if you like then put camino into /Applications for installation.
Like
Version 1.0