Back to fiwt page
fiwt free download for Mac

fiwt Reviews

0.5
08 November 2005

Adds find-as-you-type to Safari.

Anonymous
10 September 2004

Most helpful

Requirements are contradictory: Safari 1.2 needs OS X 10.3...
Like
Version 0.3

Read 22 fiwt User Reviews

Rate this app:

Dbagdadi
05 November 2007
Any chance the developer will retake this project on? It seems to be abandoned :(
Like
Version 0.5
TomEck
19 July 2007
It seems it does not work with Safari 3.02 beta.
Like
Version 0.5
kopflos
14 February 2007
Like Frank it won't work on my Mac mini with OS X 10.4.8 ans SIBL 0.8.1. Any help?
Like
Version 0.5
Balthamos
02 December 2006
Excellent program. Does exactly what it says and does it well. Thank you for this wonderful product.
Like
Version 0.5
dazmax
08 March 2006
Thank you. I was considering switching to Firefox for exactly this functionality, so thanks for letting me stay with my favorite browser. I would prefer a version that searches only for text in links, however, as I mainly use it for navigating without the mouse.
Like
Version 0.5
Anonymous
15 November 2005
Great little piece of software, does it work just with html documents (i.e. not txt, for example), or am I missing something?
Like
Version 0.5
Anonymous
10 November 2005
great little thing. I miss it when using other macs!
Like
Version 0.5
Anonymous
08 November 2005
i am using fiwt .4 and dont know why i should upgrade...what i'm using now works perfectly fine.
Like
Version 0.5
Anonymous
30 April 2005
It seems that fiwt doesn't work properly on Tiger/Safari 2.0 (which isn't terribly surprising). I can type-ahead, and links are highlighted properly, but when I hit the Return key, Safari doesn't visit the link--it just ignores the keypress.
Like
Version 0.4
frankko
21 December 2004
It's pretty great, but there is one major issue with it: When fiwt is enabled, I can't type into Flash movies, such as those used by Type Foundries offering font previews (fontbureau.com, for one). Hopefully that'll get fixed soon.
Like
Version 0.4
Anonymous
28 October 2004
VERY cool-I had been wanting something like this for awhile, and am so happy it now exists. Sometimes when clicking on a link from a google search page, you are led to the webpage that has the information you want, along with a bunch of other stuff-the google search results don't tell you WHERE on the page your search words appear, and this is where I have found this very handy. Granted, most pages are not that big, but I have found some to be very large, thus making this all the more valuable. I have been using this for a little while now and Safari hasn't crashed. yay. btw, you use this by simply typing the word you want to find, and the the word will be highlighted the first time it appears on the webpage. there are no keys you have to press first, just start typing the word. make sure you are spelling it right, or else nothing will get highlighted.
Like
Version 0.4
Anonymous
28 October 2004
hum...stupid question: how does it work??!
Like
Version 0.4
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 October 2004
What don't you understand from the description?
Like
Version 0.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 October 2004
By "how does it work" I imagine he means "how does it work" not "what does it do"... It's an input manager - look up SIMBL.
Like
Version 0.4
Anonymous
27 October 2004
This is a great addition to Safari. One request though, please add the ability to use this with .txt files viewed in Safari.
Like
Version 0.4
Anonymous
14 October 2004
Love it... This was one of the features I liked best about Camino, but your implementation is even better. Thanks!
Like
Version 0.3
StarManta
13 September 2004
Predictably crashes when i attempt to search for something that doesn't exist, as well as when I press the 'enter' key (the one that's not return).
Like
Version 0.3
1 answer(s)
Nondeterministic . Net
Nondeterministic . Net
17 September 2004
Developer here - if you would contact me at nondet@gmail.com about this problem, I would appreciate it. I have received one other report of this bug, but cannot reproduce it on my machine. Thanks.
Like
Version 0.3
Anonymous
12 September 2004
This is great. Keep up the excellent work.
Like
Version 0.3
Anonymous
11 September 2004
crashes safari 1.3 after one or 2 searches
Like
Version 0.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 September 2004
How did you get Safari 1.3? All that has been released to the public is version 1.2.3. If you are in a Seed program you should know better then to tell us what is to come. The developer also states that this was developed for Safari 1.2.3 and may not work on other versions. If you have Safari 1.3 you will have to wait until it is released so that the developer can make this program compatible with the new version of Safari. -Alex p.s. Fiwt works great for me. I don't know what I did without it. Keep up the great work.
Like
Version 0.3
Anonymous
11 September 2004
Great little tool. Only one catch. On non American keyboards there is no backslash key. It would be nice if this was configureable so that you could get full functionality.
Like
Version 0.3
JerryMpls
11 September 2004
WOW - best thing since sliced bread! This is great! Can I marry it too?
Like
Version 0.3
Anonymous
11 September 2004
Damn good! cant believe it! Some things can be so easy, it seems! And its fast too...great thanks I wanna marry it too.
Like
Version 0.3
Schmelding
10 September 2004
fiwt 0.3, will you marry me?
Like
Version 0.3
Anonymous
10 September 2004
Requirements are contradictory: Safari 1.2 needs OS X 10.3...
Like
Version 0.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 September 2004
Umm, no they're not. Requirements: Mac OS X 10.3 or later, Safari version 1.2.2 or later, SIMBL version 0.5. Maybe redundant, but not contradictory.
Like
Version 0.3