Back to X-Lite page
X-Lite free download for Mac

X-Lite Reviews

5.8.0
11 November 2019

SIP softphone with PBX-like features.

Sanjinko
23 October 2016

Most helpful

X-Lite 4.9.6 was released on 12 Oct 2016, and requires OS X 10.10 Yosemite http://www.counterpath.com/x-lite/ Release notes can be found under "Resources".
Like (1)
Version 4.7.1

Read 35 X-Lite User Reviews

Rate this app:

Sanjinko
23 October 2016
X-Lite 4.9.6 was released on 12 Oct 2016, and requires OS X 10.10 Yosemite http://www.counterpath.com/x-lite/ Release notes can be found under "Resources".
Like (1)
Version 4.7.1
1 answer(s)
Gregorgy
Gregorgy
03 November 2016
Launching it tells me it is broken and must be moved to the trash.
Like
Libertyforall1776
01 September 2016
Current version is 4.9.51:
http://counterpath.s3.amazonaws.com/downloads/X-Lite_4.9.5.1_81563.dmg

Why is MU not listing the Bria 4.5.0 app?!
http://www.counterpath.com/bria/
Like
Version 4.7.1
potatohead
03 March 2016
This ruined all the sound settings on my computer, and nothing is working right after using this. I'm not sure what this did, but it completely ruined my computer.
Like
Version 4.7.1
1 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
01 September 2016
This makes absolutely no sense at all and is highly unlikely...
Like
Libertyforall1776
22 November 2014
4.7.1 is latest: http://counterpath.s3.amazonaws.com/downloads/X-Lite_4.7.1_t-xlite-20140910-all-4710c_74250.dmg
Like
Version 4.5.5
Libertyforall1776
04 December 2013
4.5.5 is out: DTMF Improvements Independent port range settings Bug fixes http://counterpath.s3.amazonaws.com/downloads/X-Lite_Mac_4550k_71241.dmg
Like
Version 4.5
1 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
07 January 2014
How many years does it take to add access to the native OS X Contacts?! *facepalm* This simple addition would dramatically improve the usefulness of this app!
Like
Eyeless
24 April 2013
The latest 4.5 version works really well on the Mac (10.8.3) now! No pop-up with commercial for a service you cannot buy anyway (living outside north america) and generally quicker and very robust in all ways.
Like
Version 4.5
1 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
15 May 2013
4.5.2 is out...
Like
Libertyforall1776
21 March 2013
They went from 5.0.1 to version 4.5?! WTF?! Softphone.com is also now closed for improvements too... http://counterpath.s3.amazonaws.com/downloads/X-Lite_Mac_4500f_69608.dmg
Like
Version 5.0.1
Libertyforall1776
28 January 2013
5.0.1c Build 68138 is out... http://counterpath.s3.amazonaws.com/downloads/X-Lite_Mac_5010c_68138.dmg
Like
Version 5.0.0
2 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
28 January 2013
The MU screenshot shows a beta, this is NOT a beta...
Like
Sanjinko
Sanjinko
28 January 2013
Yep, proper screenshot is this: http://www.counterpath.com/assets/images/831/x-lite-5-mac.png
Like
Sanjinko
01 September 2012
X-Lite 5 (67285) is available as of June 2012. More info at: http://www.counterpath.com/x-lite.html
Like (1)
Version 63215
1 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
27 January 2013
Standard Telephone Features The CounterPath X-Lite 5 for Mac softphone has all standard telephone features, including: • Call display and Message Waiting Indicator (MWI). • Speakerphone and Mute. • Redial, Hold, Do Not Disturb. • Call history – list of received, missed, and dialed calls. • Three-party conferencing. Enhanced Features and Functions X-Lite for Mac also supports the following features and functions: • Video. • Managed contact list. • Automatic detection and configuration of audio and video devices. • Acoustic echo cancellation, automatic gain control, voice activity detection. • Support for the following audio codecs: Broadvoice-32, Broadvoice-32 FEC, DVI4, DVI4 Wideband, G.711aLaw, G.711uLaw, GSM, iLBC, L16 PCM Wideband, Speex, Speex FEC, Speex Wideband, Speex Wideband FEC. • Support for the following video codecs: H.263, H.263+ 1998. • Automatic selection of the best codec based on the other party’s capability, the available bandwidth, and network conditions. X-Lite switches the codec within a call in response to changing network conditions. • Compliance to 3261 SIP standard. • STUN and ICE NAT traversal. • Support for DTMF (RFC 2833, inband DTMF). SoftPhone.com Features If you have a SoftPhone.com account, the following features are also available: • Presence via your SoftPhone.com account. You can see the presence of any contact who also has a SoftPhone.com account. • IM via your SoftPhone.com account. You can send IMs to any contact who has a SoftPhone.com account. For more information on SoftPhone.com and its features, see www.softphone.com.
Like
MR-MM
02 February 2011
Tried it for a while but had to get iSoftphone due to irreparable crackling with VoIP.ms. Such a pity because the price point is unbeatable. Perhaps that also explains the interface.
Like
Version 58833
Libertyforall1776
10 September 2010
STILL not 64-bit, but the free Telephone SIP app is!
Like (2)
Version 58833
1 answer(s)
Cgc
Cgc
28 January 2013
Explain why this must be 64-bit.
Like
AnonCoward
09 September 2010
Haven't pushed it too hard yet, but seems to be a passable SIP client for the desktop. Alerts don't use Growl. Inline adverts are visually annoying, but it's fair for Counterpath to include them in a free product. It's also fair that I tell Little Snitch to deny all connections to advertising.counterpath.com !
Like (1)
Version 4.0 Beta (Build 56227)
Imho
17 January 2010
Be carefull with X-Lite Beta for Mac. I used it, but some days ago I got (and other users too) the message that X-Lite has expired - without any warning about this. I downloaded a new version, but then all my contacts were gone. CounterPath Support says: this is beta software, so on your own risk, enter your contacts again or buy another version. For me reason enough not longer to trust this software. It seems to be a manner to get you buy a payed version. If CounterPath would have warned me before: okay. But this way? Thank you!
Like (2)
Version 4.0 Beta 3 (Build 55153)
7 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
25 January 2010
Caveat Emptor, if you don't know what a beta is, you should not be using one.
Like (1)
Version 4.0 Beta (Build 56227)
Imho
Imho
25 January 2010
Many years I used a lot of beta software. Never before a supplier of such software did make expire the software without any notice before. If the supplier had warned me before, I could have decided to buy the software and save my contacts. Now I loosed all, without any warning. For me it was a policy of the supplier to make you buy a payed version, without telling you in time about this policy. Beta software can contain bugs etcetera, and I should accept that. But beta software should not have an expire date included without telling the users.
Like (1)
Version 4.0 Beta (Build 56227)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
26 January 2010
I agree they should inform you of an expiration. But no sympathy on the contacts situation. However, it is a major deficiency of X-Lite that it has no option to integrate with the Apple Address Book, IMHO! Counterpath has pretty shotty support it seems. Check out the free app Telephone for SIP VoIP -- nice and simple.
Like (1)
Version 4.0 Beta (Build 56227)
Neox
Neox
26 January 2010
While I will agree that they should inform you of an expiration, it is BETA software and loosing your contacts could be a bug or a change in the later version. Of course it could be a sales tactic too, but if that turns out to be true, they would have a hard time selling their software upgrade version. As to Beta software expiring, that is the norm. Most beta versions of any software I have seen are all time limited. So if you don't like these negative aspects of the software, do 2 more things: 1. Tell the software developer of your experience and that you are going to share it with others. 2. Don't use the software.
Like
Version 4.0 Beta (Build 56227)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
26 January 2010
Except that X-Lite is FREE software... ;-)
Like (1)
Version 4.0 Beta (Build 56227)
Neox
Neox
26 January 2010
While it is FREE software they do have a paid version called eyeBeam and of course want you to upgrade to it. That is what the OP is talking about when he says that you can buy the paid version to get contacts that won't disappear...
Like (1)
Version 4.0 Beta (Build 56227)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
26 January 2010
Well X-Lite 3.0 (free) is STILL downloadable...
Like
Version 4.0 Beta (Build 56227)
Libertyforall1776
20 October 2009
Those having issues with the Beta 4.x should post here: http://forums.counterpath.com/viewforum.php?f=26
Like
Version 4.0 Beta 3 (Build 55153)
Libertyforall1776
20 October 2009
Needs Apple Address Book support, Address Book plugin, Growl support, and it's still not 64-bit! Also, I cannot get incoming call ring audio on this beta 3 or the 3.x version! Anyone know a fix?
Like
Version 4.0 Beta 3 (Build 55153)
Xplicit
24 November 2008
Best free SoftPhone for Mac. Ok, the interface is not Mac-like, in fact a bit ugly but that doesn't matter. iSoftPhone is buggy and laggy, Zoiper is just a little but still buggy. X-Lite works well and that's it for me.
Like (2)
Version 3.0b47051
Brenk
30 March 2008
i searched all the time for a sip softphone too. i bought the eyebeam software - but there were no updates since a year... isoftphone is a little bit expensive... so i found the sip softphone called "zoiper" last month - it works fine with my sip accounts...
Like
Version 3.0b47051
Billcoyote
14 December 2007
My version 2.0 works great with Leopard. :-)
Like
Version 3.0b39984
2 answer(s)
Sagha
Sagha
26 January 2008
I am trying to run X-LITE on my macbook. It keeps giving me an error 'Registration error 503- No route to host'. Can anyone help? I have double checked all info on the username,password and domain name etc. Any other clues why it may not be working? Please help, because I have paid the VoIP provider to credit my account but cannot use the application. Thanks
Like
Version 3.0b39984
Sagha
Sagha
26 January 2008
Do u still have the '.dmg' download file for your X-lite v 2.0? It would be great help if you could email me it on agha_s@hotmail.com! I have paid my VoIP provider for credit which will expire soon, but I cannot use the version 3.0 on Mac OS Leopard as there is a problem with compatability.. which is not yet fixed.
Like
Version 3.0b39984
Tom-Marvolo-Riddle
11 December 2007
iSoftphone isn't bad... but yeah... you are right, there aren't much alternatives out there... what a pity
Like
Version 3.0b39984
Tom-Marvolo-Riddle
08 November 2007
DOES NOT WORK ON LEOPARD!
Like
Version 3.0b39984
6 answer(s)
nymphe
nymphe
11 December 2007
After one or two minutes of waiting I was able to use the app. Did you wait enough? :)
Like
Version 3.0b39984
Tom-Marvolo-Riddle
Tom-Marvolo-Riddle
11 December 2007
I waited half an hour... still it displays "no route to host"
Like
Version 3.0b39984
nymphe
nymphe
11 December 2007
I thought you were not be able to open the app. I couldn't get it working neither.
Like
Version 3.0b39984
Tom-Marvolo-Riddle
Tom-Marvolo-Riddle
11 December 2007
Sorry, didn't make myself clear. Yes, I can open it but I can't phone anyone, cuz it cannot connect (no route to host) or whatever the stupid problem is... well, I think I'll switch...
Like
Version 3.0b39984
nymphe
nymphe
11 December 2007
switch to..? can you suggest me a nice working SIP phone utility other than SJPhone?
Like
Version 3.0b39984
Tom-Marvolo-Riddle
Tom-Marvolo-Riddle
11 December 2007
iSoftphone isn't bad... but yeah... you are right, there aren't much alternatives out there... what a pity
Like
Version 3.0b39984
Tom-Marvolo-Riddle
08 November 2007
X-Lite is absolutely not Mac Native and therefore quite ugly. Well, but this is the only Client I got to work with my Provider, so I have no choice.
Like
Version 3.0b39984
Veggiedude
13 October 2007
I love this SoftPhone. It works with RingCentral's DigitalLine service. I haven't tried the extra features, such as recording and the like, but as far as calling and receiving calls, it works.
Like
Version 3.0b39984
Sago
29 March 2007
you are right FELIX FI, thanks for the suggestion about Xmeeting, it's way better. don't use this crap, go Xmeeting.
Like
Version 3.0b39418
Felix-Fi
24 March 2007
My point is just that somebody was claiming in an earlier comment that X-lite was the *only* free SIP client...
Like
Version 3.0b39418
Felix-Fi
20 March 2007
xmeeting is free... and works perfectly.
Like
Version 3.0b38964
1 answer(s)
Chigh
Chigh
23 March 2007
X-Lite is also free. What is your point?
Like
Version 3.0b39418
Mrgando
16 June 2006
no new version since 2004? give me a break, this thing has some damn bugs, its a very nice app , but it is buggy.
Like
Version 2.0
Tomacto
17 May 2006
NOT COMPATIBLE WITH INTEL. I checked the forum on the developer's website, and I read: "There are no plans for X-Lite and IntelMAC." This is a shame as this is the only free SIP client for Mac!
Like
Version 2.0
Sebastienb
26 February 2005
After reading the first review for X-lite i stoped and went looking for another sip client. But after findid none to my liking i came back i tried it. It works fine and voice quality is great! you can use it with a stanaphone account, vonnage account and alot of other sip based sevices or just on a lcal network or the internet.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
09 December 2004
I just tried this today. It froze up and crashed when trying to register an account through the app. The dialer interface wasn't very MacOS X friendly anyway. Don't bother with this poor windows port. Their PhoneGAIM app looked like a viable cross-platform replacement for ichat. Alas, it is Linux only, how short sighted.
Like
Version 2.0
Helixblue
07 December 2004
I've been using X-Lite now for a week with BroadVoice as my VoIP provider. Overall, an excellent application. The preferences UI could use some work, and it should really be integrated into AddressBook. Thankfully, there are AppleScripts to make a half-hearted attempt at integration available. For the price (free), this application is well worth it. I think they should consider including a settings URL import option that allows you to import settings from your provider, rather than having the user input all of the confusing configuration options.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
03 November 2004
A few days ago i downloaded this (big headache) X-Lite_Install.dmg Yesterday I downloaded this (worked first time!) X_lite-Xten-Mac-1103m.dmg I'm not sure if the former was pulled but the latter is great. I changed my mind about the app.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 November 2004
I have a feeling X-Lite is still very much at development stage. Having spent several hours over two days the phone is unable to connect to my VOIP provider, London Voice and Data Exchange despite having all the required data for the SIP proxy. There is a support forum http://support.xten.net but no replies to any of the many questions posted (so no support I'm afraid). Still it is a free app so nothing lost in trying but be very cautious about paying for X-PRO when X-Lite is failing. On the plus side the phone looks good, interface a little cluncky but easy enough to understand. On the negative side 'Diagnostic Window' reveals nothing more than the port you're connected on, SIP 5060, RTP 8000 it is not a verbose connection log. Since I couldn't get the phone to work I will mark down features and ease of use even though the menu is promising.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
06 September 2004
I completely disagree, but then my clientele and customers need simplicity like this. As an ISP/ASP, I have been looking for a solution just like this, and once our hardware is installed look forward to deploying this. Just my $.02, though.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 September 2004
What simplicity? Have you actually tried to USE that thing? The UI isn't simple at all. It's absolutely cluttered an unintuitive.
Like
Version 2.0
Cloudscout
06 September 2004
I agree with the previous comment. The UI is needlessly complex. Granted, this is cross-platform software so Mac-oriented customization is not likely, especially in the free version... but I think the developer could take a leadership role in Macintosh VoIP and reap some rewards. A simple, clean interface would be preferable. Forget about legacy devices. It need not look like a telephone on the screen. It should have a keypad for interacting with touch-tone services but the interface should be streamlined. Have the keypad as an option that can be clicked on-and-off to save screen real estate. Make the onscreen footprint small so that it can just sit there running in the background. Integration with Address Book is essential. Give it the ability to be managed by external applications as well. I'd love to have an option in BuddyPop that would let me dial a number with X-Lite. I'm sure these things have been hammered to death in the developer's forums but I thought I would mention them here as well.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
06 September 2004
Works OK but has a horrible non-standard interface. Who needs big on-screen keys with a keyboard in front of him? Ditch the mobile look and build something useful! Look at the Skype interface - that's how a VoIP phone for a computer should look like.
Like
Version 2.0