Back to ClamXAV page
ClamXAV free download for Mac

ClamXAV Reviews

03 March 2021

Virus checker based on ClamAV.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
lhigdon2325
lhigdon2325
Feb 4 2021
3.1.2
4.0
Feb 4 2021
4.0
Version: 3.1.2
No performance degradation on my iMac running Big Sur. Sophos Home Premium was a big drag on my system.
Johnny-Rocket
Johnny-Rocket
Jan 4 2021
3.1.2
5.0
Jan 4 2021
5.0
Version: 3.1.2
https://www.av-test.org/en/antivirus/home-macos/macos-catalina/june-2020/canimaan-software-clamxav-3.0-202006/
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Nov 19 2020
3.1.2
4.5
Nov 19 2020
4.5
Version: 3.1.2
All this whining about fees and then AVG and Avast started to meddle with SSL and selling browser usage data. Be the product or pay a fee. I know what I choose.
didifri
didifri
Aug 12 2020
3.1
5.0
Aug 12 2020
5.0
Version: 3.1
schnell und zuverlässig
Dvrndr72b23
Dvrndr72b23
Mar 28 2020
3.0.15
5.0
Mar 28 2020
5.0
Version: 3.0.15
Worked reliably for years. I don’t mind the price, since such a piece of software requires to be constantly looked after.
didifri
didifri
Dec 19 2019
3.0.15
5.0
Dec 19 2019
5.0
Version: 3.0.15
works good
HJRBR
HJRBR
Aug 6 2019
3.0.12
2.0
Aug 6 2019
2.0
Version: 3.0.12
I used ClamXav for years. Now I have an issue (Ticket #790366) and no answer for a few days. The eMail: support@clamxav.com does not work to send any notes. Looks that I have to find an other programm.
DemandExcellence
DemandExcellence
Jul 19 2019
3.0.12
0.0
Jul 19 2019
0.0
Version: 3.0.12
Version 3.0.12 is not ready for Mojave.
Macfoto
Macfoto
Dec 30 2018
3.0.9
1.5
Dec 30 2018
1.5
Version: 3.0.9
No Deinstallation of ClamX-Engine available. It's like Malware! Sorry, GoodBye ClamX ;-) Use Mac-a-like-Software!
hmfwic47
hmfwic47
Dec 21 2018
3.0.7
0.0
Dec 21 2018
0.0
Version: 3.0.7
I just installed 3.0.8.
Veryvito
Veryvito
Oct 23 2018
3.0.7
1.0
Oct 23 2018
1.0
Version: 3.0.7
This is yet another once-great app (that I used to pay to upgrade regularly) that has fallen prey to the subscription model. Sorry to have to uninstall it at the end of this month, but this software model has got to stop.
Sparrowhawk
Sparrowhawk
Oct 8 2018
3.0.7
4.5
Oct 8 2018
4.5
Version: 3.0.7
£14.99 with the 50% discount and VAT removal (being a company purchase) for 3 computers over 2 years - it works out at a few pence per month. So not free, but so close as to make no real difference. Yes others are completely free, but from experience they also consume more system resources and are a PITA to remove. Here we have a developer who cares about the Mac, who puts real effort into getting a quality program out, and yes, who asks to be paid for his work. Seems fair to me. Not that I'm a fan of subscriptions, but in this case it's almost a no-brainer. The only other two subs I maintain are for JetBrains products and Office 365. In each case for me, the constant updates and improvements, and decent licensing terms have been enough to persuade me to opt in. The UI could do with a little more polish, it's true. Those drive icons are a little too big and don't fit in well with the look and feel of a modern Mac, but to be honest, I don't spend my life inside the GUI of my AV software, so I don't really care too much about that. One thing to note: the scanning speeds, and the ramp up time before a scan actually begins are both hugely improved over v2. A very welcome improvement indeed.
Funjoy
Funjoy
Oct 6 2018
3.0.7
3.5
Oct 6 2018
3.5
Version: 3.0.7
When ClamXAV went commercial in 2016 I bought it immediately for $30 to support the developer. It's been an okay app, a little slow, a little clunky-looking. In all this time it's found a grand total of 6 pieces of malware on my system - all old Windows malware embedded in saved html files. In all comparison tests the app falls in the middle to the back of the pack. Still, I'd fire it up periodically and let it (slowly) go through my system looking for any malware. I guess I haven't run it lately because when I launched it today I discovered that there's a v 3.07, and a new subscription model. It's nice that current owners are offered 50%-off, but I'm still not sure I want to pay $15/year for this when Sophos and Avira and Kaspersky (I know, I know) all get higher ratings for catching malware, speed and lightness on system resources. (Granted, I haven't seen any reviews of this app's latest version.) I'm keeping an open mind, and will wait for reviews to come out, but I'm not upgrading yet.
Jaimesc
Jaimesc
Oct 5 2018
3.0.7
2.0
Oct 5 2018
2.0
Version: 3.0.7
I understand people have to earn a living. I don't expect everything for free. However: 1) ClamXav licences less than 2 years old are now useless: virus updates we hear will be stopped from end of oct. 2018 2) Version 3 requires a OS update. This is notunreasonable, excelt that with point (1) we do not have the option of continuing to use existing versions: therefore upgrading to V3 forces an OX upgrade. 3) The annual fee: I am not a fan. Furthermore ClamXav has always had a problem as far as I'm concerned: the spinning ball curse when performing most actions. A quick test: - A staight "open clamxav" : two minutes of spinning ball leading to "Starting update... update complete" and "Anouncing V3". Which still won't respond: More spinning ball. • I've contacted ClamXav in the past concerning this issue: the response was "given ticket ..." and no more. I did not insist, since I left ClamXav scanning quietly in the background and didn't use the interface, spinning ball issue preventing. Regarding protection: I can't judge on this point since all I have found is about three phishing emails picked up by ClamXav over the last two years. Therefore I wil not be renewing my licence by upgrading my OS and moving to a subscription model, much as I appreciate programmers need to earn a living: it doesn't work well enough.
mrsidoric
mrsidoric
Sep 26 2018
3.0.7
5.0
Sep 26 2018
5.0
Version: 3.0.7
ClamXAV is the best antivirus / anti-malware out there.

The small yearly fee covers daily updates, upgrades and support. Frankly that is a small price to pay to protect your computer and data.

The developer is dedicated to the app – and version 3.0.7 is the best ever. I'm sticking with ClamXAV – and you'd be wise to do the same.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Sep 8 2018
3.0.5
0.0
Sep 8 2018
0.0
Version: 3.0.5
$$$$$$$$$$$
Noraa
Noraa
Sep 8 2018
3.0.5
0.0
Sep 8 2018
0.0
Version: 3.0.5
Been using ClamXAV since back when it was free, and while I'm not a fan of subscription pricing, when it comes to anti-virus software it does make sense. With most software, as long as it works (and keeps working) it can be exceedingly frustrating to be forced to pay for it just so you can use it - even you don't want or need whatever "new" features may be introduced. However, security is a moving target, and as such you want a program that is constantly being updated to hit that target - and that takes money. In addition, for an antivirus software, $30/year really isn't that bad (most cost in the $60/year range - and only cover 1 or 2 computers). Plus, if you've purchased ClamXAV in the past, you can get your subscription for only $15/year which is a damn good deal.
TallTed
TallTed
Sep 7 2018
3.0.5
3.0
Sep 7 2018
3.0
Version: 3.0.5
Time to change the posted price! People will read the currently posted price as $29.95 *one-time*, and that's no longer accurate. It's now $29.95/year (which works out to just under $2.50/month).
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Aug 22 2018
2.19
5.0
Aug 22 2018
5.0
Version: 2.19
ClamXAV is imho the best antivirus/anti-malware software for the Mac. But now with version 3 they switched to a subscription model. And they just lost a paying customer. Sorry, but I'm saying bye-bye.
Ashiks
Ashiks
Aug 17 2018
2.19
5.0
Aug 17 2018
5.0
Version: 2.19
I have been using ClamXav for several years now, and v.3.0.3 is fast and the UI is definitely an improvement. Their Tech support is very fast, they pinpointed my problem (I had LittleSnitch enabled) in less than an hour after my first support request. As for the yearly subscription price, I'd say that the developer really earned that money, and my peace of mind is definitely worth $30 (or half of that for the first year if you upgrade).
Maxter
Maxter
Aug 15 2018
2.19
4.0
Aug 15 2018
4.0
Version: 2.19
ClamXav 3 is out... As a yearly subscription... Goodbye ClamXav!
Funjoy
Funjoy
Aug 9 2018
2.19
3.5
Aug 9 2018
3.5
Version: 2.19
Slow and an average performer. Kaspersky, Avast, BitDefender and Sophos are all better and faster, sad to say. (Sad because I loved this as a free app, and bought it the day it became a shareware pay app in order to support it.)
jack2001
jack2001
Apr 24 2018
2.18.1
0.5
Apr 24 2018
0.5
Version: 2.18.1
lentissima. consuma una grande quantità di ram. graficamente orrenda.
MicheleB
MicheleB
Apr 14 2018
2.18.1
2.5
Apr 14 2018
2.5
Version: 2.18.1
It's not bad, but it's quite slow - at least on my machine. But I think this is a general problem, noticed this on other machines too. AV-Software on the mac is really still a very difficult field, with hardly any good candidates there. Sophos Home is ok (at least faster, and free) - but annoying, you have to use the web interface for every single configuration change etc. Anyone discover a really stable, fast and thorough / reliable AV software for mac yet? In case yes, let me know :)
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
Feb 22 2018
2.16
0.0
Feb 22 2018
0.0
Version: 2.16
When I download Malwarebytes from either MacUpdate, or directly from www.malwarebytes.com/mac/, I get a warning from ClamXav saying, "Infection Found! Malwarebytes-Mac-3.2.35.1162.pkg infected with Trojan.OSX.BitcoinMinor" Is Malwarebytes now distributing malware, or is this a false positive from ClamXav?
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Feb 10 2018
2.16
5.0
Feb 10 2018
5.0
Version: 2.16
Great AV product for the Mac. Doesn't help against new & unknown threats, but then no AV software does. But ClamXAV is great in tandem with other security tools, so I can highly recommend this.
Liselotte
Liselotte
Jan 26 2018
2.16
0.0
Jan 26 2018
0.0
Version: 2.16
Question: Do we need a tool like this for macOS?
midd
midd
Oct 29 2017
2.15.3
2.0
Oct 29 2017
2.0
Version: 2.15.3
I ran the trial version of ClamXav. After the trial period, I thought I deleted it. But I'm still getting multiple pop-ups windows with the ClamX icon asking if I want to really scan my Time Machine backup drive. I turned off the notifications. So I don't know what's causing the pop ups.
Trance
Trance
Jul 31 2017
2.14
5.0
Jul 31 2017
5.0
Version: 2.14
It even found an android malware agent ....good app. Only little annoyance is the updates take so long to download.
Spudfry
Spudfry
May 12 2017
2.12.1
0.0
May 12 2017
0.0
Version: 2.12.1
Tried this - virus definitions & updates abysmally slow. Ditched it.
Tim27
Tim27
Jan 26 2017
2.11
1.0
Jan 26 2017
1.0
Version: 2.11
This software is useless. Upon first run it just spent over 20 minutes downloading multiple "definition updates." I had to just quit the app because it wouldn't stop downloading them. What good is an app if you can never use it because it is constantly updating?
BobbyThompsonRocks
BobbyThompsonRocks
Dec 21 2016
2.11
4.0
Dec 21 2016
4.0
Version: 2.11
In all my years of using Mac, I have always tried to keep my eyes open for a reliable client. I've choses ClamXav for two reasons:

1. Most commercial providers for anti-virus software tend to make a Mac client as a second though. As an example my company required those of us who use company macs to use the mac version of their anti-virus provider, and that client has a noticeable impact on system performance.

2. ClamXav has been around for a long time. While the UI has never been very pretty, I feel more comfortable with a time proven solution that has been heavily used by the Mac community. In addition, the price was obviously an after-though, as it ran for so many years with no fee.

I can't attest to how reliable ClamXav is, however, as it never has detected anything on any Mac I have owned. Of course this is likely just do to the fact that I'm careful with what I download so likely has nothing to do with ClamXav.

It is processor intensive while scanning, but I would expect nothing less from a program that analyzes every file on my system in detail. I do avoid the folder watch option, and instead schedule full system scans to occur overnight. With this setup, ClamXav has no noticeable impact on my system.

I will admit I use a separate program to scan for malware, similar to what is recommended on windows systems (anti-virus + malware scanner).

I would be open to other anti-virus but would avoid any clients that don't have a proven history of approval from those who are technically proficient. In the end ClamXav is the best solution I've found that meets this requirement.

Not that it should matter, but I have been a professional software developer for over 15 years, and have used Mac as my platform of choice for over 20 years. I also tend to be the first source both friends and co-workers come to if they ever need Mac help.
adrian-bliss88
adrian-bliss88
Nov 23 2016
2.10
3.5
Nov 23 2016
3.5
Version: 2.10
I have installed ClamXav, but do not leave it running. I have launched it 3 times in 2 years to scan for problems and never found one.
Macmuser
Macmuser
Oct 28 2016
2.10
5.0
Oct 28 2016
5.0
Version: 2.10
I've been using an AV for years, most recently ClamX (again) after Sophos became increasingly intrusive. Recently I opened an old version of All2MP3, a screen flashed up about it updating, my browser went automatically to a website and downloaded a file. ClamX immediately flagged that it was infected with adware and quarantined it.

It was a Windows trojan so wouldn't have harmed my Mac. As Clamxav website says "ClamXav is a trusted and highly recommended anti-virus and malware scanner for Mac OS X with the ability to detect both Mac and Windows threats." Unlike some of the reviews below.

To be safe my wife and I ran our AVs across our iMacs. My 4TB drive took ClamX some hours to scan and found a few Windows viruses as email attachments downloaded years ago. My wife's iMac has taken 2 days to get halfway through her 2TB drive using Sophos.
DJSquint
DJSquint
Oct 1 2016
2.10
1.5
Oct 1 2016
1.5
Version: 2.10
Wasn't this free before? It climbed from from free to a whopping $30 ??? No thanks.
malwareprovider
malwareprovider
Sep 22 2016
2.9.2
1.0
Sep 22 2016
1.0
Version: 2.9.2
I used ClamXav for years. Then it became a paid app. So I bought a license (used the educational discount because I was a student). Then it went haywire and I contacted them for support. Why not? I paid for it didn't I? Instead of helping me they got hung up on the fact that I had installed it on both my laptop and desktop and wouldn't let it go. I explained, but ultimately they started making lawsuit threats. When I got upset about this they backpedaled and claimed the lawsuit threats were "just jokes." Then I told them to go f&#k themselves and promptly removed that piece of crap from both my machines -- good luck getting rid of clamXav, it tucks files away everyplace you could imagine. I'm still not sure if I got them all. Oh, and they never did help me.
Staps Fanny
Staps Fanny
Aug 1 2016
2.9.2
0.0
Aug 1 2016
0.0
Version: 2.9.2
Wasn't this free before?
BenjaminW
BenjaminW
Jul 12 2016
2.9
3.0
Jul 12 2016
3.0
Version: 2.9
Simplistic scanner for mostly Windows virus and trojans.
Johnny-Rocket
Johnny-Rocket
Mar 7 2016
2.8.9.1
5.0
Mar 7 2016
5.0
Version: 2.8.9.1
Just installed it and it works great. found some trojans and quarantined them. Doesn't use a lot of CPU like some users said. Good investment.
Eviandem
Eviandem
Feb 3 2016
2.8.9.1
2.0
Feb 3 2016
2.0
Version: 2.8.9.1
Used it from time to time as long it was free. Couldn´t use it every day, cause it´s uses too much cpu power. Now it costs 30,00. Too much for seldom usage. I would buy such software for 9,99 (only my OPINION)
bbw7
bbw7
Dec 7 2015
2.8.7
2.0
Dec 7 2015
2.0
Version: 2.8.7
Just tried out the current version (2.8.7). It did identify some known adware installers that I hold onto for just such testing; however, I was having no actual adware or other malware problems, so I don't know how effective it is in flagging installed malware (prior full-featured, free versions were hit and miss in this respect in my experience).

However, the uninstalling function did not work properly. I followed the directions at the dev's site's FAQ; however, I got the error that the alias was broken There was an option to fix this alias, but it wasn't clear what to link to. Looking in the Extras folder in the dmg, I found an uninstall.pkg. I ran this package and the app appeared to be removed; however I wasn't able to eject the dmg file except by force ejecting it. Hadn't had this problem with prior versions; previously the uninstallation went smoothly, as per the FAQ instructions. (OS X 10.6.8)

Perhaps the issue I had had to do with the trial time having expired; however, the uninstallation process of an app should not be broken after the trial time is up.
hmfwic47
hmfwic47
Oct 4 2015
2.8.5
0.0
Oct 4 2015
0.0
Version: 2.8.5
I have the latest ClamXav installed. I also have OS X El Capitan installed. In the "Notifications" System Preferences I have a double entry of "ClamXav" and "ClamXav Sentry." Anybody know why?
iTruth
iTruth
Sep 25 2015
2.8.5
0.5
Sep 25 2015
0.5
Version: 2.8.5
According to a recent test done by Av-Test.org, ClamXav has the worst detection rate out of 10 Mac antivirus products that were tested. In addition to this, ClamXav also can be very heavy on system resources. I really hope as a developer that is now selling this inadequate piece of software you will address these issues as there are free solutions that offer a far better detection rate and are light on system resources.
nafoiuz
nafoiuz
Sep 24 2015
2.8.4
4.0
Sep 24 2015
4.0
Version: 2.8.4
Even though the app uses much RAM and CPU, I quite like it. It's working as it should.
Macmuser
Macmuser
Aug 13 2015
2.8.4
5.0
Aug 13 2015
5.0
Version: 2.8.4
I'm back to ClamX after many years away, largely so I have an El Capitan compatible anti-virus. I started to run ClamX a decade ago soon after it came out. It was, if I recall, a free app Apple distributed. I did contribute to Mark's beer fund so my return to ClamX is for free although I have to agree that the new price does seem a little on the high side.

Over the years I've been away, a little has changed, the interface improved and so far Sentry hasn't crashed which I found it did quite regularly in the past. Updates are quick and quiet. However, I've been looking into how many viruses ClamX actually stops and disappointed to see the results from Macwelt and The Safe Mac both marking ClamX down quite heavily. With the free apps such as Sophos, Avast! and Avira all scoring much higher than ClamX, it is looking a bit lightweight in comparison.

Also, while they won't affect my Mac, Windows-compatible infected attachments arrive in emails every day and I would hate to pass infected files on to PC using friends. So far ClamX has let them all through.
Levelbest
Levelbest
Aug 12 2015
2.8.4
0.0
Aug 12 2015
0.0
Version: 2.8.4
Watching this thread I have to comment. This has been a great product for some time now. Everybody knows It, lots of people use It. I see a phenomena of entitlement because I see so many one star ratings complaining that ClamX is now way to expensive. I do It too sometimes. It was hard to accept when Carbon Copy Cloner went paid as It had ben available as shareware forever. Same with GraphicConverter years ago. It’s hard to see an old favorite go mainstream when you are used to a freebie (even though shareware Isn't really free, lets be honest, not everyone actually pays for shareware). Now the Clamx Developer is charging a more than fair rate that is going to support him and his ideas and his work better. Too bad for me and my mentality of entitlement, but, good for him.
Macinman
Macinman
Aug 12 2015
2.8.4
0.0
Aug 12 2015
0.0
Version: 2.8.4
I wouldn't have any problems paying for AV software if i was a regular windows user as that's the platform that's the most at risk. I know there are more and more threats surfacing for mac os x, but apple is good about patching security holes and it's still not as much as the windows environment. I have used CalmAV in the past and for the most part, the only viruses it's detected are windows viruses, which wouldn't run on a mac anyway. Currently i don't run any AV software on the mac, but i have a malware scanner which has worked pretty good in the past. When I run windows, i run it in a virtual environment, and just use the tools microsoft provides for now, as I don't run it on a regular basis, and I also use good practices , that wouldn't normally invite viruses into the system. My third platform is linux, and I don't know if anything exists for that or not as far as malware / viruses go.
Realhelper
Realhelper
Jul 31 2015
2.8.2
0.5
Jul 31 2015
0.5
Version: 2.8.2
Bad news for this piece of antivirus to become paying. the price is too expensive regarding the service oeffered compare to known editors and free products. i decided to switch because of the update system that suggest me everyday to update to the latest 2.8, even if i have checked the box to jump over the related version ... It is a really very strange procedure to force people upgrading to the paid version. I have used it for years, but now it is finished.
Dualist
Dualist
Jul 7 2015
2.8.2
1.0
Jul 7 2015
1.0
Version: 2.8.2
Downloaded the demo and the definitions error out when updating, which makes this useless. Fortunately, the uninstaller appears to work properly. Sadly, I must give only one star for a broken app.
schlutiusroger
schlutiusroger
Jul 2 2015
2.8.2
1.0
Jul 2 2015
1.0
Version: 2.8.2
From 160 known Mac viruses - 39,6% only Free Avira 100% and free Avast 100% - also Bitdefender, Kaspersky and Norton 100% Tested German Macwelt 08/2015