Back to MegaTrack page
MegaTrack free download for Mac

MegaTrack Reviews

1.4.1
30 August 2005

Tropical storm/hurricane tracking for the Atlantic/Pacific.

MacUpdate-Lon
24 August 2007

Most helpful

This software has been abandoned, not updated in over two years.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1

Read 25 MegaTrack User Reviews

Rate this app:

MacUpdate-Lon
24 August 2007
This software has been abandoned, not updated in over two years.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
MacUpdate-Lon
12 June 2006
I had tried version 1.4.1 when it came out last year but it had trouble loading its own files (db files). It would launch only after deleting these files each and every time I wanted to use MegaTrack. With the hurricane season upon us again, I recently reverted to version 1.4 and it works with no issues, running OS X 10.4.6
Like
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
31 August 2006
It really is a pity this app has not been updated in a year.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
Anonymous
20 October 2005
I am running Megatrack 1.4.1 on Mac OS 10.4.2. I am able to add cities to the Manage Places but I am not able to edit them or delete them once they are added.
Like
Version 1.4.1
2 answer(s)
Luis-J
Luis-J
02 September 2007
I had the same problem. Only solution I've found is to open "~/Library/Application Support/MegaTrack/UserDB/trackdb.script" and manually deleting the place (the place info is in a line by itself). It is not the ideal solution, but since we haven't heard from the developer, at least it works. I am using 1.41, MacOS 10.4.10 MacBook Pro...
Like
Version 1.4.1
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
02 September 2007
I have given up on MegaTrack completely, it just became too problematic to use. It's a shame, because it *was* good software and there's been nothing to replace it.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Anonymous
22 September 2005
On one computer at work, I went back to MegaTrack 1.3 for a while & then re-installed version 1.4.1 and it has been working for me ever since. On another, identical computer I found a copy of MegaTrack 1.4, installed that, and have had no problems since. Both are 1GHz G4 Powerbooks. Both had the "cannot open database" problem with version 1.4.1.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Anonymous
17 September 2005
Won't launch anymore (version 1.4.1 under OS X 10.4.2)... Emailed the developer maybe a week ago and I am still awaiting a response.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Anonymous
16 September 2005
Same problem here. Cannot restart it unless all three "trackdb" files are deleted by hand, losing all previous info and places entered. Does anyone know of an alternate hurricane tracker that works? (using OS 10.3.9).
Like
Version 1.4.1
Anonymous
01 September 2005
Tried the program under OSX 10.3.9 but it can't read the database after restart and quits. I have to delete the db by hand to be able to start the app again. Any suggestions?
Like
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 September 2005
yes. contact the developer, of course.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Anonymous
31 August 2005
Works fine now (see 'Editor's Note, above on this MacUpdate page)... uses a *little* bit less RAM than previous version(s). Very nice app, and I have donated.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Anonymous
30 August 2005
Also bounced in the dock and quit. I'm using Tiger 10.4.2. Where can I get the earlier version?
Like
Version 1.4.1
Anonymous
30 August 2005
Version 1.4.1 bounces in the dock a few times, won't launch... I reverted to version 1.4, no problems.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Anonymous
21 July 2005
Great little app that's really come in handy here in Florida. Have recommended it to family members elsewhere so they can see exactly when I'm going to get blown away again! (large grin) Small bug - if you add your own "places", you can't remove them. You can't remove the default places either, so now I'm stuck with New York and Newark overwriting each other. Minor inconvenience, but still...
Like
Version 1.4
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 July 2005
There is a folder for Megatrack in the Application Support folder, in that MegaTrack folder there are some files, you can delete this folder to rid yourself of unwanted locations. Of course, later when you launch MegaTrack again you will have to replace any locations that you DO want. The path to the folder in question is as follows: ~/Library/Application Support/MegaTrack
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 August 2005
i have the same problem. However i do not have the folder in my application support folder
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 August 2005
Great tip! I looked in the folder and found 3 files, named trackdb.log, trackdb.properties and trackdb.script I don't like to delete things willy/nilly so I opened each with a text editor and found that the default places are stored at the end of the trackdb.script file. I deleted the places I don't want and saved the file. When I launched the app again, my unwanted places were no longer displayed on the map. Hope this helps anyone else who needs to delete a few places!
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
09 July 2005
Can't get it to even open. Dock moves slightly, but icon never appears, program never starts.
Like
Version 1.4
Wtmcgee
18 May 2005
This is the type of app that would be a great widget.
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
18 May 2005
Hey, nice, even more coverage (Pacific Ocean)! Since I live on the Pacific coast of Mexico, this new version is very welcome. I do realize the previous version had some useful (for me) coverage of the Pacific, but now it is so much better. Thanks to the developer. Muchas gracias.
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
24 October 2004
I like this application very much.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
11 October 2004
The map is larger now, I can see all of the Pacific coast... Thanks! Five stars across the board, now.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 October 2004
I forgot to mention that the map is new and of a different graphic quality and is better in every way in comparison to previous versions maps, in my opinion.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
11 October 2004
A fine and useful application get better! Thanks.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
17 September 2004
MUCH improved. Many thanks, and keep coding. I gave it a 3 star rating for 'Features' because I'd like to see the app cover the Pacific coast. I live in Mexico. Easy to use, simple. 5 stars. Value, what could be better than an app that works and is free? 5 stars. I gave it a 4 star rating for 'Stability' not because it has ever crashed on me, but because it _has_ needed a force-quit or two which subsequently had the strange effect of making the OS X Dock inaccessible until I quit and restarted the Finder, but that happened in the previous version. This version looks to be much better but I am not sure yet, so... 4 stars.
Like
Version 1.2
Brian Kendig
11 September 2004
Very cool software - one bug I've found, though; even if you select "Only Show Active Storms," the inactive storms remain clickable on the map. I was trying to double-click on Ivan, but it kept bringing up Charley (which followed much the same course) even though Charley was hidden.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 September 2004
Yes, the very same thing happened to me.
Like
Version 1.1
Kevin
08 September 2004
Tried using version 1.1. The data from the National Hurricane Center is quite different than what is updated...location, intensity, etc. Plus there doesn't appear to be a way to contact the developer concerning problems. Plus I keep getting an error message telling me that it can't update the storm database. I check my internet connection, it is fine. Not sure what is happening. Given this active hurricane season this program has some real potential benefit. Hopefully he can fix the problems so everyone can enjoy his work.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
07 September 2004
I use dos based storm for PC which is not offered anymore but the best ever. This is a great second tracker for my Macs. This needs full storm archive, and ability to select storms by name and season and it would rule! If the storms were then animated and you could turn the projected path on or off it would really rule!!! still 5/5, great start and already better then most of the current trackers..
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 September 2004
I live in FL, and with our busy hurricane season this year, it is nice to be able to quickly see where the current hurricane has been, is at present, and its forecasted track. It saves flipping through channels on TV or going to various websites to find the info. Thank you!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
02 September 2004
This is a GREAT piece of software. It even works with Jacquar 10.2.8. Now I'm able to keep up to date on hurricanes. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.0
eroberge
01 September 2004
Works fine. A nice replacement for the old classic app. McHurricane
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
01 September 2004
Does what it says it will do. Wish it covered the Pacific coast of the Americas, say, from Central America to California.
Like
Version 1.0