Back to You Control: Tunes page
You Control: Tunes free download for Mac

You Control: Tunes Reviews

1.7.2
10 March 2009

Control iTunes from your menu bar.

scottwild-co
13 August 2008

Most helpful

Great bit of software, and its free.the only hassle is you have to sign up for a free reg key. i have used paid for apps to control iTunes [coversutra etc]and i find this free software beats all of them. I highly recommend you try this
Like (3)
Version 1.7

Read 47 You Control: Tunes User Reviews

Rate this app:

Andrew8042
02 October 2014
No website, no number - not the program works!
Like
Version 1.7.2
Commanderdingo
18 August 2013
I LOEVED this app. Upgraded machines and OS and it was asking for me to register with their servers. A shame the developer shut down and left us hanging.
Like
Version 1.7.2
Tony-Hartt
21 February 2013
Is this still available for download?? Download link goes to some other page.
Like
Version 1.7.2
2 answer(s)
bbw7
bbw7
31 May 2013
It still can be found here: http://you-control-tunes.en.softonic.com/mac And here is the serial number (the link above for this no longer works either): CTE-100-0001-96UJW82B
Like
Steve K
Steve K
09 June 2013
@bbw7, unfortunately that serial won't work because the app tries to send it to the defunct You Control server for a license key :(
Like
Jeff-H-
04 January 2013
Didnt work very well for me in 10.8
Like
Version 1.7.2
Jimw
14 December 2012
Unfortunately the You Control iTunes Engine does not seem to install properly in 10.8+ However their is an easy manual workaround: - Open up System Preferences; then click on 'Users and Groups' - Choose 'Login Items' and move to one side you your screen. - Locate the App 'You Control iTunes', usually in your Applications folder but do not launch it. - Right Click on it and choose 'Show Package Contents' - Click on the 'Contents' folder to open it - Look at the resulting contents and open 'MacOS' - Drag the file "YouControlTunesEngine' to your 'Login Items' list. It does not matter where you place it. You should now see it in the list. - Close all your windows. - Restart your system. The YouControl icon should now appear in your menu bar after it fully loads. Hope this helps
Like
Version 1.7.2
paulicca
06 January 2012
I was searching something that let me "preview" the cover of playing songs from iTunes. You control does it and deserves 4,5 stars! You can personalize the info of the overlay window. Sometimes the cover, in the menu bar, is not displayed correctly. Only one crash in my today's use. Maybe the obligation to register yourself is not a good thing (it could be reconsidered) if someone wants only to try the software. Thanks to the developer for giving us this free app! :)
Like
Version 1.7.2
Kzx72
10 December 2011
I've been using You Control Tunes for about a month now and I like it enough to write a quick review. The registration only takes a minute to fill out and doesn't intrude on your privacy. For the paranoid user still concerned about this issue, block the program with Little Snitch. YCT is a timesaver app. Designed so you don't have to switch back and forth between open programs and iTunes every time you want to change or pause a song. It sits on the right side of the desktop menu bar and has a drop down arrow with hotkeys and customizations. Hasn't crashed yet and is a free download.
Like
Version 1.7.2
Robio
18 July 2011
Why the hell should I have to register and get a serial just to TRY this software? I don't even know if it does what I want it to do. Why should I hand out my personal information if there's a chance I'm going to launch it, find out it only skips tracks (and doesn't FF or RWD), then throw it away? What's the point of requiring a serial for freeware?
Like
Version 1.7.2
Mr-Leo
11 September 2010
This software is very smart and cool compared with other similar software. User interface is very slick and beautiful. I wish to express my gratitude to the developer. It is regrettable that there is no means to contribute.
Like
Version 1.7.2
Bigboysdad
11 September 2010
Excellent utility. Developer is very helpful and responds real quick too.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.2
GrenadeBait
09 August 2010
Pretty darn good little utility! It has given me no problems since day one of getting it and I have it running all the time as a startup item. I hope the developer keeps it up-to-date with the evolving Mac OS so that it continues to function as Apple updates.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.2
Cturner
03 July 2010
This is the only controller I have found that allows you to find a playlist, artist, album or song through it (via drop down menu) and not bringing iTunes to the front. Lots of possible configurations and hotkey assignments possible. Tech support for minor problems has been excellent. Highly recommend.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.2
Thecause
24 June 2010
"The You Control: Tunes utility gives you full control over iTunes even when you are not in iTunes. You can set hot keys to control any or all of the iTunes controls including Next or Previous Track, Play, Pause and even the Volume." - http://www.yousoftware.com/tunes/ Where and how do you set hot keys for play, pause, back and forward? I have looked everywhere. Please make this more obvious for the end user. Z
Like
Version 1.7.2
Bernak
04 May 2010
A small application that adds the basic iTunes controls to the menubar. You can configure the way it looks, like changing the buttons icons to one of many included alternatives, the options on the menu, etc. Very easy to use when you finish configure it the way you want it by using the application. After that, just the iTunes icon remains in the the dock. You click play and it wil launch iTunes, hide it fast and start playing the first song in your library. From there you can choose one using the menu or simply use iTunes like always and use the controls when you need to pause or skip one song. For me, discrete and functional. Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 1.7.2
Kristine-Roman
19 September 2008
Help! I downloaded TunesBar and now my computer runs extremely slow and nothing plays on TunesBar! It won't allow me to quit or forcequit either! I've tried trashing the program but it won't let me because it says "its in use". Anyone have any ideas on how to quit/uninstall this thing??? Every time my cursor scrolls over TunesBar, it changes to the color wheel! I need help! Thank you
Like (2)
Version 1.7.1b1
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
19 September 2008
You posted to the You Control: Tunes page, but you are talking about TunesBar. TunesBar is here: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/28190/tunesbar
Like
Version 1.7.1b1
Jomama7366
09 September 2008
This is a great program. Easy to use and configure. A great way to access your iTunes music from the menu bar without having to constantly switch to the program. HIghly recommended.
Like
Version 1.7
scottwild-co
13 August 2008
Great bit of software, and its free.the only hassle is you have to sign up for a free reg key. i have used paid for apps to control iTunes [coversutra etc]and i find this free software beats all of them. I highly recommend you try this
Like (3)
Version 1.7
Babyfett
29 April 2008
Love it. Use it every day and have never had a problem. If they started charging, I'd start paying.
Like
Version 1.6.1
Roro01
21 February 2008
The best iTunes controller Many, many thanks to the developer for implementing the feature I mentioned below - now iTunes is being opened in "Hide" mode.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.1
Trevelyan
18 December 2007
Absolutly awesome. The only thing i would like to see is the ability for the song title to stay in MenuBar without the ticker. I bought Barquee a while ago [before i learned of this app]. It did this, but it's no longer supported under Intel Mac's or Leopard. Thanks for this great and much needed application!
Like
Version 1.6
Roro01
01 November 2007
A CRUCIAL ELEMENT IS MISSING The developer should realize that the only purpose of installing an application like this one, is to use and control iTunes without seeing it's face i.e. it must open iTunes in "Hide" and have an additional menu item "Show iTunes" to enable the user to toggle. Otherwise we can simply launch iTunes from the dock and control it through itself! It is really a make or break situation.
Like
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
Swo
Swo
17 December 2007
Your point is valid, but until You Control: Tunes is able to do so, all you need to do is minimize iTunes to the Dock (which pretty much brings about the functionality that you're seeking).
Like
Version 1.6
Undertow
10 June 2007
Great software. It would be perfect if there was a volume slider in the menu bar, rather than volume up and volume down in the menu. I had no problems registering, it took all of 3 minutes. As for selling my soul because I gave a company my email address and IP, flippin big whoop.
Like
Version 1.5.1
BrentB
19 April 2007
This software might work wonderfully, but I'm not going to use it. I'm disgusted that it's called "freeware" when it is NOT free. A better label might be "informationware." If I want to use it, it'll cost me my e-mail address and my MAC address. Why? And what about later on, once they have my e-mail address? Will it also cost me the time of deleting more ads and spam? Thanks but no thanks, frauds.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Cal80
18 April 2007
free?? dont you love freeware that gets you downloading then asks you to fill out forms and register? maybe i missed this new definition of free... well i wouldnt have bothered commenting except that the registration process took me to an "ERROR" page. i dont like my time being wasted. if these guys want to use a freebie to get people to give them their email addresses and visit their site (AKA consider their payware) then this is not the way to do it. we can go to MSN for that, or take a leap back to the nineties when that sort of thing was the norm. I HATE TIME WASTERS.
Like
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
Yogi-Coach
Yogi-Coach
10 July 2007
I understand that you're a bit frustrated by the process for downloading the website. Personally I don't think it's such a big deal, but you're certainly entitled to your opinion. My question is what caused you to give the software only one star? It's not clear if you actually used this software. I, like many Mac users, rely to MacUpdate for choosing quality Mac software. This service only works if the reviews accurately reflect the quality of the software. Thanks for reading.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Ryx
16 February 2007
you can quit by control-clicking on the menu item and selecting "stop engine"
Like
Version 1.5b2
Simichavel
15 February 2007
This software / menubar item does not offer a way to quit or be removed. Instant grounds for dismissal.
Like
Version 1.5b2
misomina
07 December 2006
The page to get the SN from seems to be dead. ????
Like
Version 1.4.1
Mrhooks
07 October 2006
Works as intended. However, the registration process is kind of a pain, as others have mentioned. Also, it took several unsubscribe attempts before You Software finally stopped sending me email advertising their wares. Also, it did something weird to my Startup Items - if I change any of my Startup Items from what they were when I installed You Control: iTunes, and I stop and restart YC:iT, my Startup Items list reverts to what it was when I installed YC:iT. That's too much crap to deal with. I uninstalled this, set up the same functionality using Butler, and never looked back.
Like
Version 1.4.1b2
Ritzy
08 May 2006
the best...5 stars and free.... using for almost a year and still in the menubar 2 never leave it cause it´s so easy and practique that i´m amazed that it´s free and does what about 4 apps do in 1....like synergy and others. a obrigatory MUST HAVE!!!! thanks guys ;)
Like
Version 1.3.3
Zws
25 March 2006
I dont know what these folks are talking about. Yes the registration seems useless as it is a free product but it is the best overall itunes menu control app. It could use an update*. Id take 2 minutes to register the program over paying anyday. Its a great deal and after trying every controller I could get my little hands on I have settled on you control. Thanks for making this!
Like
Version 1.3.2
Jamesblunt
13 February 2006
thats not a free app, they want your soul. its unbelievable. they want all from you. if you use little snitch, ist not possible to use it. i think this is a "big brother", not a software company...
Like
Version 1.3.2
1 answer(s)
Gaoshan
Gaoshan
06 October 2006
Thanks for the tip. I was about to downoad this but now I will avoid it.
Like
Version 1.4.1b2
Pdxdude
12 January 2006
Holy cow. It's harder to try to register this "free" program that any Adobe or Macromedia suite. First, you *must* give your email to get a serial number to run it - it has no demo mode whatsoever. Then, when you enter the serial number, it captures your machine's MAC id and combines that with your serial number and name and tries to send that back to You Control. If the registration process fails (network down, timeout, whatever) you *can't* quit the registration panel. The quit menu is greyed out, and the registration panel still dutifully requests you try again later, when, if the process fails again, asks you to try again, and again. Ugh, no thanks. I'll go try Synergy, Sofa, whatever.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Anonymous
23 July 2005
Fantastic to be able to control iTunes from any application. Well done!
Like
Version 1.3.2
Anonymous
02 June 2005
Excellent work! Congratulations!
Like
Version 1.3.2
Anonymous
19 March 2005
Why not use the free Quicksilver to control iTunes? I have it set up to control playback of iTunes and show the currently playing track with artwork in an attractive window. I can also browse my music library by album, composer, playlist, artist, genre or individual track. Then tack on everything else Quicksilver does amazingly, and I don't see why you wouldn't use Quicksilver.
Like
Version 1.3
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 April 2005
'Cause QuickSilver is amazingly slow and memory hunger as your application list grows.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 May 2005
I have no need of QuickSilver as my workflow is organized in my preferred way. This app does one thing and one thing well, control iTunes w/o the overhead of QS. Just my .02. If QS works for you, grand! It isn't for me.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 May 2005
I'm not sure where you get that QS is a memory hog. I have it running all the time, and it barely uses more memory than the Weather widget from Apple. I remember a couple versions ago, QS had a memory problem, but that has since been fixed. I can understand not using QS because you're used to a certain workflow. If it screws you up, then don't use it.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Pyronecrocleptobeastapedaphiliac
Pyronecrocleptobeastapedaphiliac
02 June 2005
i just got a dog and i dont understand why you dont want a cat. here...ill sell you this orange if you buy an apple from me instead.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Anonymous
18 March 2005
Excellent. Your music is always there at the tip of your fingers, whatever the app you're working in. The automatic creation of playlists by artists, album or genre to select what you want to hear at a given moment is a brilliant feature
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
18 March 2005
First of all why do you insist on having your program make a connection to 65.19.165.53? As soon as I clicked to install it I got a warning from my unnamed firewall before it even installed to my computer. No notice no question asking for my permission, nothing. Have to say this is now in the trash and I will never use your software. Your site and IP are permanetly blocked. FYI to those of you who will demonize me for outgoing connection complaints get a life. This is mac not M$ crap. If I wanted software to spy on me or report that my ip is using their software I would stick with the M$ crap. Also, to the editor go ahead and delete this post because you have done it before and I do not understand why you will not allow such a post to make people aware of a program that makes outgoing connections to the developers site. Enough said, have a nice day.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
04 February 2005
. Synergy is better simply because even though this software is "free", they demand you register to take advantage of their services. These people want your marketing data so they install Spyware on your Mac and collect usage data about the sites you visit. So my recommendation would be to support a shareware dev like the guy who makes Synergy...or anyone else..just don't support Spyware.
Like
Version 1.2.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 March 2005
Do you know for a fact that it installs spyware (which seems to be extremely rare on the Mac platform), or is this just your guess? Anyway, if there is any spyware, wouldn't it be better to find out where it is stored, trash it, and keep the free app.?
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
01 November 2004
This is an absolutely stunning application! On the screen it's a simple set of controls on the menu bar much like a lot of iTunes controllers. When you click on the down arrow it's a whole new ballgame. You can actually control a great deal of what you want to listen to rather than just the usual start/stop/eject of a lot of the controllers. It responds quickly and lets you free up the screen real estate usually dominated by iTunes.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
03 September 2004
great app!
Like
Version 1.2.3
Ivan3
01 September 2004
itunes is almost perfect itself but this is the only controller i have used that actually makes it even better.I'd gladly pay for it---but it's FREEEEE.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
31 August 2004
Careful, this software "phones home". When I didn't let it, it crashed and wouldn't start up again (I'm using LittleSnitch).
Like
Version 1.2.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 September 2004
Thanks for the tip.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
31 August 2004
*** BEWARE *** This is from their "privacy policy" page (or anti-privacy policy page, as the case may be). Take a look at the last one, especially! This company's reputation is getting worse and worse as time goes on: --------------------------------------------------------- 3. Use of Personally Identifiable Information Unless you tell us not to (see the opt-out procedures below), You Software may use your personal information for the following purposes:   •   To respond to a request from you for information;   •   To send you our newsletter in response to your request;   •   To contact you regarding You Software products or services;   •   To contact you regarding a contest, promotion or survey you entered on our site; or   •   To allow our business partners to contact you regarding products or services that are similar or related to ours or we think would be of interest to users of You Software products or services. You Software may use a third-party service provider to perform any or all of these functions.
Like
Version 1.2.3
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 August 2004
I guess a little spam pays the bills when the shareware fees don't flow in, eh?
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 August 2004
yeah, that was in my mind as well. and, yeah, "free" but with a few strings attached. that kind of "free" I don't want. bah!
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 September 2004
Thanks for the warning.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
31 August 2004
"free" and "demo serial number"? I dunno about that.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
31 August 2004
It's good to see PTHiTunesNotifier finally come back. Shame it had to wait until after I'd already shelled out $5 for Synergy.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
31 August 2004
Incredibly easy to use and very customizable. A+!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
31 August 2004
Très très bon software. BRAVO!
Like
Version 1.0