webPhoto
webPhoto
1.4.2

4.5

webPhoto free download for Mac

webPhoto

1.4.2
12 April 2006

Share your iPhoto library online.

Overview

webPhoto is a Java Web application that reads your iPhoto Library and presents an interface similar to iPhoto via a Web browser so that anyone on any platform can view your photos. webPhoto is perfect for multi-platform homes and businesses that have an iPhoto library they would like to share.

Features:

  • Dynamically builds Web interface from contents of iPhoto library.
  • Choose which albums to display
  • Show or hide images associated to your iPhoto keywords
  • Create user accounts to protect your images.
  • Easily email users to inform them of new photos

What's new in webPhoto

Version 1.4.2:
  • Universal Binary
  • Increased maximum RAM that webPhoto will take (it will only take it if it needs it). This should help users that were having "OutOfMemoryError" problems with 6+ megapixel cameras. (Thanks to Ernst Mulder!)

Join over 500,000 subscribers.

Subscribe for our newsletter with best Mac offers from MacUpdate.

6 webPhoto Reviews

Rate this app:

Anonymous
26 August 2004

Most helpful

It works! It's very simple. Is useful to share all iphoto library. Good app.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Ionize
27 March 2006
All: I'm sorry that I just don't have time to work on this app right now. I've re-posted the latest 1.3 version on www.ionize.org for those that are having problems with the 1.4 version. The older version doesn't have the photo-resizing feature that some users are having problems with, so it should work fine. Note that both versions are available, so feel free to choose which ever version works best for you.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Dscorn
02 February 2006
Using v1.4.1 on a GigE 1.4 with 10.4.4 PPC, I'm able to start it up and browse it and add users and such (very impressive and easy!) but I have the same problem as another previous poster - when I click on a picture to display it full-size I get an error. Clicking on the other sizes presented (Tiny, full size, etc.) gives the error too.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Someonenew
19 January 2006
Bad idea: 1: It doesn't work. I can browse the albums, but when I click on a photo, I get an error. Developers should test more, especially on the basic functionalities of their products. 2: You're opening up a webserver with all possible vulnerabilities of any webserver, but without the big teams of developers to repair them. Who can tell this is a safe server? 3: You're using port 8080, which is a reserved port for other services. You should use an unreserved port.
Like
Version 1.4
3 answer(s)
K-booth
K-booth
19 January 2006
Gerwin, 1. It does work. When someone offers an application for no cost, you should adjust your expectations accordingly, especially your comments. Your tone is of someone that paid hundreds of dollars for an application. You didn't so don't. 2. Vulnerabilities? All web servers have vulnerabilities. If you are worried, don't use this application. 3. Port 8080 *is* registered with IANA as an alternate for HTTP services. That is, 8080 is a valid port for web services. If you have a conflict, don't use this application. Nice ap. Works as advertised. Great price.
Like
Version 1.4
Someonenew
Someonenew
19 January 2006
Whether I pay for it has nothing got to do with it. It simply doesn't work, so it doesn't work,period. I tried it. Anybody can make something that doesn't work. For free too. That doesn't make it good software. Good software is software that works, and if it's free, that's a very nice bonus. If I, like you suggest, adjust my expectations to the price, all free software is great. But it isn't. Secondly, yes, all webservers have vulnerabilities, that's exactly my point. This will have them too, and more so. Didn't know about 8080, guess you're right. Finally: Nice app, doesn't work, great price. (1/19/2006, Version: 1.4)
Like
Version 1.4
Ionize
Ionize
19 January 2006
1. Thanks for letting me know that it didn't work for you. I'm having some friends with different machine configurations try it out to see why this might not be working for you. I've had several other people report that it works fine, so I'm sure this is some easily fixable "missing library" problem or something. 2. webPhoto uses Apache Tomcat 5.5.9 as its webserver. It will not have any more or less vulnerabilities than that web server has. (http://tomcat.apache.org/) Thanks for the feedback!
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
20 August 2005
Magnificent, works as avertised, very fast!
Like
Version 1.3.5
Anonymous
28 July 2005
A brilliant application, so easy to use and as long as you have your system prefs-shared-firewall settings correct it works like a charm. Also the developer is very, very helpful, if you have any trouble just email him and it won't be long before he gets in touch. Really pleased with it and made a donation.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Anonymous
26 August 2004
It works! It's very simple. Is useful to share all iphoto library. Good app.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Free

4.5

App requirements: 
  • Intel 32
  • PPC 32
  • Mac OS X 10.2.8 or later
Developer Website: 
Download(7.61 MB)MacUpdateInstall with MacUpdate

Downloaded & Installed 8,574 times