Back to Nvu page
Nvu free download for Mac

Nvu Reviews

1.0PR
28 June 2005

WYSIWYG HTML editor.

macupdateuser
10 December 2008

Most helpful

Beware using Nvu to edit pages originally created with MS Pubisher - it destroyed the link between page and page files within their relative folders. Have spent hours trying to manually edit the corrupted image pathways - but Nvu just wont publish the corrections. What should have taken 5 minutes in MS Publisher, has wasted 5 hours of my time so far. I bought a Mac because I was tired of having to become a computer engineer just to get my equipment to do "what it says on the box" - I guess Nvu users are of a different mentality.
Like (1)
Version 1.0

Read 59 Nvu User Reviews

Rate this app:

valgrey
25 February 2018
Fine HTML editor
Like
Version 1.0PR
SickTeddyBear
28 April 2010
The Nvu project is dead. It's been replaced by KompoZer: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KompoZer http://www.kompozer.net
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
01 August 2010
The Kompozer page on MU: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/33915/kompozer
Like
Version 1.0
macupdateuser
10 December 2008
Beware using Nvu to edit pages originally created with MS Pubisher - it destroyed the link between page and page files within their relative folders. Have spent hours trying to manually edit the corrupted image pathways - but Nvu just wont publish the corrections. What should have taken 5 minutes in MS Publisher, has wasted 5 hours of my time so far. I bought a Mac because I was tired of having to become a computer engineer just to get my equipment to do "what it says on the box" - I guess Nvu users are of a different mentality.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
New-User
04 September 2006
Well my first reaction is very negative. Running the program sends it into a never ending loop of starting up and crashing. I can't even kill the stupid thing from Activity Monitor! The only way out of it is to log out of my machine. Yes, the readme warns against running it from the disk image. But this is a mac, we expect software to "just work"! If the program can't run from a locked disk image then either fix it or don't ship it on a locked disk image! Rubbish.
Like
Version 1.0
4 answer(s)
iPhone4S
iPhone4S
21 September 2006
Yeah, never run an app off of the disk image, ESPECIALLY when the read me tells you not to. It is pretty foolish to leave a negative comment about an app because you can't follow directions.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
21 November 2006
How about learn to follow directions? The app works fine.
Like
Version 1.0
Fredducker
Fredducker
23 September 2008
I have to agree with Toomis on one thing, which is the fact that it feels safer to be able to try an app from the disk image before installing it. Because sometimes you're gonna trash it right away because you notice the app is junk from the first time you try it. But I also understand that some people find it unacceptable to leave a comment based on that... it's not an issue worth fighting for, but maybe somehow it shows something about the app's CPU and disk space requirements?
Like
Version 1.0
Leif-Heflin
Leif-Heflin
16 February 2010
The point is that some apps need to write to a file within themselves since an app is just a folder. If the app is on a DMG, this isn't really possible. DMG's are just used for better appearance and a bit of compression.
Like
Version 1.0
Akrobat
11 March 2006
It looks good at first, however there's no preview function. Oh sure there's a tab that 'says' preview but it ignores any javascript and flash components and renders the pages horrendously for some reason. This is definately NOT wysiwyg! I find this strange considering other ultra-simple wysiwyg html editors such as WebMinimalist has this simple necessity. I find it a shame 'cause this app has some really handy features but I think I'll stick to Taco at the moment which seems to be the only TRUE, free wysiwyg html editor for OSX, and judging by it's 4.5 star rating I'm not the only one who thinks so.
Like
Version 1.0
Stuzy
01 February 2006
I find this app. makes a great companion to RapidWeaver when you need to do a little more html.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
03 July 2005
A follow-up to my last comment which probably sounds a bit too negative: Of course, people who do professional web design should be able to afford a commercial product and not have to rely on a free and open-source app. BUT, while they are at it, why not turn Nvu into a really excellent, state-of-the-art editor that can kick GoLive's and Dreamweaver's b*tt? Like many reviewers before me, I am very excited about this app and I'm sure it will become as great as, say, Firefox. I really hope so, because I don't like GoLive, nor Dreamweaver. So, thumbs up to the Nvu developers, keep going, I'll buy all of you a large mug of coffee.
Like
Version 1.0PR
Anonymous
03 July 2005
Sigh... Nvu (1.0 final release, not PR!) is a good start: not because it's a good WYSIWYG html editor, but because it's the ONLY free WYSIWYG html editor available for Mac OS X. Sadly. The work that has been put into this software is very highly respected, and things can only get better from here on. I'm sure Nvu is great if you just want to hack up a couple of simple pages without needing to know about HTML. However, if you do professional web design, you can safely forget about Nvu at this stage. There are just too many inconsistencies and bugs if you really need to rely on the details and focus on high-quality, elegant code. You can only switch between HTML 4 and XHTML 1 and between transitional and strict DTDs, and that is not honored correctly (if set to XHTML, an HTML 4 header is inserted anyway). It does the most vile thing a web editor can possibly do: it automatically reformats and changes your existing code, even if you tell it in the preferences not to. If you use inline CSS formatting, it inserts a huge bunch of completely unnecessary CSS formatting statements. This is about as bad as it can get; a regression to the bad, dark, old world of the web-editing stone age à la Claris HomePage (1997). Not good! To sum it up, if you're still stuck in the HTML 4 era (1997-2000), and don't care about what's happening in the background (i.e. code), Nvu will be quite a useful piece of software. If you're going to do state of the art web development (using XHTML 1 and CSS), Nvu will not work for, but against you. It's more fun developing with a standard text editor (as before) than wasting time editing out the bad stuff Nvu automagically puts into your code. The interface looks very promising but needs a lot of polish. There are some nasty bugs that absolutely shouldn't be in a 1.0 final release, like if you close the last document window, the menu functions for creating or opening a new document no longer work; the only way to get out of this is to quit and re-launch Nvu and then open a file from within the document window that's created on startup. So -- looking forward to a hopefully bright future viz. open source WYSIWYG web editing on Mac OS X, and may the force be with all developers working on such a project.
Like
Version 1.0PR
Anonymous
30 June 2005
for some reason my last comment was cut short. should have said calls to "basic-bongo.dawber.dreamhost.com"
Like
Version 1.0PR
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 July 2005
It does phone home, yes, but only to increment a download counter on a developer's site. It even explicitly says so before doing it, and you can deny this connection if you don't like it. (I've used the 1.0 final release; maybe this is different in the 1.0 PR...)
Like
Version 1.0PR
Anonymous
30 June 2005
would be interested to know if it calls home? certainly it calls to
Like
Version 1.0PR
Anonymous
30 June 2005
This may sound stupid, but how do I get the main window back after I closed it? I've tried everything, but nothing works. I'm using Mac OS X 10.4.1
Like
Version 1.0PR
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 July 2005
It's not your fault but obviously a major interface bug in Nvu, which, btw, is still present in the final 1.0 release. Once the last document window has been closed, you can no longer open a new document or load a file. Only solution: quit and re-launch Nvu, then load a file or open a new document.
Like
Version 1.0PR
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 July 2005
Thanks, now I know that it's not my system. I hope they fix this soon.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
16 June 2005
Excellent little HTML editor. Simple and powerful that even the big boys fail to do.
Like
Version 1.0PR
Anonymous
13 June 2005
Great little app- runs fine on my iBook+10.3
Like
Version 1.0PR
Anonymous
24 April 2005
NVU 1.0 runs on TIGER just great. Good job!
Like
Version 1.0PR
Anonymous
15 April 2005
Nvu seems to be on the right track as FireFox was about 2 years ago. Its just been ported to Mac - and it shows. User interface is Windows like and not very friendly. On my Pismo G3 400 - it crawls and is almost unusable - but thats even acceptable for now as Apple is selling far more new computers. However, having said all the negatives above - this has GREAT potential. It could be the Firefox of web editors. The site management layout is good and the multiple tabbed interface is a great idea. I suggest Mac users with G4 or faster computers use Nvu and help in giving enough feedback so that the developers can work on making this better.
Like
Version 1.0PR
Anonymous
15 April 2005
This program gets better and better. It now edits CSS in external style sheets. It's available for Windows, Mac, and Unix systems. You can manage many websites, each having many pages. Works with file system access or ftp. Downsides? Of course. The style sheet editing isn't obvious. There are some hiccups in the user interface. But consider the price. And it is possible to report bugs. I like it.
Like
Version 1.0PR
Anonymous
15 April 2005
This release is a joke. Nothing seems to work: Font menu is not available under Format (or anywhere else), text would not align, a scroll-down button is missing in the Help window, columns in a table disappear in an instant after a click (?!) ... This is an affront! DO NOT INSTALL THIS VERSION!!
Like
Version 1.0PR
Anonymous
14 April 2005
Nvu is coming of age nicely. It's a great tool I recommend to all newbie web developers who can't afford Dreamweaver or GoLive, but want to learn the ins-n-outs of WYSIWYG and code-based web development.
Like
Version 1.0PR
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 April 2005
Nvu, may not be a perfect app, but the progress that have been done these last three month are very impressive. The application is maturing, it's a perfect tool for every one who wants to learn how to make web pages. More over this app might help people to stay away from pirated version of abusively overpriced commercial products. This said Nvu, is very usable, just do not forget to save your work. Personally I do not understand the "critics" I can read here and there. Kudos to the develloper. Keep on the excellent work!!
Like
Version 1.0PR
Anonymous
14 April 2005
With each new upgrade, NVU just keeps getting better and better! - Russell G4 (Digital Audio O/S 10.3.6 Sonnet 1GHz w/Level 3 Cache 1Gb Ram
Like
Version 1.0PR
Anonymous
09 April 2005
Ever since I switched to the Mac in 1998, I have been looking for my "FrontPage Express" replacement, and Nvu is finally it. Essentially Mozilla Composer with a site manager, this app is the real deal. We should all use this app, support the author with feedback, tell everyone about it and help improve it. I am absolutely astonished that Apple doesn't offer a webpage making program for the consumer (the .Mac stuff aside.) Go NVU!
Like
Version 0.90
Brian Kendig
15 March 2005
It's nice that it's free, but it feels clumsy to use. It's not very Mac-ish, and it doesn't support a lot of Mac keyboard shortcuts. It feels more like a Linux port.
Like
Version 0.90
luxuryluke
14 March 2005
This is an incredible program, especially for being free. That said, there needs to be a little more work on the Site section of the program. Accessing files off the network would be cool, as well as relative links. CSS support seems good, but then again, I've manage to learn what i would consider ideal CSS practices, so hopefully if people aren't CSS coders, this would encourage proper style-coding. I'll be watching this app for sure! GO MOZILLA, GO!
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
11 February 2005
I was trying to make a cell span over the rows below, but Nvu freaked out - it created an extra column, and when I managed to fix that the second column would not be even with the second... then I tried Mozilla's Composer and noticed this same bug is there. Oh well. Back to good old Claris Home Page...
Like
Version 0.81
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 March 2005
Sounds like you many not be using modern coding practices -- get off the tables, unless you are using tabular data. We don't code like it's 97' anymore, welcome to being a professional.
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
03 February 2005
The anchor problem that I had mentioned in my previous review turned out to be my fault, and NOT the fault of NVU - Russell
Like
Version 0.80
Russell-Gleason
02 February 2005
This version of NVU (Ver.0.80/Beta) is a whole lot better than the previous version. It seems alot snappier (quicker), less buggy, and definately more keyboard command friendly (i.e. - copy/paste keyboard commands). Having only briefly tried it so far, the only thing can fault it for was I had some mystery anchors appear at the bottom of my page which were all duplicates of the very last anchor that I made. I had to use the Netscape Composer to finally get rid of them. As far as IMPROVEMENTS that are needed - when you use the OPEN or SAVE AS options and the "WINDOW with the COLUMNS" appears for you to make your choice as to where to OPEN or to SAVE the document you want - it would be nice to be able to manually adjust the with of those COLUMNS [which by the way, is a STANDARD CAPABILITY of most OS-X software programs]. Other than that, NVU is starting to look good, really good! This developer is definately headed in the right direction with this program. - Russell
Like
Version 0.80
Anonymous
02 February 2005
The icons are really nice. Possibly the best since Safari Aqua Blue came out in SafarIcon.
Like
Version 0.80
Anonymous
02 February 2005
The world does need a wysiwyg Web authoring app. that is cheaper and has an easier learning curve than Dreamweaver or Go Live. I'm amazed that so far Composer (and this) is the only alternative. Composer (and presumably this) has some annoying features, for inst. that with it link-to-inserted-anchor is way too hard to do, and it lacks any documentation (you may want to have a look at http://eee.uci.edu/help/composer-mozilla/, but it also has some good points, such its ability to handle Unicode and the fact that it writes fairly decent and clean code (something Claris Home Page does NOT do, it introduced far too much proprietary code). And all, the Mac community really needs a decent low end app., and for the moment Composer / Nvu is all we have. So let's treat it with a little respect.
Like
Version 0.80
garbage
21 January 2005
Nvu is now stable enough to be usable. I support the developer's effort to make a stand alone version of Composer necause : 1) Mozilla developers roadmap shows Composer will be unbundled & left to die in the future. 2) Most folks want a simple to use wysiwyg html editor as they only have modest needs. If you get PAID to develop in html that s nice for you but who else wants to learn a language just to knock up or edit the odd page NOT ME! It's a bit like back in the 80's when creating a text document required you to remember all the arcane coed of Wordstar AND embed printer control codes as well - idiocy! Long live wysiwyg!!!!
Like
Version 0.70
Anonymous
18 January 2005
Yes, the COMPOSER is also built into the Netscape 7.2 Browser as well.
Like
Version 0.70
Anonymous
18 January 2005
Stop the Presses! There appears to be a more advanced version of NVU. It's a WYSIWYG-HTML Web Editor called COMPOSER and its built into Web Browser Mozilla 1.7.5. Somehow Mozilla must be connected the NVU project? because they look alike. The difference is COMPOSER seems to be more advanced (more stable, less buggy). Check it out at http://www.mozilla.org/products/mozilla1.x/sysreq.html
Like
Version 0.70
Anonymous
16 January 2005
Until NVU is ready to accept the standard "command c" (copy) and "command v" (paste) keyboard commands [ESPECIALLY in the LINK window] I'm not ready to give up on my ancient OS-9 Claris Homepage yet. NVU is still in its infancy, BUT, the potential of this program becoming an awesome WYSIWYG - HTML editor definately exist. Had Claris Homepage continued to exist (in a OS-X format) my guess is it would have take the form of where NVU is heading today!
Like
Version 0.70
Russell-Gleason
15 January 2005
Since NVU isn't even a ver. 1.0 yet, I think any harsh critism should be with held (personal opinion). I just downloaded loaded it today (01/15/05) and I like what I see. It reminds me of the same ease and simplicity of Claris Homepage. It your going to issue harsh critism wait until the software has had a chance to make it to the development stage of v2.0 - 4.0, geez, give the developer a chance to develope! - Russell
Like
Version 0.70
Anonymous
06 January 2005
Stoopid reviews... In fact NVU is unfinished BUT it is a work in progress. It is free. It is open source. It will be good. Just let things appen. Look at Mozilla, Firefox, MPlayer, VLC, OpenOffice, etc. They were simple, unpolished, unusable applications. Now they are great free, rock solid apps that can compete with Internet Explorer, Media Player, Quicktime, Microsoft Office. Look at the Gimp, what it was, what it is (and what it will be, improving, coming close to Photoshop). One day we will have a free Dreamweaver like application. Thanks to open source, free software and projects like this one.
Like
Version 0.70
Anonymous
05 January 2005
The program encourages writing code at the same level as Microsoft word export, which is not standards compliant This program belongs to the 90s Wysiwyg editing is very limited, and I recommend another free HTML editor with realtime preview in safari, like subEthaEdit or Smultron (which is free for non-commercial users)
Like
Version 0.70
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2005
Although Word's HTML export is known for being hideously broken, Nvu's output is actually completely standards-compliant. It is not as semantically clean as it should be, perhaps, but is is a step in the right direction, and ought to be encouraged for this reason.
Like
Version 0.70
Anonymous
05 January 2005
How can it be that an HTML editor needs a 12 Mb download? I can't imagine that it is smaller once you unpack it. Offering an app like this is like asking you take a bus to get through the checkout line at a supermarket.
Like
Version 0.70
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2005
Addendum: Even if it IS cross-platform... If so, cross platform libraries have a looooooong way to go....
Like
Version 0.70
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2005
Addendum to the addendum: Then, if you want to see the SOURCES, you get to download a 30 Mb bzipped tarball. Holy snit! What's in there? The bus?
Like
Version 0.70
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2005
In the other hand, if you think about it, Dreamweaver is 70 Mo !.
Like
Version 0.70
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2005
Because this is a WYSIWYG editor, not just a simple text-based editor. You have to pack a lot more into a package that needs to render, such as a rendering engine.
Like
Version 0.70
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2005
The benefit of an embedded rendering engine is dubious, unless you're the sort of chipmunk who edits a 50Mb website on the wire, character by character and then checks it after each edit until you have it right. But chipmunks are an energetic and prolific species, so my hat is off to the developers for serving the chipmunky needs of their vast and bucktoothed constituency. Give me subEthaEdit any day.
Like
Version 0.70
Anonymous
29 December 2004
I've read a lot of glowing comments about this software both here and in forums around the web. Features are barely more advanced than 90s OS 9 versions of Adobe PageMill and Claris Homepage. There is absolutely no comparison to Golive and Dreamweaver. WYSIWYG is used somewhat loosely here. The results are only slightly better than an HTML export from either MS Word or Appleworks. Again, no comparisons to Golive or Dreamweaver. Ease of Use is worse than Pagemill and Homepage... but the GUI and buttons are pretty... Obviously the value is incredible, and the app appears stable after an hour of evaluation. The big question is... what is NVU trying to be? If the goal is an entry-level website design app, the software needs better WYSIWYG and improved ease of use.
Like
Version 0.60
Anonymous
03 December 2004
Yo. Same issues persist in this release when it comes to: 1. Open With... 2. Drag & Drop I love Linux more than most Mac-folk, but if I wanted to use Linux, I'd be usin' it, wouldn't I? This is OS X bay-bee. :) Props for making an icon that sticks with the .app, but I'd prefer the above things to work before I take Nvu into my warm digital embrace. Until then, it's got nothin' on Mozilla 1.7.3's Composer.
Like
Version 0.60
Anonymous
16 October 2004
Tip to developer: get Claris Home Page 3, then try to copy as much of its interface as possible! ~_^
Like
Version 0.50
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 December 2004
Tip to Anonymous: Not gonna happen.
Like
Version 0.60
Anonymous
13 October 2004
There are two things this app has to do before I'll trade it in for the two-step annoyance of opening a page in Mozilla 1.8, then hitting Cmd-E to get the opened doc to appear in Composer: 1. Act like any other OS X app: ability to drag-n-drop an HTML doc onto it and have it open that doc. 2. Act like any other OS X app: appear in the list of available apps when ctrl-clicking and viewing Open With... Until then, this isn't an OS X app, but rather a clumsy, bloated adaptation of an Darwin/X11 app. While the new icon is pretty, it doesn't even copy over with the app to my Applications folder. Sheesh.
Like
Version 0.50
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 October 2004
I reckon he could talk to the guy who packed up Gimp for OSX about this. It just needs a simple wrapper to integrate fully. I'd do it myself but I don't have time. The keyword is "droplet". http://macupdate.com/info.php/id/14597
Like
Version 0.50
Anonymous
12 October 2004
Excellent! Nvu no longer quits on Mac OS X 10.2.8 . With regards to the tools/functions, so far so good. One small glitch, when you quit Nvu, it seems to hang/spin. I have to select quit, again, from menu, in order for it to completely quit. I really like it. Looking forward to version 1.0 . Keeping my fingers crossed. Thanks to the development team.
Like
Version 0.50
Anonymous
12 October 2004
For a complete novice/amateur like me this is ideal. I've used software that's clunkier at version 1.0 than what this is at 0.5.
Like
Version 0.50
Anonymous
12 October 2004
0.5 is much better that 0.4x. it hasnt crashed yet (although im sure it will in near future - but thats much better than 0.4x which crashed every minute). it has a site manager now that works great... its getting better with every version!
Like
Version 0.50
Anonymous
12 October 2004
Still pretty buggy and I'll certainly never use it professionally for design (I prefer XHTML coding), but once it's more stable it could be something I'd use with my students. Great effort thus far! Thanks for keeping it truly cross-platform!
Like
Version 0.50
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 October 2004
For XHTML coding see, for example, Tag by www.talacia.com (which is a Cocoa app).
Like
Version 0.50
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
12 October 2004
The XHTML editor named 'Tag' is available here.
Like
Version 0.50
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 October 2004
Actually, I'm quite fond of SEEdit, but I'll at least look at Tag!
Like
Version 0.50
Anonymous
06 September 2004
still very buggy. i couldnt work with it... its always crashing... anyway a great project. im looking forward for a stable version!
Like
Version 0.41
stefano
05 September 2004
i am really happy they ported this for OS X - it reminds me of a modern version of Claris Home Page there are quite a few bugs though that make it hard to use - sometimes the keyboard shortcuts don't work at all sometimes with "CTRL" instead of "Command". then it is hard to select text - and I would be happy to be able to modify links without pressing OK for everyone. I would like a button to preview the page in different browsers - anyway - I wonder if it is going to be seriously developed for Mac OS X or it will be just a stepchild of the Linux version. it fills a gap in the applications for OS X. there should be for real a decent free WYSIWYG HTML editor. I cant believe this is the only one - maybe Mozilla Composer does not have these bugs - but will it be developed for OS X once the Mozilla suite will be split in different components? fix the bugs and i would give 4 stars. and 5 star value.
Like
Version 0.41
Anonymous
02 September 2004
Great to see it ported to MacOS X ! Thank you !
Like
Version 0.41
Anonymous
22 August 2004
The guy who ported this maintains a blog concerning development at http://webperso.easyconnect.fr/danielglazman/weblog/dotclear/index.php?Nvu He compiled 0.41 under 10.3.5 and it appears to only work on 10.3+ due to a compilation issue. I imagine the next version will address this.
Like
Version 0.41
Roodunn
19 August 2004
I just spent time at the product forum. It looks as though this requires 10.3.x rather than 10.1.x. Can someone verify this for us poor saps stuck in 10.2.8? I still have hight hopes! Thanks to all and to all a good night! Roo
Like
Version 0.41
Anonymous
18 August 2004
Quits on launch. (Mac OS X 10.2.8) I have hopes for this product. It's greatly needed.
Like
Version 0.41
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 August 2004
same here. "unexpectedly quits" on launch Jag 10.2.8
Like
Version 0.41
Jay15il
18 August 2004
It is now Claris Home Page. Pros: It is free, works with latest image formats and it is much needed. Cons: 30MB is a bit big. Doesn't understand frames, close x's should be right on the tabs if we must use tabs. Misuse of sheets--have a hard time editing properties of objects when the sheet covers over the object, should be a palette. Can't drag-n-drop html pages on application icon. Profile creation is bizarre with the horizontal scrollbar to move about 4 pixels of dialog text. Undo and Redo command keys don't work until the menubar is clicked... It goes on and on. Summary: This application is under development and it shows mostly in acting like a foreigner to the Mac. I thank all who are working on this and wish them the best of luck with it.
Like
Version 0.41