Back to iPodBackup page
iPodBackup free download for Mac

iPodBackup Reviews

1.5.4
17 July 2005

Backup home folder to an iPod.

Anonymous
03 August 2004

Most helpful

Do tell, why on earth does it need an admin password?
Like
Version 1.0

Read 20 iPodBackup User Reviews

Rate this app:

Anonymous
04 July 2005
When I first used this program, I was very excited. It has a simple interface, backups can be easily automated (using DoSomethingWhen) and it's free. However, after using this app for about a week and a half, for some reason I checked my backup. Because I use DSW to automatically run iPodBackup, I was backing up my home folder everyday. However, when I checked my backup disk image, none of the changes (added files, deleted files, etc.) had been recorded on the backup since my first backup. I tried trashing the backup file on my iPod and starting fresh, but this time I acted like it backed everything up, but created an empty disk image. I reinstalled the program (also trashed the prefs, exceptions file, and log), tried using the default settings, but still no luck. I'm running 10.3.9. Any help would be greatly appreciated. This application has a lot of potential; work through the bugs and it'd be great.
Like
Version 1.5.3
2 answer(s)
Amake
Amake
12 July 2005
I received one email from this person, but never got a response to my reply. I'm happy to try to address your issue, but I need more information.
Like
Version 1.5.3
Amake
Amake
07 August 2005
I still haven't heard back from this individual, but I believe his or her issue has been addressed in version 1.5.4, for whatever it's worth.
Like
Version 1.5.4
David144
25 May 2005
What better use for your iPod's free space than a backup of your home folder ? iPodBackup wraps a simple graphical user interface over the rsync command-line file synchronization tool. Things work as expected, features and user preferences have been added with each version update. iPodBackup is perfect if you are looking for a simple, hassle-free backup tool. As a side note, it integrates perfectly with Mac OS X's disk image functionality, letting you back up your data to encrypted disk images.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
23 May 2005
Rocks. I still new to mac. And this will makes me still. EASY to use and the PRICE? WOW
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
10 April 2005
This is an awesome program...I've never bothered backing up before but this is just way too easy. I've never bothered rating a program before, either...it's just that good! Thanks! :)
Like
Version 1.4.2
Anonymous
20 February 2005
This is wonderful! The text-file configuration may scare some people, but it's simple and it does the job. If you just need to back up your home folder to your iPod, it's perfect.
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
15 February 2005
This program hasn't worked for me since I tried it out the first time. Ironically, the only version that worked was one of the first, less mature, versions that was released. I've tried the last five releases and the same thing always happens. A folder is created on my 4G iPod then the program shuts down, leaving only a 36 MB file inside that folder. Since the first time I used iPodbackup, I've installed all the OSX Panther upgrades as they came out and switched from a G4 TiBook to an Aluminum G4. I wished I could make it work, it's a great idea and the first version I used worked flawlessly.
Like
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Amake
Amake
16 February 2005
Please email me the log file to ipodbackup {at} mac {dot} com
Like
Version 1.4
topher
01 February 2005
Works great. Super simple to understand. Tried it out after a horrible experience with Intego Personal Backup (don't pay for that). This also lead me down the path to look at RSyncX for syncing my iBook with my G5 (Home directory only). Only major addition I would pay to see ... drag and drop for exclusions rather than manually editing plain test file. I have no problems, but my wife had a bunch of trial and errors, emphasis on the errors. This app is a bargain at twice the price :-D I have recommended it anyone that has an iPod and thinks that backups are a PITA.
Like
Version 1.3.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 February 2005
I'm interested by your idea for drag-and-drop exclusions. Could you tell me more what you have in mind? Email me at ipodbackup \at\ mac \dot\ com
Like
Version 1.3.2
Tallergolf
15 January 2005
Great piece of software. Really awesome. With spanish localization and under GPL license since version 1.3 good job amake
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
15 January 2005
never been able to download the app nor connect to the site... gulps. would need a mirror somewhere.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 January 2005
All the links work just fine for me, and the thousands of people who have downloaded iPodBackup so far, so I don't know what to tell you. In case it's a DNS problem, try this URL: http://homepage.mac.com/amake/software/ipodbackup.html
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
10 January 2005
Awesome program! Developer is very helpful; when I had problems with 'exploding logs' in 1.1.5, he tried to help me with the problems I was having, and has updated the program to allow for crash reports now. Does it's job quickly and efficiently. Should be used by every iPod user (never too many backups!).
Like
Version 1.3b
Anonymous
22 November 2004
Great program. This program with Peripheral Vision ensures that at least once a week, I have a current backup. Great work!
Like
Version 1.1.6
Anonymous
15 November 2004
This is one of the best utilities out there. I finally keep a fairly up to date and secure backup of my system. This in conjunction with Do Something When is a perfect combination for me.
Like
Version 1.1.6
Anonymous
31 October 2004
USE AT OWN RISK!!! I was using 1.1.4, and had no problems; 1.1.5 completely filled my main hard drive with log file gibberish, locked up my computer, and also took up 6 GB of space that I don't know where it is. Please fix this application, as I really do love it.
Like
Version 1.1.5
9 answer(s)
amake
amake
01 November 2004
Uh, please contact me so I can fix your problem; it doesn't do me any good for you to just post it on MU.
Like
Version 1.1.5
amake
amake
08 November 2004
I still have not heard from this individual, nor have I received any similar reports from the 1,000+ other people who have downloaded 1.1.5. I suspect the problem is not iPodBackup.
Like
Version 1.1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 November 2004
Sorry I haven't been able to reply... I found that the program had written to two log files on my drive; one into the system log, and another for the iPodBackup log (in System>Logs and Users>username>Library>Logs, respectively). I had left my computer for a while, allowing iPodBackup to run in the background. When I returned, there was a message on my screen that said "you are out of hard disk space". So I quit iPod Backup and the other apps that were open (I think Safari, iTunes, and Mail), then searched around for any large files (my drive had '0 KB' left), and that's when I found the two log files. I did not save them (7.4 GB and 3.1 GB, respectively), for I had nowhere to put them. I will run 1.1.6 and see if I have the same problem... but I hope not to, for this program is a GREAT help for me!
Like
Version 1.1.6
amake
amake
15 November 2004
Hello. iPodBackup does not write a log to /Library/Logs (I assume that's what you meant; there is no /System/Logs), so it sounds like iPodBackup may have crashed. I have never ever seen it crash, so unless you can help me figure out what caused it, there's not much I can do for you. Please email both of the logs to ipodbackup at mac dot com.
Like
Version 1.1.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 November 2004
Sorry, but I've deleted the logs, as they were both over 3 GB in size (and I would not be able to email them). I am now using 1.1.6, and having no problems anymore. I think the log was written in the 'Crash Logs' folder... but I notice now that there is no log from my most recent backup, so perhaps iPodBackup only creates a log if it crashes. I really do like your program... I just had some really bad problems with 1.1.5 (none with 1.1.6!). -Jeff
Like
Version 1.1.6
amake
amake
24 November 2004
I did not change anything between 1.1.5 and 1.1.6 that could account for the problems you described. I believe it was just a fluke.
Like
Version 1.1.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 December 2004
I am beginning to believe that it was a fluke as well, as I have used 1.1.5 again (just for testing), and all went well. If it ever happens again, I will try to save what information I can and email it to you... anyways, thanks for the program, and sorry if my original comments were misleading.
Like
Version 1.1.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 December 2004
I had a similar problem with a screensaver and a battery monitor at different times. They were writing debug logs. Each was writing something like 2M per second. I don't believe it was the authors' faults there either; but maybe there's a debug option to switch off somewhere in X-Code? I can't remember what the log entries were, but they were similar for both programs. I dunno, it's a while since I've done any programming. Oh, thanks for a great package, btw :-)
Like
Version 1.1.8
Pooted
Pooted
08 July 2008
Completed first back, then was reviewing files from ipod and my macbook pro crashed it will only start in safe mode and so far no diagnostics have worked.
Like
Version 1.5.4
Anonymous
30 October 2004
Very well done. Great job making it ignore music and catch files. Finally, a backup soultion I will acually use!
Like
Version 1.1.5
Anonymous
25 September 2004
I'm loving it :-)
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
30 August 2004
What a usefull app! And nice manual to modify the scripts. Great job!
Like
Version 1.1b4
Anonymous
24 August 2004
A simple, effective application that does precisely what I want it to: every time I connect my iPod (in conjunction with Peripheral Vision), it launches quietly, synchronizes my home folder to an encrypted disk image on my iPod, and leaves as quietly as it came, all without any interaction on my part. Although it is a fairly spare app (for instance, the only way to get detailed information on exactly what it's doing is to check the log file in ~/Library/Logs), the author does an excellent job of explaining both the development process of the application and exactly what it does on his web site. Highly recommended as a standard iPod backup solution.
Like
Version 1.1b4
Flash1296
12 August 2004
Does not launch; nor did the last version advice re: "If 1.1b3 crashes on launch, delete the log file in "Logs" in the "Library" folder in your home folder! In other words, delete ~/Library/Logs/iPodBackup.log. FAILS to solve the problem"
Like
Version 1.1b3
1 answer(s)
Amake
Amake
14 August 2004
Please email me!
Like
Version 1.1b3
leoofborg
03 August 2004
Not to diss this application, but if you have a 40 gig iPod and FileVault ON you can log out of your user and into either root or some other Admin'd user, and copy the sparseimage to the 'pod. When you go into /Users/YOU/ you'll see the YOU.sparseimage, otherwise it's hidden in the ~/.YOU directory (but not as root, go figure). I keep 2-3 of these sparseimage 'snapshots' of my user directory sorted in named folders like user_bak20040701, 0802, etc To restore, just reverse the process above. Works like a charm. I have a bloated user directory and the sparseimages come in at just under 2 gig (meaning that 2 encrypted, secure images can be burned to DVD). These images can also be mounted, so that you can recover files (I've done this too after throwing out something and then recovering it from 2 week old bak.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Amake
Amake
03 August 2004
But unless you keep your music somewhere other than ~/Music, you will be storing all of your songs on the iPod twice. Also, you don't have the choice of easily excluding things from the backup. And finally, not everyone has FileVault enabled, so your approach doesn't work universally.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
03 August 2004
Do tell, why on earth does it need an admin password?
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Amake
Amake
03 August 2004
The original reason for it is the fact that clicking cancel on the authentication window is the only way to stop the backup (for some reason the cancel button on the progress window won't kill the rsync processes). I also had another reason, but I can't recall it for the life of me.
Like
Version 1.0