Back to Namely page
Namely free download for Mac

Namely Reviews

2.5.1
20 November 2007

Launch apps by name.

Qubex
04 November 2007

Most helpful

Namely is always the first utility I install on any Mac. Its ease of use is simply incredible. It is designed for a single task and it acquits itself flawlessly. Brilliant, simply brilliant.
Like (2)
Version 2.5

Read 59 Namely User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jim-Leff
29 May 2015
If you've tried Launchbar, Alfred, and Butler and found them cumbersome, this one's for you. Namely is lean, simple, quick, effective, and does its one trick very well. Keep it in your dock and add it to your startup items so it's always available (otherwise you'll find yourself wishing for a Meta-Namely to launch or switch to Namely). Works great for me in Yosemite...I don't understand the issue referred to below about localized program names.
Like
Version 2.5.1
antoniong
29 October 2014
Was a great program until Yosemite. Now it no longer works when the program names are localized. A pity.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Sstoy
21 November 2012
Agree, stil the best, easiest, fastest, and most simple application launcher. Sets out to do one thing and does it perfectly. I pair it with Dockless so that it invisible.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Yoxi
21 July 2012
I love this, simple, small, immediate. So pleased it still works after all these years and OS updates :).
Like
Version 2.5.1
Yoxi
09 June 2010
Still my favourite launcher, especially once you discover the unique 2-3 letters for each app, very effortless to use. One refinement I'd like, though, is that when I use it to launch hidden/menubar apps, it doesn't fade itself afterwards. If there were some way to fix that, it'd be great (even though all that's needed is 2x Esc to clear it at the moment).
Like
Version 2.5.1
Xenophile
04 August 2009
This app is the cat's meow. If only Apple could somehow incorporate it into Mac OS X...
Like
Version 2.5.1
Drdul
12 January 2009
My dock's getting full! A request to the developer: can you make Namely a pref pane, and lose the dock icon?
Like (2)
Version 2.5.1
Eldritch
06 December 2008
This little app is pure simplicity and works like a dream. No clutter, no fuss and no go slow, like some application launchers out there. Intuitive, and easy, the whole process becomes second nature very quickly.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.1
Notefarm
20 October 2008
This is the program that I have on all of my machines the program I use all day everyday. It works and it wirks very well. It is wonderful ti know that there are folks woriting programs with a real purpouse. I love the fact that it does one thing and it dose it very well with no extra bells and whist les. A very well thought out Application.
Like
Version 2.5.1
resuna
04 November 2007
Why have two versions for Tiger and Leopard? It's not that hard to make code conditional depending on the version.
Like
Version 2.5
Qubex
04 November 2007
Namely is always the first utility I install on any Mac. Its ease of use is simply incredible. It is designed for a single task and it acquits itself flawlessly. Brilliant, simply brilliant.
Like (2)
Version 2.5
Hal0thane
04 November 2007
I've been using Namely for a year and a half. For me, the lightweight functionality of Namely works better than the Swiss army knife-like features of Quicksilver. The new version for Leopard fixes the issues I had experienced with Namely. I still consider Namely a cornerstone of my Mac experience, replacing Spotlight almost entirely.
Like
Version 2.5
Wcitymike
04 November 2007
I'm pretty sure Leopard now does this natively.
Like
Version 2.5
Drdul
21 August 2007
Nice, very nice! Launches most apps by typing just two letters. The annoying dock icon can be eliminated with Dock Dodger or a simple edit of Info.plist. This has now become my preferred way to launch apps.
Like
Version 2.1
Flec65
11 August 2007
The developper's site seems down since many days now. Can't download the app, too bad, it seems promising....
Like
Version 2.1
Pigzelner
29 October 2006
Namely is very small and looks very nice, and found my apps/games on my other hard drives with no problems. The bad part is that it lays in the dock all the time (I like to have the Dock as clean as possible and use an application launcher to launch my applications). Well, the overall: it's a very good application launcher! Keep up the great work!
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Deathaxe
Deathaxe
13 March 2007
You can revove it using dockless http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/12516
Like
Version 2.1
john-7
02 September 2006
Namely does what it says on the tin. It is very fast and compact. It does however have one problem: The learning algorithm is not sufficient. For example, after typing 'T' a few times and selecting Terminal, it would put Terminal at the top when I typed T. However, if I type 'TE' and select TextEdit a few times, it not will only put it at the top for 'TE', but also for 'T' (meaning Terminal is no longer at the top). Unlike Quicksilver which seems to use one ranking order per input string, Namely seems to use one ranking order for all input strings. This is fine if you're willing to satisfy it by typing until you get to a unique string of characters ('tex' for textedit, 'ter' for terminal), but otherwise you'll get unpredictable behaviour. Hopefully this will be addressed in a future version. For now, I'll stick with Quicksilver.
Like
Version 2.1
Bombadil
22 April 2006
Thanks for your reply, but I edited the plist file like you said but it made the search bar window invisible, instead of the dock icon.
Like
Version 2.1
Bombadil
21 April 2006
I love it! I was sceptical because ever since I got Tiger, I've been useing Spotlight for launching apps. But Namely is actually faster and you can choose your favourite aqualicious colour too so it matches the Spotlight menu or your desktop very nicely. Feature request: please make it possible to not have a dock icon when Namely is open. I much prefer just using a keyboard shortcut to bring it up. Keep up the good work!!
Like
Version 2.1
3 answer(s)
Yoxi
Yoxi
22 April 2006
You can make this a non-Dock app by goinginto Package Contents and editing the info.plist file by adding the lines: NSUIElement 1 which will make Namely a background app - this means you can't quit it the normal way, but it's invisible until you invoke it from the keyboard. Neat.
Like
Version 2.1
Yoxi
Yoxi
22 April 2006
Dammit, I forgot that this system edits out stuff in angle brackets - so what you need to add to the info.plist file looks like this: {key}NSUIElement{/key} {string}1{/string} but replace the curly brackets with angle brackets like the rest of the entries in the file you're editing. TextEdit is fine for editing the plist file, by the way.
Like
Version 2.1
Sabor
Sabor
18 May 2006
You can also use "Dockless" to make the dock icon disappear without having to mess with app files directly.
Like
Version 2.1
Tekl
30 March 2006
Looks nice, but doesn't remember the favourite applications. If I enter "pho" and select "Photoshop" i want to launch "Photoshop" every time I enter "pho", until I select another app.
Like
Version 2.0.3b1
2 answer(s)
mu-16
mu-16
02 April 2006
As you keep using it, frequently used applications will move towards the top. So unless you have another application starting with "pho" that you use a lot, Photoshop should become accessible using that shortcut after at most a few uses, and later even using "ph" or "p".
Like
Version 2.0.3b1
Tekl
Tekl
02 April 2006
Oh thanks, I just made a too short test of your application. Now I've found my favourite launcher. Thanks. Btw. the popup-list will be overlayed by the dock if the list is very short and display below the search-field instead of above.
Like
Version 2.0.3b1
Aetnaria
22 March 2006
Handy little thing. Any chance of having the option to move it to the rightmost region of the top of the screen, rather than smackdab-center of the top?
Like
Version 2.0.3b1
1 answer(s)
mu-16
mu-16
02 April 2006
You can move the Namely window to anywhere on your screen. Sorry if this wasn't obvious. Amar
Like
Version 2.0.3b1
Kemo"
21 March 2006
Great Application but i have Spotlight...
Like
Version 2.0.3b1
Mcjules
08 March 2006
Really easy to use, doesn't need much resources, very good application launcher! And it doesn't get in the way when you don't need it, which is nice.
Like
Version 2.0.2
JeePee
27 December 2005
Simple, fast, great! Thanks!
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
28 November 2005
Thanks I love Namely I tried using spotlight but on a 700 emac it is just absolutely to slow, with Namely the applications are there almost immediately.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
25 November 2005
Excellent. Easy to use, stylish and quick. Thanks!
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
23 November 2005
I've been avoiding application launchers, preferring to use aliases, but Namely is elegant simplicity. Kudos to the developer.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
23 November 2005
Replaced Quicksilver for me. Does exactly what it's supposed to do, but faster than either QS or Butler.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
19 November 2005
great little app. I use butler (which is more full-featured) on my everyday user, but namely on my stripped-down music recording/performance user because it is faster and leaner and still gets the job done.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
18 November 2005
This is a simple but very useful app
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
18 November 2005
I think this app is better without a dock icon. So I removed the dock icon using Dockless (free) and now I press the shortcut keys if I want to launch namely.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 November 2005
Oh and also, you can use an app like Butler to put a menu item for namely to make it like spotlight. You just have to be creative people :P In Butler, add a new menu item with keystroke and set it to namely's shortcut key and your done.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 November 2005
Good tip! Namely with Dockless does exactly what I was looking for. Very good.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Coy
17 October 2005
This is a must have app! I love this thing. For me, it's faster than using Spotlight to bring up an app and I don't have to throw so many things in the Dock. This app is also next to nothing in size by today's standards. I hope it stays that way. One suggestion I have is to add in a feature where I could blacklist apps on the fly right from the list that comes up so I don't have to mess with going into the prefs. Keep up the good work!
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
05 June 2005
If this was packaged in a Spotlight-esque menu extra with prefs to restrict searches to certain folders. Then it would be perfect. As it is, the searching is instant, but the interface it uses is junk. Hopefully the developer will turn it into a menu extra, it would be sooo great as Spotlight isn't good for searching quickly for specific things.
Like
Version 1.6
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 June 2005
I don't really see what difference it would make if Namely was a menu extra. You would still need a click or a keystroke to invoke it. In fact, it would become harder to click because the menu icon would be smaller than its current Dock icon.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 October 2005
i don't like the whole menu extra idea because my menu bar is already cluttered enough as it is. at least the dock has some room to spare.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
24 May 2005
Just download it, you will love it. I cant live without it.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
09 May 2005
A fine & usefull application. Namely is very responsive. However I would like it more if it will be part of the menubar and not of the dock. I mean to have a menubar icon which you have to click or to use the shortcut keys to bring up the search field, whitout a dock icon.
Like
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 August 2005
just keep it open and press cmd+esc to bring it to focus when you want to use it.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
08 May 2005
very nice
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
01 May 2005
I use and love - well, really like - Namely. I tried quicksilver, but wanted something simpler. I may end up going to QS later on, but for now, namely fits the bill great! One comment I have is that if you screw up typing and get no results because you type for instance texr instead of text, the app tries to look for apps with that name, and is unresponsive for a few seconds (I have a lot of apps on my machine) until it lets you delete the offending characters and get the app u want. But that's just a little thing. I really like the exclude apps/folders option too.
Like
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
asmeurer-1
asmeurer-1
07 May 2005
Yeah, QS has a bit of a learning curve to it. I do recommend it though.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
18 March 2005
This is a great program. It is simple, functional, fast, small, easy to use, free, and reliable. I highly recommend it.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
28 February 2005
I'm still using 10.2.8 so I found this to be very useful. Thank you for making it a free release!
Like
Version 1.5.1
Ian P
23 February 2005
This program is wonderful. It raised my productivity more than any other program. I recommend it. (just read the discription of the program, it's cut and dry, but it's works better than you'd think. WAY better. Just try it out!)
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
08 December 2004
This isn't a bad program, but it's entering a niche which already has some very high quality contenders. Most notably, I highly recommend Quicksilver by Blacktree software. It's available here on MU, or at http://quicksilver.blacktree.com . It's free, it has a customizable appearance, and numerous plugins to let it interact with other applications. There are, however, some reasons you might choose Namely over Quicksilver. Notably, Quicksilver requires OS X 10.3, and the final may require 10.4. Also, if you have a older computer, Quicksilver can be a bit slow. (I am not, incidentally, related in any way to the developers of Quicksilver)
Like
Version 1.5.1
2 answer(s)
Amar Sagoo
Amar Sagoo
08 December 2004
The main advantage I see in Namely is that Quicksilver has a bit of a learning curve, which I don't think should be necessary if all you want to do is open applications.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 February 2005
I like Namely because it's extremely simple, and does the one thing I want it to do. I don't need plugins and other stuff for my purposes.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
08 December 2004
It's nice, but metal windows are evil, and when it's Aquafied it looks funky with those thick metal borders. How about an option to eliminate the window decorations completely, reducing it to a kind of pure zen floating input widget (use cmd-drag to move, opt-drag to resize)?
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
02 December 2004
nice little app but i think it needs some work. if your running konfabulator then you should check out the SearchLite Widget. http://www.widgetgallery.com/index.php?search=SearchLite&x=5&y=14 Very similar functionality but also supports google searching and terminal commands. Also it appears via hotkey and looks soooo much better than a simple window, also, no dock icon :0) maybe the developer of this app should check it out to see how it should be done! ...also, would be better as stand alone app as supposed to konfab widget!
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
02 December 2004
I use and like Namely. I've tried the other apps mentioned, but I prefer Namely for a few simple reasons: I want a keyboard means of launching apps in ADDITION to using the mouse/Dock/Finder. I already use iKey for many other automation purposes, so I just want a simple type-and-run app like Namely. As for its being on the Dock itself, I keep the Dock hidden and rarely use it, but I have done a simple tweak to its Info.plist file to remove it from the Dock, remove its menu, and keep it out of the command-tab app switching list. Some may argue about its speed compared to other apps, but it is plenty fast enough for me and it's free.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
02 December 2004
Great app! It does what it says it will do perfectly. You click the icon or use the hot-key and a window appears. You type some letters from the name of the app you want, and a list appears. Keep typing to narrow it down, or select one with the mouse. Voila. Very fast, very simple, very nice, very free.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
02 December 2004
The idea is something I totally agree with. It's just the implementation that is lacking. Activation via MenuExtra and/or key-stroke, and having the search window be a global floating (instead of eating up dock space), and then you'll have something truly useful. Right now it's just a good basic technology demo.
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Amar Sagoo
Amar Sagoo
02 December 2004
I think having it in the Dock makes sense, because when you think about opening an application, you are most likely to look at your Dock anyway to see if it's already running. And although it takes up one space in your Dock, it allows you to remove many other apps from the Dock that you don't use so often. Also, Menu Extras are actually meant for displaying status (they are 'officially' called Status Items). And you can already activate Namely with a keyboard shortcut in v1.5.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
02 December 2004
I would rather recommend we all review the software, namely... well Namely. I'd review it but I'm already using a more advanced program I won't name, just to be different. :)
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
02 December 2004
I suggest Quicksilver. It's fast and it does everything you can imagine.
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 December 2004
I don't want everything I can imagine.I just want to launch stuff.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
20 November 2004
Suggest'TigerLaunch'as better app 'Namely's developer has a good concept -- create a workaround for the god-awful "Dock". However, there is a superior execution in a well-designed background app, TigerLaunch 1.02. No typing, no app floating about. It's also freeware. [The app runs fine under 10.2.8. Haven't tried it under 10.3.x. I can wait for 10.4.x] USE: From a complete list of all apps choose only the apps wanted TigerLaunch then implements a pull-down menu with only those names (with icons) you selected. The menu is accessed directly from an "tiger-ish" icon in the menu bar.
Like
Version 1.1.1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 November 2004
I suggest XMenu over TigerLaunch as the former is customizable.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 December 2004
Well Butler beats all of the above, hands down. You can access it via a menu, or by typing an abbreviation. 1eye typing is the entire point of a utility like this. You don't have to reach for the mouse and scroll through a hundred apps to get to the one you want.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
20 November 2004
Curse the shortcomings of posting systems! The extra two lines I mention in the previous post should look like the following, if you replace these curly brackets with angle brackets, which the macupdate system kindly filtered away into the aether for me last time because it thought it was html tags... {key}NSUIElement{/key} {string}1{/string} {/dict} {/plist}
Like
Version 1.1.1