Back to Backdrop Folders page
Backdrop Folders free download for Mac

Backdrop Folders Reviews

1.3.4
03 March 2005

Finder addition uses Expose for folder views.

Anonymous
04 July 2004

Most helpful

Fantastic app with the potential to become the next big thing. To the developer: patent it quickly before Apple assimilates it into their BorgOSX! A few little tweaks which would be great: - Auto-resize turns off when you manually resize a view, could it turn back on when you double click the rounded bar? - Dragging and dropping files and folders from the view doesn't work very well. Dragging requires 2 clicks (focus + icon) and dropping only drops the file into the view, not into the folder inside the view. - A few of my folders were show a stange Icon file when they didn't contain one (except maybe a custom icon?) A superb 1.0 release... hope to see more!
Like
Version 1.0

Read 16 Backdrop Folders User Reviews

Rate this app:

Anonymous
03 March 2005
no way to scroll down with the mouse roll button :-/ no way to change the size of a menu no way to set backdrop menu hide when you are on the desktop and just call it when i do exposé. after that it will be a goood program :)
Like
Version 1.3.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 March 2005
no way to change the size of a menu ????? You should look harder !!! There is manual AND automatic resizing. As for showing the view only when Exposé is active, it won't be possible as long as Apple doesn't not make some Exposé API public...
Like
Version 1.3.4
Anonymous
03 March 2005
Something strange about this developers website, If Littlesnitch is operational on your system and you press 'deny' you can't enter their website ? Wha'ts going on here ?
Like
Version 1.3.4
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 March 2005
And instead of doing the right thing (an email to the developer to ask her/him about this), you post here, thereby spreading FUD for the tinfoil hat brigade.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 March 2005
The server is running on port 81 because I have two instances of Apache side-by-side. The old one with php4, the new one with php5. It's pretty common to have a web server on port 81 in order to migrate from one config to another without breaking things. If you deny Safari the right to connect to port 81 with Little Snitch, this no surprise that you can't access the site...
Like
Version 1.3.4
Anonymous
21 October 2004
There are two problems with this app that prevent me from buying/using it. It does not play well with dual monitors! If a backdrop folder is open on the second monitor, it insists on moving subfolders to the other monitor desktop instead of to the right as you would expect. Also, the right mouse button does not work as a Control-click, as with all other Mac apps. If these problems were corrected, this would be a winner. In the meantime, it is a no go.
Like
Version 1.3.2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 October 2004
You're probably right about the second monitor, I need to get one :-) As for the ctrl-click/right-click this is a strange limitation of OS X due to the background nature of Backdrop Folders.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 October 2004
Actually, if you're using a Logitech mouse, you can configure the right click as an advanced click : ctrl + click and it will work.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Anonymous
06 October 2004
Strange, I can get the contextual menu by cntrl-click, but not by Right-click on my two button mouse. This works in every other application. Also: Shouldn't need to cntrl-click to close a folder. And it should be possible to adjust the width of a window - especially since you can adjust the font.
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 October 2004
As for the right-click, this is unfortunately a limitation/weirdness of the AppKit for this kind of faceless background application. As for resizing the view, closing the window without contextual menu, resizing the font... you should take a look at the documentation a little bit closer ! ;-) (Help menu of the application).
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
14 September 2004
I've been using this app for a few weeks and can honestly say "it rocks" - I echo what 'Neil' says below. Definately give this a try.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Neil
14 September 2004
This product is awesome - I've found it indispensable - and a totally revolutionary way to navigate around folders. It is also one of the only programs available that makes good use of the new expose feature in Panther. Why have an empty desktop when it can be a fully functional hub, and with expose you will marvel at the usability. The developer is also a star - I emailed a suggestion and not only did I get a prompt response, he sent me a new version that fixed a problem I was having. If only all software was as useful and developers as helpful! Great Job - definitely try it out - and if you are like me, you won't be able to pay for the full version fast enough.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
17 July 2004
i like this idea but think it would be much better to have these windows hidden until your expose to the desktop and then they appear. thats what i thought this did but they stay on the dt all the time which is quite a bit of clutter.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Abhi-Beckert
14 July 2004
Way cool. I'm not to sure how often I'll use this, or buy it. But this is definately a cool app.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
13 July 2004
I am pretty sure that Apple already has this planned for Tiger OS X 10.4 . But, until then, WAY COOL!
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
09 July 2004
I won't review until I can use it. How is it I can't download it and their website ("lachose") is down? Is it normal practice to announce a product which can't even be tried?
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
09 July 2004
I can't believe noone's done this before.. What an awesome idea! But there needs to be a key command to double-click and show a file in the findow (or if it's a directory, open it in the finder)... that would pwn. I love this app!
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 July 2004
How did you get to download it? The link from Macupdate and their own webpage aren't working…
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
06 July 2004
WAHOUUUU ... best idea since sliced bred.... when working on many parts of a project it allows me to monitor every folder attached to this project..allowing me to open, delete, move or copy files between folders.... my desktop isn't a mess anymore....
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
04 July 2004
I downloaded this last night and had no problem getting it up and running. I love the idea and as a previous review from Erika stated, patent it! There is much potential here I think. I have no problem paying for it but would like to possibly see a little more from it. First, if your "view" is small enough that scroll bars appear, it would be very helpful to be able to scroll up and down usin the mouse wheel. Related, it would also be useful to be able to move forwards or backwards by way of multi-button mice. I did notice a small amount of "skip" when using the click and drag on the scroll bar and would like this to be smoother, but as I know nothing of programming, I don't know how easily this could be brought about. Thanks for the great app. I'll be watching for more.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 July 2004
The skip during the drag should be fixable. As for the scrollwheel, I'm afraid it's impossible, because the trick is that the views are hold by a background only daemon, which is mandatory if we want to be able to work in Exposé mode. If I make the daemon activable (LSUIElement instead of LSBackgroundOnly), Exposé stops when you first click a view, which is a pain. If you want to check that yourself, you can enter the app with Finder's contextual menu Show Package content, then enter the daemon the same way (located in Contents/Resources). Open the info.plist file and change LSUIElement 0 to LSUIElement 1 Regards.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 July 2004
Crap ..... 18$ .... what are you thinking!!! total crap ...... very bad navigation ....
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 July 2004
it's your right to think that this product is pricy....but that doesn't make it crap.... i find this software very useful and original. it's so cool for developers per example. it's wonderful for my download folder also... great potential
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 July 2004
You obviously don't understand how to use this app. Lol. What a great idea! What a great idea! Bigfish, yeah, it ownz for developers! ;)
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
04 July 2004
Seems like a sound idea but I could get this to work in the demo time allocated. The 'documentation' seemed to be an extended commercial for the app. Maybe the insructions got lost in translation. Not willing to rate this badly as the problem is the presentation not the app.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 July 2004
Anonymous : you can mail me at bugreport lachoseinteractive.net . I'm interested to know what you didn't understand. Have you read the first section : "creating a new view" ?.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 July 2004
Fantastic app with the potential to become the next big thing. To the developer: patent it quickly before Apple assimilates it into their BorgOSX! A few little tweaks which would be great: - Auto-resize turns off when you manually resize a view, could it turn back on when you double click the rounded bar? - Dragging and dropping files and folders from the view doesn't work very well. Dragging requires 2 clicks (focus + icon) and dropping only drops the file into the view, not into the folder inside the view. - A few of my folders were show a stange Icon file when they didn't contain one (except maybe a custom icon?) A superb 1.0 release... hope to see more!
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 July 2004
Erika : - auto-resize : it should behave as you expect. When you resize manually a view, auto-resize turns off for this view. The double click in the bar re-activates auto-resize for this view. - dragging : the behavior you describe is the way it was designed, but that may evolve. - icon problem : can you tell me more by mail ? (email at bug lachoseinteractive.net). Thanks.
Like
Version 1.0