Back to Hijack iT! page
Hijack iT! free download for Mac

Hijack iT! Reviews

2.7
13 March 2006

Automates Audio Hijack Pro & iTunes. (was Hijack iTunes)

An-onymous
06 November 2009

Most helpful

Rubbish "helper" that makes AudioHijack even more uselessly complicated and user unfriendly than ever. There a SERIOUS NEED FOR AN APP THAT RECORDS SIMPLY THE INTERNET MUSIC without all the maddening fuss audio Hijack is dedicated to.
Like (1)
Version 2.7

Read 15 Hijack iT! User Reviews

Rate this app:

An-onymous
06 November 2009
Rubbish "helper" that makes AudioHijack even more uselessly complicated and user unfriendly than ever. There a SERIOUS NEED FOR AN APP THAT RECORDS SIMPLY THE INTERNET MUSIC without all the maddening fuss audio Hijack is dedicated to.
Like (1)
Version 2.7
Iamdorian
14 July 2008
I haven't used this app in a while, but I am now running iTunes version 77 (43), and I get an AppleScript error message. Additionally, try as I will, I cannot seem to find a download for v2.7 of HiJack It! only version 2.6.5 ... what's up?
Like
Version 2.7
Designr
11 August 2007
I don't use any non-Apple products currently but I prefer to remove the DRM as a matter of principle. There has not been a satisfactory way to do this since jhymn. I've tried a couple of scripts that purport to circumvent the DRM by importing songs into iMovie with little or no success. Then, along comes Hijack It! I already own a copy of Audio Hijack Pro and have Growl installed so Hijack It! wasn't a big stretch at just $12.00. Hijack It! works as advertised, scripting the process of hijacking the audio from iTunes, one song at a time, and renaming the output - Well worth the money for the time and trouble it saves. I'm grading it down to a 4 primarily on its lack of instructions (Ease of Use = 4). It took me several tries to get a reasonable result. More exhaustive instructions with regard to both iTunes and AHP would have been helpful. Results were abysmal until I turned the iTunes volume up to maximum and disabled all the iTunes Playback options (Crossfade, Sound Enhancer and Sound Check). After more experimentation, I finally settled on AAC/128 for my AHP settings. Any differences between the DRM-free copy and the original were then almost imperceptible. A section in the Hijack It! manual with Tips and Suggested Settings for iTunes and AHP would have been most helpful - and would have raised the Ease of Use score to a 5. My other complaint was the lack of support for all the Tags in purchased iTunes songs (Album Artist, Disk # of #, Composer, Compilation, Comments, etc.). This is primarily because AHP does not support these Tags. However, there are a number of possible workarounds that would improve Hijack It! Perhaps the next version of Hijack It! could import each song back into iTunes and use AppleScripting to set the missing Tags in iTunes. Or, perhaps just put all the missing Tags into the Comments field so I don't have to search for them. Better yet, Hijack It! could work with the makers of AHP to add those Tags. Last but not least, one final tip: After archiving the original Protected AAC files, I deleted them from iTunes. I then imported the DRM-free AAC files, losing all the Album Artwork. Import the DRM-free AAC files before deleting the Protected AAC files from iTunes and the Album Artwork is magically added to the newly imported songs.
Like
Version 2.7
Zedwards
05 July 2007
I have used this software for ever, but would like to have a choice of NOT using growl.
Like
Version 2.7
Rudeboy
09 December 2006
Hijack IT requires Audio Hijack Pro and Growl to convert protected AAC files (purchased iTunes songs) into the more portable and compatible MP3 format -- Automatically! Once all the pieces are in place, this combination will make your life a whole lot easier. Just make a playlist of the songs you want converted and launch Hijack IT and let the software do it's thing. There are other ways to get your music back, but none as slick as this combination. Very nice.
Like
Version 2.7
petert89
19 February 2006
This app does exactly what it is advertised to - it automates Audio Hijack Pro. At US$12 it's a no brainer. ' I liked it so much I bought two...'
Like
Version 2.6
Edanrogo
10 January 2006
I recently adquiered Hijack iTunes and since then my life has become a little bit easier. Hijack iTunes is a very straightforward tool that allows you to record multiple files from iTunes trhough Audio Hijack Pro. The reason why I consider this program so ingenuos and efficient is because it allows you to quickly select what iTunes playlist you wanna record and what Audio Hijack set-up you wanna use for the recording. You don't have to waste your time going through endless menus and configurations, you click and choose and that's it. You're ready to go! Then, you let Hijack iTunes do the rest. You can record a whole audiobook overnight and when you wake up in the morning you'd find new universal playable files for each one of the original only-playable-in-iTunes files, completely labeled and organized in the destination you previously selected. There's no doubt Hijack iTunes is worth the money and the support is just great! I hope the developer keeps improving this amazing tool.
Like
Version 2.5.5
Dave-Burbank
09 December 2005
It seems that some here don't understand what Hijack iTunes does. I just paid my registration fee about a month ago and I'm VERY happy I did. Apple's iTunes is cool. Audio Hijack Pro is awesome. Hijack iTunes allows you to get Apple's iTunes and Audio Hijack Pro working as an automated team. I use a Creative MP3 player with my 14 inch iBook. Hijack iTunes lets me automate the conversion of my protected audio files (music, audio books, podcasts, etc.) into MP3 while I sleep! This makes it easy to move these files over to my Creative MP3 player. Hijack iTunes does all this work intelligently. It even transfers all the information about each file over to the new file. Hijack iTunes is great, definitely worth the money. (I'm not connected in any way with the developer. I wrote this review because it seems the software is getting a bad rap from people who don't understand what it does.)
Like
Version 2.5.5
Anonymous
22 April 2005
Version 2.1 had stability issues under AudioHijack v2.1.1. Hopefully, now that scripting issues have been overcome (in Audiohijack v2.2.1) the author will correct the issues in this package. After all, it's been pretty useless since I bought it. I'd like to think that author will reward my patience of those who trusted him with their $, and still are not able to use his program?
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
30 July 2004
Hijack iTunes 1.2 has been temporarily removed from the web site to investigate a problem that some users have experienced. A fixed version will be released as soon as possible. Thank you for your patience.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
05 July 2004
Other reviewer is right... that icon has to go!
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
02 July 2004
That icon is pure class.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
01 July 2004
Or you could just use Hymn... I mean, why on earth would you want to cross-encode an MP4 file to an Mp3 file...
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 July 2004
How about because your MP3 player isn't an iPod and doesn't play AAC Files?!
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
01 July 2004
Ah....., so I've got to have both Hijack iTunes AND AudioHijack Pro in order to simply convert MP4 to MP3? Sounds a little complicated and pricey for such a simple conversion process. Although I find it a little cheap using this review to hype his app, I might just take Jacob Spindle up on his offer.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 July 2004
Well, considering the copyrights you're violating in the process, you're right - it is rather costly.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
01 July 2004
You can use WireTap in conjunction with my forthcoming utility called TuneTap to do the same thing for free.
Like
Version 1.0