Back to Site Studio page
Site Studio free download for Mac

Site Studio Reviews

1.1.1
31 August 2004

Create and upload Web pages.

Anonymous
18 November 2005

Most helpful

This is a really easy to use app to make great looking websites in just a few minutes. Below someone said you are not able to change font, and font size. That statement is FALSE. You can change font and its size, just sorta hidden :)
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1

Read 16 Site Studio User Reviews

Rate this app:

Mukinduri
25 May 2013
I like SiteStudio. It's clean and simple. I figured it out hot to change the text size. First configure the Text Edit app. Open Text Edit > Preferences > Under "New Document" select "Plain text" Under "Open and Save" select "Ignore Rich Text" and "Ignore HTML". Export your Site Studio web site to a folder on your computer. Open this folder. Your will see a file called "styles.css". Use Safari (or similar) to open this file. Select all the text and paste it into Text Edit. Scroll down to where you see "TextStyle" and where you see "font-size: 12px;" change the number to 18 (or whatever). Save this Text Edit file with exactly the same name as before i.e. styles.css and replace the old file. That's it. You can also fiddle with other things if you want to like text colour if you know the code for the colour you want.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Swissbird
18 June 2009
I've been looking for something better than Dreamweaver and this looks like it. That is really sweet of Tommy to leave this wonderful Mac program FREE for anyone to use. I just downloaded it and made a little photo page in 10 minutes! I couldn't believe the ease of use. I'll write more as I go along. The only thing I couldn't find was for size/type of text - - but I'll find it. I might even read "help". Thanks, Tommy, wherever you are.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Swissbird
Swissbird
18 June 2009
I meant to say "better than RAPIDweaver" (not Dreamweaver. Dreamweaver is excellent but that's on my other computer).
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
macroxx-ultra
18 November 2007
I wish that Site Studio becomes open source, so that it can be improved. .
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
2 answer(s)
$ir-M-
$ir-M-
29 November 2007
Seconded. From what I can determine, author Tommy Pavlicek was a recent high school graduate who grew disenchanted with software development after RapidWeaver stole Site Studio's thunder. He appears to have moved on ... not just to university, but to a lucrative career as a world-class poker player! It's really a shame, though: this unfairly-overlooked app fairly drips with elegance. It hums along just fine under 10.4.11 and packs some amazing capabilities, given its tiny footprint.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
29 November 2007
Runs fine on my MacBookPro, OS X 10.4.11, as well. FWIW, I've just now uploaded a copy of Site Studio to the MacUpdate server so it will always be available.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
18 November 2005
This is a really easy to use app to make great looking websites in just a few minutes. Below someone said you are not able to change font, and font size. That statement is FALSE. You can change font and its size, just sorta hidden :)
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
17 April 2005
What's the use of this software??? How is it possible to pretend this is a "revolution" (cf. the company web site), to affirm this is an editor/site creator, while basic items are impossbile!!!??? Key & vital points that should be adressed include: * inability to choose a font (hard to believe); * inability to choose a font isze (hard to believe); * inability to add a table (hard to believe); * bugs when adding pictures. Cost of use (a.k.a ease of use) is very high, as many basic actions require painful, time-and-energy-wasting steps. Example? A vital operation (adding a page) is not possible with lifesaving keyboard shortcuts. But not only that: it has to use space-wasting menu (listing the 8 page types through too big a list), and the user has to select each and every time the page type, as no default exists! Adding a couple of pages, and apparently no-brainer task, is incredibely painful and irritating. Why not have a floating palette with the different page types, always available on-hand, and also keyboard-shortcut friendly? The only use of this tool could be to create a nice canvas/general structure (nice themes included, one of the few positives!), then edit it in a real web editor.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
01 April 2005
Please consider adding drag-and-drop support to the photo gallery tool. It's pretty tedious to have to manually select each picture individually through Choose dialog boxes.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
08 October 2004
Site Studio the best HTML Editor for creating a HomePage within an hour! And the best: It doesn't need an external FTP-Client Just a wonderful app!
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
04 October 2004
Better think before you pay for an registration number. This program crashed many times and had to start over and over again. Maybe they make it stable before asking money.
Like
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Istumbler
Istumbler
29 March 2005
As a fellow software developer I really hate to see bug reports in this forum. Take the time to send a note to the developer and describe the problems you're having. If they don't respond then you can slander them all you want, but you might find out that they are willing to help you and give you the chance to write a glowing review about how helpful they were. Just a though.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
15 September 2004
Whoa whoa WHOA! That's a huge improvement over the first release. All the bugs I mentioned in my review of 1.0 were fixed. The interface was cleaned up too. What was a very good app is now a GREAT app. Site Studio is nothing short of impressive, and, hands down, the easiest-to-use web editor that you can find for any system.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Frosty
14 September 2004
This is a dang cool program. I have looked all over the web for something like this that is easy to use (especially the photo gallery feature) and they are few and far between. The only thing I wish it had was a little calendar page where you could have a little graphical calendar that people could flip through and see what's coming up. Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 February 2005
This is perhaps the best website maker EVER!!! Has features that are barely starting to show up on RapidWeaver!
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
10 August 2004
Follow-up to my recent review: V1.1 corrects the bugs mentioned. Hope this sets the record straight ...
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Anonymous
10 August 2004
Does not start under MacOS X 10.2.8
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 September 2004
Strange, runs ok here, 10.2.8. :-\
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
03 August 2004
Loved the idea of this app. Purchased a license on the day it was first announced here ... then found some problems, not minor ones, e.g. I still cannot upload the site I created via FTP. Site Studio just freezes when it tries to upload some of its own graphics! Unfortunately the author is not very responsive. Claims to have had email problems at first, but now I have written several emails without getting any reply. I have come to a point where I regret having paid for an app that does not do what it promises ...
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Dot Software
Dot Software
03 August 2004
Hi, This is Tommy and I developed Site Studio. There is a problem with the FTP upload that I'm fixing right now. I was unresponsive because I was on vacation. At first I did have some email problems. While they did not continue, the way my web mail was setup made it a gruelling task to answer the emails I had to within reasonable time. Now that I am back home, I'm having a lot of trouble sending emails through my smtp server for some reason, and I'm also trying to fix that. Thanks, Tommy
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 August 2004
To do you justice: Problems are fixed in version 1.1 and I have received a personal reply, so everything is in order for me now ... mo longer regret having payed for Site Studio ;-)
Like
Version 1.1
L66
02 August 2004
This idea is awesome! It enables small companies to create websites themselves instead of being dependent on expensive external "web designers". Using this application is as simple as typing a letter in Appleworks or MS Word! I have found some flaws and bugs however (e.g. pasting or dragging an image won't work, the file has to be selected), and the HTML code it generates isn't perfect (but much better as the new Dreamweaver), and it lacks some features like a manual (not neccesary yet), drawing tables etc. and if necessary, making your own themes). However, on the forums of the author's site you can read that he is already working on a new release witch probably will include some new features and a theme editor. I highly reccomend trying this app and I agree with the "best interface award" idea of the previous poster. PS: The themes are located in the application bundle AND the "Application Support" folder in the library. You can edit them easily.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
27 June 2004
Wow! This is impressive. Site Studio has to be the EASIEST TO USE website editor ever made. It's about as intuitive as it gets! Quick, someone give these guys some "best interface" award! CAVEAT: it sacrifices power for user-friendliness. Pick a theme, every page in your site looks the same. If you want to customize every little detail in your site, good old Claris Home Page 3 is still your best bet. But if you just want to throw together a simple personal website, try this one. Then, it has many qualities... HOWEVER... it has some flaws too. Not surprising, this is Site Studio's first release after all. I hope these will get fixed in the next versions. --- saves with MacOS Roman encoding (should be ISO Latin 1). Diacritical marks (tilde, acute, umlaut) will appear totally wrong, unless you choose MacOS Roman (and I don't think Windoze browsers even have this option). --- image gallery's thumbnails are resized on low quality. If you have Photoshop, you probably know the difference between resizing with "bilinear" and "nearest neighbour"... yeah, same thing here. Horrible. --- maybe it's a Safari bug, but I just can't get justified text to work; with the "Thunderbird" themes, all text is centered! --- the price is not bad, but... $20 for the link checker? Ouch. How about giving a little discount to whoever buys both apps? The bottom line: Site Studio is a GOOD app. Fix these problems and you will have an EXCELLENT app.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
26 June 2004
Very nice app, does what it says and well! Love how I can upload to FTP & .Mac. Nice plugins too, seems stable too. Nice job :-)
Like
Version 1.0